wongmunkeong
post Jan 19 2012, 06:30 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(transit @ Jan 19 2012, 05:53 PM)
Thanks for Wong for sharing. If Wong is working in my agency, then most of my UTC will be expert to using those data sharing. I like the way he creates those working methods with data pulling from CAMS & FP Advisor into Excel Spreadsheet. Thanks again...Hope year 2012 is a good ending....unlike year 2011 like a roller coaster trend. (High --> Low --> High)

Wishing all Happy CNY 2012 and more more $$$$$$$$ from your investment portfolio.
Paiseh paiseh - most probably if i'm in your agency, Transit, most of your UTCs wont even know i exist coz i seldom join my upline's group for talks/roadshow/etc. Actually, havent even joined once! tongue.gif
Only go for classes and that is just to get the donkey points to keep being an agent laugh.gif
Thus, i'm a bad example of a UTC in such light notworthy.gif

To those celebrating Chinese New Year - Prosperity and REAL WEALTH (always enough $ * great health * great relations) to U & your loved ones. rclxm9.gif

Added on January 19, 2012, 7:05 pmSifus and Guru-jis here, can i pick your brains?
Please do take a look at the attached concepts and shoot/criticize with feedback on how to make better can ar? These are some of the concepts / ideas / opinions i share with my friends and investors (now crystalized on Power Point) - again, not for selling per se, but to build a base of knowledge and understanding, even before thinking of investing.

Any legal-ese advise would be welcomed too - heck, i dont want to get into trouble sharing opinion / concepts / ideas tongue.gif

Danke in advance notworthy.gif
Attached File  To_Share___Simplify.zip ( 299.49k ) Number of downloads: 129

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Jan 19 2012, 08:28 PM
jutamind
post Jan 19 2012, 09:45 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jan 19 2012, 06:30 PM)

Please do take a look at the attached concepts and shoot/criticize with feedback on how to make better can ar? These are some of the concepts / ideas / opinions i share with my friends and investors (now crystalized on Power Point) - again, not for selling per se, but to build a base of knowledge and understanding, even before thinking of investing.
i was looking through your files and one of your criteria for stock selection is share price <= discounted intrinsic value. how do you get the data for discounted intrinsic value?
wongmunkeong
post Jan 19 2012, 09:56 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(jutamind @ Jan 19 2012, 09:45 PM)
i was looking through your files and one of your criteria for stock selection is share price <= discounted intrinsic value. how do you get the data for discounted intrinsic value?
Based on calculations using Avg EPS Growth, Avg P/E, Avg Dividends, Total Returns, then discounting it by xx%. The EPS, DPS, etc. are taken from that KLSE book in my notes - lots of historical stats (EPS, DPS, P/Es, DYs, etc) + 3 years ratios.

Heheh - formula based on a book i read. I gotta go dig it out to recall the name - it's either the local book with the title like "Make $ in the Stock Market in Up or Down markets" (or was it the other one.. read 2 good books locally written) or Rule #1 by Phil T. If U really interested in the formula, let me know - i'll go dig out the book and compare to my Excel's formulas, then let U know.

Sorry ar - getting old & foggy, read those books like in 2002 or so, built the Excel 2003 or so - if i recall correctly tongue.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Jan 19 2012, 10:05 PM
jutamind
post Jan 20 2012, 12:02 AM

2,429 posts

U mean the book by Ho Kok Mun? I got the book as well.

Once you've filtered through the stocks, how do you determine buy and sell price?

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jan 19 2012, 09:56 PM)
Based on calculations using Avg EPS Growth, Avg P/E, Avg Dividends, Total Returns, then discounting it by xx%. The EPS, DPS, etc. are taken from that KLSE book in my notes - lots of historical stats (EPS, DPS, P/Es, DYs, etc) + 3 years ratios.

Heheh - formula based on a book i read. I gotta go dig it out to recall the name - it's either the local book with the title like "Make $ in the Stock Market in Up or Down markets" (or was it the other one.. read 2 good books locally written) or Rule #1 by Phil T. If U really interested in the formula, let me know - i'll go dig out the book and compare to my Excel's formulas, then let U know.

Sorry ar - getting old & foggy, read those books like in 2002 or so, built the Excel 2003 or so - if i recall correctly  tongue.gif
wongmunkeong
post Jan 20 2012, 08:15 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(jutamind @ Jan 20 2012, 12:02 AM)
U mean the book by Ho Kok Mun? I got the book  as well.

Once you've filtered through the stocks, how do you determine buy and sell price?
Er.. i think so - i recognize his name biggrin.gif

Once filtered for at least 3 years consistency in ROE, D/E, Cashflow, etc
+ Create trigger prices to buy in
eg. MIN(discounted intrinsic value, margin of safety)
OR discounted Price/NAPS
OR Gross DY%
OR discounted P/E

Trigger to sell: Simple Trailing Stop Loss of 10%

oh.. kaka.. sorry ar mods & admin, now only noticed i'm replying in a Funds thread doh.gif
Jutamind - if more Qs, please post at Personal Financial Planning/Mgt (correct thread ar Mods & Admins? more fundamental approach than trading / TA in the Stocks area notworthy.gif )

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Jan 20 2012, 08:16 AM
ngaisteve1
post Jan 26 2012, 05:22 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

Hi, i just came accross this site, fundsupermart.com. looks not bad as the sales charge looks cheap. i just register online but not yet submit the documents for approval. anyone buy unit trust fund from this site before?
transit
post Jan 26 2012, 06:24 PM

360 posts

Yes. I did.
jutamind
post Jan 26 2012, 07:37 PM

2,429 posts

assuming that i have a UT fund that has returns of 30% over 3 year period and its sales charge is 5%. what would be the annualized returns of the fund (simple calc will do)?

is it (30% - 5%)/3 or (30%/3) - 5%?
wongmunkeong
post Jan 26 2012, 07:52 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(jutamind @ Jan 26 2012, 07:37 PM)
assuming that i have a UT fund that has returns of 30% over 3 year period and its sales charge is 5%. what would be the annualized returns of the fund (simple calc will do)?

is it (30% - 5%)/3 or (30%/3) - 5%?
imho, (30%/3) - 5% would give U a true-er view as the sales charge should be minused from the base

Just a thought - 30% gross returns without taking into consideration of the 5% sales charges? how in the world does that calculation / report happen? Which fund house or investment gives such weird calculations/reports? I'm just curious tongue.gif

Usually, the easiest way for CAGR calc:

CAGR %pa = (Current Value / Cost)^(1/years) -1

Where:
current value = units * NAV (ie. redemption value / sell back value)
Cost = total cost for that transaction

jutamind
post Jan 26 2012, 08:11 PM

2,429 posts

oh...that was my hypothetical returns smile.gif

as for CAGR% calculation, how do u calculate if u have DCA? this will mean the current value & cost will always change every month...

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jan 26 2012, 07:52 PM)
imho, (30%/3) - 5% would give U a true-er view as the sales charge should be minused from the base

Just a thought - 30% gross returns without taking into consideration of the 5% sales charges? how in the world does that calculation / report happen? Which fund house or investment gives such weird calculations/reports? I'm just curious tongue.gif

Usually, the easiest way for CAGR calc:

CAGR %pa = (Current Value / Cost)^(1/years) -1

Where:
current value = units * NAV (ie. redemption value / sell back value)
Cost = total cost for that transaction
wongmunkeong
post Jan 26 2012, 08:38 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(jutamind @ Jan 26 2012, 08:11 PM)
oh...that was my hypothetical returns smile.gif

as for CAGR% calculation, how do u calculate if u have DCA? this will mean the current value & cost will always change every month...
Sodeska... thought which fund house that crazy trying to confuse its customers tongue.gif

Yup, calculate by per transaction (simple in Excel - copy & paste)
OR
if U have Microsoft Excel, try using the XIRR function for "group / fund" returns calculation.

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Jan 26 2012, 08:39 PM
ngaisteve1
post Jan 26 2012, 08:49 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

QUOTE(transit @ Jan 26 2012, 07:24 PM)
Yes. I did.
how's the sales charge and the website service? okay so far?
jutamind
post Jan 26 2012, 08:59 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(ngaisteve1 @ Jan 26 2012, 08:49 PM)
i think u just go ahead and subscribe with FSM....no issues so far

transit
post Jan 26 2012, 10:40 PM

360 posts

QUOTE(ngaisteve1 @ Jan 26 2012, 08:49 PM)
Through I am agent for PMB, I still invest in FSM without any issue. No issue on Service Charge at all in FSM. icon_rolleyes.gif laugh.gif

ngaisteve1
post Jan 27 2012, 08:58 AM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

QUOTE(transit @ Jan 26 2012, 11:40 PM)
Through I am agent for PMB, I still invest in FSM without any issue. No issue on Service Charge at all in FSM. icon_rolleyes.gif  laugh.gif
that's great because pbmutual sales charge is 5.5% but this FSM only 1%. rclxms.gif
kparam77
post Jan 27 2012, 09:37 AM

952 posts

QUOTE(ngaisteve1 @ Jan 27 2012, 08:58 AM)
that's great because pbmutual sales charge is 5.5% but this FSM only 1%. rclxms.gif
ya, PM no exit fee, while FSM got exit fee. tongue.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Jan 27 2012, 09:43 AM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

QUOTE(kparam77 @ Jan 27 2012, 09:37 AM)
ya, PM no exit fee, while FSM got exit fee.  tongue.gif
only on certain funds, and exit fees is usually only applicable for funds with zero service charge whistling.gif
wongmunkeong
post Jan 27 2012, 09:47 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(ngaisteve1 @ Jan 27 2012, 08:58 AM)
It depends...
IMHO:
IF you're looking at holistic and total costs for the long term (10 yrs and more), say EPF a/c1 funded investments, there is no 1 fund house in FSM that has both "slightly above average" equity funds AND bond funds. FSM has good equity funds & bond funds but IMHO, not within 1 fund house, thus cant do INTRA switching.
Thus, SWITCHING between INTER fund houses in FSM costs about 1% to 2%? Please correct me if i'm mistaken notworthy.gif (i actually hope i am, thus i've got another avenue for investments)

VS

Public Mutual's funds which have "slightly above average" equity funds AND bond funds, which one can switch to/fro for Asset Re-allocation (Tactical or Strategical) / Profit taking / etc.
Mind U, moving $50K, $100K, $200K, etc. several times within 10+ to 20+ years at $0 VS 1% to 2% makes a difference.

Thus, FSM just MAY not be "cheapest" in the long run in this perspective.

BTW, i'm assUme-ing investments via EPF lar, where most working stiff has the $ and doesnt affect "real" cash flow until retirement.
Thus, PM's cost is 3% (if one's one best customer-agent, cost is approximately 1.7%) for equity funds, not 5.5%

Just a thought and hope to be corrected, especially the cost of INTER switching costs for FSM notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Jan 27 2012, 09:49 AM
SUSPink Spider
post Jan 27 2012, 09:55 AM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jan 27 2012, 09:47 AM)
It depends...
IMHO:
IF you're looking at holistic and total costs for the long term (10 yrs and more), say EPF a/c1 funded investments, there is no 1 fund house in FSM that has both "slightly above average" equity funds AND bond funds. FSM has good equity funds & bond funds but IMHO, not within 1 fund house, thus cant do INTRA switching.
Thus, SWITCHING between INTER fund houses in FSM costs about 1% to 2%? Please correct me if i'm mistaken  notworthy.gif (i actually hope i am, thus i've got another avenue for investments)

VS

Public Mutual's funds which have  "slightly above average" equity funds AND bond funds, which one can switch to/fro for Asset Re-allocation (Tactical or Strategical) / Profit taking / etc.
Mind U, moving $50K, $100K, $200K, etc. several times within 10+ to 20+ years at $0 VS 1% to 2% makes a difference.

Thus, FSM just MAY not be "cheapest" in the long run in this perspective.

BTW, i'm assUme-ing investments via EPF lar, where most working stiff has the $ and doesnt affect "real" cash flow until retirement.
Thus, PM's cost is 3% (if one's one best customer-agent, cost is approximately 1.7%) for equity funds, not 5.5%

Just a thought and hope to be corrected, especially the cost of INTER switching costs for FSM  notworthy.gif
yes, INTER switching is a combo of 2 transactions - 1 sell & 1 buy
so, sales charge and/or exit fees applies depending on the fund houses

from my 2-3 years with FSM...

their best MYR Bond funds - AmBond, AmDynamic
MYR Equity - Kenanga Growth
MYR Balanced - OSK-UOB KidSave Trust, RHB Goldenlife 2020 & 2030
MRY Money Market - AmIncome Plus, OSK-UOB Cash Management
Asia Ex-Japan Equity - Prudential Asia Pacific Equity
Global - Alliance Global Equity

but OSK-UOB range of funds are also quite good, not outright winners but most are above average icon_idea.gif

OSK-UOB Cash Mangement is available EXCLUSIVELY thru FSM, the fund invests solely in FDs and money market instruments, with T+1 redemption period thumbup.gif

Added on January 27, 2012, 10:05 amso far the only fund with exit fees that I encountered is AmDynamic Bond, which has 0% sales charge and 1% exit fee

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Jan 27 2012, 10:05 AM
jutamind
post Jan 27 2012, 12:37 PM

2,429 posts

KLCI Tracker from OSK-UOB also has 1% sales charge and 1% exit fee. this fund is available from FSM

160 Pages « < 92 93 94 95 > » Top

0.0240sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 06:52 PM