QUOTE(iXora.ix @ Sep 14 2014, 05:38 PM)
There's 2 wire.
yes, around 10 houses.

I show a picture for clear view

[attachmentid=4133475]
meter

[attachmentid=4133476]
The 4 cable I mention
Using the existing cables really depend, if many already using 3phases on the cables you may have to tap from the pole. Tnb will be advice you.

Is your internal wiring already made to accommodate 3phases?

This post has been edited by weikee: Sep 14 2014, 05:54 PM
iXora.ix
post Sep 14 2014, 05:55 PM

scoot scoot
1,682 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Sep 14 2014, 05:51 PM)
Using the existing cables really depend, if many already using 3phases on the cables you may have to tap from the pole. Tnb will be advice you.

If your internal wiring already made to accommodate 3phases?
I think I need to tap from tnb pole.
And no, my house were build on 1995 something hehe tongue.gif
SUSsupersound
post Sep 14 2014, 06:01 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(iXora.ix @ Sep 14 2014, 05:50 PM)
I see. Now I know  sweat.gif  . Reason? will installing additional aircon. right now got now. and less than 2 year, got another 2 aircon to be installed sweat.gif

It is require to change all cable inside house? I know that 3 phase got 4 wire instead of 3
A single main cable can withstand 40A.
You are not using the air cond 7/24 and set at 18°C, right?
And will you be turning all of them on most of the time?
As if you are planning for 3-phase, have to rewire again, and it will be very messy.
SUSsupersound
post Sep 14 2014, 06:03 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(iXora.ix @ Sep 14 2014, 05:55 PM)
19 years already, guess you better plan for a renovation work. Then no need to be that messy.
The existing wires also almost time.
weikee
post Sep 14 2014, 06:07 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(iXora.ix @ Sep 14 2014, 05:55 PM)
Tap from the poles need more work, and will cost you substantial too. Meter need to be outside.

Do yoi know your current main fuse ratting is? 32 or 63?

If your house only have 10+- MCB, no point adding 3 phases. You need to know what is your average load, and what is your peak load. Is the peak load that are important.
iXora.ix
post Sep 14 2014, 06:40 PM

scoot scoot
1,682 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Sep 14 2014, 06:03 PM)
19 years already, guess you better plan for a renovation work. Then no need to be that messy.
The existing wires also almost time.
Haha. My house will perform 3rd renovation within 2 years as I add another room on the house. That's why I need to do a homework before upgrading biggrin.gif
QUOTE(weikee @ Sep 14 2014, 06:07 PM)

Tap from the poles need more work, and will cost you substantial too. Meter need to be outside.

Do yoi know your current main fuse ratting is? 32 or 63?

If your house only have 10+- MCB, no point adding 3 phases. You need to know what is your average load, and what is your peak load. Is the peak load that are important.
Yep. This part actually a bit hassle for me. I dont know my current load my of of the time ;

6 PC 24/7, 3 led tv, 2 refrigerator,2 aircon. with additional 2 aircon , 1 more fridge and 1 WH after renovation done
SUSsupersound
post Sep 14 2014, 06:44 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(iXora.ix @ Sep 14 2014, 06:40 PM)
Haha. My house will perform 3rd renovation within 2 years as I add another room on the house. That's why I need to do a homework before upgrading  biggrin.gif
Yep. This part actually a bit hassle for me. I dont know my current load my of of the time ;

6 PC 24/7, 3 led tv, 2 refrigerator,2 aircon. with additional 2 aircon , 1 more fridge and 1 WH after renovation done
The wiring plan are simple if you are upgrading to 3 phase :
air conds, water heater, oven sure direct tap from MCB, independent(must check once the wiring done)
Lights can use back the existing wiring
If it is double storey house, make sure at least 1 phase supply to 1st floor.
iXora.ix
post Sep 14 2014, 06:58 PM

scoot scoot
1,682 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Sep 14 2014, 06:44 PM)
The wiring plan are simple if you are upgrading to 3 phase :
air conds, water heater, oven sure direct tap from MCB, independent(must check once the wiring done)
Lights can use back the existing wiring
If it is double storey house, make sure at least 1 phase supply to 1st floor.
Orait. Yes my house are double storey. There are 2 aircon upstair right now. In future there's 3 aircon upstair, 1 more down stair with WH, fridge and oven.

Are the estimate rmcost is > 3K and <5K involve? sweat.gif
SUSsupersound
post Sep 14 2014, 08:30 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(iXora.ix @ Sep 14 2014, 06:58 PM)
Orait. Yes my house are double storey. There are 2 aircon upstair right now. In future there's 3 aircon upstair, 1 more down stair with WH, fridge and oven.

Are the estimate rmcost is  > 3K and <5K involve? sweat.gif
application till the meter cost rm3+++, not including wiring work. So can come out to about rm6000.
bengang13
post Sep 14 2014, 09:35 PM

624 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Sep 14 2014, 08:30 PM)
application till the meter cost rm3+++, not including wiring work. So can come out to about rm6000.
when I called up the list of consultant provided by tnb it ranges from 2k-5k. I pick the most reasonable one

1) Runners fee :RM450
2) TNB connection: RM1,250 or RM1,350
3) Deposit

of coz the tnb tiang is right infront of my house.
SUSsupersound
post Sep 14 2014, 09:38 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(bengang13 @ Sep 14 2014, 09:35 PM)
when I called up the list of consultant provided by tnb it ranges from 2k-5k. I pick the most reasonable one

1) Runners fee :RM450
2) TNB connection: RM1,250 or RM1,350
3) Deposit

of coz the tnb tiang is right infront of my house.
Nope, they won't connect the cable from the tiang, it will cost more.
They will just tap from the nearest point.
So :
1. no comment, you can safe it if you DIY, but more hassle
2. about there, as said, depending on the cable being tapped, if bangalow, it will be more
3. should be about rm800-1500
bengang13
post Sep 14 2014, 09:44 PM

624 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Sep 14 2014, 09:38 PM)
Nope, they won't connect the cable from the tiang, it will cost more.
They will just tap from the nearest point.
So :
1. no comment, you can safe it if you DIY, but more hassle
2. about there, as said, depending on the cable being tapped, if bangalow, it will be more
3. should be about rm800-1500
1. I went to tnb they say need runner. can't go direct...I also doh.gif

the nearest point is the tiang lor.. coz I am the corner lot. my whole row is single phase. the one opposite from my house is 3 phase but that would mean hacking the road which I don't think they would be keen. after visiting my house the runner say they will most likely tap from the tiang wor..
SUSsupersound
post Sep 14 2014, 09:50 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(bengang13 @ Sep 14 2014, 09:44 PM)
1. I went to tnb they say need runner. can't go direct...I also  doh.gif

the nearest point is the tiang lor.. coz I am the corner lot. my whole row is single phase. the one opposite from my house is 3 phase but that would mean hacking the road which I don't think they would be keen. after visiting my house the runner say they will most likely tap from the tiang wor..
1. this sheet still happens.
Corner lot then? It still have 4 cables going, unless yours are semi-D, hahaha.
That's why they only charge you rm1250,i f really taking from the tiang, it will be more doh.gif
bengang13
post Sep 14 2014, 09:59 PM

624 posts

Mine semi d single storey. So if running from tiang how much? I reckon from bottom of tiang to my meter around 5m
iXora.ix
post Sep 14 2014, 10:46 PM

scoot scoot
1,682 posts

QUOTE(bengang13 @ Sep 14 2014, 09:59 PM)
Mine semi d single storey. So if running from tiang how much? I reckon from bottom of tiang to my meter around 5m
My house, oppersite got TNB pole. Not sure if can direct tap from there icon_idea.gif
weikee
post Sep 14 2014, 11:36 PM

12,019 posts

If the cables across houses are still withing limit, tnb can use the existing cables. If few others houses already on 3 phases, they will ask home owner to tap from the pole, and the installation fees are higher.
bengang13
post Sep 15 2014, 09:18 AM

624 posts

For my case it'd definitely underground Jo. Coz I will relocate my meter from inside to outside. That runner already asked me to prepare a 4" pipe connecting to my meter
weikee
post Sep 15 2014, 09:25 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(bengang13 @ Sep 15 2014, 09:18 AM)
For my case it'd definitely underground Jo. Coz I will relocate my meter from inside to outside. That runner already asked me to prepare a 4" pipe connecting to my meter
Will be more expensive, how substantial I am not sure. Do update us the price, good to know. On the +ve side, it look much better if meter are outside.

For single phase, cabling after meter into house is prepare by house owner. Assuming 3 Phases should be the same, and do over spec the cable (thicker than standard cables)
bengang13
post Sep 15 2014, 09:48 AM

624 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Sep 15 2014, 09:25 AM)
Will be more expensive, how substantial I am not sure. Do update us the price, good to know. On the +ve side, it look much better if meter are outside.

For single phase, cabling after meter into house is prepare by house owner. Assuming 3 Phases should be the same, and do over spec the cable (thicker than standard cables)
Yeah will update here. But waht the spec for the main cable?
Eng_Tat
post Sep 15 2014, 03:01 PM

2,215 posts

You can used armoured 4 core 16mm size. Or even better 25mm cables.

QUOTE(bengang13 @ Sep 15 2014, 09:48 AM)
Yeah will update here. But waht the spec for the main cable?

57 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Top

0.0279sec    1.16    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 09:45 AM