Subwoofer Discussion Thread, A thread for things that go BOOOOMMM!!!
Sep 7 2008, 01:15 AM
4,865 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
Haha I understand bro. No argument here but I will utilize the stereo input if I can. Peace
Sep 7 2008, 01:26 AM
349 posts Joined: Mar 2008 From: Subang |
QUOTE(arremie @ Sep 7 2008, 01:15 AM) Bro....No problem....discussion make we understand more......I am still learning too.... Don't know why...the only one DVD disc...Kitaro...(but pireated one)...the only one song....I still don't like the humming sound from my sub....each time...I need to tune to lower Hz (which normally I put more than 120 Hz)....if not...can hear the humming (even with my super QED Qunex ref Sub cable....may be the disc is pirated...keeeeeee)...other drum sound very accurate syncronize with the music.....my 2 sen tell me...keeee This post has been edited by ALPS2008: Sep 7 2008, 10:55 AM |
Sep 7 2008, 02:04 AM
Use original la bro. The sound is far more superior and a must if you are setting up your system
Added on September 7, 2008, 2:39 amSome tips I found from the net. Boleh pakai ke... I ask because it seems at 0db the sub kind of overpowered everything else even the sub volume is about 40% only. How to optimize subwoofer levels It's confusing. In most home-theatre setups, your Dolby Digital/dts A/V Receiver has a menu for setting the levels of all your speakers, including an adjustment for the Low Frequency Effects (LFE) channel. This determines the strength of the electrical signal fed to your subwoofer's built-in amplifier. But there's also a volume control on your subwoofer, right? So where do you set each control? To keep your receiver's LFE output level from overloading the input stage of your subwoofer amplifier, and to keep noise levels below audibility, adjust the receiver's LFE/subwoofer output level to "0 dB", and leave it there. When you do your level checks, start with the sub's volume control at about the 10:00 a.m position, then use that control to set or trim your final subwoofer level. And of course you may have to vary it somewhat depending on which source you're watching or listening to--CD, DVD, VCR, or off-air TV. However, except for some bass-heavy CD or DVD programming, the sub level shouldn't require much re-adjustment. This post has been edited by arremie: Sep 7 2008, 02:39 AM |
Sep 7 2008, 11:10 PM
14,193 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Sbn / KL |
Yeah, knew abt this too. Set it a '0' in AVR and the adjustment done at sub. Prefers to have sub that comes with remote. So, it's easy to switch it from 'movie' to 'music'
That reminds me of the 'affordable' Velodyne CHT series |
Sep 8 2008, 09:03 AM
404 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
How interesting knowledge ... and much interesting " affordable " Velodyne CHT series
Sep 8 2008, 09:06 PM
So the basic rules so far...
1) turn up crossover on ur sub to max and control crossover using amp 2) set sub level to 0db at amp and do adjustment on sub some more? This post has been edited by arremie: Sep 8 2008, 09:07 PM |
Sep 8 2008, 11:43 PM
798 posts Joined: May 2005 |
SVS u can actually disable the crossover from the sub so u can let the amp manage all the crossover for u.. hehe less stress for the sub..
Sep 9 2008, 05:07 AM
Dude...SVS is expensive sub. Let it do the work. Its not meant to be pampered
Sep 9 2008, 08:20 AM
3,603 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
someone care to change the title of the Thread to "Expensive sub, very good bass & low LFE"
Sep 9 2008, 08:49 AM
4,896 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kg Sg Penchala, KL |
Thread title changed
Sep 9 2008, 08:59 AM
2,316 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
Sep 9 2008, 09:40 AM
Only callmevil has expensive sub. Others are using 'affordable' as well as entry level subs. Or mpyw is upgrading to reference series sub
Sep 9 2008, 01:32 PM
1,263 posts Joined: Aug 2008 From: Kuching, Sarawak. |
Do yu guys think sub-woofer place in the corner is the best position to boost up the bass reflection than the normal at front row along with the front speakers? Low frequency relfects more ahainst a wall rite?
Sep 9 2008, 03:54 PM
418 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: Sabah |
Yup, more boom if place at corner but might upset the overall sound quality. It all depends on individual preference, however.
By the way, I was offered a used CHT-12 at RM2000. It's used less than a year. Worth it? |
Sep 9 2008, 04:17 PM
CHT-12 or CHT-12R?
Sep 9 2008, 04:34 PM
CHT-12R if not mistaken.
Sep 9 2008, 05:32 PM
Try to nego a bit more for CHT-12R. New is less than RM2.6K. Sub is more prone to defects
Sep 9 2008, 06:00 PM
Oooh...thanks for the advice, htkaki. Lucky didn't rush in.
Sep 9 2008, 08:16 PM
798 posts Joined: May 2005 |
QUOTE(mikapoh @ Sep 9 2008, 01:32 PM) Do yu guys think sub-woofer place in the corner is the best position to boost up the bass reflection than the normal at front row along with the front speakers? Low frequency relfects more ahainst a wall rite? if the sub lacks bass power, then putting it at a corner would increase the 'bass', but if ur sub can pack a punch then corners can distort the bass effect drastically.. if u see HTkaki post of his HT area before, u will realise where he put his sub is a bit weird.. but after i got my svs n did my calibrating n finding the 'sweet spot' i find my sub position oso almost similar to him..Added on September 9, 2008, 8:17 pm QUOTE(arj @ Sep 9 2008, 08:49 AM) lolThis post has been edited by callmevil: Sep 9 2008, 08:17 PM |
Sep 9 2008, 09:23 PM
1,263 posts Joined: Aug 2008 From: Kuching, Sarawak. |
QUOTE(callmevil @ Sep 9 2008, 08:16 PM) if the sub lacks bass power, then putting it at a corner would increase the 'bass', but if ur sub can pack a punch then corners can distort the bass effect drastically.. if u see HTkaki post of his HT area before, u will realise where he put his sub is a bit weird.. but after i got my svs n did my calibrating n finding the 'sweet spot' i find my sub position oso almost similar to him.. How weird is it ? Any Pic to show ?Added on September 9, 2008, 8:17 pm lol My Sub lack bass especially watching astro. No budget for active sub yet, maybe in future. So I think the best way is to put it to the corner. But then, my left corner is about 4 metre from my tv. By placing there, we might just hear boom sound from left right, which will sound WEIRD overall. Added on September 9, 2008, 9:24 pm QUOTE(mikapoh @ Sep 9 2008, 09:23 PM) How weird is it ? Any Pic to show ? This post has been edited by mikapoh: Sep 9 2008, 09:24 PMMy Sub lack bass especially watching astro. No budget for active sub yet, maybe in future. So I think the best way is to put it to the corner. But then, my left corner is about 4 metre from my tv. By placing there, we might just hear boom sound from left which will sound WEIRD overall. |
| Change to: | 0.0305sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:50 PM |