55 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Bottom

House of Westies, Owners of 'Small lions', share here.

Pennywise
post Apr 26 2009, 08:06 PM

5,796 posts

Blackwood is ok I guess. It used to be made in USA but now it's from Thailand.

My personal experience with Blackwood is that when you keep the kibbles for a while, you start to notice white dots on the kibbles. These white dots will eventually turn into worms in 1 week.

Therefore, I avoid Blackwood. My favorite brands are Back to Basic, Natural Balance, and Evanger.
Christopher7
post Apr 26 2009, 08:42 PM

Stay Hungry, Stay Foolish
1,044 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Apr 26 2009, 09:06 PM)
Blackwood is ok I guess. It used to be made in USA but now it's from Thailand.

My personal experience with Blackwood is that when you keep the kibbles for a while, you start to notice white dots on the kibbles. These white dots will eventually turn into worms in 1 week.

Therefore, I avoid Blackwood. My favorite brands are Back to Basic, Natural Balance, and Evanger.
HUH !?!?! I bought a 4kg pack !!
IS there any way to avoid it turn worms ??
Pennywise
post Apr 26 2009, 09:04 PM

5,796 posts

Then try to finish it up as soon as possible lor. There's no way for you to exchange it anyway right, assuming you had opened it.

I feed my dogs twice a day because there's no one home to feed them once a day in the afternoon. So it's morning and evening. 7.5kg bag can last 3 dogs for nearly 2 months.

Put it in an air tight container is probably the best way to prolong it but there's no way to avoid it, through my experience la. You can ask other Blackwood users.
Christopher7
post Apr 26 2009, 09:34 PM

1,044 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Apr 26 2009, 10:04 PM)
Then try to finish it up as soon as possible lor. There's no way for you to exchange it anyway right, assuming you had opened it.

I feed my dogs twice a day because there's no one home to feed them once a day in the afternoon. So it's morning and evening. 7.5kg bag can last 3 dogs for nearly 2 months.

Put it in an air tight container is probably the best way to prolong it but there's no way to avoid it, through my experience la. You can ask other Blackwood users.
I feed my dog twice a day also . morning and evening too ~
i dare to to feed too much coz i afraid that its not good for his health .
roughly how many months to finish da 3.6KG pack if i feed twice a day ?

my Westie like to bite, izzit normal ?
coz sometimes he wan to bite my finger too ( maybe he think that got sth to eat )
do i need to control tis ??

Pennywise
post Apr 26 2009, 10:32 PM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(Christopher7 @ Apr 26 2009, 09:34 PM)
I feed my dog twice a day also . morning and evening too ~
i dare to to feed too much coz i afraid that its not good for his health .
roughly how many months to finish da 3.6KG pack if i feed twice a day ?

my Westie like to bite, izzit normal ?
coz sometimes he wan to bite my finger too ( maybe he think that got sth to eat )
do i need to control tis ??
Some ppl say it's better to fed once a day but I do twice because no one at home. Just feed as much as he can eat cause he's still a puppy, therefore, let it eat and grow healthily. If you feel he's becoming fat, just bring him exercise.

I think can last about 1 - 2 months kua.

Like to bite is normal. It's called teething, the gigi baru grow, so itchy. Let him bite on something else other than you. Give him a toy. Dont let him bite shoes / socks / you or else biasa d, you will headache.
Christopher7
post Apr 26 2009, 10:50 PM

1,044 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Apr 26 2009, 11:32 PM)
Some ppl say it's better to fed once a day but I do twice because no one at home. Just feed as much as he can eat cause he's still a puppy, therefore, let it eat and grow healthily. If you feel he's becoming fat, just bring him exercise.

I think can last about 1 - 2 months kua.

Like to bite is normal. It's called teething, the gigi baru grow, so itchy. Let him bite on something else other than you. Give him a toy. Dont let him bite shoes / socks / you or else biasa d, you will headache.
Ok ~ but he still like to pee everywhere ler ... cry.gif cry.gif

Pennywise
post Apr 26 2009, 11:07 PM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(Christopher7 @ Apr 26 2009, 10:50 PM)
Ok ~ but he still like to pee everywhere ler ...  cry.gif  cry.gif
Then it is your responsibility as the pet owner to correct him and give him sufficient training lor.
Good luck!
Christopher7
post Apr 27 2009, 02:19 AM

1,044 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Apr 27 2009, 12:07 AM)
Then it is your responsibility as the pet owner to correct him and give him sufficient training lor.
Good luck!
lucky that he wont bark when in dark biggrin.gif
so that i can go PAK TOH wif my gf ~ haha ..
i will train my best to train him =)
thumbup.gif
wong_lilly
post Apr 27 2009, 09:30 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(Christopher7 @ Apr 27 2009, 01:19 AM)
lucky that he wont bark when in dark biggrin.gif
so that i can go PAK TOH wif my gf ~ haha ..
i will train my best to train him =)
thumbup.gif
ihawk98
post Apr 27 2009, 09:43 AM

Audere est Facere
1,575 posts

i also feed buffy and sparky twice a day since young. seems to work for them.
Christopher7
post Apr 27 2009, 12:08 PM

1,044 posts

Why Westie cant do his biz at the same spot =="

Added on April 27, 2009, 9:39 pmMY WESTIE ATE BUTTERFLY !!!!
WILL KENA POISON O NOT ???!?!?! HELP ~~~~

Added on April 28, 2009, 3:54 amI found that my Westie is having bad breath ~
is there any method to refresh his breath ??

This post has been edited by Christopher7: Apr 28 2009, 03:54 AM
ihawk98
post Apr 28 2009, 09:52 AM

Audere est Facere
1,575 posts

QUOTE(Christopher7 @ Apr 27 2009, 12:08 PM)
Why Westie cant do his biz at the same spot =="

Added on April 27, 2009, 9:39 pmMY WESTIE ATE BUTTERFLY !!!!
WILL KENA POISON O NOT ???!?!?! HELP ~~~~

Added on April 28, 2009, 3:54 amI found that my Westie is having bad breath ~
is there any method to refresh his breath ??
eating butterflies will not poison him but try to prevent them from eating nonsense if can. my buffy likes to eat flowers. tongue.gif

for bad breath, you can try brushing their teeth after weekly bathing. we do that for both our westies, and yet one of them still got a bit bad breath... biggrin.gif
Pennywise
post Apr 28 2009, 09:58 AM

5,796 posts

You have to train him to do his biz on the same spot la. You think what? They are not humans leh. This takes time. Repeat whatever you are doing for 2 months and ask again if it fails. Hehehe...

Eat butterfly should be ok la, wont die one and bad breath, then brush teeth lor. Dont give it mint gum ok?
wzseow
post Apr 29 2009, 12:12 AM

191 posts

Hi all, it's been a while since I last visited here, been pretty busy with my uni work =(

Benjac, I read through your posts and I'm really sorry to hear that Scubby is suffering from such pain. Be strong, and just raise him as you did. He's a puppy afterall, and puppies love to play! I don't know much about the hip problem, so the obvious signs are back legs limping? And oh, where do you send Scubby for grooming? He looks so handsome!

Christopher7, hi there! Remember to post more pictures! =)

Christopher7
post Apr 30 2009, 02:30 PM

1,044 posts

OkOK ~ i WIll brush him everyday ~ haha ..

Added on April 30, 2009, 2:30 pm
QUOTE(wzseow @ Apr 29 2009, 01:12 AM)
Hi all, it's been a while since I last visited here, been pretty busy with my uni work =(
Benjac, I read through your posts and I'm really sorry to hear that Scubby is suffering from such pain. Be strong, and just raise him as you did. He's a puppy afterall, and puppies love to play! I don't know much about the hip problem, so the obvious signs are back legs limping? And oh, where do you send Scubby for grooming? He looks so handsome!
Christopher7, hi there! Remember to post more pictures! =)
Sure wink.gif
but my westie is so thin =="

This post has been edited by Christopher7: Apr 30 2009, 02:30 PM
Pennywise
post May 2 2009, 03:58 PM

5,796 posts

If he's thin, just feed more. Let him gain some weight, can always exercise him later to thin down. I think dogs quite easy to thin down lor, least it works for mine.

Yesterday brought Marquis and Moonie out again, without leash. They are an awesome pair, they walk near me and never run off. Tried with Casper again, my God, so disobedient - being the smartest, eldest, paling sayang, run off... SPOILT! Had to give chase and people in the park in the evening see me like mad man calling out to him.

Never let him out without leash ever again. Evil!
ihawk98
post May 3 2009, 07:55 AM

Audere est Facere
1,575 posts

Sparky for me can walk without leash stay close to us. But Buffy will be a wild horse...running for freedom too!!!
Pennywise
post May 3 2009, 10:25 PM

5,796 posts

Does Buffy run faster than Sparky? For me, Casper runs faster than the other two. He always dash off like mad and when you call for him, he come to me reluctantly or running happily and run past me. Wah liao, feel like kena fool by him some times.
ihawk98
post May 4 2009, 07:26 AM

Audere est Facere
1,575 posts

yes buffy runs faster than casper. and when we walk both of them together, she will maintain a pace that allows her to walk slightly ahead of him.
Pennywise
post May 4 2009, 02:21 PM

5,796 posts

Looks like she's the dominant one and Sparky is the more calm dog, possibly due to maturity?

My case different, Casper will dash out like a speeding bullet and very hard to catch him back. People say trust your dog and they will trust you. I trust him, he abuse. The other 2, ok.

55 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Top

0.0698sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:15 AM