255 posts

may i know what is window dressing? smile.gif
Jordy
post Jun 27 2008, 10:53 AM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

Window dressing is when funds push up the prices of counters to buff up their earnings. Happens mostly at the end of financial year.
PBB boleh
post Jun 27 2008, 10:54 AM

566 posts

QUOTE(cantona7 @ Jun 27 2008, 10:42 AM)
may i know what is window dressing? smile.gif
Fund manager buying extra "stuff" to make their "window" nicer looking at end of a Q.
zirconxi
post Jun 27 2008, 10:58 AM

20 posts

everything is red this morning.... Will it turn around this afternoon??
cantdecide
post Jun 27 2008, 11:06 AM

1,486 posts

Can anyone help me to complete this list of all IPP (independant power producers) in Malaysia?

To my knowledge, I only know of the following:
1. YTLPower
2. Malakoff
3. Genting
4. Tanjong.

I am trying to see if all their share price is going downtrend since the fuel hike and the talk of potential IPP renegotiation.

Please help. Thank you.
sinclairZX81
post Jun 27 2008, 11:16 AM

Change for the better
2,013 posts

I think Sime Darby also has a Power division.
cantdecide
post Jun 27 2008, 11:20 AM

1,486 posts

QUOTE(sinclairZX81 @ Jun 27 2008, 11:16 AM)
OK, so now I have:
1. YTLPower
2. Genting
3. Tanjong
4. Malakoff (can someone please tell me the listing parent company cos I can't find Malakoff anymore and if my memory serves me right I know Tan Sri Mokhtar has privatised it)
5. Sime Darby
Jordy
post Jun 27 2008, 11:22 AM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(zirconxi @ Jun 27 2008, 10:58 AM)
everything is red this morning.... Will it turn around this afternoon??
Why look for a turnaround in the market at such times? wink.gif
Even if market turns around now, you might not see profit in your counter.
It is something like "can see but no touch" tongue.gif
I would prefer market to go down down and down until i have settled my buying, then wait until my investment is realised.
ante5k
post Jun 27 2008, 11:27 AM

Antediluvian
1,173 posts

QUOTE(sinclairZX81 @ Jun 27 2008, 11:16 AM)
sime is operating PD power, gas fired plant. (peaking plant)

Added on June 27, 2008, 11:28 amQuery : what the yellow blinking lights mean? someone cancel?

This post has been edited by ante5k: Jun 27 2008, 11:28 AM
sabrateur
post Jun 27 2008, 12:08 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(cantdecide @ Jun 27 2008, 11:06 AM)
Can anyone help me to complete this list of all IPP (independant power producers) in Malaysia?

To my knowledge, I only know of the following:
1.  YTLPower
2.  Malakoff
3.  Genting
4.  Tanjong.

I am trying to see if all their share price is going downtrend since the fuel hike and the talk of potential IPP renegotiation.

Please help.  Thank you.
MMC Corp owns 51% of Malakoff. And Malakoff's contribution is significant in MMC's profits. Might be relevant to you.
Neo18
post Jun 27 2008, 12:13 PM

1,850 posts

bought TANJONG @ RM14
panasonic88
post Jun 27 2008, 12:24 PM

37,028 posts

QUOTE(Neo18 @ Jun 27 2008, 12:13 PM)
bought TANJONG @ RM14
another 52-weeks low counter spotted.
Jordy
post Jun 27 2008, 12:26 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(Neo18 @ Jun 27 2008, 12:13 PM)
bought TANJONG @ RM14
May I know what is the significance of TANJONG?
Interested to see some opinion smile.gif
Neo18
post Jun 27 2008, 12:29 PM

1,850 posts

TANJONG
Unwarranted valuation; BUY. We see its current weakness in share price, amid the recent political “noise” and unclear windfall tax on IPPs, deems to be unwarranted. It trades at undemanding 8.8x CY09 PER, thus we believe the selling is overdone. We maintain our BUY rating on Tanjong at price target of RM22.60/RNAV share.
panasonic88
post Jun 27 2008, 12:31 PM

37,028 posts

so the source is quoted from iCapital rolleyes.gif

what do you think, Jordy?
AdamG1981
post Jun 27 2008, 12:52 PM

4,030 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ Jun 26 2008, 08:22 PM)
Why look for a turnaround in the market at such times? wink.gif
Even if market turns around now, you might not see profit in your counter.
It is something like "can see but no touch" tongue.gif
I would prefer market to go down down and down until i have settled my buying, then wait until my investment is realised.
There's no way market will continue to keep diving without technically correcting itself. And finding the bottom is key especially in this bear market situation.

Even if you do pick up blue chip shares for a good price, you won't see a big, and fast return in a bear market.

And yes Zirconci, market will go back up but will close red.

This post has been edited by AdamG1981: Jun 27 2008, 12:53 PM
Jordy
post Jun 27 2008, 01:03 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(Neo18 @ Jun 27 2008, 12:29 PM)
TANJONG
Unwarranted valuation; BUY. We see its current weakness in share price, amid the recent political “noise” and unclear windfall tax on IPPs, deems to be unwarranted. It trades at undemanding 8.8x CY09 PER, thus we believe the selling is overdone. We maintain our BUY rating on Tanjong at price target of RM22.60/RNAV share.
Well, what about its earnings prospect? What about its growth plans?
The analysis is based on 12 months view, but what about 60 months target, or even 120 months targets?
That is the problem with following "expert" opinions, as you do not really get to understand the business you invests in.
I am not saying their opinions are not better than mine, but I still feel those "analysts" are more or less biased.
Haha, I know I am being sarcastic here tongue.gif But it all boils down to their long term prospects.

QUOTE(AdamG1981 @ Jun 27 2008, 12:52 PM)
There's no way market will continue to keep diving without technically correcting itself. And finding the bottom is key especially in this bear market situation.

Even if you do pick up blue chip shares for a good price, you won't see a big, and fast return in a bear market.
And yes Zirconci, market will go back up but will close red.
Technical corrections are short term.
I agree though that there might not be a big and fast return in such situation.
So, more of a reason for us to have a long term view.

This post has been edited by Jordy: Jun 27 2008, 02:35 PM
zirconxi
post Jun 27 2008, 02:08 PM

20 posts

how long is long? 1 year, 2 years, 3 years... 10 years...

126 Pages « < 120 121 122 123 124 > » Top

0.0158sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 03:53 AM