128 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Bottom

University Useful information for prospective law students, A basic guide to become a lawyer

Xziled
post Jun 9 2009, 08:16 PM

Assasin CrossX
602 posts

QUOTE(sunnyonizuka90 @ Jun 9 2009, 08:02 PM)
i heard that u were a student of brickfields, im gonna start my college life there in 1 week plus time. i would like to ask you how's the life there? what else should i do so that i can be well equipped in reading law?
Yea i am..since A'lvls lol tongue.gif hmm, here s kinda casual ler..but i guess from my time and now kinda different since they got more organized a bit as in those LAN subjects or legal skills subject which i didn't have during my time so it's good and bad also i guess haha! smile.gif but overall it's okay ler..i'm sure u can get to make friends but dun expect it to be like a campus life ler...since it's just 2 building blocks xD food there is cheap and affordable, good for students smile.gif transportation also i think wouldn't be a problem be it whether u r using the public transport or driving there smile.gif

Reading law..hm, depends on individuals ler..if u r in ur 1st year, for me only criminal and contract have to apply and understand the stuff. For me, CLR and Public i just understand and memorize the substance since it's all essay xD but of course when u memorize plz also understand what is it all abt ler..maybe this is also bad advise keke smile.gif but for LLB exam purposes, just learn to be smart during exams only..no point u knowing everything. U can also read abt it once u r done with ur exams or during ur holidays. If u r taking the UOL external, practise the past year Qs, it's very helpful.
sunnyonizuka90
post Jun 9 2009, 09:06 PM

QUOTE(Xziled @ Jun 9 2009, 09:16 PM)
Yea i am..since A'lvls lol tongue.gif hmm, here s kinda casual ler..but i guess from my time and now kinda different since they got more organized a bit as in those LAN subjects or legal skills subject which i didn't have during my time so it's good and bad also i guess haha! smile.gif but overall it's okay ler..i'm sure u can get to make friends but dun expect it to be like a campus life ler...since it's just 2 building blocks xD food there is cheap and affordable, good for students smile.gif transportation also i think wouldn't be a problem be it whether u r using the public transport or driving there smile.gif

Reading law..hm, depends on individuals ler..if u r in ur 1st year, for me only criminal and contract have to apply and understand the stuff. For me, CLR and Public i just understand and memorize the substance since it's all essay xD but of course when u memorize plz also understand what is it all abt ler..maybe this is also bad advise keke smile.gif but for LLB exam purposes, just learn to be smart during exams only..no point u knowing everything. U can also read abt it once u r done with ur exams or during ur holidays. If u r taking the UOL external, practise the past year Qs, it's very helpful.
icic, thanks for ur advice, i think sometimes i'll drive there ler but sometimes i'll tk ktm, apart of YMCA, where can i find cheaper parkings?
im takin uk transfer programme, basically i tink the syllabus taught is about the same as UOL. how about the timetable? xD glad to meet you if you're coming back to take clp. cool2.gif

Xziled
post Jun 9 2009, 09:28 PM

Assasin CrossX
602 posts

QUOTE(sunnyonizuka90 @ Jun 9 2009, 09:06 PM)
icic, thanks for ur advice, i think sometimes i'll drive there ler but sometimes i'll tk ktm, apart of YMCA, where can i find cheaper parkings?
im takin uk transfer programme, basically i tink the syllabus taught is about the same as UOL. how about the timetable? xD glad to meet you if you're coming back to take clp.  cool2.gif
Np, hmm..cheaper parking will be further down after the traffic lights where there is an open car park area which i think is RM3 per day if it hasn't increase its price yet. The syllabus is abt the same but i guess it depends on the lecturer what she/he demands for in ur scripts since it' the lecturers in the college which is marking. The timetable for u i guess is either full time or part time. Full time meaning either in the morning or afternoon rarely at night but if the lecturers r full time lawyers also then it may be at night 6.30-9.30pm xD i guess u can collect ur timetable already lor to check it out tongue.gif hopefully i get to take clp ler tongue.gif then we can meet up too smile.gif
sunnyonizuka90
post Jun 9 2009, 09:39 PM

QUOTE(Xziled @ Jun 9 2009, 10:28 PM)
Np, hmm..cheaper parking will be further down after the traffic lights where there is an open car park area which i think is RM3 per day if it hasn't increase its price yet. The syllabus is abt the same but i guess it depends on the lecturer what she/he demands for in ur scripts since it' the lecturers in the college which is marking. The timetable for u i guess is either full time or part time. Full time meaning either in the morning or afternoon rarely at night but if the lecturers r full time lawyers also then it may be at night 6.30-9.30pm xD i guess u can collect ur timetable already lor to check it out tongue.gif hopefully i get to take clp ler tongue.gif then we can meet up too smile.gif
icic. rm3 per day is reasonable. thanks for telling. i registered for full time, so that means my timetable wil be full time, will i hv any class on weekends? hopefully not!! sad.gif
yalor, i've heard ppl saying tat 'attachment wif law firm', what does that mean and how can i apply for it? i think there's a more precise verb rather than 'apply' right? hmm.gif
Xziled
post Jun 9 2009, 09:54 PM

Assasin CrossX
602 posts

QUOTE(sunnyonizuka90 @ Jun 9 2009, 09:39 PM)
icic. rm3 per day is reasonable. thanks for telling. i registered for full time, so that means my timetable wil be full time, will i hv any class on weekends? hopefully not!!  sad.gif
yalor, i've heard ppl saying tat 'attachment wif law firm', what does that mean and how can i apply for it? i think there's a more precise verb rather than 'apply' right? hmm.gif
Np smile.gif yea..hmm weekends classes i'm not too sure..maybe they would have classes then also when it comes to intensive revision classes as well since i have friends in Part 1 UWE also like that. It really depends on the lecturers also as well i guess. Y dun u take the timetable from college? Hmm, yea attachment students is when u r still pursuing ur degree. But nowadays also ppl called it "Internship for LAw students" also lol tongue.gif
sunnyonizuka90
post Jun 9 2009, 10:00 PM

QUOTE(Xziled @ Jun 9 2009, 10:54 PM)
Np smile.gif yea..hmm weekends classes i'm not too sure..maybe they would have classes then also when it comes to intensive revision classes as well since i have friends in Part 1 UWE also like that. It really depends on the lecturers also as well i guess. Y dun u take the timetable from college? Hmm, yea attachment students is when u r still pursuing ur degree. But nowadays also ppl called it "Internship for LAw students" also lol tongue.gif
ohhh yea, i see. but i heard that the life in brickfields is really good! and im lookinf forward to it! tml i'll go and take. ohh that means while pursuing my degree, how to do internship leh? weekends huh?
Xziled
post Jun 9 2009, 10:51 PM

Assasin CrossX
602 posts

QUOTE(sunnyonizuka90 @ Jun 9 2009, 10:00 PM)
ohhh yea, i see. but i heard that the life in brickfields is really good! and im lookinf forward to it! tml i'll go and take. ohh that means while pursuing my degree, how to do internship leh? weekends huh?
Oh o_O how good? lol tongue.gif examples? blush.gif
Hmm, well since u selected full time intake, i dun think u will be able to work at the same time unless u take part time course since internship is also equated to working life. So either u undergo the internship during ur 3months break if not dun work smile.gif
weekends hmm not really sure, it really depends. I can't be too sure to answer that since final year in UOL the lecturers r full time lawyers also so all the classes r night classes and weekend classes smile.gif
sunnyonizuka90
post Jun 9 2009, 11:34 PM

QUOTE(Xziled @ Jun 9 2009, 11:51 PM)
Oh o_O how good? lol tongue.gif examples?  blush.gif
Hmm, well since u selected full time intake, i dun think u will be able to work at the same time unless u take part time course since internship is also equated to working life. So either u undergo the internship during ur 3months break if not dun work smile.gif
weekends hmm not really sure, it really depends. I can't be too sure to answer that since final year in UOL the lecturers r full time lawyers also so all the classes r night classes and weekend classes smile.gif
icic. examples? well my fren was doing alvl there last year, he told me that the ppl there are friendly and oso the teachers, in addition, i've heard from many others seniors included my cousin that the teachers there are very responsible and determined, plus the institution is small, eventually i get to know almost everyone there. nod.gif
Xziled
post Jun 10 2009, 12:25 AM

Assasin CrossX
602 posts

QUOTE(sunnyonizuka90 @ Jun 9 2009, 11:34 PM)
icic. examples? well my fren was doing alvl there last year, he told me that the ppl there are friendly and oso the teachers, in addition, i've heard from many others seniors included my cousin that the teachers there are very responsible and determined, plus the institution is small, eventually i get to know almost everyone there.  nod.gif
well yea since the institution is small and it's also kinda casual...not much formalities also ler..can be friends with the staff and lecturers also smile.gif
but i dun think labeling "good life" is appropriate haha...coz i thought u were saying that the lifestyle there and not the performance of the collge ie.lecturers itself blush.gif
edennature
post Jun 10 2009, 10:43 AM

294 posts

student from UK transfer degree can enter into LLB(Hons)barrister exempting,Northumbria?This degree guarantee a place for you and is it easy to pass than normal BVC?

This post has been edited by edennature: Jun 10 2009, 10:48 AM
sunnyonizuka90
post Jun 10 2009, 11:32 AM

QUOTE(Xziled @ Jun 10 2009, 01:25 AM)
well yea since the institution is small and it's also kinda casual...not much formalities also ler..can be friends with the staff and lecturers also smile.gif
but i dun think labeling "good life" is appropriate haha...coz i thought u were saying that the lifestyle there and not the performance of the collge ie.lecturers itself  blush.gif
yea i agree that it might not provide us campus life but i think it will be a good experience also, at least to me. thumbup.gif
actually im a bit worried that i cant catch up wif the lessons as i did science subjects in my pre-u... sad.gif
btw, when will ur results be out?
Xziled
post Jun 10 2009, 04:31 PM

Assasin CrossX
602 posts

QUOTE(sunnyonizuka90 @ Jun 10 2009, 11:32 AM)
yea i agree that it might not provide us campus life but i think it will be a good experience also, at least to me.  thumbup.gif
actually im a bit worried that i cant catch up wif the lessons as i did science subjects in my pre-u... sad.gif
btw, when will ur results be out?
Hmm, dun worry...i'm sure u'll do just fine. I guess if u r interested in the subject matter, u'll find ur way no matter what. Although the examination structure has changed for CLR and also Public law since i've heard that there r mixed topics in 1Q and i've seen but not in detail in UOL, there's papers stating before and after some certain year which i presumed is after my time, i guess they changed it as well. So it might appear to be more difficult than it was for me or for the others who did it earlier xD so be prepared for that. But, if u have any difficulties or questions, u can always seek guidance here, we r all willing to help u out smile.gif

For me, results will be coming out in August i guess, maybe end of the month. Now results can be checked on9 once u received a notification letter from UOL smile.gif can minus off the dreadful waiting in college for them to call out names xD
sunnyonizuka90
post Jun 10 2009, 07:32 PM

QUOTE(Xziled @ Jun 10 2009, 05:31 PM)
Hmm, dun worry...i'm sure u'll do just fine. I guess if u r interested in the subject matter, u'll find ur way no matter what. Although the examination structure has changed for CLR and also Public law since i've heard that there r mixed topics in 1Q and i've seen but not in detail in UOL, there's papers stating before and after some certain year which i presumed is after my time, i guess they changed it as well. So it might appear to be more difficult than it was for me or for the others who did it earlier xD so be prepared for that. But, if u have any difficulties or questions, u can always seek guidance here, we r all willing to help u out smile.gif

For me, results will be coming out in August i guess, maybe end of the month. Now results can be checked on9 once u received a notification letter from UOL smile.gif can minus off the dreadful waiting in college for them to call out names xD
thanks alot. if i've any question, i'll ask you. rclxms.gif
In the 1st year i have to do 5 subjects public law, criminal law, contract law, common law reasoning. How about your first year?
secondly, in the next year, i have to do land law, law of trust, law of tort, law of evidence/commercial law. I cannot choose both evidence and commercial right?
jhong
post Jun 10 2009, 09:47 PM

685 posts

QUOTE(sunnyonizuka90 @ Jun 10 2009, 07:32 PM)
thanks alot. if i've any question, i'll ask you.  rclxms.gif
In the 1st year i have to do 5 subjects public law, criminal law, contract law, common law reasoning. How about your first year?
secondly, in the next year, i have to do land law, law of trust, law of tort, law of evidence/commercial law. I cannot choose both evidence and commercial right?
Hey! I am from BAC as well, Life over there isnt bad , it depends on how you socialise yourself?
I am now in first yr of LLB External Program, just get enrolled this april.

In your first yr, its only 4 subjects.
Xziled
post Jun 10 2009, 10:13 PM

Assasin CrossX
602 posts

QUOTE(sunnyonizuka90 @ Jun 10 2009, 07:32 PM)
thanks alot. if i've any question, i'll ask you.  rclxms.gif
Each year only have 4 subjects max unless u r taking scheme B then it's different which is 3 subjects per year.
Everyone's 1st year and 2nd year is the same except for 1 optional subject in Part 1 which u can choose. For me i took evidence since i didn't have much option btw lol coz BAC is not offering commercial law. I dunno whether they will or not in the future but for my year they did not ler...maybe u all can suggest to them ler...coz only now when i went for 1 interview in which the firm specializes in corporate and commercial disputes mainly in debt recovery, the boss and also lawyer there said that it's important to know both company and commercial law if u want to look into that area next time ler...and he did ask me little abt doctrine of separate legal entity which is also the 1st topic in company law...luckily i could answer xD coz i thought can forget abt studies already after exams lol tongue.gif

So yea...a little advice from me to those who r still undergoing their degree to know which subjects to take. I'm sure many of them who will tell u that u just need to get the grades to qualify to take CLP so just pick the easy subjects which u can score. It's true in degree but since there is some pointers now which i didn't have at my time, so just informing u guys ler smile.gif i would have take commercial law as well if i knew it was relevant and some sort important blush.gif

So sunnyonizuka90, u could opt to take both also either do commercial in Part 1 and take evidence in Part 2 then. Evidence is relevant and helpful for u since u will also be facing it again in CLP.

QUOTE(jhong @ Jun 10 2009, 09:47 PM)
Hey! I am from BAC as well, Life over there isnt bad , it depends on how you socialise yourself?
I am now in first yr of LLB External Program, just get enrolled this april.

In your first yr, its only 4 subjects.
Hey! never meet up sad.gif
jhong
post Jun 10 2009, 10:35 PM

685 posts

QUOTE(Xziled @ Jun 10 2009, 10:13 PM)
Haha...sorry for that...you never say when you free also...
sunnyonizuka90
post Jun 10 2009, 10:51 PM

QUOTE(Xziled @ Jun 10 2009, 11:13 PM)
Each year only have 4 subjects max unless u r taking scheme B then it's different which is 3 subjects per year.
Everyone's 1st year and 2nd year is the same except for 1 optional subject in Part 1 which u can choose. For me i took evidence since i didn't have much option btw lol coz BAC is not offering commercial law. I dunno whether they will or not in the future but for my year they did not ler...maybe u all can suggest to them ler...coz only now when i went for 1 interview in which the firm specializes in corporate and commercial disputes mainly in debt recovery, the boss and also lawyer there said that it's important to know both company and commercial law if u want to look into that area next time ler...and he did ask me little abt doctrine of separate legal entity which is also the 1st topic in company law...luckily i could answer xD coz i thought can forget abt studies already after exams lol tongue.gif

So yea...a little advice from me to those who r still undergoing their degree to know which subjects to take. I'm sure many of them who will tell u that u just need to get the grades to qualify to take CLP so just pick the easy subjects which u can score. It's true in degree but since there is some pointers now which i didn't have at my time, so just informing u guys ler smile.gif i would have take commercial law as well if i knew it was relevant and some sort important  blush.gif

So sunnyonizuka90, u could opt to take both also either do commercial in Part 1 and take evidence in Part 2 then. Evidence is relevant and helpful for u since u will also be facing it again in CLP.
haha thanks for telling, but i got a brochure from Brickfields and it is stated there in first year there are common law reasoning, english legal system, public law, contract law and criminal law. rclxub.gif

Hey JHong, your name sounds like a chinese, arent you? haha im goin to brickfields in 22nd june, erm if i am not mistaken, i'll be joining june intake. can u help me to see whether is it the orientation will be started on 22nd june? icon_question.gif
when i go there let's meet up biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by sunnyonizuka90: Jun 10 2009, 11:11 PM
jhong
post Jun 10 2009, 11:52 PM

685 posts

QUOTE(sunnyonizuka90 @ Jun 10 2009, 10:51 PM)
haha thanks for telling, but i got a brochure from Brickfields and it is stated there in first year there are common law reasoning, english legal system, public law, contract law and criminal law.  rclxub.gif

Hey JHong, your  name sounds like a chinese, arent you? haha im goin to brickfields in 22nd june, erm if i am not mistaken, i'll be joining june intake. can u help me to see whether is it the orientation will be started on 22nd june?    icon_question.gif
when i go there let's meet up  biggrin.gif
Actually, what is cited in the brochure is correct, it is just that you mistaken or misinterpret.
Common Law and Reasoning and English Legal System is the same subject. So, its 4 subjects.

Yes, i am a chinese. U got it!
Orientation day? Well, they should have informed you the day when u filled up your registration form ?

Meet up? hahax.sure....will see when..
sunnyonizuka90
post Jun 11 2009, 01:03 AM

QUOTE(jhong @ Jun 11 2009, 12:52 AM)
Actually, what is cited in the brochure is correct, it is just that you mistaken or misinterpret.
Common Law and Reasoning and English Legal System is the same subject. So, its 4 subjects.

Yes, i am a chinese.  U got it!
Orientation day? Well, they should have informed you the day when u filled up your registration form ?

Meet up? hahax.sure....will see when..
ohh thanks for telling...now only i knw common law reasoning and english legal system are actually the same. sorry for my ignorance cos i was from science stream.
so looking forward to meeting you then. icon_rolleyes.gif
TSschizophrenic
post Jun 11 2009, 09:07 AM

Tribute to Tun Mohamed Suffian Hashim (1917-2000)
1,645 posts

There is an event that might be of interest to those reading this thread.

Forum Name: eLawyer - Exabytes Penang Bloggers & Law Forum 2009
Date: 27 June 2009
Time: 9.00am – 12.30pm
Fees: F.O.C.
Venue: Dewan Kuliah G31, Pusat Pengajian Sains Komputer, Universiti Sains Malaysia (USM), Penang Campus (Landmark Masjid USM).
Language: English
Organiser: www.eLawyer.com.my
This event is exclusively sponsored by www.exabytes.com.my - the No.1 web hosting company in Malaysia

Topic 1: Bloggers & Copyrights Laws
Speaker: Mr. Foong Cheng Leong (Cheng Leong)
Brief profile: Cheng Leong is a practising lawyer in KL. He specialises in intellectual property laws practice. He is an active blogger and owner of www.xes.cx. Cheng Leong started blogging since 2001. He speaks frequently on intellectual property and internet laws.

Topic 2: Bloggers & Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission Act 1998 (MCMC Act) and rules and guidelines of MCMC
Speaker: Mr.Shamsul Jafni Shafie (Sam)
Brief profile: Sam is the former director of Security, Trust and Governance Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission. He was also the Work Area 5 Leader on “International Cooperation” to draft the Global Cybersecurity Agenda for the International Telecommunication Union (ITU) - http://www.itu.int.

Topic 3: Bloggers & Defamation Law
Speaker: Mr. Stephen Tan Ban Cheng (Stephen)
Brief profile: Stephen is a journalist-turned-lawyer. Currently, he is a practising lawyer in Penang. Stephen was a senior journalist in the famous local newspaper including New Strait Times and the Star for more than 20 years.

Moderator: Mr. Khairul Anuar bin Shaharudin (Kruel)
Brief profile: Kruel is the cybername for Khairul, who is a practising lawyer in KL and an avid bloggers. Kruel participated in numerous bloggers events and his blog Legal Cat-asthrophereceived well comments from the bloggersphere in Malaysia.

Registration: The admission to this Forum is FREE. However, due to limited seat, please R.S.V.P by sending your details (Name, Tel, Email, Occupation and Company/School) to forum@elawyer.com.my before 24 June 2009 or call 03-2782 5399 for more information

Source (with permission) http://www.elawyer.com.my/blog/elawyer-exa...law-forum-2009/

This post has been edited by schizophrenic: Jun 11 2009, 09:08 AM

128 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Top

0.0291sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:55 AM