Fund Investment Corner v2, A to Z about Fund

kparam77
post Jan 13 2012, 01:28 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Jan 13 2012, 12:54 PM)
kparam77 is new that why he no experience
ya, new...... no experience......maybe.......

any senior agent here can reply on lunchtime Q's.........kparam77, tell me should i DDI in PCSF, PCIF? because according to you DDI averages the cost of purchase but to me, the fund is still losing money after 4 years of DDI.

how u answer this, shud lunchtime do DDI for PCSF or PCIF?

my replies as.....ask him to read whatever material and decide.

my policy,

normaly i will ask investors objective and ask them to choose the fund themself.... if they cannot comes up the fudns..than only i will choose the fund for them which suit with their objective too.

sometimes non-agents can tell any thing. as a agent i need to follow company policy too. simply cannot hantam-mah, without knowing wat is the investor want. i may mislead or give wrong guide.

lunchtime
post Jan 13 2012, 02:51 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(kparam77 @ Jan 13 2012, 12:53 PM)
as an agent failed to note on certain aspects.

can u elobrate on this. maybe u not understand from my earlier replies. NO WORRIES, i will try my level best, MAKE U UNDERSTAND.
Its you not understand what I m asking. Read thru our postings and look deeper. The answers are staring at you.

But a good effort from you. Cheers!
kparam77
post Jan 13 2012, 04:06 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(lunchtime @ Jan 13 2012, 02:51 PM)
Its you not understand what I m asking. Read thru our postings and look deeper. The answers are staring at you.

But a good effort from you. Cheers!
dont simply ask with limited info's..... kparam77, tell me should i DDI in PCSF, PCIF? because according to you DDI averages the cost of purchase but to me, the fund is still losing money after 4 years of DDI.

do u think im only tag with PCSF, PCIF?

its ok now, let me move for u.......

how much u invst until now?
waht is ur initial?
ur monhly DDI?
how much u lost already?

or, r u asking want open new acc and do DDI for those PCSF, PCIF?
if u want to open new acc, wat u undestand from the financial report, fund rewiev and waht is stated in prospectus abt these funds?

if u say u already read but not understand, U BETTER STAY AWAY FROM THESE FUNDS, BECAUSE U NOT UNDERSTAND ABT THE PRODUCTS.

UT policy says, investors must read and understand the prospectus.

I DONT CARE WAHT OTHER AGENT OR NON-AGENTS SAYS, IF U ASK ME...... U NEED TO GIVE WAHT I EXPECT FROM U TOO.

JeffreyYap
post Jan 13 2012, 04:08 PM

Anti lowballers & noob drivers since 2010
1,232 posts

QUOTE(kparam77 @ Jan 13 2012, 04:06 PM)
dont simply ask with limited info's..... kparam77, tell me should i DDI in PCSF, PCIF? because according to you DDI averages the cost of purchase but to me, the fund is still losing money after 4 years of DDI.

waht is ur initial?
ur monhly DDI?
how much u lost already?

if u want to open new acc, wat u undestand from the financial report, fund rewiev and waht is stated in prospectus abt these funds?

if u say u already read but not understand, U BETTER STAY AWAY FROM THESE FUNDS, BECAUSE U NOT UNDERSTAND ABT THE PRODUCTS.

I DONT CARE WAHT OTHER AGENT OR NON-AGENTS SAYS, IF U ASK ME...... U NEED TO GIVE WAHT I EXPECT FROM U TOO.
Chill bro, i know you are good, i read your blogs, maybe there is misunderstanding in between. Cheer.

Added on January 13, 2012, 6:59 pmi searched google, but i still not very understand what is unit split.
Is unit split is a good thing?

This post has been edited by JeffreyYap: Jan 13 2012, 06:59 PM
SUSPink Spider
post Jan 13 2012, 08:47 PM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

guys,

just wanna hear some comments...

i started my UT portfolio during mid-2008, doing RSP (DDI for some of u) RM100 monthly til end of 2010, along the way also pumped in bits on and off, then stopped cos I felt that markets are peaking. My portfolio are largely conservative-balanced except for a global fund focused on banks/financials (this fund is the biggest drag on my portfolio doh.gif )

to-date my portfolio returned about 6%, annualised return=1.7%

is this considered "reasonable" for the past 4 years? unsure.gif

sifu sifu sekalian tolong komen notworthy.gif

Added on January 13, 2012, 8:57 pm
QUOTE(JeffreyYap @ Jan 13 2012, 04:08 PM)

Added on January 13, 2012, 6:59 pmi searched google, but i still not very understand what is unit split.
Is unit split is a good thing?
i make a simple illustration to explain to u...

Fund ABC
- got 100,000 units in circulation
- launch price at RM1.00 per unit

so, total assets of ABC = 100,000 x RM1.00 = RM100,000

let's say, a few years later ABC's assets value rose to RM150,000, so u have NAV price of RM1.50 per unit (assuming no additional units were created, so RM150,000/100,000 units)

then the fund house decided to do unit split of 2-for-1 for ABC

100,000 units become 200,000 units
RM150,000/200,000 units = RM0.75 per unit

That's unit split for u wink.gif

Effect?
- lowered NAV price per unit (RM1.50 becomes RM0.75)
- assets value - UNCHANGED (still RM150,000)
- psychological effect saja...cos some investors might PERCEIVE a RM1.50 fund as "expensive" doh.gif
- and it keeps the NAV price close to the original launch price

This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Jan 13 2012, 09:02 PM
wongmunkeong
post Jan 13 2012, 10:42 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jan 13 2012, 08:47 PM)
guys,

i started my UT portfolio during mid-2008, doing RSP (DDI for some of u) RM100 monthly til end of 2010, along the way also pumped in bits on and off, then stopped cos I felt that markets are peaking. My portfolio are largely conservative-balanced except for a global fund focused on banks/financials (this fund is the biggest drag on my portfolio doh.gif )

No seafood here, just a lemming sharing tongue.gif.

Just purely for tracking & reference purposes, i've been tracking and re-distributing dividends by PER TRANSACTION (date in, cost, units received + dividend units, current value) and below is using Excel's XIRR function on the dates, cash out and total value now, to get time-cost returns/losses of $.

Side note - the below aint all mine yar, just my tracking for myself, family and friends (else severe overlaps).

Buy & hold since May 2005
Prudential SmallCap,
lump sum in 18/05/2005, 26/08/2005, 15/01/2007
with dividends re-invested & no profit taking/switching rules
is netting as of 12/1/2012, approximately 9.54%pa

-----
DCA+VCA +switched in profits lock-in since Apr 2008
Public Bond Fund
with dividends re-invested
is netting as of 12/1/2012, approximately 7.81%pa

DCA+VCA since Apr 2008
Public Aggressive Growth Fund
with dividends re-invested & with profit taking/switching rules
is netting as of 12/1/2012, approximately 4.48%pa EXCLUDING profits switched out to bond fund

Public Industry Fund
is netting as of 12/1/2012, approximately 6.38%pa EXCLUDING profits switched out to bond fund

Public SmallCap Fund
is netting as of 12/1/2012, approximately 7.59%pa EXCLUDING profits switched out to bond fund

-----
DCA+VCA since May 2009
Public Index Fund
is netting as of 12/1/2012, approximately 9.23%pa EXCLUDING profits switched out to bond fund

Public Sector Select Fund
is netting as of 12/1/2012, approximately 9.18%pa EXCLUDING profits switched out to bond fund

Public Regional Sector Fund
is netting as of 12/1/2012, approximately -18.23%pa EXCLUDING profits switched out to bond fund

Public Public Far-East Property & Resorts Fund
is netting as of 12/1/2012, approximately 8.96%pa EXCLUDING profits switched out to bond fund

Public Public Far-East Select Fund
is netting as of 12/1/2012, approximately -13.21%pa EXCLUDING profits switched out to bond fund

----
DCA+VCA +switched in profits lock-in since Feb 2011
Public Strategic Bond Fund
with dividends re-invested
is netting as of 12/1/2012, approximately 5.83%pa

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Jan 13 2012, 10:44 PM
transit
post Jan 13 2012, 10:50 PM

360 posts

Wong: I really like your tracking ~_~ Keep it up ~_~
JeffreyYap
post Jan 13 2012, 10:55 PM

1,232 posts

quote error, deleted.

This post has been edited by JeffreyYap: Jan 13 2012, 11:05 PM
wongmunkeong
post Jan 13 2012, 10:59 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(transit @ Jan 13 2012, 10:50 PM)
Wong: I really like your tracking ~_~ Keep it up ~_~
Transit, I'm a typical nerd mar - no tracking = no stats = cant make proper decisions to get out of that stupid fund OR continue OR pour more $ in tongue.gif

Side notes / thoughts:
a. The buy & hold Prudential SmallCap is performing as expected long term 8%pa to 10%pa
b. PRSEC & PFES - looks familiar red color like end 2008 / early 2009 but in late 2009 & 2010.. nice leh the %pa. Thus, i think one needs to see ending periods that are "normal-ler" than now as well.
c. Who says bond funds are useless? Checkout PBOND's results. Dont lar PSTBF - forced into that coz PBOND full already and it just started.
transit
post Jan 13 2012, 10:59 PM

360 posts

Yes, you can! It 's up to your bullet $$$ availability. (why not) In fact, beside PM, u may also get other Fund from other fund house :-)
wongmunkeong
post Jan 13 2012, 11:01 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(JeffreyYap @ Jan 13 2012, 10:55 PM)
Oh, i can buy more than one fund with one public mutual account?
JeffreyYap, pls read previous threads & versions of this topic + the public mutual topic/thread (current and past).
U'll find out that one can EVEN have more than 1 account of PIX or PAGF or any funds (due to different servicing agents tongue.gif). eg. U can have 2 PIX accounts, 3 PAGF accounts, etc.

Of course other than that, you'll find even more nuggets of knowledge from fellow forumers by DIGGING for them and reading yar brows.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Jan 13 2012, 11:03 PM
JeffreyYap
post Jan 13 2012, 11:05 PM

1,232 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jan 13 2012, 11:01 PM)
JeffreyYap, pls read previous threads & versions of this topic + the public mutual topic/thread (current and past).
U'll find out that one can EVEN have more than 1 account of PIX or PAGF or any funds (due to different servicing agents tongue.gif). eg. U can have 2 PIX accounts, 3 PAGF accounts, etc.

Of course other than that, you'll find even more nuggets of knowledge from fellow forumers by DIGGING for them and reading yar  brows.gif
You mean i can buy 2 ABCD? Can briefly explain the benefit?

This post has been edited by JeffreyYap: Jan 13 2012, 11:05 PM
SUSPink Spider
post Jan 13 2012, 11:10 PM

16,872 posts

my portfolio was dragged down by going into Emerging Markets and Asia Ex-Japan equity funds at the wrong time...oredy exited those funds. My global financials/banks fund baru saja breakeven...it did went up 10%++ at one point though...currently all my funds are above water (finally!) sweat.gif

In a hindsight I would be better off putting all my money in FD...but it's a learning experience. nod.gif
kparam77
post Jan 13 2012, 11:35 PM

952 posts

guys,

Added on January 13, 2012, 8:57 pm

i make a simple illustration to explain to u...

Fund ABC
- got 100,000 units in circulation
- launch price at RM1.00 per unit

so, total assets of ABC = 100,000 x RM1.00 = RM100,000

let's say, a few years later ABC's assets value rose to RM150,000, so u have NAV price of RM1.50 per unit (assuming no additional units were created, so RM150,000/100,000 units)

then the fund house decided to do unit split of 2-for-1 for ABC

100,000 units become 200,000 units
RM150,000/200,000 units = RM0.75 per unit

That's unit split for u wink.gif

Effect?
- lowered NAV price per unit (RM1.50 becomes RM0.75)
- assets value - UNCHANGED (still RM150,000)
- psychological effect saja...cos some investors might PERCEIVE a RM1.50 fund as "expensive" doh.gif
- and it keeps the NAV price close to the original launch price
good explanation abt unit split.
in other meaning, the unit split is to readjust the NAV without declare the distributions.

kparam77
post Jan 13 2012, 11:44 PM

952 posts

QUOTE(JeffreyYap @ Jan 13 2012, 11:05 PM)
You mean i can buy 2 ABCD? Can briefly explain the benefit?
if u sign up with agents X for ABCD fund, u still can sign up with agent Y for the same fund. but u only can find agent A in PMO until u sign up manualy with agent B to see both.

not much benefit. its a same, maybe the agent services diff.
cherroy
post Jan 14 2012, 12:23 AM

25,802 posts

guys,

It is considered poor. smile.gif (at least until to date now, doesn't mean future is better or worst)
Why?
Because with this kind of performance, one is better off with FD.
4 years in FD at least give you around 12% already without such risk exposure.

SUSPink Spider
post Jan 14 2012, 12:28 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jan 14 2012, 12:23 AM)
It is considered poor.  smile.gif (at least until to date now, doesn't mean future is better or worst)
Why?
Because with this kind of performance, one is better off with FD.
4 years in FD at least give you around 12% already without such risk exposure.
ok cry.gif

but good thing I've already sold the laggards...otherwise would be still in the red doh.gif
lunchtime
post Jan 14 2012, 01:07 AM

487 posts

QUOTE(kparam77 @ Jan 13 2012, 04:06 PM)

waht is ur initial?
ur monhly DDI?
how much u lost already?

chill lar bor, already told you what i expected from an agent is staring at you, just that you didn't notice. you been and still is barking up the wrong tree.

and again good effort. icon_rolleyes.gif

kparam77
post Jan 14 2012, 11:13 AM

952 posts

QUOTE(lunchtime @ Jan 14 2012, 01:07 AM)
chill lar bor, already told you what i expected from an agent is staring at you, just that you didn't notice. you been and still is barking up the wrong tree.

and again good effort.  icon_rolleyes.gif
which one, staring at me for waht?
SUSPink Spider
post Jan 14 2012, 12:09 PM

16,872 posts

guys, how many of u are overweight equities right now? Which region in particular?

Thx biggrin.gif

160 Pages « < 88 89 90 91 92 > » Top

0.0195sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 07:21 AM