Fund Investment Corner v2, A to Z about Fund

siew14
post Oct 2 2012, 06:13 PM

845 posts

Dear sifu,

just a quick question, for sales charge, it is one time fee or every transaction you made ( additional investment) ???? Or it is depends on the fund???

SUSPink Spider
post Oct 2 2012, 07:34 PM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

QUOTE(siew14 @ Oct 2 2012, 06:13 PM)
Dear sifu,

just a quick question, for sales charge, it is one time fee or  every transaction you made ( additional investment) ???? Or it is depends on the fund???
Expenses for UT 101:

Sales Charge
- One time off upfront when u buy

Switching fee
- One time off whenever u perform switching

Exit fee
- One time off when u withdraw i.e. sell

Management fee
- Charged to the fund annually, accrued on daily basis
- This is reflected in the NAV pricing of the fund, in a way u are paying for it without u knowing it, unlike the 3 above

Some fund got 0% sales charge but charges u exit fee (e.g. AmDynamic Bond).
Most funds charge SC but zero exit fee.
Switching fee depends on the fund house.
Management fee is applicable for ALL FUNDS.

Faham? wink.gif
siew14
post Oct 2 2012, 08:00 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Oct 2 2012, 07:34 PM)
Expenses for UT 101:

Sales Charge
- One time off upfront when u buy

Switching fee
- One time off whenever u perform switching

Exit fee
- One time off when u withdraw i.e. sell

Management fee
- Charged to the fund annually, accrued on daily basis
- This is reflected in the NAV pricing of the fund, in a way u are paying for it without u knowing it, unlike the 3 above
Some fund got 0% sales charge but charges u exit fee (e.g. AmDynamic Bond).
Most funds charge SC but zero exit fee.
Switching fee depends on the fund house.
Management fee is applicable for ALL FUNDS.

Faham? wink.gif
faham!! but if sales charge is one time off upfront, i buy the minimum unit then 2 months later buy more units... doing this way can save the cost no??
or it suppose to be when ever you buy the unit, there wil be sales charge??? rclxub.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Oct 2 2012, 08:03 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(siew14 @ Oct 2 2012, 08:00 PM)
faham!! but if sales charge is one time off upfront,  i buy the minimum unit then 2 months later buy more units... doing this way can save the cost no??
or it suppose to be when ever you buy the unit, there wil be sales charge???  rclxub.gif
SC is always calculated as %

E.g.
U buy RM1,000
SC 2%
SC = RM1,000 x 2% = RM20

2 months later u buy RM500
SC = RM500 x 2% = RM10

SC is charged for EVERY PURCHASE made
Kaka23
post Oct 2 2012, 10:15 PM

8,259 posts

Who has ambond? Unbelievable.. It increase more than 3% today!
SUSPink Spider
post Oct 2 2012, 10:23 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Oct 2 2012, 10:15 PM)
I suspect a previously written down bond is restated to value...happens also to OSK-UOB Income Fund not long ago hmm.gif
Kaka23
post Oct 2 2012, 10:25 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Oct 2 2012, 11:23 PM)
I suspect a previously written down bond is restated to value...happens also to OSK-UOB Income Fund not long ago hmm.gif
Feel like asking fundsupermart to get some inside info on this.. Not sure if they can korek the info from am investment?
SUSPink Spider
post Oct 2 2012, 10:28 PM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Oct 2 2012, 10:25 PM)
Feel like asking fundsupermart to get some inside info on this.. Not sure if they can korek the info from am investment?
Not to sure about this...with UT funds, the manager has a duty to manage the fund with investors' best interest in mind, but don't know if they are obliged to disclose the daily dealings/transactions/movements. Imagine if everyone is asking these sort of questions every day... sweat.gif tongue.gif
Kaka23
post Oct 2 2012, 10:32 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Oct 2 2012, 11:28 PM)
Not to sure about this...with UT funds, the manager has a duty to manage the fund with investors' best interest in mind, but don't know if they are obliged to disclose the daily dealings/transactions/movements. Imagine if everyone is asking these sort of questions every day... sweat.gif  tongue.gif
You got a point thr..
aronteh
post Oct 2 2012, 11:53 PM

139 posts

I have AmBond. Don't see much change in NAV. The latest NAV from FSM is 1.1756 as of 1 OCT.
Where did you see the 3%? blush.gif

Added on October 2, 2012, 11:55 pm
Okay. Saw the change in Bloomberg. Wait till it is reflected in FSM as Bloomberg round up to 2 decimal place.

This post has been edited by aronteh: Oct 2 2012, 11:58 PM
Kaka23
post Oct 3 2012, 12:20 AM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(aronteh @ Oct 3 2012, 12:53 AM)
I have AmBond. Don't see much change in NAV. The latest NAV from FSM is 1.1756 as of 1 OCT.
Where did you see the 3%? blush.gif

Added on October 2, 2012, 11:55 pm
Okay. Saw the change in Bloomberg. Wait till it is reflected in FSM as Bloomberg round up to 2 decimal place.
Haha.. Congrats bro..

How long hv u been investing in this fund?
aronteh
post Oct 3 2012, 01:25 AM

139 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Oct 3 2012, 12:20 AM)
Haha.. Congrats bro..

How long hv u been investing in this fund?
Thanks. To be exact 180 days as of 2 Oct 2012. The IRR is 3.41% as of 1st Oct NAV.

This post has been edited by aronteh: Oct 3 2012, 01:26 AM
siew14
post Oct 3 2012, 06:58 AM

845 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Oct 2 2012, 08:03 PM)
SC is always calculated as %

E.g.
U buy RM1,000
SC 2%
SC = RM1,000 x 2% = RM20

2 months later u buy RM500
SC = RM500 x 2% = RM10

SC is charged for EVERY PURCHASE made
thanks!!!!

notworthy.gif
tornado dot com
post Oct 3 2012, 02:42 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(aronteh @ Oct 3 2012, 01:25 AM)
Thanks. To be exact 180 days as of 2 Oct 2012. The IRR is 3.41% as of 1st Oct NAV.
Ambond really not bad... thinking about whether to switch my equity into ambond as well lol tongue.gif

Kaka23
post Oct 3 2012, 04:29 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(tornado dot com @ Oct 3 2012, 03:42 PM)
Ambond really not bad... thinking about whether to switch my equity into ambond as well lol tongue.gif
Good for parking your excess $ and lock in profit from equities/balance funds.. tongue.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Oct 3 2012, 04:35 PM

16,872 posts

AmBond is 100% MYR bonds, I prefer OSK-UOB Income Fund cos it has the flexibility to invest up to 30% in foreign bonds
aronteh
post Oct 3 2012, 06:37 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Oct 3 2012, 04:35 PM)
AmBond is 100% MYR bonds, I prefer OSK-UOB Income Fund cos it has the flexibility to invest up to 30% in foreign bonds
OSK-UOB Income Fund perform slightly better. I invested since June 2012 with multiple topup till August 2012. So far my XIRR is 4.02 %. Good to spread over different fund to diversified the risk.

Added on October 3, 2012, 7:43 pm
Look like data error. FSM updated their NAV, no increase at all. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by aronteh: Oct 3 2012, 07:43 PM
Kaka23
post Oct 3 2012, 08:58 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(aronteh @ Oct 3 2012, 07:37 PM)
OSK-UOB Income Fund perform slightly better. I invested since June 2012 with multiple topup till August 2012. So far my XIRR is 4.02 %. Good to spread over different fund to diversified the risk.

Added on October 3, 2012, 7:43 pm
Look like data error. FSM updated their NAV, no increase at all. tongue.gif
You are right.. They revised the NAV to lower. But the 52 weeks percentage increase is still not correct. It is now 7+%. Actual is not so high
Dino168
post Oct 7 2012, 03:33 PM

175 posts

What happen to RHB Bond and RHB Islamic Bond .. drop ~5% last week .. junk bond? How can one tell if a bond fund has bought any junk bonds?

This post has been edited by Dino168: Oct 7 2012, 03:34 PM
MakNok
post Oct 7 2012, 04:46 PM

5,713 posts

Which mutual fund offer lower switching fee as compared to Public Mutual now?

Can invest using EPF money?

160 Pages « < 151 152 153 154 155 > » Top

0.0229sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 01:05 PM