2008 Mazda6 2.5 vs 2008 Accord 2.4, Compare 2 hot models from Honda & Mazda

andyjyneo
post Jul 31 2008, 11:53 AM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(iceman08 @ Jul 31 2008, 10:53 AM)
certainly not trying to bash just my personal opinion..sorry if you felt that way... just take it as a pinch of salt.  Feature-wise we all know M6 have  far more than what Accord/Camry offered. I think many ppl misunderstood that Accord in the luxury market and should have more comfort than M6..
MY definition of comfort should include NVH, handling and acceleration, good sound system..add to this Mazda 6 has day/night rear vision mirror, its a powered mirror that automatically dim the light from the cars behind you thus reduce glare to the driver, even the car behind with high beam it will cut the glare..talking about pampering!! Mazda 6 clearly beats Accord easily in almost every area...again my personal opinion after tested Accord and driven my Mazda 6. The only concern is the service center which is quite inexperience with this car..but I was told to go to authorised dealers where they are more experience...i will have to agree also the resale value will not be better than Accord...but this M6 should be better now since the demand is much higher plus the loads of features than the previous M6. Good resale value reflected from high volume sales...again my personal opinion. If only more ppl know what this M6 offer, they buy it and resale value will go up..IMHO.
So if that isn't a bashing, then what is it? Now look at your statement again.

All in all, great great car...Accord? Whats that?

Isn't this bashing Accord indirectly or should I say you're using sarcastic slang? Check all the post in this thread. I never bash Mazda although I'm a Honda fanboy.
jchue73
post Jul 31 2008, 12:26 PM

2,496 posts

Touche... biggrin.gif But aren't we all allowed a little sarcarsm as a lowest form of wit?

Auto magazine articles also have it not to mention Top Gear who calls a spade a spade. No offence. biggrin.gif
andyjyneo
post Jul 31 2008, 12:30 PM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Jul 31 2008, 12:26 PM)
Touche...  biggrin.gif But aren't we all allowed a little sarcarsm as a lowest form of wit?

Auto magazine articles also have it not to mention Top Gear who calls a spade a spade. No offence.  biggrin.gif
Yes, you can compare the advantages and disadvantages between 2 or more models, the sarcasm that he has shown is different.
jchue73
post Jul 31 2008, 12:36 PM

2,496 posts

Don't confuse sarcarsm with direct bashing. There is a difference when you do it in style and when you blatantly do it for the sake of doing it.

Besides, it's just over a car ! rolleyes.gif
andyjyneo
post Jul 31 2008, 12:37 PM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Jul 31 2008, 12:36 PM)
Don't confuse sarcarsm with direct bashing. There is a difference when you do it in style and when you blatantly do it for the sake of doing it.

Besides, it's just over a car !  rolleyes.gif
Did I mention about direct bashing? hmm.gif
jchue73
post Jul 31 2008, 12:45 PM

2,496 posts

Feature-wise we all know M6 have  far more than what Accord/Camry offered. I think many ppl misunderstood that Accord in the luxury market and should have more comfort than M6..
MY definition of comfort should include NVH, handling and acceleration, good sound system..add to this Mazda 6 has day/night rear vision mirror, its a powered mirror that automatically dim the light from the cars behind you thus reduce glare to the driver, even the car behind with high beam it will cut the glare..talking about pampering!! Mazda 6 clearly beats Accord easily in almost every area...again my personal opinion after tested Accord and driven my Mazda 6.

Nicely put. smile.gif

The only concern is the service center which is quite inexperience with this car..but I was told to go to authorised dealers where they are more experience...i will have to agree also the resale value will not be better than Accord...but this M6 should be better now since the demand is much higher plus the loads of features than the previous M6. Good resale value reflected from high volume sales...again my personal opinion. If only more ppl know what this M6 offer, they buy it and resale value will go up..IMHO.

These days, there's no such thing as good resale value for cars. Be it a Honda, Mazda or a Toyota. Especially if you're looking to sell it after 5 years.

But getting a bang for the buck in terms of sheer driving pleasure for the money spent, priceless. nod.gif That's most important thing to feel in any car you buy.

As for the SCs, I think none of the auto manufacturer are up to standard unfortunately. Hopefully, Bermaz gets better with more experience and time.
andyjyneo
post Jul 31 2008, 12:47 PM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

Let's give Bermaz 5 years (till the next GE) to improve. You'll be able to see their performance.
jchue73
post Jul 31 2008, 12:50 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(andyjyneo @ Jul 31 2008, 12:37 PM)
Did I mention about direct bashing? hmm.gif

If's it's not direct bashing, why be so sensitive then? rolleyes.gif

If you owned an Accord or own some Honda shares, I might be sympathetic to your plight since iceman's sarcastic may be seen to cause your Accord resale value or your Honda shares to drop. But I don't see that happening. Cheers.

Added on July 31, 2008, 12:52 pm
QUOTE(andyjyneo @ Jul 31 2008, 12:47 PM)
Let's give Bermaz 5 years (till the next GE) to improve. You'll be able to see their performance.

Ok, I must admit that that's a good attempt at sarcarsm. Congrats. rclxms.gif I musn't be biased to Mazda folks and must give credit where it's due. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by jchue73: Jul 31 2008, 12:52 PM
andyjyneo
post Jul 31 2008, 12:52 PM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Jul 31 2008, 12:50 PM)
If's it's not direct bashing, why be so sensitive then?  rolleyes.gif

If you owned an Accord or own some Honda shares, I might be sympathetic to your plight since iceman's sarcastic may be seen to cause your Accord resale value or your Honda shares to drop. But I don't see that happening. Cheers.
No, I don't see my resale value dropped. Just not satisfied with the way he talks only. So move on.
jchue73
post Jul 31 2008, 12:53 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(andyjyneo @ Jul 31 2008, 12:52 PM)
No, I don't see my resale value dropped. Just not satisfied with the way he talks only. So move on.

Just to make this back on topic, rolleyes.gif, do you drive an Accord? What's your feedback on the car? Maybe you know something we don't. Please share.
andyjyneo
post Jul 31 2008, 12:54 PM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Jul 31 2008, 12:53 PM)
Just to make this back on topic,  rolleyes.gif, do you drive an Accord? What's your feedback on the car? Maybe you know something we don't. Please share.
Yeah, I'm driving an Accord. But certainly not the latest model. Still driving a 4th generation Accord.
jchue73
post Jul 31 2008, 12:56 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(Travies @ Jul 30 2008, 09:26 PM)
if u never concern about the resales value... pls go get mazda 6. everyone will looking at u when u driving on the road..

Corrections ! Nobody looks at the owner. mad.gif They look at the car more than they look at the owner. laugh.gif How unfortunate.

For your info, I oogled at the new Accord too when it first came out. biggrin.gif But now I'm starting to look at the owner. Not so much the car.

Added on July 31, 2008, 12:57 pm
QUOTE(andyjyneo @ Jul 31 2008, 12:54 PM)
Yeah, I'm driving an Accord. But certainly not the latest model. Still driving a 4th generation Accord.

Is the 4th Gen Accord the same as 8th Gen Accord? If not, then move along. smile.gif

This post has been edited by jchue73: Jul 31 2008, 12:59 PM
andyjyneo
post Jul 31 2008, 01:13 PM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Jul 31 2008, 12:56 PM)
Corrections ! Nobody looks at the owner.  mad.gif They look at the car more than they look at the owner.  laugh.gif How unfortunate.

For your info, I oogled at the new Accord too when it first came out.  biggrin.gif But now I'm starting to look at the owner. Not so much the car.

Added on July 31, 2008, 12:57 pm

Is the 4th Gen Accord the same as 8th Gen Accord? If not, then move along.  smile.gif
How on earth is 4th and 8th gen the same? doh.gif
jchue73
post Jul 31 2008, 01:16 PM

2,496 posts

That's sarcastic BTW. biggrin.gif
Beach_Boy
post Jul 31 2008, 01:32 PM

:D
8,456 posts

eventhough the car's flawed, you will still get die hard supporters(read: fanboy) that will defend the car by saying something irrational and picking on comparison comments that look perfectly fine to others that is neutral to both sides
billytong
post Jul 31 2008, 01:44 PM

Lord Sauron
4,522 posts

To be honest the resale value of a car, depends on how expensive a car parts is, the quality of the car and the number of them in the market.

Honda may have high demand, but then again there are a lot of people selling too. So it is basically the same on the resale value. You may have a high demand car but someone else also own that car planing to sell.

I honestly dont really care about resale value. When u bought a car u gonna make sure u make the right decision.

As for Honda, I personally think I dont like it. And that is my personal opinion, whether u take it or not, thats my own opinion, take it or leave me alone.

Speaking about direct bashing, I gonna repeat my "bash" again.(if u think I am bashing) Honda Accord not my type, It makes me feel I am 10yrs older, Uncle type car, So? whistling.gif . Just by looking at it I have conclude myself it is not the type of car I want. A car exterior plays very important factor. If I dont care about Look, why not I get Fiat Multipla? Again, Honda Accord Grows old very fast, due to Honda change the design too often. Look at 7th Gen, 6th gen. its design is old now. And I like to be special. Honda Accord dont make me special. Why should I own a car that everybody else is owning. Look at the last gen E class. Does it make u look special? It use to cost over 400K but it doesnt give u any special feeling. An old Porche can be more exclusive/special than a new E-class from Merz. From my point of view for a car the features + design + special feeling make up my buying decision.

Iceman only pointed out what he like about Mazda6 and what he hate about Honda. Again thats his own opinion, take it or leave it. Some may agree on what he say some may not.

This post has been edited by billytong: Jul 31 2008, 01:47 PM
andyjyneo
post Jul 31 2008, 01:45 PM

LineageOS 20.0
7,671 posts

I don't worry about resell value. I only worry about maintenance and spare parts. That's all.
iceman08
post Jul 31 2008, 03:13 PM

97 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Jul 31 2008, 12:56 PM)
Corrections ! Nobody looks at the owner.  mad.gif They look at the car more than they look at the owner.  laugh.gif How unfortunate.

For your info, I oogled at the new Accord too when it first came out.  biggrin.gif But now I'm starting to look at the owner. Not so much the car.

You look at Accord owner because you sympathized them? cry.gif

bash - strike bluntly or heavily, attack violently, damage or break by striking forcibly - Oxford Dictionary

Certainly didnt do that... shakehead.gif

Added on July 31, 2008, 3:25 pm
QUOTE(jchue73 @ Jul 31 2008, 12:45 PM)
Nicely put.  smile.gif
These days, there's no such thing as good resale value for cars. Be it a Honda, Mazda or a Toyota. Especially if you're looking to sell it after 5 years.

But getting a bang for the buck in terms of sheer driving pleasure for the money spent, priceless.  nod.gif That's most important thing to feel in any car you buy.

As for the SCs, I think none of the auto manufacturer are up to standard unfortunately. Hopefully, Bermaz gets better with more experience and time.

True, no more good resale value these days..Accord will probably get few thousand more than Mazda but all will still have low resale value due to so many car models avail in the market today to cater for every pockets.....

This post has been edited by iceman08: Jul 31 2008, 03:25 PM
zweimmk
post Jul 31 2008, 04:40 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(billytong @ Jul 31 2008, 01:44 PM)
To be honest the resale value of a car, depends on how expensive a car parts is, the quality of the car and the number of them in the market.

Honda may have high demand, but then again there are a lot of people selling too. So it is basically the same on the resale value. You may have a high demand car but someone else also own that car planing to sell.

I honestly dont really care about resale value. When u bought a car u gonna make sure u make the right decision.

As for Honda, I personally think I dont like it. And that is my personal opinion, whether u take it or not, thats my own opinion, take it or leave me alone.

Speaking about direct bashing, I gonna repeat my "bash" again.(if u think I am bashing) Honda Accord not my type, It makes me feel I am 10yrs older, Uncle type car, So? whistling.gif . Just by looking at it I have conclude myself it is not the type of car I want. A car exterior plays very important factor. If I dont care about Look, why not I get Fiat Multipla? Again, Honda Accord Grows old very fast, due to Honda change the design too often. Look at 7th Gen, 6th gen. its design is old now.  And I like to be special. Honda Accord dont make me special. Why should I own a car that everybody else is owning. Look at the last gen E class. Does it make u look special? It use to cost over 400K but it doesnt give u any special feeling. An old Porche can be more exclusive/special than a new E-class from Merz. From my point of view for a car the features + design + special feeling make up my buying decision.

Iceman only pointed out what he like about Mazda6 and what he hate about Honda. Again thats his own opinion, take it or leave it. Some may agree on what he say some may not.
I think the writer of this Honda accord article will agree with you, she called it both an uncle & an ah beng car. LOL

http://www.sgcarmart.com/news/review.php?AID=35&PN=2

Funniest quote from the article laugh.gif

The lines are getting increasingly blurred though, as over the years, the Accord does tend to offer prospective buyers what its chief competitor does, essentially diluting the car’s primitive character. Bluntly put, in loosing its “edge,” the Accord has become a very good Camry, and less of that sporty Mazda 6 which by the way, also shows signs of softening.

jchue73
post Jul 31 2008, 05:01 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(iceman08 @ Jul 31 2008, 03:13 PM)
You look at Accord owner because you sympathized them?    cry.gif

biggrin.gif Hey, don't put me in a hot soup ! Afterwards, people might interpret what I wrote in my remarks as sarcastic in nature and brand me for direct bashing. blush.gif

42 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0247sec    0.97    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 12:06 AM