QUOTE(Xziled @ Jun 9 2009, 08:50 PM)
where r u going to work? University Useful information for prospective law students, A basic guide to become a lawyer
University Useful information for prospective law students, A basic guide to become a lawyer
Jun 9 2009, 07:54 PM
11 posts Joined: May 2009 |
Jun 9 2009, 08:02 PM
Jun 9 2009, 09:06 PM
QUOTE(Xziled @ Jun 9 2009, 09:16 PM) Yea i am..since A'lvls lol icic, thanks for ur advice, i think sometimes i'll drive there ler but sometimes i'll tk ktm, apart of YMCA, where can i find cheaper parkings?Reading law..hm, depends on individuals ler..if u r in ur 1st year, for me only criminal and contract have to apply and understand the stuff. For me, CLR and Public i just understand and memorize the substance since it's all essay xD but of course when u memorize plz also understand what is it all abt ler..maybe this is also bad advise keke im takin uk transfer programme, basically i tink the syllabus taught is about the same as UOL. how about the timetable? xD glad to meet you if you're coming back to take clp. |
Jun 9 2009, 09:39 PM
QUOTE(Xziled @ Jun 9 2009, 10:28 PM) Np, hmm..cheaper parking will be further down after the traffic lights where there is an open car park area which i think is RM3 per day if it hasn't increase its price yet. The syllabus is abt the same but i guess it depends on the lecturer what she/he demands for in ur scripts since it' the lecturers in the college which is marking. The timetable for u i guess is either full time or part time. Full time meaning either in the morning or afternoon rarely at night but if the lecturers r full time lawyers also then it may be at night 6.30-9.30pm xD i guess u can collect ur timetable already lor to check it out icic. rm3 per day is reasonable. thanks for telling. i registered for full time, so that means my timetable wil be full time, will i hv any class on weekends? hopefully not!! yalor, i've heard ppl saying tat 'attachment wif law firm', what does that mean and how can i apply for it? i think there's a more precise verb rather than 'apply' right? |
Jun 9 2009, 10:00 PM
QUOTE(Xziled @ Jun 9 2009, 10:54 PM) Np ohhh yea, i see. but i heard that the life in brickfields is really good! and im lookinf forward to it! tml i'll go and take. ohh that means while pursuing my degree, how to do internship leh? weekends huh? |
Jun 9 2009, 11:34 PM
QUOTE(Xziled @ Jun 9 2009, 11:51 PM) Oh o_O how good? lol icic. examples? well my fren was doing alvl there last year, he told me that the ppl there are friendly and oso the teachers, in addition, i've heard from many others seniors included my cousin that the teachers there are very responsible and determined, plus the institution is small, eventually i get to know almost everyone there. Hmm, well since u selected full time intake, i dun think u will be able to work at the same time unless u take part time course since internship is also equated to working life. So either u undergo the internship during ur 3months break if not dun work weekends hmm not really sure, it really depends. I can't be too sure to answer that since final year in UOL the lecturers r full time lawyers also so all the classes r night classes and weekend classes |
Jun 10 2009, 11:32 AM
QUOTE(Xziled @ Jun 10 2009, 01:25 AM) well yea since the institution is small and it's also kinda casual...not much formalities also ler..can be friends with the staff and lecturers also yea i agree that it might not provide us campus life but i think it will be a good experience also, at least to me. but i dun think labeling "good life" is appropriate haha...coz i thought u were saying that the lifestyle there and not the performance of the collge ie.lecturers itself actually im a bit worried that i cant catch up wif the lessons as i did science subjects in my pre-u... btw, when will ur results be out? |
Jun 10 2009, 07:32 PM
QUOTE(Xziled @ Jun 10 2009, 05:31 PM) Hmm, dun worry...i'm sure u'll do just fine. I guess if u r interested in the subject matter, u'll find ur way no matter what. Although the examination structure has changed for CLR and also Public law since i've heard that there r mixed topics in 1Q and i've seen but not in detail in UOL, there's papers stating before and after some certain year which i presumed is after my time, i guess they changed it as well. So it might appear to be more difficult than it was for me or for the others who did it earlier xD so be prepared for that. But, if u have any difficulties or questions, u can always seek guidance here, we r all willing to help u out thanks alot. if i've any question, i'll ask you. For me, results will be coming out in August i guess, maybe end of the month. Now results can be checked on9 once u received a notification letter from UOL In the 1st year i have to do 5 subjects public law, criminal law, contract law, common law reasoning. How about your first year? secondly, in the next year, i have to do land law, law of trust, law of tort, law of evidence/commercial law. I cannot choose both evidence and commercial right? |
Jun 10 2009, 10:51 PM
QUOTE(Xziled @ Jun 10 2009, 11:13 PM) Each year only have 4 subjects max unless u r taking scheme B then it's different which is 3 subjects per year. haha thanks for telling, but i got a brochure from Brickfields and it is stated there in first year there are common law reasoning, english legal system, public law, contract law and criminal law. Everyone's 1st year and 2nd year is the same except for 1 optional subject in Part 1 which u can choose. For me i took evidence since i didn't have much option btw lol coz BAC is not offering commercial law. I dunno whether they will or not in the future but for my year they did not ler...maybe u all can suggest to them ler...coz only now when i went for 1 interview in which the firm specializes in corporate and commercial disputes mainly in debt recovery, the boss and also lawyer there said that it's important to know both company and commercial law if u want to look into that area next time ler...and he did ask me little abt doctrine of separate legal entity which is also the 1st topic in company law...luckily i could answer xD coz i thought can forget abt studies already after exams lol So yea...a little advice from me to those who r still undergoing their degree to know which subjects to take. I'm sure many of them who will tell u that u just need to get the grades to qualify to take CLP so just pick the easy subjects which u can score. It's true in degree but since there is some pointers now which i didn't have at my time, so just informing u guys ler So sunnyonizuka90, u could opt to take both also either do commercial in Part 1 and take evidence in Part 2 then. Evidence is relevant and helpful for u since u will also be facing it again in CLP. Hey! never meet up Hey JHong, your name sounds like a chinese, arent you? haha im goin to brickfields in 22nd june, erm if i am not mistaken, i'll be joining june intake. can u help me to see whether is it the orientation will be started on 22nd june? when i go there let's meet up This post has been edited by sunnyonizuka90: Jun 10 2009, 11:11 PM |
Jun 11 2009, 01:03 AM
QUOTE(jhong @ Jun 11 2009, 12:52 AM) Actually, what is cited in the brochure is correct, it is just that you mistaken or misinterpret. ohh thanks for telling...now only i knw common law reasoning and english legal system are actually the same. sorry for my ignorance cos i was from science stream. Common Law and Reasoning and English Legal System is the same subject. So, its 4 subjects. Yes, i am a chinese. U got it! Orientation day? Well, they should have informed you the day when u filled up your registration form ? Meet up? hahax.sure....will see when.. so looking forward to meeting you then. |
| Change to: | 0.0556sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:46 PM |