Credit Card Thread V3, Everything about Plastic World Fantasia

hye
post May 19 2008, 04:24 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

Just noticed another interesting info. RHBBank mentioned in their website RHB Platinum that the minimum credit limit they'll give would be RM40k but I know someone who is a Platinum card holder of RHB but yet having credit limit of only RM30K. (And it's not an upgraded card - it's a new application)

I'm beginning to lose confidence in all the banks credit card promotions. shakehead.gif They don't even practice what they publicized to the general public. How's that for credibility ?
tinkerbel
post May 19 2008, 04:54 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@thtan,

@hye,
I probably would have done the same. Am surprised at their service though as AEON's really big in Japan [or at least that's what I thought them to be] As to RHB Platinum credit limit, perhaps ur friend requested for a lower credit limit instead? *shrugs*

@bysquashy,
Maybe, just maybe his cards are Gold Supplementary cards? smile.gif

This post has been edited by tinkerbel: May 19 2008, 04:55 PM
hye
post May 19 2008, 05:00 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ May 19 2008, 04:54 PM)
@hye,
As to RHB Platinum credit limit, perhaps ur friend requested for a lower credit limit instead? *shrugs*
Don't think so, I was there when he applied the card and he did not mention anything about a lower credit limit.

tinkerbel
post May 19 2008, 05:03 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@hye,
Ah well, perhaps he applied before this 'new rule' came about *grins* Are U considering RHB now?
hye
post May 19 2008, 05:59 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ May 19 2008, 05:03 PM)
@hye,
Ah well, perhaps he applied before this 'new rule' came about *grins*  Are U considering RHB now?
Nope ... it wouldn't be in my consideration for the moment time being. Although I'm a little puzzled on how come RHB would charge less for the international credit card transaction as stated earlier ? Didn't the forex conversation (for overseas credit card transactions) is all governed by Mastercard / VISA ?
tinkerbel
post May 19 2008, 06:08 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@hye,
I'm not too impressed by RHB's website but I always tell myself not to judge a book by its cover. I suppose I can only comment after using their services; am not banking with RHB so I shall have to keep my mouth shut on it smile.gif

Yes the forex rate should be the same throughout the banks; I'm not sure if it's governed by Mastercard/Visa but bank charges are based on the International Exchange rate at point of time.

I suppose it is possible for fluctuations to happen but RM5 difference p/dollar is quite substantial *shrugs*

This post has been edited by tinkerbel: May 19 2008, 06:09 PM
Gen-X
post May 19 2008, 07:14 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(hye @ May 19 2008, 04:24 PM)
Just noticed another interesting info. RHBBank mentioned in their website RHB Platinum that the minimum credit limit they'll give would be RM40k but I know someone who is a Platinum card holder of RHB but yet having credit limit of only RM30K. (And it's not an upgraded card - it's a new application)

I'm beginning to lose confidence in all the banks credit card promotions.  shakehead.gif  They don't even practice what they publicized to the general public. How's that for credibility ?
Nowadays CC very competitive and banks fighting to get customers. RHB got nothing to loose by issuing the Plat Card to your friend.

2 or 3 years back i got RHB Visa Plat and the credit limit given to me was higher than RM40K but cancel it after they did not want to waive my annual fees in full. Now i have RHB EVO and the credit limit offered to me is higher than your friend's Plat. Nowadays Plat card nothing lah, everybody also can get Plat - i.e. Robinson Plat and UOC One Card Plat.

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ May 19 2008, 06:08 PM)
@hye,
I'm not too impressed by RHB's website but I always tell myself not to judge a book by its cover.  I suppose I can only comment after using their services; am not banking with RHB so I shall have to keep my mouth shut on it smile.gif
Yah, RHB website is lousy. However i do banking with one of their branch for years now and service not too bad as i know most of the staffs there.
minthiam
post May 19 2008, 07:43 PM

698 posts

@hye,
Why you didn't keep your receipt after you bank in money into Aeon? If they really did what you said, they really sucks...
Aeon = Licensed Along in Malaysia?
hye
post May 19 2008, 08:03 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(minthiam @ May 19 2008, 07:43 PM)
@hye,
Why you didn't keep your receipt after you bank in money into Aeon? If they really did what you said, they really sucks...
Aeon = Licensed Along in Malaysia?
*minthiam
I did actually. I tried to resolve this problem by faxing (a few times) and e-mail and nothing was solved after 3 months. End of 3 months and I finally decided to just pay again whatever their claims were. It's probably my worst credit card experience in all the credit card that I've owned previously.

This post has been edited by hye: May 19 2008, 08:03 PM
minthiam
post May 19 2008, 08:52 PM

698 posts

My godness...
I think for this case, you can sue them for fraud?
How much did you pay anyway?
hye
post May 19 2008, 08:55 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(minthiam @ May 19 2008, 08:52 PM)
My godness...
I think for this case, you can sue them for fraud?
How much did you pay anyway?
I paid less than RM 100. (Maybe even less than RM 80 as I can't remember the actual amount anymore) No need to sue them lah. The effort to sue them would cost more money, I think. What goes around comes around.

This post has been edited by hye: May 19 2008, 08:56 PM
minthiam
post May 19 2008, 09:04 PM

698 posts

haha...luckily it's not that much!! Treat it as a painful experience not to sign up with chao kia company
Looks like i need to warn my friends about Aeon ...
kindaichi
post May 19 2008, 09:36 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ May 19 2008, 10:38 AM)
I think u misunderstood the post. I think what the poster meant was that delivering of the free gift on time without hassles is a sign of good customer service. Unlike other cases where bank promised free gift but never sent and you have to call them to remind them (and sometimes after the reminder the bank still forgets).
thanks for helping to clarify rite... that's what i mean... i think he really cannot get over it becos he is the unlucky one... so he already had the bad impression towards hsbc, so he cannot accept any compliment from others to the bank.... rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif rolleyes.gif
tinkerbel
post May 19 2008, 09:55 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@kindaichi,
Well, I've absolutely NO problems with HSBC smile.gif

bysquashy
post May 19 2008, 10:14 PM

Wireless Bliss [3GPP R14]
2,884 posts

QUOTE(yewkhuay @ May 19 2008, 04:20 PM)
85K annual income to get gold card 20K credit limit, i think quite normal. coz 48K income can get 8-12K limit.
she is young... hmm.gif
Does credit card company consider MLM income? Unless they report it in EA. hmm.gif
tinkerbel
post May 19 2008, 10:16 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@bysquashy,
If it's done on p/time basis, income wouldn't be consistent each month; i doubt they take that into consideration *shrugs*
hye
post May 19 2008, 10:24 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ May 19 2008, 10:16 PM)
@bysquashy,
If it's done on p/time basis, income wouldn't be consistent each month; i doubt they take that into consideration *shrugs*
*tinkerbel
Maybe yes, maybe no. Because if you use your income tax statement which shows the cumulative income then harder to point out whether the income is coming from a part/full time job.
tinkerbel
post May 19 2008, 10:26 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@hye,
If it's reflected on Income Tax then I suppose it's fine but how many people actually report such to income tax?! *grins*
bysquashy
post May 19 2008, 10:26 PM

Wireless Bliss [3GPP R14]
2,884 posts

I doubt people who's involve in MLM will state it in their EA form.
tinkerbel
post May 19 2008, 10:39 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@bysquashy,
It's possible esp for those who does it full time biggrin.gif

125 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top