2008 Mazda6 2.5 vs 2008 Accord 2.4, Compare 2 hot models from Honda & Mazda

genkis3
post Jun 22 2008, 11:19 PM

789 posts

guys,
im also in dilemma which car to get last 2 months, for car below 200k, camry 2.4/accord 2.4/mazda6 2.5/used bmw 325 fit into list.
after long wait for launched of accord and M6, this M6 caught my heart .

the only problem is resale value will lower, but so what? the resale value makes me choose accord 4yrs ago although im interesting to get mitsubishi airtrek turbo. and guess what, im driving accord and drolling for air trek everyday i saw it pass by. somemore my frens say me ah pek driving accord at 26 ... thats torture..
in the end, the resale value of airtrek is higher than accord now... doh.gif

so this time, although walking into ah pek ages..30.. i'll choose mazda 6 to makes me look younger~ hehehe icon_rolleyes.gif

my current car is 04' accord 2.4 , bad QC problems of ckd honda i experience b4 makes me back off :
1.warped disc brake rotor, their disc only last for 1 year.claimed 3 disc brake within 3yrs warranty, now 4th yrs and and it happen again.
2.the aircond down after 2yrs, took 2 week to claim and repair!!!!!! luckily i have spare car. if not... how?mad.gif
3.the right hand side reverse sensor no functioning when i receive my car, i hit the water pipe hose when reverse parking just few days after bought it vmad.gif sweat.gif
4.the service center like to say "it's like that 1 la".
5.the rear absorber have rattling sound when new.(now new accord also facing this probs)
6.the co2 sensor will die after 3yrs and cost rm1400 each.
7.rattling sound inside cabin. improper fix dashboard, can see hole...
8.the car vibrate like proton after aircond kick in, same thing happen to new accord feedback.

will go KL test drive the M6 2.5 2weeks later.. will place booking if there's no major problem of car.

This post has been edited by genkis3: Jun 22 2008, 11:25 PM
genkis3
post Jun 23 2008, 11:16 PM

789 posts

QUOTE(iceman08 @ Jun 23 2008, 12:29 PM)
You better hurry...just heard price going up again to 180k. If the demand continues to be strong, it will finally raise up to 185k.
reliable info ? hopefully not...
i also want to get it quick , but must wait after my business trip.

hm..silver or white better?

genkis3
post Jun 25 2008, 09:52 PM

789 posts

kizuna6 , full city drive ?

$0.28/km is accord 2.4 fc before petrol price increase!
now $0.39/km full city drive.

genkis3
post Jun 26 2008, 11:36 AM

789 posts

QUOTE(pillage2001 @ Jun 26 2008, 10:12 AM)
Accord 2.4 = $0.25 per km. Not really as high as 28 cents.....
my foot is heavy. sweat.gif
last time full tank rm105 drive for 370km only
genkis3
post Jun 27 2008, 03:26 PM

789 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Jun 26 2008, 01:32 PM)
You race car driver or what?  cool2.gif  laugh.gif
no la...
just i like to pickup fast when stationary , and mostly im full city driving with traffic light all around.

iceman,
wait for ur pic...

genkis3
post Jul 8 2008, 02:07 AM

789 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Jul 8 2008, 01:11 AM)

Funny you should mention about other Jap executive saloons. Which are you referring to? Accord / Camry? FYI, the Accord has a harsher and a bumpier ride than the Mazda6.  nod.gif

Come on... With an 18" wheels, what do you expect? I would categorise the Mazda6 in the middle. Not to floaty like common Jap cars and not too hard like continentals.
accord harsher? compare to current accord?
heard m6 is more rigid, firm ride than accord ler... but i hope it's true.

damn still no time to go KL test drive.
think i'll book here without test drive or even look at real car.
the 2.5l cost 175,XXX OTR ... same price whole p/malaysia rite?
the salesman say no discount but got free gift, dono what free gift. hmm.gif
genkis3
post Jul 9 2008, 11:49 PM

789 posts

finally paid deposit for M6 2.5l rclxm9.gif
still can't decide which color to get... lilac silver or pearl white.
i love pearl white but i know i won't taking good care of my car... like my current black accord, everyone will think it's grey. sweat.gif
scare pearl white will become yellowish next time..
but silver not my favourite leh...
headache...

manage to test drive the 2.0l only, i can understand y many ppl dissapointed with 2.0l coz it's very low spec.
genkis3
post Jul 10 2008, 02:40 AM

789 posts

thank guys.

anyone here mind to share the loan interest rate ?
i'll loan 70k for 2 or 3yrs installment, which bank provide lowest interest now?
genkis3
post Jul 10 2008, 10:34 PM

789 posts

QUOTE(billytong @ Jul 10 2008, 05:01 PM)
u guys Suck! Cant u guys give a clearer answer that making me more confuse.  tongue.gif

Well if u have the Cash 140K+ on hand it is better to loan almost 9yrs. 2.xx% HP is really good rate, considering if u park that money in FD 3.xx% u are actually earning more. To be honest, it sounds like a loop hole to me. 3.xx%-2xx%? eh? Bank pay u interest?
i think now no more 2.XX% d... ask the salesman he said gone up d... 3.XX% now... will go survey tomolo.

i'll not loan 9yrs, don't like long installment period. max is 3yrs for me.
and i've already done alot investment, enuf for me currently. smile.gif

ur idea is good... but 15-18%yr is too good to be true..hehe..later stock market corrupt how la...
genkis3
post Jul 11 2008, 12:25 PM

789 posts

QUOTE(billytong @ Jul 11 2008, 09:13 AM)
What my suggestion or saying about 15-18% is the ROI u need to get without touching ur own money. With 15-18% u get ur car free, if u take the FD interest 3.xx% path, u get Free interest loan, which means bank pays ur car in advance without interest charge. hmmm Why not?  tongue.gif

Which in my humble opinion, as long as the money in ur hand u can do any kind of investment. Almost all businessman like to have their cash on their on hand to roll their business.

Besides, Property can easily reach that 15-18% figure if u really good in choosing property investment.  A new 200K house can easily go up instantly to 250K within 1 year. there alone is 25% ROI. Like wise, 400K property can become 500K in a few months. 25% ROI here again.
just my opinion la,
if the car loan interest same rate as FD, there's not much different for pay 2yrs or 9yrs in the end.
settle within 2yrs is more hassle free ...
for 9yrs, it will limit u to apply other bank loan in future 9yrs.

if u have better investment,that's different story. but as long as there involve investment, there's risk right? no ppl dare to guarantee 100% make profit .

as for my case, not consider other investment at moment. my business also running smooth and no need more cash to roll.
but i think now if i invest another property also no bank gonna loan me base on 30% of income installment... already hit the LDHN limit. hehe biggrin.gif
now i just want hassle free option so i can have peace of mind when vacation... tongue.gif

ur idea is nice and good calculation actually. those who taking loan for car can refer to billy advise. thumbup.gif
keep on the good debate dude. thumbup.gif

*think i'll choose lilac silver for "hassle free" maintenance... im just too lazy and scare of commitment la...haha
genkis3
post Jul 13 2008, 01:54 AM

789 posts

change my order to pearl white after saw the lilac silver... biggrin.gif

QUOTE(dirsly @ Jul 11 2008, 01:43 PM)
LHDN  not ldhn... smile.gif  but ther is way to reduce our commitment.. rent our stuff..mke letter..show to bank..
er...can't get what u mean...

ops..typo... LHDN

genkis3
post Jul 14 2008, 12:45 AM

789 posts

QUOTE(dirsly @ Jul 13 2008, 03:10 AM)
mean tht u can reduce ur comitment by renting ur stuff..and giv a prove letter...it helps..let say i have 1 home..not staying ther..so i rent for it..
ic.. done that already lo... no need letter to bank... coz i declare into my income and pay more incometax.

QUOTE(billytong @ Jul 13 2008, 09:08 AM)
LOL, hahahaha I was once almost think the lilac silver is good looking, but after standing there looking for like 5-10mins.... it seems the White one look nicer in the end. The lilac silver only look special for the first impression, after that u starting to think the white one looks better.

Like Cantonese said "Kam Tai" . 耐看。
same like me...haha
also poison by my dad's new pearl white camry which arrive 2 days ago... look longer fall in love deeper... really "kam tai"

genkis3
post Jul 14 2008, 02:20 AM

789 posts

QUOTE(andyjyneo @ Jul 14 2008, 12:50 AM)
With Aero kit, it looks even more nicer.
yeah got aero kit.
i can say it's a very comfortable car for city driving. alot improve than previous camry.
but it's boring to me... also feel float at high speed.

genkis3
post Jul 15 2008, 11:14 PM

789 posts

"THE STAR KUALA LUMPUR:The Government will re-look the National
Automotive Policy (NAP) in a bid to make it a progressive policy and not
entirely protective in nature."

is that a hint for car tax reduce next year? ah....to wait or not to wait...
last time i didnt wait and my car price drop more than 10k after few months.
genkis3
post Jul 19 2008, 06:29 PM

789 posts

QUOTE(Pangkey @ Jul 19 2008, 06:22 PM)
so its 147k for 2.0 right? What about the Malaysia My Second Home Program. Anyone knows how much will the price be reduced to? Thanks.

Im thinking of either getting the Honda Civic 2.0 or Mazda 2.0, theres a difference of around RM20k, thats alot for me..im still a student. Which car do you guys recommend me between the two. I have narrowed down my options and it ended up with this two cars.

I have first opted for the Civic 2.0 but for the past weeks Mazda have caught my eye in an instant! haha! I'm planning to buy the car early next year, probably around January/February. In terms of interior, which can be said a better build between these two cars? And im looking for a good resale value of the car, i will be leaving the country in 3 to 4 years time. So its a must choice for me to have this.

Thanks for the feedback smile.gif
for 2.0l , civic reserve for better resale value, better spec.
my $0.02

genkis3
post Jul 20 2008, 10:59 AM

789 posts

QUOTE(billytong @ Jul 20 2008, 10:40 AM)
Everything the dealer handle for me, they even deliver the car for me to their shop. So I dont really know anything happen in between. 

paying over 140K just to drive 4 yrs is not worth. U might as well opt for lower end such as Vios/City or myvi. U are student dont waste that money on a car, use it for further investment. smile.gif

i think if his parents give him such budget,most probably it's extra money for their kid. perhaps his parents drive conti at home and 140k car is low end enough. tongue.gif
for my thought, 4yrs is good enough for change new car. after 4yrs wear and tear, is time to sell it off b4 it get u trouble or pay $$$ for repair.
my car current accord only drive 4yrs . b4 that, camry only last for 1.5yrs coz that car too boring... sweat.gif
thats y i always opt for short loan installment within 3yrs.

nice to hear u r happy with it, im sure i'll feel the same when i receive mine biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by genkis3: Jul 20 2008, 11:01 AM
genkis3
post Jul 21 2008, 07:40 PM

789 posts

er... that means 2400cc or 2500cc also got rebate?
how about my 2400cc roadtax paid at april, got cash rebate? blur blur d...
genkis3
post Jul 21 2008, 09:09 PM

789 posts

QUOTE(iceman08 @ Jul 21 2008, 08:18 PM)
All cars above 2000cc entitled for road tax rebate of RM200. So 2.5 Mazda 6 road tax should be 600+..
but the already paid can't get cash refund via pos office rite?
genkis3
post Jul 23 2008, 01:01 AM

789 posts

QUOTE(billytong @ Jul 22 2008, 08:46 AM)
If ur car is older car prior to the road tax reduction announcement u will not get the road tax deduction until u renew ur new road tax next year. It is just that simple as those below 2000cc, no rebate for those b4.

New registered car all is paid to dealer. I paid dealer a Rm800 worth of road tax. So the next thing I do is to claim that extra RM200 back from the dealer, they are the one who get the new roadtax for me, they are the one who paid the road tax RM600+ to Gov. So the they still holding the RM200. Claim back from them, check ur receipt you actually paid RM800+ to roadtax.
lucky u told me, will ask dealer when car arrive. if not , there goes my rm200 if they keep quiet.

genkis3
post Jul 23 2008, 03:13 AM

789 posts

seems like that is ur dad first honda .
i drive accord for 4yrs already, many of my friends own latest civic,crv, city.
and 0.02 defect statement is....ahem.... ask ur dad opinion 2yrs later then tell us here.

for ur info, mazda also japanese car. and it's CBU which totally made in Japan. honda accord sell in malaysia is CKD which assemble in Melaka ,Malaysia. and most of the youtube or net review is not base on our very proud CKD in Melaka honda.

im not sure how's CBU mazda quality in long run, hopefully im choose the right side this time.

This post has been edited by genkis3: Jul 23 2008, 03:28 AM

0.0360sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 04:00 PM