55 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Bottom

House of Westies, Owners of 'Small lions', share here.

benjac
post Apr 21 2009, 07:38 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(Christopher7 @ Apr 21 2009, 07:16 PM)
Oh ... sorry to hear this ..  sad.gif
read that you just got your westie. welcome to the westie clan thumbup.gif

may i suggest that once you bring your westie home, bring him for a check-up with a good vet. not trying to scare you but it is better to be prepared if your westie have any unforeseen conditions not visible now at his age. my previous vets at petcare, taman melawati was total useless. make sure you find a good vet and not those that "drink blood" tongue.gif

do update us once you bring him home ok biggrin.gif
Christopher7
post Apr 21 2009, 09:39 PM

Stay Hungry, Stay Foolish
1,044 posts

QUOTE(benjac @ Apr 21 2009, 08:38 PM)
read that you just got your westie. welcome to the westie clan  thumbup.gif

may i suggest that once you bring your westie home, bring him for a check-up with a good vet. not trying to scare you but it is better to be prepared if your westie have any unforeseen conditions not visible now at his age. my previous vets at petcare, taman melawati was total useless. make sure you find a good vet and not those that "drink blood"  tongue.gif

do update us once you bring him home ok  biggrin.gif
HEhe .. Thanks =) rclxms.gif

SOund Scary =="
BUt its good also to do check up ~
my westie juz 3mths cry.gif hopefully will be the healthy1 ~~
how much is the price ? around ?

I will upload the photo once i bring my Westie back ~ hehe ...

This post has been edited by Christopher7: Apr 21 2009, 09:40 PM
Doraemon11
post Apr 21 2009, 11:10 PM

530 posts

QUOTE(benjac @ Apr 21 2009, 07:38 PM)
read that you just got your westie. welcome to the westie clan  thumbup.gif

may i suggest that once you bring your westie home, bring him for a check-up with a good vet. not trying to scare you but it is better to be prepared if your westie have any unforeseen conditions not visible now at his age. my previous vets at petcare, taman melawati was total useless. make sure you find a good vet and not those that "drink blood"  tongue.gif

do update us once you bring him home ok  biggrin.gif
Hi benjac, i miss u so much and also scubby. However it was reli sad to heard about scubby. You n scubby must need to be persevere toward future. Me and all the member here will pray hard for you both.
Pennywise
post Apr 21 2009, 11:22 PM

5,796 posts

Hi benjac,

I am so sorry to hear what you are going through. I know we have our difference previously about "westies" but I hope you can put that behind us.

I want to tell you something based on my experience. Both Marquis and Casper had this problem but whenever it came, it always go away. It never stays.

I brought him to 2 vets and they say it's hip dysplasia but in the end, it always heal itself. Some times, I think it's because they run and jump about a lot, since Westies are quite active dogs and sprained themselves. I did the whole x-ray, blood samples and etc.

May I know how is Scubby now?
Is he limping?
Is he in pain? If yes, how long has he been?

I hope you dont mind this and you probably have already done so but have you thought of a second opinion? Mayo Clinic in Taipan USJ is pretty good I'd say, even better than my local vet. I think it's worth a shot considering that you love him so much.

Hope things get better soon.

Added on April 21, 2009, 11:27 pmOh yes, another thing is that, you can put him through surgery and things usually gets better. What i'm trying to say is that by going through surgery, he has a high chance of getting better but of course, need a lot of rest for about 4 - 6 months after operation.

This post has been edited by Pennywise: Apr 21 2009, 11:27 PM
benjac
post Apr 22 2009, 06:32 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(Christopher7 @ Apr 21 2009, 09:39 PM)
how much is the price ? around ?
i'm not sure how much it is for a general check-up, it depends on where you go i guess.
scubby did a blood test for RM65 and the xray was RM90. all this was done at Gasing Veterinary Hospital in PJ.

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Apr 21 2009, 11:22 PM)
I brought him to 2 vets and they say it's hip dysplasia but in the end, it always heal itself. Some times, I think it's because they run and jump about a lot, since Westies are quite active dogs and sprained themselves. I did the whole x-ray, blood samples and etc.
May I know how is Scubby now?
Is he limping?
Is he in pain? If yes, how long has he been?
ok the story is like this...

since we took him back from irene, we noticed that his back leg tip-toes when he walks. but we never suspect anything was wrong. we often make fun when he jumps because his back legs doesn't touch the ground, like he is lazy.

now that he is 7mths old, we want to get him neutered. and i asked around other forum for a good vet since it requires surgery and i heard scary stuff that dogs don't wake up after it. that is how i know about Gasing Veterinary Hospital.

first visit there, DrLim suggested doing a blood test to see if there are any underlying kidney or liver problem. because all dogs are under anesthetic for surgery, and the body eliminates the drugs by the kidney and liver. so if the dog have these 2 prob, it could be serious or fatal. especially for a puppy. this is when DrLim noticed Scubby's back leg and he recommended xray. for many months i go to petcare at taman melawati, non of the vets there noticed! mad.gif

the xray showed that both his femur bones doesn't connect nicely to the pelvis - known as hip dysplasia. there is no cure for this and surgery doesn't guarantee it either. scubby is still young, there are not much prob now. but as he grows older, he will have difficulty walking and painful movements. he is not limping or showing signs of pain, it's just that his back legs looks like walking on air...

about irenekang, i am very upset with her due to her many times being dishonest with us. one of her many lies was when i asked if she kept any puppies, she said NO and want to untung back money only keep. but after you visited her, you posted a picture of pinky?!?! rclxub.gif i seriously thought it was another puppy she didn't show us and not scubby's sister. she even asked us to lie about how much we paid for scubby!

we already planned to get another westie from her later but now, i will advice other people not to buy from her. yes, her westies are nice, but got genetic prob and she told me both her westies have no genetic probs. i trusted her and helped her promote her dogs, but now i know she is just another business woman after our money.

you and your gf met her personally, i am sure she TALK NON-STOP about how good quality her westies are compared to the ones in KL when you were at her house -- short carrot tail, small pointy ears, small body, a lot of fur, short muzzle, etc. we didn't even get a chance to ask her anything because she keep hard sell her puppies, so we also kena brainwash and paid RM500 deposit after 30mins.

matthew, now i understand why you were so upset with marcuslim...
benjac
post Apr 22 2009, 07:01 PM

75 posts

here's how scubby looks like now wub.gif

this was taken last month - he's 6mths here. i'm not sure if this is his full size, hopefully he doesn't grow anymore tongue.gif currently 3.88kg

this was taken yesterday. he doesn't fight the cone and lets me wear it easily. he'll need to wear it for another 10 days until his sutures are removed next week.

This post has been edited by benjac: Apr 22 2009, 07:01 PM
Christopher7
post Apr 22 2009, 09:54 PM

1,044 posts

QUOTE(benjac @ Apr 22 2009, 08:01 PM)
here's how scubby looks like now  wub.gif

this was taken last month - he's 6mths here. i'm not sure if this is his full size, hopefully he doesn't grow anymore tongue.gif currently 3.88kg

this was taken yesterday. he doesn't fight the cone and lets me wear it easily. he'll need to wear it for another 10 days until his sutures are removed next week.
Your scubby is so cute icon_rolleyes.gif
he will be fine smile.gif
Pennywise
post Apr 22 2009, 10:26 PM

5,796 posts

benjac,

Ok, I dont remember you wrote anything about Scubby tip-toeing but it's not too late that you found out later or even now.

I just neutered Casper but we didnt have to go through the whole liver / kidney blood test thing. My local vet, I trust her, did told me that 1 out of 20,000 dogs will not wake up after being anesthetic. We went ahead with it and he's fine now. Still has that e-collar around the neck to prevent him from licking his private part, afraid may snap the stitches. Will go back to the vet to check-up again next weekend.

FYI - ihawk98 and I goes to the same vet. She's not exactly the best vet but for small small things, she's OK.

BOTH his femur bones does not connect nicely to the pelvis? This sounds pretty serious since it is affecting both side. I did read about hip dysplasia before but I cannot guarantee my facts is all right but I do have confidence in today's medical science and believe that surgery will help. This is done, the earlier the better and the younger it's carried out, the less painful years he has to go through. Additionally, if prolonged, it could possibly get worse.

About Irene - not much comments there. She did indeed promote her dogs, which I think any proud Westie owners would do. I mean, if it's my puppy, what the hell right? Sure promote lah! She did tell me that Pinky is benjac's westie sister. She didnt tell me not to disclosed it and I think it's the right thing to do, to share, since Pinky does indeed looks like a very very nice puppy. Not promoting the sales of the dog but it's a rarity to find something like Pinky locally.

We are looking for another female and had wanted to get from Irene but then the last litter only had 1 female so she wanted to keep that and therefore, I didnt manage to get any. I may or may not get from her in the next litter I do not know because my sister wants another breed now cause she 'sien' of Westie already. We love dogs and would like to know more different breed to understand their temperament and nature. Casper is a westie or even a mongrel, we do not care. Marquis and Moonies are westies (least, certified by MKA). So today, we officially has a pair and may venture into something else, or may not - God knows, for now.

About Marcus - this is one funny guy. Not sure if he stalks me since we come from the same town but I know he's been going around telling people that my Westies are from him. Problem is, I have 3 and he couldnt even differentiate which was from his uncle (not him!). I found this out when I brought Marquis for grooming at a pet store in Klang and later on, the shop owner asked if I bought this from Marcus. I bought Marquis from Ikano actually. Moonie is the one from his uncle.
benjac
post Apr 23 2009, 12:00 AM

75 posts

i never wrote about scubby tip-toeing before because it never occurs to us that it was a problem.

irene did not point a gun to our heads, we bought scubby because we liked ozzy and christy. we didn't even mind that we cannot choose. it is very bad business etiquette to LIE to your customers. promising HEAVEN and EARTH that your dogs are TOP quality and WITHOUT health problems. you can promise, but first, you should check and make sure what you say is true.

she lied about pinky. why she lied i do not know, but the fact that she lied. and this is only one of the many others, which i'm quite upset to write about. of course all these lies, i found out after bringing scubby home. one by one she change her words when i asked her later. we tolerated with it and even remained in contact. i still send her photos of scubby update every week until he was 5mths old. but now, I THINK NOT!

it is the decisions of other buyers if they want to buy her puppies. i'm just doing my part to inform who i can. she should not be breeding ozzy and christy anymore because they carry this gene. it is really irresponsible and will cause great pain to both the dog and owner.

1) physical pain -- the dog would be in pain everytime it walks, and can no longer run freely.
2) emotional pain -- which owner wants to see their dog's in pain? wouldn't the dog also be moody because it cannot move freely?
3) financial constraint -- the supplements that the dog needs to take forever is not cheap. surgery is not guaranteed successful.

when the buying stops, this irresponsible act will stop too...

This post has been edited by benjac: Apr 23 2009, 12:26 AM
pet@icon
post Apr 23 2009, 02:59 AM

QUOTE(Pennywise @ May 22 2008, 05:39 PM)
OMG OMG OMG OMG!!! OMGGGGG!!!... yet another Westie lover!! Yahooo!!! Finally got Westie thread!! And Casper too!!

My male Westie also name Casper. He is 1 year and 7 months old. I got him on 1st Jan 2007. My female Westie is Moonie because she was born during Mooncake Festival so we named her after the Moon. I got her around October last year. She is now 9 months old!

Oh man oh man... Let me post up some picture... Dual Casper Westie!!!! Hahahaha...

Here are some picture from Chinese New Year 2008. It was around this time I shaved Casper bald, looking like a Pitbull Terrier and he hates me for it. Now, 3 months had passed and his fur is starting to grow back. He looks so hansem now.

Casper with his pillow. He do hamsap things on this pillow which is now taken away from him.
[attachmentid=476877]

Two lazy dogs getting in the way on the stairs.
[attachmentid=476878]

Dayang istana style of sitting.
[attachmentid=476879]
Do check out my Westie video at my signature!

Added on May 22, 2008, 2:42 pm
Yea, he can try that but then do not cut to the skin as growing out new fur may change the fur color due to pigmentation. That's what I was told last time and best part is, the dog is going to hate him for it.
Wash with Malaseb if his paw is discolored / red. This happened with my gf's Jap Spitz from Aus. It works! Be caution that Malaseb is poisonous.

Omg, Moonie first heat ended some time ago. Casper went totally nuts over it. So nuts that he's grumpy, growling, moaning like Mr. Bean. He even injured himself when he tries to get close to Moonie once because he fell from a chair and broke his nails... splash, blood everywhere.

ur dogs got no hair!!!! What shampoo u use huh?
marcuslim
post Apr 23 2009, 03:20 PM

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Apr 22 2009, 10:26 PM)
benjac,

Ok, I dont remember you wrote anything about Scubby tip-toeing but it's not too late that you found out later or even now.

I just neutered Casper but we didnt have to go through the whole liver / kidney blood test thing. My local vet, I trust her, did told me that 1 out of 20,000 dogs will not wake up after being anesthetic. We went ahead with it and he's fine now. Still has that e-collar around the neck to prevent him from licking his private part, afraid may snap the stitches. Will go back to the vet to check-up again next weekend.

FYI - ihawk98 and I goes to the same vet. She's not exactly the best vet but for small small things, she's OK.

BOTH his femur bones does not connect nicely to the pelvis? This sounds pretty serious since it is affecting both side. I did read about hip dysplasia before but I cannot guarantee my facts is all right but I do have confidence in today's medical science and believe that surgery will help. This is done, the earlier the better and the younger it's carried out, the less painful years he has to go through. Additionally, if prolonged, it could possibly get worse.

About Irene - not much comments there. She did indeed promote her dogs, which I think any proud Westie owners would do. I mean, if it's my puppy, what the hell right? Sure promote lah! She did tell me that Pinky is benjac's westie sister. She didnt tell me not to disclosed it and I think it's the right thing to do, to share, since Pinky does indeed looks like a very very nice puppy. Not promoting the sales of the dog but it's a rarity to find something like Pinky locally.

We are looking for another female and had wanted to get from Irene but then the last litter only had 1 female so she wanted to keep that and therefore, I didnt manage to get any. I may or may not get from her in the next litter I do not know because my sister wants another breed now cause she 'sien' of Westie already. We love dogs and would like to know more different breed to understand their temperament and nature. Casper is a westie or even a mongrel, we do not care. Marquis and Moonies are westies (least, certified by MKA). So today, we officially has a pair and may venture into something else, or may not - God knows, for now.

About Marcus - this is one funny guy. Not sure if he stalks me since we come from the same town but I know he's been going around telling people that my Westies are from him. Problem is, I have 3 and he couldnt even differentiate which was from his uncle (not him!). I found this out when I brought Marquis for grooming at a pet store in Klang and later on, the shop owner asked if I bought this from Marcus. I bought Marquis from Ikano actually. Moonie is the one from his uncle.
I can't stop laughing when i see this,indeed a very funny joke.Dear Matthew,if you are a girl,i maybe stalk you brows.gif Do you think i am so free to stalk you?Please say something that you are sure about it but not by what you see/heard.Guess this is not the 1st time whistling.gif FYI,I didn't went around and told people that your westies are from ME,I really can't stop laughing looking at how childish are some people....

Yes,i saw your dog in a pet shop,i just say to " Oh,westie..I guess i know whose westie is that"Matthew rite?" how many people will have westie in klg? n i sold a few westies before so roughly i know whose dog but I never ever say that i sold the westie to U,Do you have any hearing prob?Ever play the passing message game?One message transfered to another person n so on,in the end will it be the same? BTW i know which 1 you bought as i'M NOT BLIND.As u say that the shop owner asked if u bought your westie from me ,he just asked rite n you claim that i'm tellling people that ur westies are from me......so what are you talking actually?and whatever u wan 2 say after this i don't bother,so u can say watever u like as u always do. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by marcuslim: Apr 23 2009, 03:33 PM
Christopher7
post Apr 23 2009, 03:26 PM

1,044 posts

Complicated =="
benjac
post Apr 23 2009, 03:43 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(Christopher7 @ Apr 23 2009, 03:26 PM)
Complicated =="
life is complicated. else it wouldn't be called LIFE icon_rolleyes.gif

so when are you bringing your westie back?
Doraemon11
post Apr 23 2009, 05:06 PM

530 posts

Petcare vet reli cant hope... after my 2nd visit i alrd give up.
I been bringing my white poodle for vacin, that dr grace written on my boy's medical card ~ breed column there "West Highland Terrier".............. shocking.gif shocking.gif
benjac
post Apr 23 2009, 05:18 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(Doraemon11 @ Apr 23 2009, 05:06 PM)
Petcare vet reli cant hope... after my 2nd visit i alrd give up.
I been bringing my white poodle for vacin, that dr grace written on my boy's medical card ~ breed column there "West Highland Terrier".............. shocking.gif  shocking.gif
Petcare really is a vet that DRINK BLOOD lo.

when i bring scubby back from Penang, he already have puppy rash problem (pimple everywhere on the body) and ear infection. i went to petcare more than 8x also cannot cure. finally only 1mth ago, it went away!

so which vet you go now? i drive all the way to PJ also dun mind because the vet there is good.
Doraemon11
post Apr 23 2009, 07:22 PM

530 posts

I heard other said briekfield vet is good..
Recently my yorkie breeder recommend me to Dr Chan at kota Damansara, said he is good. Will bring my yorkie there this weekend for 3rd vacin.. let u know the outcome later...
pet@icon
post Apr 23 2009, 09:07 PM

QUOTE(benjac @ Apr 23 2009, 08:18 PM)
Petcare really is a vet that DRINK BLOOD lo.

when i bring scubby back from Penang, he already have puppy rash problem (pimple everywhere on the body) and ear infection. i went to petcare more than 8x also cannot cure. finally only 1mth ago, it went away!

so which vet you go now? i drive all the way to PJ also dun mind because the vet there is good.
By the way, where do you groom ur Westie? Very sparse hair...!
benjac
post Apr 23 2009, 09:19 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(pet@icon @ Apr 23 2009, 09:07 PM)
By the way, where do you groom ur Westie? Very sparse hair...!
i groom him in my bathroom...

Christopher7
post Apr 23 2009, 09:40 PM

1,044 posts

QUOTE(benjac @ Apr 23 2009, 04:43 PM)
life is complicated. else it wouldn't be called LIFE  icon_rolleyes.gif

so when are you bringing your westie back?
Haha .. btw what happen ? confusing blink.gif

i wil bring him back by tis sat ~ hehe ..

pet@icon
post Apr 23 2009, 09:43 PM

QUOTE(benjac @ Apr 24 2009, 12:19 AM)
i groom him in my bathroom...
wHY NOT TRY PROFESSIONAL GROOMER? HIYA, YOU DONT CUT YOUR OWN HAIR DO YOU?

55 Pages « < 37 38 39 40 41 > » Top

0.0269sec    0.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:47 PM