Credit Card Thread V3, Everything about Plastic World Fantasia

hye
post May 7 2008, 11:27 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

@tinkerbel,
For CIMB (via entry to CLUB CIMB), I can't see a similar availability for a Complementary Card but instead they offer a pre-approved CIMB Enrich Mastercard Platinum. The requirements for CLUB CIMB would be ...

Individual depositor with a credit balance of RM150,000 and above.
Individual Unit trust investor with an investment amount of RM100,000 and above purchased through the bank.
Individual mortgage customer with a good track record and facilities of RM500,000 and above.
New mortgage customers with facilities of RM500,000 and above.
Individual holding a credit card with a limit of RM75,000 and above with good track record.

However, if you were to dig further into the card Q&A, it mentioned about the a chargeable annual fee of RM388 p.a. for Principle and RM198 p.a. for supplementary cards.

Added on May 7, 2008, 11:30 pm
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ May 7 2008, 11:01 PM)
@yewkhuay,
Nice or not the toiletry back?  Nememind lah.. next time U come over me house stay the night, bring the bag along - that way you can keep ur toothbrush and shaver inside it tongue.gif
I got many nice toiletries bag from my trips. (I get to stay many nights ?) tongue.gif

This post has been edited by hye: May 7 2008, 11:30 PM
hye
post May 7 2008, 11:39 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ May 7 2008, 11:31 PM)
@hye,
With so many banks offering 'free' cards I wouldn't want/need to pay such subscription!  Am not interested in a CIMB Credit Card anyways *grins*  Already have a DA so that's good enough *grins*
Yeah DA cards are good enough actually. The only downside is their reward system sucks yawn.gif

Added on May 7, 2008, 11:40 pm
QUOTE(yewkhuay @ May 7 2008, 11:35 PM)
@hye,
queue up! bro...
Just trying my luck ... blush.gif (Still queuing)

This post has been edited by hye: May 7 2008, 11:40 PM
hye
post May 8 2008, 12:27 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(arsenal @ May 8 2008, 12:10 AM)
direct accesspoint last for 3 years...
Only if you are a Platinum card holder. Gold card holder points last for only 1 year.

@tinkerbel .... there's nothin wrong with your points statement
hye
post May 8 2008, 07:47 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(arsenal @ May 8 2008, 07:27 AM)
i dont think so...because my statement showed the points expiry around 2010...so 3 years kua...
blush.gif My mistake.
hye
post May 8 2008, 09:25 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ May 8 2008, 08:43 PM)
There's no Classic for Direct Access. Are you referring to Gold and Platinum?
Probably yes ... as you said yourself, DA only has Gold & Platinum.
hye
post May 9 2008, 09:46 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ May 9 2008, 09:28 AM)
@jchong,
I did get an auto increase on my Citibank Clear Card from RM5k to RM6k.  I wasn't officially informed and got that information from my monthly statements smile.gif

It's been awhile since I got an increase though.

@raymond5105,
Isn't it good to earn more, even though u'll be taxed more?
Citibank recently increased my credit limit as well but it was a good 2 year lapse since the last upgrade. I knew about it when I logged into my Citibank Online system and a few days later the official letter came.

Paying more taxes is one of the drawbacks of earning more. And if you noticed, your maximum deduction (Tax calculation purposes) for EPF is only RM6K and then any extras is not counted - I think this is not fair as you are already paying a lot of taxes already at the end of the day. cry.gif
hye
post May 10 2008, 11:52 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ May 10 2008, 11:45 PM)
I believe Direct Access credit card was a product of Southern Bank and it is reserved only for those with a degree or higher. Now that Bumiputra Commerce Bank and Southern Bank have merged, CIMB Bank is the bank that issuing Direct Access credit card.
Credit limit vary from cards to cards. It really depends on the bank too. Usually i hear the classic credit card holder credit limit is something like RM4k only.
Correct me if I'm wrong but Direct Access eligibility starts from income of RM36K per annum (They have no classic cards). His best bet would be CIMB Petronas cards I think.

The first page is a good starting point if one were to learn about credit card and wanting to get one for the very first time. But one need to put in effort as well to read the threads, if everyone comes in and take the easy way and just ask "What's the best credit card? Best in credit limit, rewards, etc ..." - then it defeats the purpose why this forum exists. I'm just being honest about this point, no offense to anyone.

The credit limit can go to as low as RM3K from what I heard. Seriously, any seasoned credit card user would say that using a credit card is all about the ability to control your own spending and avoid compulsion. If getting a very high credit limit is all one's target, I fear disaster could happen if one does not understand the responsibilities of owning a credit card.

This post has been edited by hye: May 10 2008, 11:56 PM
hye
post May 11 2008, 12:03 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(jep @ May 10 2008, 11:53 PM)
I'm still waiting for my Visa Petronas Card...really angry since i've already have a classic card...i just need it to be upgraded...i sent my application 2/04/08..more than a month already..last 2 week i called and they asked me to call back last friday..the guy said that he will make a report and escalate this matter..but last friday i called same thing happens...they asked me to call back another 2 week and they will escalate this matter.. shakehead.gif  shakehead.gif
MBB Petronas card is one of the hottest credit card in town and this led to long queues. Actually there's no such thing as card upgrading - it's as good as you applying for an additional card and then you still need to cancel off the old card.

BTW ... you didn't say where and how did you apply for the card. I sent my application to the bank directly (I went to the bank) and it still took me a good 1 month plus (about so) before my card arrives.

Added on May 11, 2008, 12:05 am
QUOTE(LunatikBunnie @ May 11 2008, 12:00 AM)
Question on credit cards. Why are some purchases to be paid with installments for buying stuff sound so unchained? like 0% interest for buying a laptop/mobile phone. What's the catch and the maths involved? I need someone to fill me in before i make a first swipe of death.
My friend ... I think you need to add in clarity to your questions further. I read your question a few times and although I think I know what you mean ... I'm worried I may get the translation wrong.

This post has been edited by hye: May 11 2008, 12:05 AM
hye
post May 11 2008, 06:34 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(shift @ May 11 2008, 12:25 AM)
I already have prudential takaful insurance.....  tongue.gif  tongue.gif 
Just this ACE insurance is free for 12 months (100K coverage). So i still consider to accept or not..... wub.gif

Edit :  Looks like i off topic a bit.... Sori
I suggest you ignore it. It's just a method for them to gain your personal information.
hye
post May 11 2008, 09:46 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ May 11 2008, 09:31 AM)
Anyhow, of all my credit cards, Citibank gives me the lowest credit limits.
@tinkerbel

It's the same thing for me as well. To be fair, they just recently upgraded my credit limit but nevertheless it's still lower than most of my cards.

This post has been edited by hye: May 11 2008, 10:21 AM
hye
post May 11 2008, 05:57 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(SnoWFisH @ May 11 2008, 03:47 PM)
i think cimb da is probably the best of both worlds, 2% petrol rebate for any petrol station + respective mesra/bonuslink/smile points and points for retail transactions.
I kindof agree with ya. Makes the CIMB Petronas card looks impractical in some way because you are only limited to Petronas service stations + you can't earn additional points from your purchase. CIMB DA cards allows you to benefit from all petrol stations.

On one hand, it's kindof weird for CIMB to allow its own product (CIMB DA Mastercard) to kill another product (CIMB Petronas card). The way I'm reading it is, it's probably a strategy to counter Maybank Petronas cards which is one of the hottest credit card at the moment. icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by hye: May 11 2008, 06:42 PM
hye
post May 12 2008, 10:19 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(siutimtim @ May 12 2008, 10:05 AM)
RM1.8k can get platinum card already?Which back is it?You mean ONE plat is it hmm.gif
@siutimtim
I think what she meant was she was earning that much when she first had her Citibank card. (I don't think it's a Platinum card) After many years of working, she's now applying for a Citibank Platinum card. (UOB One card did not exist a few years ago.)
hye
post May 14 2008, 06:58 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ May 13 2008, 08:37 PM)
... However he advised me to get UOB Master Plat because the free annual fees waiver has a condition  (which is a stupid policy i must say) - i.e. member must swipe minimum 6 times on each Visa and Master to enjoy automatic annual fee waiver. So in the end to make my life easier, asked them to sent me the MasterCard Plat which is damn ugly.
I do agree that the dual card policy is kind ridiculous since the consumer should be given a choice on which card they want to use. The Mastercard Plat design is seriously "undesirable" - looks like a normal silver card with the exception of the large "P" smacked on the card. If you look around - most banks in Malaysia use the same design for their Platinum card (with slight variation) and I felt that this slightly dilutes the exclusivity of the card coz all the cards looks almost the same.

A veteran credit card user would probably prefer to use 2 banks to backup each other during travels.
hye
post May 14 2008, 08:41 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ May 14 2008, 06:39 PM)
The design of HSBC World Mastercard (advertised as Premier Mastercard by HSBC) however, was a BIG let down.
Well ... the Premier Mastercard does carry some weight and recognition on its own. To those who recognizes the card, it's something that they would dream to have. If I were to own it, I don't mind the low profile that the card portrays (although I don't mind a better looking card like the VISA Infinity) - so long I have one.

Added on May 14, 2008, 8:43 pm
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ May 14 2008, 07:00 PM)
@MilesAndMore,
I'm quite sure there's a min limit on Plat cards.  On mine, it does exceed RM20k per Platinum card  blush.gif
I know someone who has a MBF Platinum card and the limit is less than RM20k.

This post has been edited by hye: May 14 2008, 08:43 PM
hye
post May 15 2008, 07:14 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(bysquashy @ May 15 2008, 12:26 AM)
I'm having HSBC Visa. Actually last time I've applied once for DA Platinum (IIRC, for its life time 0 annual fee), at least that's what the agent told me. When I get my card, it was a classic. Straight away throw into dustbin.  doh.gif
Wait a minute, DA only have 2 type of cards which is Gold and Platinum. What do you mean when you got a Classic card ?
hye
post May 15 2008, 08:03 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ May 15 2008, 07:20 AM)
Er... And what's the difference between Mastercard and World Mastercard? I never really noticed till it was mentioned *shrugs*
Emm ... can't find a definite difference between the both. I think what's makes it unique it's because it's coupled together with HSBC Premier service. Otherwise the only difference would be the perceived higher class status.

I also found out that there is such thing called the World Elite Mastercard which is supposedly one class above the World Mastercard.

The highest for VISA (at least in Malaysia) if I'm not mistaken would be VISA Infinite - currently offered by RHB Bank only. In the US, VISA Signature seems to be the highest card for a VISA - it's differentiated by a "VISA Signature" band across the front of the card in addition to the VISA logo.

One day if everyone holds a Platinum card, the next stage would be these cards which is (hopefully) the banks will defends it's exclusivity and not everyone will be able to get one.

This post has been edited by hye: May 15 2008, 08:11 AM
hye
post May 15 2008, 09:40 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ May 15 2008, 09:25 AM)
@hye,
Like I said, a card's just a card as far as I'm concerned that is smile.gif  But thanks for the information
@tinkerbel
Can't help myself ... blush.gif Got a little carried away I think.
hye
post May 17 2008, 07:39 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(neoxz @ May 17 2008, 07:15 AM)
Actually, are we able to check for the numbers of the credit card owned?
Apparently yes, someone here indicated that you could possibly do that over in Bank Negara if I'm not mistaken.
hye
post May 17 2008, 09:09 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(neoxz @ May 17 2008, 09:06 AM)
Just walk in bank negara? Can it be done through bank negara branches in other state ?
Not so sure about this. The other member mentioned about his experience over in Bank Negara in KL but did not mention the possibility of doing so in other states?

If you don't mind me asking, why are doing so ? Identity theft problem ?

Taking this opportunity to share my latest experience. I wanted to cancel my RHBBank credit card and called up the CS for a fax number to send the letter to. (Did this last Thursday) Checked with the CS on Monday and they said cancellation processing takes about 3-4 working days and they need to forward the fax to the card center. (It's only 2 working days now) However, they could not confirm the fax is received or not as it could have been sent directly to the card center.

Called again on Friday (It's already 8 working days), card is still active and cancellation not done yet. They said maybe Card Processing is not doing it yet. (Emmm ..... remember the 3-4 working days thing, I'm not impressed) Sigh .... service these days sucks.

This post has been edited by hye: May 17 2008, 09:22 AM
hye
post May 17 2008, 09:45 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(siutimtim @ May 17 2008, 09:37 AM)
Why you cancel the card?Not good?I am thinking apply RHB
@siutimtim
I'm very particular about the CS. Need a CS that is active in giving solutions not giving more problems. The last thing I need is an unhelpful CS when you have problems using your card overseas.

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0404sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:53 AM