2008 Mazda6 2.5 vs 2008 Accord 2.4, Compare 2 hot models from Honda & Mazda

andyjyneo
post Aug 4 2008, 11:40 PM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(kizuna6 @ Aug 4 2008, 11:36 PM)
i would say each car has its own unique features. Mazda 6 got the young sporty look, Honda catch up with elegance while Camry stay at it sedan class. In term of power, all the 3 cars came close in bhp and it depends on the respective car manufacturer technology. Mazda has MZR, Honda has VTEC and Toyota famous with its VVTI. In the past, Honda's VTEC is nominating Malaysia market but got beaten up by Toyota VVTI. Look at how VIOS overtake CITY and ALTIS stay its champ handsomely leaving CIVIC behind. CAMRY on the other hand, nominating the D-segment sedan for a while until the new ACCORD put up a good fight and now we have new comer Mazda6. Too bad, the MAZDA brand is still new to Malaysia market and apprently Bermaz unable to put up good promotion to its name. One drawback is that Bermaz is actually a car dealer of Mazda JP instead of Mazda country branch. What the heck is the Mazda JP management thinking? Or the boleh land is not their target compare to our good neighbour Singapore?

Ok, now come back to the comparison. I have seen MANY Camry on the road and now the white CAMRY is also start coming up like mushroom grow after the rain just like the new ACCORD. MAZDA6 remain its uniqueness to crown its own title 'few to own', which you will draw much attention as compare to ACCORD or CAMRY. Young chics love it even aunties can't help stop to look at it.

Ghee...now only i reliaze this thread is comparing ACCORD 2.4 and Mazda 6 2.5. Ha..anyway, to testify further the comparison we should have Mazda 6 driver switch car with the Honda Accord 2.4 driver for a week..say..so as to express which car is better. Any taker?
Are you sure Vios overtook City and Altis won Civic?
Both of them are opposite, man. Civic pawns Altis extremely hard. City and Vios is still at 50-50 mode.
kizuna6
post Aug 4 2008, 11:46 PM

26 posts

I am comparing the overall sales on Vios and Altis. Not the new Altis vs new Civic.
andyjyneo
post Aug 5 2008, 12:02 AM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

Yes, my statement can be used on new or overall too.
genkis3
post Aug 5 2008, 02:44 AM

789 posts

QUOTE(- f 0 7 - @ Aug 4 2008, 08:34 PM)
Hmm, have u ever drive the new accord?? Yeah, for certain peeps, it looks odd..  but its all about handling, power & drivability. For its value, its worth buying and good resale value too.. and for sure, its far better than camry.. Mazda6 fun to drive, smooth power delivery, great handling (but it still can't beat the 3 series), and it has an attractive design inside and out, availability of versatile hatchback body style...However, the engines are less powerful and fuel efficient are not so good than other competitors..
agree accord have better engine but dont forget it's heavy as well. performance wise, i read somewhere review m6 better than accord in 0-100kmh.

i've test drive the new accord 2.4L, i feel my gen7 accord better handling wor... power delivery not much different with my gen7 2.4L although new one have 180ps. just my own feeling with test drive for around 20mins.

regarding fuel efficient, m6 2.5l almost same like accord 2.4l with only minimal 1-2% different perhaps. ask the owners here to list out the FC u will know.

i don't expect m6 handling will better than 3 series, different league i think.
u also feel funny when someone compare it with evo10 right?

for me, i just can't resist those many extra from mazda 6 2.5L compare with accord 2.4L.
made in Japan,
fully auto sunroof,
rain sensor wiper,
3 preset memory seat,
advanced keyless entry,
"push star" ignition system,
auto dimming rear view mirror,
BOSE sound system with subwoofer,
18" sports rim,
more handsome sporty look(it's up to personal preference).

u should take a serious look and test drive the new m6, maybe u'll fall in love with it too. wub.gif wub.gif

just my own opinion la... icon_rolleyes.gif

billytong
post Aug 5 2008, 09:53 AM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

QUOTE(kizuna6 @ Aug 4 2008, 11:36 PM)
Ok, now come back to the comparison. I have seen MANY Camry on the road and now the white CAMRY is also start coming up like mushroom grow after the rain just like the new ACCORD. MAZDA6 remain its uniqueness to crown its own title 'few to own', which you will draw much attention as compare to ACCORD or CAMRY. Young chics love it even aunties can't help stop to look at it.

To all those people, Dont buy Mazda6 because u making me less unique.

zweimmk
post Aug 5 2008, 11:59 AM

512 posts

QUOTE(andyjyneo @ Aug 4 2008, 11:40 PM)
Both of them are opposite, man. Civic pawns Altis extremely hard. City and Vios is still at 50-50 mode.
The Vios is outselling the City with an average of 2763 units per month as compared to 974 units for the City.
The Civic on the other hand is outselling the Altis by a small margin with an average of 766 units per month to 515 units this year. The Civic was pawning the Altis hard last year but don't expect this trend to continue with the launch of the new Altis. I also don't expect the Vios to outsell the City by such a large margin once the new City launches next year.

http://www.motortrader.com.my/NUS/articles...1502/page_m.asp

jchue73
post Aug 5 2008, 12:32 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(- f 0 7 - @ Aug 4 2008, 08:34 PM)
Hmm, have u ever drive the new accord?? Yeah, for certain peeps, it looks odd..  but its all about handling, power & drivability. For its value, its worth buying and good resale value too.. and for sure, its far better than camry.. Mazda6 fun to drive, smooth power delivery, great handling (but it still can't beat the 3 series), and it has an attractive design inside and out, availability of versatile hatchback body style...However, the engines are less powerful and fuel efficient are not so good than other competitors..

Yes, I have test driven the Accord. Nothing fancy. If you have tested the Mazda6, you'd be wowed by the handling and ask why is Honda shortchanging their customers with bloated prices and not up to par specs as compared to the CBU Mazda6 2.5L which comes in at similar prices as the 2.4L Accord. Of course I'd expect a 3 series to drive better with the amount of money you pay. Nothing less.

And what's that about engine being less powerful and fuel efficient? hmm.gif

Added on August 5, 2008, 12:32 pm
QUOTE(- f 0 7 - @ Aug 4 2008, 09:10 PM)
Im talking bout the new generation of accord, mazda6 and camry..

I think zweimmk is indeed talking about the 8th gen Accord compared to the latest Mazda6 and Camry. Camry is the older one of the 3.

Added on August 5, 2008, 12:33 pm
QUOTE(zweimmk @ Aug 4 2008, 09:07 PM)
The Accord and Mazda 6 are cars that launched 2 years after the Camry. I do not expect anything less.

Agreed. nod.gif

Added on August 5, 2008, 12:33 pm
QUOTE(andyjyneo @ Aug 4 2008, 11:40 PM)

Then the Mazda3 comes in and pawns everybody. laugh.gif

Added on August 5, 2008, 12:34 pm
QUOTE(billytong @ Aug 5 2008, 09:53 AM)

Bro, becareful. If not people will report and say you're arrogant with that statement. laugh.gif

Added on August 5, 2008, 1:08 pm
QUOTE(genkis3 @ Aug 5 2008, 02:44 AM)
agree accord have better engine but dont forget it's heavy as well. performance wise, i read somewhere review m6 better than accord in 0-100kmh.

I posted this link a while back here;

http://www.wheelsmag.com.au/Road_Tests/Tem...fullarticle=yes

Here's a quote about the 0-100km/hr performance;

On test, the 6 wastes no time stamping its authority on the performance charts. From a standing start, the 6 gets serious the instant you plant the pedal and step off the anchors. The tyres chirp cheerily for a moment as the autobox hooks up, launching the Mazda with perceptibly more thrust than the others.

Thus the 6 is away and gathering pace while its peers are still getting going, and the pecking order is pretty much set in stone by the time the field rushes past 60km/h.

Up to 100km/h, there’s still only tenths of a second between them, but even at that point the Mazda leads clearly from the Accord which has the Mondeo and Octavia locked together on its back bumper. Beyond 100km/h the Mazda extends its lead as the Honda draws farther ahead of the Ford, which finally stretches away from the Skoda.

After nipping at the 6’s heels throughout the standing-start tests, the Accord’s persistence and beefy mid-range torque are rewarded in rolling-start exercises. The Honda’s kick-down response narrowly trumps the Mazda’s in a duel that pulls them clear of the Mondeo and the closely attendant Octavia.

The other stuff listed below are performance numbers for both cars quoted from the magazine;

CODE
        Mazda6 2.5L                       Accord 2.4L
1st gear     56km/hr@6500rpm             78km/hr@7000rpm
2nd gear     106km/hr@6500rpm            130km/hr@7000rpm
3rd gear     159km/hr@6500rpm            185km/hr@6800rpm
4th gear     206km/hr@6500rpm            211km/hr@5500rpm
5th gear     191km/hr@4200rpm            175km/hr@3500rpm

0-60km/hr    4.2 sec                     4.4 sec
0-80km/hr    6.4 sec                     6.8 sec
0-100km/hr   9.2 sec                     9.6 sec
0-120km/hr   12.6 sec                    13.0 sec
0-140km/hr   16.8 sec                    17.3 sec
0-400m       16.8 sec @ 139km/hr         16.9 sec @ 138km/hr

QUOTE(genkis3 @ Aug 5 2008, 02:44 AM)
regarding fuel efficient, m6 2.5l almost same like accord 2.4l with only minimal 1-2% different perhaps. ask the owners here to list out the FC u will know.

For those who are not aware, below is taken from the same Australian Wheels magazine above;

Take fuel consumption, for example. On the official numbers, the Skoda is narrowly the most economical with an 8.5L/100km rating, to the 6’s nominal 8.7 which pips the Accord’s 8.8, leaving the Mondeo clearly fourth on 9.5L/100km.

Very remarkably, after nearly 1000km of peak-hour urban trundling, highway cruising, back-roads blasting, performance testing and photo shooting, the Accord, Octavia and Mondeo each exactly duplicated their respective official figures, while the Mazda 6 overshot its number by just a proverbial drop in a bucket, using 8.9L/100km.

So both the Accord 2.4L and Mazda6 2.5L have similar FC. So if you say the Accord has bad FC, then the Mazda6 will also have bad FC. If you say Accord has good FC, then the Mazda6 should also have good FC. nod.gif

This post has been edited by jchue73: Aug 5 2008, 01:08 PM
billytong
post Aug 5 2008, 02:08 PM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Aug 5 2008, 12:32 PM)
Bro, becareful. If not people will report and say you're arrogant with that statement.  laugh.gif

LOL, not like I am breaking any rules, I am just reinforce what Kizuna6 said. I just tired of some people doing their Honda propaganda without solid reason. laugh.gif

There is all the solid reason u said in above post telling why u personal like Mazda6.

I love my Mazda6 and I like it. Ask me to pick a car for the second time I'll pick Mazda6 over Honda.

zweimmk
post Aug 5 2008, 02:49 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Aug 5 2008, 12:32 PM)
For those who are not aware, below is taken from the same Australian Wheels magazine above;
So both the Accord 2.4L and Mazda6 2.5L have similar FC. So if you say the Accord has bad FC, then the Mazda6 will also have bad FC. If you say Accord has good FC, then the Mazda6 should also have good FC.  nod.gif
I would expect no less from the Mazda 6. Japanese car manufacturers have technology which are very similar to one another. Any variance should be minor, so while the Accord have a little better FC, I do not expect that figure to exceed by 1L to the Km. In fact, it is more likely to be in the region 0.3 to 0.6km to litre.

I believe if one can afford a 150k car - FC and resale value probably isn't too high on the list of concerns as long as it doesn't fare too poorly against cars of the same segment.

If the Mazda 6's resale value is 5 to 10% less than the Accord or Camry, it's still considered fair for a niche brand car. If its greater than 10k (15%) then it depends on how long you wish to keep the car for.

If the Mazda 6's FC is 8.4km/L and the Accord is 8.9km/L, then the difference is negligible.

This post has been edited by zweimmk: Aug 5 2008, 02:50 PM
Travies
post Aug 5 2008, 09:23 PM

1,048 posts

QUOTE(billytong @ Aug 5 2008, 09:53 AM)
haha nice sentence there... congrat u are one of the unique driver by owning M6
SUSsharkteef
post Aug 5 2008, 11:40 PM

Not Godlike
2,504 posts

QUOTE(Travies @ Aug 5 2008, 09:23 PM)
lolz, unique eh ? thats a funny statement.

mazda 6 isnt all that great. nothing to shout bout.
andyjyneo
post Aug 5 2008, 11:43 PM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(Travies @ Aug 5 2008, 09:23 PM)
Unique too when it comes to order spare parts from JP and service.
GG.com for you.
whoopa
post Aug 5 2008, 11:46 PM

b~o~b~o
7,126 posts

i heard mazda coming out with m7
SUSsharkteef
post Aug 5 2008, 11:46 PM

Not Godlike
2,504 posts

how are mazda6 owners unique ? i thought maybach owners are unique, lambo and ferarri owners are still pretty unique. but mazda 6 ? overrated car ler.

Added on August 5, 2008, 11:47 pmhey waddap whoopa. u into mazda cars ?

This post has been edited by sharkteef: Aug 5 2008, 11:47 PM
rkjsoo
post Aug 5 2008, 11:50 PM

3,620 posts

lol mazda 6 got what so good sia -.- , not that the price is low like proton car lol
andyjyneo
post Aug 5 2008, 11:50 PM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

For a small town users like us, where to find Mazda service centre? Simply give ahbeng or ahlian to service meh? New car want to be like that ah? Wasted lah.

And I predict Bermaz will be even worse than C&C. Vincent Tan is in hot pursuit now.
whoopa
post Aug 5 2008, 11:51 PM

b~o~b~o
7,126 posts

i into cars that i cannot afford hahahaha ..

m7 = mat chat hahahaha
SUSsharkteef
post Aug 5 2008, 11:51 PM

Not Godlike
2,504 posts

the re-sale value pretty bad. not a car i'd want to own. honda and toyota can retain their value but a mazda ? sheeesh.
whoopa
post Aug 5 2008, 11:52 PM

b~o~b~o
7,126 posts

how abt audi .. hmm.gif ...

skoda also very rare .. hmm.gif lulz
andyjyneo
post Aug 5 2008, 11:53 PM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(sharkteef @ Aug 5 2008, 11:51 PM)
the re-sale value pretty bad. not a car i'd want to own. honda and toyota can retain their value but a mazda ? sheeesh.
Don't tell me one year drop RM50k loh? Heart attack lah.

QUOTE(whoopa @ Aug 5 2008, 11:52 PM)
how abt audi .. hmm.gif ...

skoda also very rare .. hmm.gif lulz
Audi and Skoda ah? Those are different because they're continental. Audi is a damn good car.

42 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0255sec    0.70    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 10:36 PM