Subwoofer Discussion Thread, A thread for things that go BOOOOMMM!!!

ALPS2008
post Jun 28 2008, 12:55 PM

349 posts

Hello htkaki,

Do you think Jamo Sub 300 =>cost around $1700 is good deal?

The reason I still think of Jamo Sub because I have the Jamo 606 package speaker. I did audit the sub 250 with 606 speaker...is much better if compare without....
I did try to audit Wharfy SUB 250 at DESA..$1800...but using other speaker...I am not really feel the power or cannot feel the different with or without the sub....may the area is open area
Desa recommend me another one...Porkaudio PSW125...$1500..I can hear the better bass....but don't still feel with or without which one is better.....just with increase boom.....

But I prefer down-firing Sub......

With my Jamo speaker....always ppl said it is better to have similar brand sub also...

Do you think...during AV fair 2008 will have better price?

This post has been edited by ALPS2008: Jun 28 2008, 01:01 PM
ALPS2008
post Jun 28 2008, 07:39 PM

349 posts

QUOTE(rolandhoo @ Jun 28 2008, 04:29 PM)
if SUB 300 cost around rm1700, any idea how much the SUB 250 and SUB 200 cost?

due to budget constrain, i may only go for SUB 250 or SUB 200. my living room is not big.
Jamo sub 250 just ~$1200
ALPS2008
post Jun 28 2008, 08:09 PM

349 posts

Yes...I am thinking to get the Jamo Sub300 now.....but I decide to wait and see during AV fair....I hope during AV fair have better bargain....
Wonder have the Jamo dealer selling this unit during AV fair...? hmm.gif

ALPS2008
post Jun 28 2008, 10:21 PM

349 posts

Velodyne sub is better ...but you must pay more than 2K for similar power...

If you consider 2K above...there have many sub like HSU....

I don't like the veldyne sub which the type available in Malaysia...cause front firing...I prefer down firing sub brows.gif

HSU is even powerful ....with similar price...but have not audit both sub. Knowledge based on review only for HSU and Velodyne sub ..which available in Malaysia...I think you better audit the sub first prior buy...advise from most of the blogger here....I didn't go to audit because out of my budget.... brows.gif

ALPS2008
post Jun 28 2008, 10:29 PM

349 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jun 28 2008, 10:22 PM)
Velodyne SPL series, REL Stadium (pricey) or this :

http://hifi4sale.blogspot.com/search/label/Klipsch
Expensive la.....I consider sub which $$$$ more than 2K is expensive......not cheap cheap already luh

ALPS2008
post Jun 29 2008, 03:14 PM

349 posts

hmm.gif how about the Jamo Sub 300? Anyone have this unit? can share share your view brows.gif
ALPS2008
post Jul 5 2008, 01:59 AM

349 posts

All the ppl talk about Velodyne, wharfy etc sub...

Anyone know about Jamo Sub...is this sub is good?
I wanna to buy this sub after considering I have similar Jamo speaker

Anyone or someone have really testing this sub.... I really would like to hear the expect opinion.... drool.gif

I am appreciated somemore comment on this Jamo sub (e.g Jamo Sub300) icon_question.gif cry.gif
ALPS2008
post Jul 7 2008, 10:42 PM

349 posts

Jamo Sub 300 Subwoofer

Why no one considering Jamo Sub 300? Cost => $1699

The SUB 300 is equipped with a powerful 10in long-throw woofer unit housed in the unique slotted port cabinet and a BASH® amplifier capable of delivering 300W of peak power. The powerful amplifier, increased cabinet size and unique design make this subwoofer capable of delivering both a higher sound pressure level (SPL) and a flat frequency response, down to 28 Hz. All delivered, of course, with maximum musical fidelity and a flat frequency response. The SUB 300 is equipped with a front-mounted volume control for easy adjustment.

Key Features
• 10" Woofer
This subwoofer features a powerful 10" throw woofer.
• Port Cabinet with BASH Amplifier
This unit is housed in a slotted port cabinet and includes a 300W BASH amplifier.
• High SPL & Flat Frequency Response
This unit's powerful amplifier and increased cabinet size make it capable of delivering both a higher sound-pressure level (SPL) and a flat frequency response (down to 28 Hz).
• Control
It also feature's a flat front-mounted volume control to facilitate adjustments.

Award:
Stereo & Video, Russia Jun 2008

Jamo SUB 300 takes the first prize in Stereo&Video’s comparative test

Sub 300 is a universal model representing wide opportunities. This subwoofer accurately adds bass on both floorstanding and bookshelf speakers’ ranges.

It is a highly musical product. SUB 300 is delicate to music, delivering punctual support to Home Cinema systems at quite moderate prices.

It shows that Jamo gives careful attention to all its acoustic systems - whether it is a subwoofer, floor-standing speaker or even iPod dock-station.

thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

ALPS2008
post Jul 7 2008, 11:30 PM

349 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Jul 7 2008, 10:43 PM)
Me too, long-throw subs have more impact than down firing ones but to be frank, for the money SW150 is considered a value buy unless TS can stretch the budget a bit and go for Velodyne CHT-10R
People around me tells me the downward firing subs are better than the front firing sub. Reason being is that the downward firing moves more air than the front firing one. The other reason is that the front firing usually moves air right in front of you-thus the name. They explained to me that this is not necessary a good thing. They said that the you can feel the downward firing subs even more than the front firing.

Basically, down-firing and front-firing subs are just different designs. There should not be significant performance difference except that down-firing subs tend to have more flexibility in terms of placement.

The down-firing units seem to be more solid, perhaps it is the lower center of gravity

The down-firing driver does provide some physical protection.

In ported subs, the difference is down-firing ports. Can do a very effective job of suppressing port noise. Eliminates port noise complaint

brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif
ALPS2008
post Jul 20 2008, 03:43 PM

349 posts

QUOTE(cougar richard @ Jul 20 2008, 02:19 PM)
Erm... RM 1500 for floorstanders, RM 400 for center + surrounds, 12 feet of audioquest-cinemaquest G2 RM 120 (RM10 per feet), Wharfedale powercube 12+ RM 1900. I only heard abt the cable and sub brand. For the speakers, i really never heard b4. The salesperson told my father it was actually producing high-end audio products yrs back, then now starts producing cheap audio product. he claims it is a US company, but then the quality built like cap ayam to me, not solid at all. The spec at the back of speakers also like simply write only. i can never find any info from google.
So, it is overpricing for all those equipment above?
Where your dad brought the set HT?......
ALPS2008
post Jul 20 2008, 04:00 PM

349 posts

QUOTE(cougar richard @ Jul 20 2008, 03:55 PM)
In JB shop
Come to KL coming weekend......KL AV show is here sooon.....

Get more knowledge and bargain there...
ALPS2008
post Jul 22 2008, 09:33 PM

349 posts

QUOTE(fentanyl @ Jul 22 2008, 06:49 PM)
This thread should be renamed to Expensive sub, good bass.  tongue.gif
I think cheap sub shall be below 2K

Those sub below 1K is so so ...not accepatable sound quality
Those within 1 - 2K...cheap and acceptable for entry level to mid range sub

Below are some of my survey
Wharfy SW250 ....once I ask at Desa( Last two month ago)=> RM$1800
Jamo Sub 300....Last two week=> RM$1500
Jamo Sub 250....Last two week=>RM$1199
Yamaha SW515...once I ask at HN(last two Month ago)=>RM$1299
Polkaudio PSW125...once I ask at Desa(Last two Month ago)=> RM1500

Velodyne CHT10-R ~ RM2.1k (according to Htkaki)
Velodyne CHT12-R ~ RM2.7k

Any other price update....? before go to AV fair....really wish AV fair will have better price.... sweat.gif sweat.gif
ALPS2008
post Jul 30 2008, 10:30 PM

349 posts

QUOTE(suitangi @ Jul 25 2008, 03:15 PM)
Sifus,

Wanna ask, Velo CHT-10R less than 2K good deal ah? This shop in KLIAV offering 1950 wor....  sweat.gif
Nnot sure whether to get this over Jamo Sub 300 which is on clearance sale in KLIAV for RM1,099.

SO the diff of 900 worth it bo?
Jamo 300 Sub is initial my target sub to buy.....I saw the sub for RM1099....without warranty...I rather don't buy...cause I understand that is reject item from customer..according to them...just the box damaged....see the box...like being wet before....they also talk if rosak...what to repair...waaaa...then....my intuition tell me not to buy anything from there...all no warranty...leave

No chance to audit the Velodyne sub....go there too early......A&L not ready ...the two room is not ready.....

Alas, see the clearance stock....I brought the Jamo D6 Sub. (RM1650)....waaaa.....THX ultra 2 certified...definetely good la with THX....look somemore...400 watt RMS 700 Peak...waaaa so powerful.....compare all the wharfy or below 2K.. eg. Wharfy 250 sub $1800, Vel CHt-10R $1800..all below 300 watt RMS...somemore no THX.... tongue.gif .

No need to think la....just buy luh....somemore with warranty thumbup.gif thumbup.gif .....yeaaa....Actually never test much there...but when back home...I really feel very powerful ...the sub la....shaking ....wooo whistling.gif whistling.gif

Check website....waaa selling promotion price at US...for USD$1599...if reach here....sure more than 6K brows.gif

The sub is new one....and somemore made from demark.....really I feel good deal icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif
icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by ALPS2008: Jul 30 2008, 10:32 PM
ALPS2008
post Jul 30 2008, 10:36 PM

349 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Jul 30 2008, 10:32 PM)
jamo sub good?? hmmmm
I think good enough la....my sub...Jamo D6....for the price....vs the power..and plus THX

THX is certified quality ....this sub also win many award....small small award...good already la....always famous award always bias...keeeee

ALPS2008
post Jul 31 2008, 12:17 PM

349 posts

Now Hwe seng is the sole distributor...
Then....the shop was no more as distributor...clear stock la...I think so....with the box...look new ,with manual still not open the plastic.....with warrathy...not need to think la nod.gif

This post has been edited by ALPS2008: Jul 31 2008, 12:23 PM
ALPS2008
post Jul 31 2008, 02:37 PM

349 posts

QUOTE(amafz01 @ Jul 31 2008, 01:53 PM)
i'm the owner now...huhuhuu...no problem at all..actually what is the exact price huh? thumbup.gif
Yes...if no problem for one year...then will be good deal.....I saw your unit..and also your HT set 606.....everything is ok .....good deal brows.gif

comparison....Jamo Sub 300 is just flat peak 300 watt only...and no THX....

If by comparison...even with warranthy.....I will choose my current one Jamo D6 Sub made in Demmark with 400RMS and 700 Peak (no need to say THX ultra 2) icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif

Lucky I went there early friday.....if not, someone will sapu already.. sweat.gif

ALPS2008
post Aug 3 2008, 03:13 AM

349 posts

QUOTE(amafz01 @ Jul 31 2008, 03:41 PM)
don be too cnfdent la bro..this eletronic machine ma...evrithing could hapen, even 1 day use..300w peak is gud enough 4 me, as it vibrates my neigbour's ceiling...

anyway, ur sub is really gud..gud and better than others.. icon_idea.gif
Hi, I know Jamo 300 Sub very well. I have audit the sub many time and this sub is my initial target choice to purchase. I like the sub very much.

But, after all I buy another Jamo sub. After tested my sub Jamo D6 many times, with gun shooting movie, thunder storm sound, bass, DTS-ES music...etc....I really feel the sub very good. I had gone to audit other brand of sub...which many is claimed very good sub....I am not really find the different ....may be my sensitivity to sound not good....or due to i just learning.....

Even I have a big living room 24' x 16'(x 26 depend how it measure it) x 10' , I just put below half of the volume of sub, main av also not high vol, my wife from kitchen (other site) already can feel the deep low booom....I have to adjust the AV, subwoofer level to -3db to accomodate too strong......which I also not really like too strong deep boom also

Well, the sub is for concert series...I feel the quality of THX ultra 2 is fulfill... thumbup.gif

No hard feeling please. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif .I just sharing my view..... icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

Do anyone have the THX sub? What model? I really want to go to audit other sub especially with THX...compare my unit....just for learning... brows.gif

This post has been edited by ALPS2008: Aug 3 2008, 03:18 AM
ALPS2008
post Aug 3 2008, 11:14 AM

349 posts

QUOTE(fevercrash @ Aug 3 2008, 06:42 AM)
No THX certified also my Paradigm alrd invited policemen came knocking on my door twice.. biggrin.gif
Of course la....Paradigm is famous and high end unit la

Here talk about entry level sub which is cheap sub or well below 2K la
I only make comparison with those below 2K only la. Compare apple to apple la...not apple vs watermellon la

Moreover, loudness cannot determine the quality. and I expect paradigm is good good sub. Never have chance to audit yet. brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif

icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
ALPS2008
post Aug 3 2008, 02:03 PM

349 posts

QUOTE(fevercrash @ Aug 3 2008, 01:15 PM)
Boss..too bad i am not living in KL otherwise can invite u to come help me set lor..but i alrd set the sub level below half and loudness off frm my av..nowadays night time i watch DVD at -35 to -40db only dun dare go below scare later disturb my neighbour.. biggrin.gif
Mee too...normally i also well below 40....I don't like too loud....long term loudness can cause damage your hearing...

I also control the sub ...when movie...I will adjust higher volume at sub...ker meh...feel the shooting heat.....music..I will control the sub low volume....too much bass....will spoil the music.....

shakehead.gif shakehead.gif shakehead.gif shakehead.gif shakehead.gif shakehead.gif
According to OSHA, the exposure time limits are
Exposure Time ; Exposure Level (measured in dB SPL)
8 Hours ;90 dB SPL
6 Hours ;92 dB SPL
4 Hours ;95 dB SPL
3 Hours ;97 dB SPL
2 Hours ;100 dB SPL
1.5 Hours ;102 dB SPL
1 Hours ;105 dB SPL
.5 Hours ;110 dB SPL
<.25 Hours ;115 dB SPL

Repeated exposure to sounds that cause temporary threshold shifts results in permanent damage to the ear in the form of a permanent threshold shift . The ear loses sensitivity in the frequencies 3,000 Hz through 6,000 Hz, resulting in a "notch" in the hearing range. Time of exposure is important, the louder the sound, the less exposure time before permanent damage sets in.
shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif

This post has been edited by ALPS2008: Aug 3 2008, 02:04 PM
ALPS2008
post Aug 3 2008, 09:41 PM

349 posts

This safety precaution just to tell people...don't play play with loudness...without knowing you with damage yourself hearing..not only this your but children is your victim most of the time... cool.gif cool.gif cool.gif

Awareness is more important.... icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by ALPS2008: Aug 3 2008, 09:42 PM

0.1248sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 03:15 PM