Nokia Nokia E71, Messenger of Steel!
camel90
Sep 16 2008, 05:38 AM
err guys...the first time i bought it and charged the battery i took out the charger after it said 'battery is full'. isit compulsory to charge for 8 hours straight and ignore the 'battery full' message for the first time charge???
mikelanding
Sep 16 2008, 07:59 AM
QUOTE(camel90 @ Sep 16 2008, 05:38 AM) err guys...the first time i bought it and charged the battery i took out the charger after it said 'battery is full'. isit compulsory to charge for 8 hours straight and ignore the 'battery full' message for the first time charge??? No need 8 hrs.. Just plug out after U saw "Battery full" The more proper way is use up the existing bat when U first get the phone, THEN only charge to full. Repeat around 2 cycles then yr bat will be more tahan
miahahaha
Sep 16 2008, 09:11 AM
Yup...no need to charge for 8 full hours...use the batt till dead then charge it till FULL..unplug the charger...your batt can last longer if you do this...
And ya,another thing is better to charge your phone by turning it off...
This post has been edited by miahahaha: Sep 16 2008, 09:13 AM
ViRaViRa
Sep 16 2008, 10:20 AM
QUOTE(miahahaha @ Sep 16 2008, 09:11 AM) Yup...no need to charge for 8 full hours...use the batt till dead then charge it till FULL..unplug the charger...your batt can last longer if you do this... And ya,another thing is better to charge your phone by turning it off... Erm, partially correct Yes, you do not need to charge the battery up to 8 hours. Charging until it is full will be good. At the same time, there is no need to drain the battery before charging. It can also reduce battery life. Just charge once the phone indicates "low battery" warning
masamura
Sep 16 2008, 07:00 PM
My girlfriend bought me E71 on Saturday @_@ It's like the longest battery life phone I've used.. I play with the wi-fi the whole day and use GPS for almost 12 hours and I still have 2 bars!
camel90
Sep 16 2008, 07:51 PM
wow~!! i havnt try to use the battery until its LIMIT just yet. since im using it with bluetooth headset most of the time it will be interesting to know how long it can stand though  nway...welcome on board bro  Added on September 16, 2008, 8:46 pmnway guys.....our phone can support up to what size of microSD ar? 8GB can support or not eh? and what is the button locates in the middle between the volume button at the side there? This post has been edited by camel90: Sep 16 2008, 08:46 PM
gaigene
Sep 16 2008, 08:59 PM

QUOTE(camel90 @ Sep 16 2008, 07:51 PM) Added on September 16, 2008, 8:46 pmnway guys.....our phone can support up to what size of microSD ar? 8GB can support or not eh? and what is the button locates in the middle between the volume button at the side there? the E71 can support up to 8GB no worries. The button is the middle between the volume button is for voice command to look for your contacts.... i think...  i played with it recently.....
toby.c13
Sep 16 2008, 09:48 PM
yaa its voice command..
enjay
Sep 16 2008, 09:52 PM
QUOTE(kevafk @ Sep 14 2008, 04:55 AM) anyone got dead pixel on their screen? i found that i have 1 tiny dead pixel on the top left of my screen.. mine's got a tiny dead pixel too, below the digital clock. too bad i didn't check the phone fully before buying it 2 days ago. it's an original avaxx set. i bought it from a mobile phone shop, showed the dead pixel to the shop owner and he said he can not replace it with a brand new unit. he took the unit to nokia care centre and nokia care centre is willing to replace the lcd, but they said they can not replace it as well with a brand new unit. it seems unfair to me that i can not get a brand new unit in exchange for the defective unit. doesn't nokia malaysia have a 7-day or 14-day replacement policy? if you find any defects within 7 or 14 days from purchasing the unit then they should replace it with a new one? i wrote nokia malaysia customer care and i'm still waiting for their reply.
mikelanding
Sep 16 2008, 11:32 PM
QUOTE(gaigene @ Sep 16 2008, 08:59 PM) the E71 can support up to 8GB no worries. The button is the middle between the volume button is for voice command to look for your contacts.... i think...  i played with it recently..... actually can support more than 8gb.
sonyclie77
Sep 17 2008, 01:54 AM
Stressed Personnel
QUOTE(enjay @ Sep 16 2008, 09:52 PM) mine's got a tiny dead pixel too, below the digital clock. too bad i didn't check the phone fully before buying it 2 days ago. it's an original avaxx set. i bought it from a mobile phone shop, showed the dead pixel to the shop owner and he said he can not replace it with a brand new unit. he took the unit to nokia care centre and nokia care centre is willing to replace the lcd, but they said they can not replace it as well with a brand new unit. it seems unfair to me that i can not get a brand new unit in exchange for the defective unit. doesn't nokia malaysia have a 7-day or 14-day replacement policy? if you find any defects within 7 or 14 days from purchasing the unit then they should replace it with a new one? i wrote nokia malaysia customer care and i'm still waiting for their reply.  Well, I remember reading that if the number of dead pixels are less than 5, they are not going to even do anything about it.
kabrio
Sep 17 2008, 11:11 AM

QUOTE(sonyclie77 @ Sep 17 2008, 01:54 AM) Well, I remember reading that if the number of dead pixels are less than 5, they are not going to even do anything about it. yeah, this kind of stuff makes me thinking that even the ori unit, whose warranty covered by avaxx/zitron, can do such thing to us, what would happen for the AP unit?
mervynrwtw
Sep 17 2008, 01:33 PM

Is there anyway to display sms on the home screen ? Like the 1 in e61
zeyoon
Sep 17 2008, 01:45 PM
i totally agree with eye. dark coloured themes make msg reading much much more easier.
but right, i went to E71Blog.com and downloaded a theme. the file is in 'sis' format. i saved it in my memory card and then executed the file from my File Manager. It starts with 'Preparing Installation'. But after a while an error msg pops up and say Certificate Error.
is the file corrupted or something? or am i doing it the right way?
Added on September 17, 2008, 2:00 pmjust wanna ask the sifu's out there. my internet connection settings for my E71 is set as Maxis Wap. and when i surf sites, its so freaking slow. is it cause i use Wap settings?
Added on September 17, 2008, 2:01 pmerm, i am surfing FB with my phone la. i'm viewing on mobile mode. still it takes like forever to send a message in FB.
This post has been edited by zeyoon: Sep 17 2008, 02:01 PM
eye
Sep 17 2008, 02:12 PM
QUOTE(zeyoon @ Sep 17 2008, 01:45 PM) i totally agree with eye. dark coloured themes make msg reading much much more easier. but right, i went to E71Blog.com and downloaded a theme. the file is in 'sis' format. i saved it in my memory card and then executed the file from my File Manager. It starts with 'Preparing Installation'. But after a while an error msg pops up and say Certificate Error. is the file corrupted or something? or am i doing it the right way? Added on September 17, 2008, 2:00 pmjust wanna ask the sifu's out there. my internet connection settings for my E71 is set as Maxis Wap. and when i surf sites, its so freaking slow. is it cause i use Wap settings? Added on September 17, 2008, 2:01 pmerm, i am surfing FB with my phone la. i'm viewing on mobile mode. still it takes like forever to send a message in FB. zeyoon, follow this installation guide and they will install fine e71blog.com : How To Avoid Application & Theme Installation Issuesslow surf on maxis, not your phone's fault, is maxis. maxis 3g was totally out yesterday. even now when it runs, it is struttering. i wish i can sue them for dis-service.
kevafk
Sep 17 2008, 04:34 PM

QUOTE(enjay @ Sep 16 2008, 09:52 PM) mine's got a tiny dead pixel too, below the digital clock. too bad i didn't check the phone fully before buying it 2 days ago. it's an original avaxx set. i bought it from a mobile phone shop, showed the dead pixel to the shop owner and he said he can not replace it with a brand new unit. he took the unit to nokia care centre and nokia care centre is willing to replace the lcd, but they said they can not replace it as well with a brand new unit. it seems unfair to me that i can not get a brand new unit in exchange for the defective unit. doesn't nokia malaysia have a 7-day or 14-day replacement policy? if you find any defects within 7 or 14 days from purchasing the unit then they should replace it with a new one? i wrote nokia malaysia customer care and i'm still waiting for their reply.  sorry to hear that.. mine its not so obvious its at the top of the screen.. but still whenever Cclock turns i can see it clearly it bothers me when someone look at my phone and notice it :/.. well for replacement nothing we can do, unless u know someone in nokia personally.. dead pixel is pretty normal i guess coz 2 of my psp has it too.. also some of my previous phone.. sigh oh well Added on September 17, 2008, 4:36 pmbtw.. i loveeeeeee the gold&black theme from babi switch mode with black theme..  ~~~~ This post has been edited by kevafk: Sep 17 2008, 04:36 PM
mikelanding
Sep 18 2008, 11:02 AM
QUOTE(kevafk @ Sep 17 2008, 04:34 PM) sorry to hear that.. mine its not so obvious its at the top of the screen.. but still whenever Cclock turnsĀ i can see it clearly it bothers me when someone look at my phone and notice it :/.. well for replacement nothing we can do, unless u know someone in nokia personally.. dead pixel is pretty normal i guess coz 2 of my psp has it too.. also some of my previous phone.. sigh oh well Added on September 17, 2008, 4:36 pmbtw.. i loveeeeeee the gold&black theme from babi switch mode with black theme..  ~~~~ Black and Gold not bad... I now using Stave Red by Bongoman. Red Red =good luck.. This post has been edited by mikelanding: Sep 18 2008, 11:04 AM
gaigene
Sep 18 2008, 12:17 PM

QUOTE(mikelanding @ Sep 16 2008, 11:32 PM) actually can support more than 8gb. Wah....serious ah bro... can support more than 8GB .....  But it says only can support up to 8GB....
camel90
Sep 18 2008, 01:43 PM
guys..is this normal?
12 hours after fully charged my phone lost 1 bar of battery with minor using on camera , smsing and searching for WLan...
xxx475475
Sep 18 2008, 01:46 PM

new user of E71 reporting in.... got mine yesterday... damn syiok...