looks like this week no gaming, just HOME until 750giger arrives

This post has been edited by snipersnake: Sep 18 2010, 01:28 PM
munzamir
post Sep 27 2010, 03:56 AM

76 posts

ps3 hardisk crashed.. sigh..
just upgraded to 500GB smile.gif

btw, the price for WD 5400rpm 500GB dropped RM158..
i bising2 for 15 mins at a shop called 'thundernet' something at lowyat there and they give 158.. hahaha! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by munzamir: Sep 27 2010, 04:01 AM
TSsnipersnake
post Sep 27 2010, 07:48 AM

typical abah
2,652 posts

i got mine at rm130
stormaker
post Sep 27 2010, 12:52 PM

3,130 posts

U guys bought WD Scorpio Blue, WD5000BEVT 500GB, n installed without any problem ? I planning to upgrade my PS3 Slim's 120GB to 500GB this week. smile.gif
tanseehua
post Sep 27 2010, 01:25 PM

519 posts

QUOTE(stormaker @ Sep 27 2010, 12:52 PM)
U guys bought WD Scorpio Blue, WD5000BEVT 500GB, n installed without any problem ? I planning to upgrade my PS3 Slim's 120GB to 500GB this week.  smile.gif
im using this HDD now in my Slim for about 1 week time...............heard about problem b4 buy also. but hamtam saja lah coz is the cheapest around for 500GB. Until today it is okay to me...........touch wood. I spend RM156 on this HDD at Low Yat Plaza last week
stormaker
post Sep 27 2010, 01:33 PM

3,130 posts

QUOTE(tanseehua @ Sep 27 2010, 01:25 PM)
im using this HDD now in my Slim for about 1 week time...............heard about problem b4 buy also. but hamtam saja lah coz is the cheapest around for 500GB. Until today it is okay to me...........touch wood. I spend RM156 on this HDD at Low Yat Plaza last week
Thanks for ur feedback ... yeah, i heard abt the problems as well, that's why i'm holding back, until now, with Move supported PSn games, i think i cant hold any longer .... lol ...

Since most of u guys choose WD5000BEVT n without any problem, i think i should go ahead as well ! biggrin.gif

But, here in Sarawak, it's still selling at RM180-190 ... sad.gif

This post has been edited by stormaker: Sep 27 2010, 01:35 PM
afeeq
post Sep 27 2010, 02:04 PM

237 posts

means we need 2 harddrive la?
1 to copy from ps3.
1 to insert to the ps3.
Bubu1983
post Sep 28 2010, 01:44 PM

Guys, i just got my ps3 slim n want to upgrade the HDD. Can i just swap with the new HDD without backup as i dun hv much saved data?

What's the biggest HDD for ps3 slim available in market now? Price?

Joey Christensen
post Sep 28 2010, 03:17 PM

Purgamentum init, exit purgamentum
3,651 posts

QUOTE(Bubu1983 @ Sep 28 2010, 01:44 PM)
Guys, i just got my ps3 slim n want to upgrade the HDD. Can i just swap with the new HDD without backup as i dun hv much saved data?

What's the biggest HDD for ps3 slim available in market now? Price?

It's not a question of getting the largest capacity HDD available in the market. It's much concern about compatibility, cost to performance ratio. If you are slinging for a HDD, it's safe to get a 500GB HDD for a start.

sammesul81
post Oct 9 2010, 07:34 PM

67 posts

Guys, i need help sad.gif

i bought 500gb HDD, so i planned to install it and but my problem is my external HDD lah pulak doh.gif dem

i cant format it to FAT32... i right click it and pick format but it just show NTFS only sweat.gif

Apa boleh aku buat? icon_question.gif

stormaker
post Oct 9 2010, 07:51 PM

3,130 posts

QUOTE(sammesul81 @ Oct 9 2010, 07:34 PM)
Guys, i need help  sad.gif

i bought 500gb HDD, so i planned to install it and but my problem is my external HDD lah pulak doh.gif dem

i cant format it to FAT32... i right click it and pick format but it just show NTFS only  sweat.gif

Apa boleh aku buat?  icon_question.gif
Download guiformat to format ur ext. hdd. smile.gif
pierreye
post Oct 9 2010, 09:38 PM

1,308 posts

WinXP up to Win 7 max 32gb partition for FAT32. You need DOS or partition utility if you want to go higher than 32Gb.
nistelrooy_sam
post Oct 14 2010, 11:28 PM

Validating
76 posts

wanna to ask something about the backup...

will i able to keep all my trophies, downloaded games from other accounts(PS store purchased games) ? coz i used several accounts to buy games... scared lose those games and my trouphies.
TSsnipersnake
post Oct 15 2010, 05:25 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

i cant format it to FAT32... i right click it and pick format but it just show NTFS only  sweat.gif

get Norton's Partition Magic bro
SSJBen
post Oct 15 2010, 05:39 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Or just use something free and simple like swissknife.
afiq2819
post Oct 18 2010, 03:56 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(nistelrooy_sam @ Oct 14 2010, 11:28 PM)
wanna to ask something about the backup...

will i able to keep all my trophies, downloaded games from other accounts(PS store purchased games) ? coz i used several accounts to buy games... scared lose those games and my trouphies.
can ayone reply this?im planning to upgrade too..but afraid to lose everythng esp trohies...& i heard dat our psn account@nickname will die with our previous HDD & will nt be able to transfer to new HDD..is it true?if so it means dat we need to create a new account for our new HDD & our records in previous HDD & account will be history?all sifu pls help..thanx notworthy.gif
TSsnipersnake
post Oct 18 2010, 05:09 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

This is my advice, if you wish to keep your VITAL details intact.(provided you dont have a big ass USB storage)

You will need a USB storage with the latest PS3 firmware in ROOT/PS3/UPDATE , at least 8bg. (if that you dont have, stop playing ps3 and buy a DS)

1. Synch all of the trophies. All accounts. You need to be online to do this.

2. Back up all your Photos, music and movies, either batch by batch to your PC OR delete them all.

3. Delete the game utilities instals.

4. Delete the PSN games.

5. Now you should have very minimal data, go to System Settings

6. Go to Utilities -- backup utilities

7. Insert your FAT32 formatted USB storage.

8. Choose BACKUP ALL DATA (or something like that)

9. Wait for it to finish. Once finished, take out the HDD and put the new one.

10.Once powered up, the PS3 will prompt you to format the HDD or not. If you choose NO, GTFO.

11.The after that, PS3 will ask you to put the USB storage with the latest firmare, so slam the sucker in the slot.

12.Firmware updating, and for God's sake, please wait for it to be finished.

13.After the process, the system will restart.

14.Go to Utilies, restore, and select restore. RESTORE ALL DATA.

15.Then the PS3 will have all the save data with the multiple accounts inside.

16.Redownload back the patches and the updates as well as the PSN games. Trophies? Synch them back to reobtain them.

This is MY GUIDE, and its working well for me. You guys may take this as a refference.

Gamers with big ass HDD USB storage can skip step 2 to 4 and step 16.

terryfu
post Oct 20 2010, 10:35 AM

514 posts

Hi. Have been reading through the threads here and found that upgrading can be a bit of a hassle. Am using the standard 120 GB but now already down to 12 GB (around 80 trailers incl the 1 GB E3 ones as well as >20 games). Am deciding between upgrading to a 500 GB or backing up the media stuff into another hard drive instead.

A few questions :

1. Is there a definitive list of games where the Saved Data cannot be transferred or protected? So far I see Heavy Rain and LBP, and both also I got and want to transfer the Saves.

2. I have a downloaded game via Game Sharing. Does it mean it will be gone as I bought it from another forumer.

3. Side effects from upgrading. Read a few threads which say got 'freeze', 'lag', etc problems but does it really happen?

4. Anyone using 7200 rpm with problems? I can game 8 hours straight so am a bit worried bout heat.

Thanks for any help that can be provided.
rx330
post Oct 20 2010, 10:51 AM

11,809 posts

guys, need some advice

i had a ps3 fat, 3 years back, now it died, hdd still accesible, any way i can transfer the data to my new slim ps3? or can i just swap the hdd?

48 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Top

0.0461sec    1.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:27 PM