3,042 posts

i6400 Specification
Our Honorable User

REMINDER
Please be notice that DELL got Dell's 30-day worry-free return policy
You can return the whole system in 30days without getting any charges.

This post has been edited by madstone: May 30 2008, 09:11 PM
TSmadstone
post May 2 2008, 11:03 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

Frequently Asked Questions
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=13140938

This post has been edited by madstone: May 2 2008, 11:13 AM
TSmadstone
post May 2 2008, 11:03 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

Inside Look of Inspiron 6400
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=13140954

This post has been edited by madstone: May 2 2008, 11:14 AM
TSmadstone
post May 2 2008, 11:05 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

CORE 2 DUO SYSTEM wif Windows Vista 32bit DRIVER
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=13140972

This post has been edited by madstone: May 2 2008, 11:17 AM
TSmadstone
post May 2 2008, 11:05 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

Reserved for future use

This post has been edited by madstone: May 2 2008, 11:17 AM
APBT
post May 2 2008, 04:50 PM

70 posts

wow...dis model really no production???

anyway,i'm new to this thread...
wow...vol7 adi...
i'm a Dell Inspiron 6400 user too icon_rolleyes.gif
but mine is super duper old specs oo..."ancient" specs tongue.gif
KeV
post May 2 2008, 05:08 PM

www.kampar.net
6,758 posts

not in production yes, but they still selling the 6400 with t2080, came across in the papers, selling in tec asia sale, only below rm1999
zen10
post May 2 2008, 06:14 PM

205 posts

Thanks for madstone to recreate this thread again.
APBT
post May 2 2008, 06:29 PM

70 posts

juz wanna ask u guys...
can dis laptop b upgraded?
mine the specs quite low...alot of games cant support... sad.gif
teikwing
post May 2 2008, 08:15 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(KeV @ May 2 2008, 05:08 PM)
not in production yes, but they still selling the 6400 with t2080, came across in the papers, selling in tec asia sale, only below rm1999
QUOTE(APBT @ May 2 2008, 06:29 PM)
juz wanna ask u guys...
thanks to madstone for creating a new thread. smile.gif

thought TecAsia is selling @ just RM1699 the other day? think saw it on the flyers.

upgrading in terms of? what graphic card are you on now? its impossible to upgrade from GMA950 to X1300 or X1400 as the it needs the motherboard to be replaced.
APBT
post May 2 2008, 08:19 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(teikwing @ May 2 2008, 08:15 PM)

thought TecAsia is selling @ just RM1699 the other day? think saw it on the flyers.

upgrading in terms of? what graphic card are you on now? its impossible to upgrade from GMA950 to X1300 or X1400 as the it needs the motherboard to be replaced.
i'm a noob when it comes to pc stuffs leh...
all i know is dat i bought dis laptop 2 years ago...ony upgrade frm 512 ram to 1GB ram...
dats all...

its:
Genuine Intel® CPU
T2300 @ 1.66GHz
1.66 GHz, 0.99 GB of RAM
Physical Address Extension

oh ya, system is:
Microsoft Windows XP
Home Edition
Version 2002
Service Pack 2

graphic is:
Intel® Graphics Media Accelerator Driver for Mobile
Maximum Graphics Memory: 224 MB

This post has been edited by APBT: May 2 2008, 08:22 PM
teikwing
post May 2 2008, 08:31 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(APBT @ May 2 2008, 08:19 PM)
i'm a noob when it comes to pc stuffs leh...
all i know is dat i bought dis laptop 2 years ago...ony upgrade frm 512 ram to 1GB ram...
dats all...

its:
Genuine Intel® CPU
T2300 @ 1.66GHz
1.66 GHz, 0.99 GB of RAM
Physical Address Extension

oh ya, system is:
Microsoft Windows XP
Home Edition
Version 2002
Service Pack 2

graphic is:
Intel® Graphics Media Accelerator Driver for Mobile
Maximum Graphics Memory: 224 MB
oh i see. well, you're on Intel GMA950. an integrated graphic card. so can't expect much from it. even you total up the RAM to 4GB you will still not able to play high requirements games as its not a dedicated graphic card like ATi X1400 etc. smile.gif
TSmadstone
post May 2 2008, 08:58 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(APBT @ May 2 2008, 04:50 PM)
wow...dis model really no production???
anyway,i'm new to this thread...
wow...vol7 adi...
i'm a Dell Inspiron 6400 user too icon_rolleyes.gif
but mine is super duper old specs oo..."ancient" specs tongue.gif
Welcome to the thread bro
QUOTE(zen10 @ May 2 2008, 06:14 PM)
Thanks for madstone to recreate this thread again.
Welcome wink.gif smile.gif
QUOTE(APBT @ May 2 2008, 06:29 PM)
juz wanna ask u guys...
Anything in this world can be upgrade bro
it's depends on how u can find lubang to get good & reasonable price for the upgrade items that u want
me also can't find good price for DVD-RW shakehead.gif shakehead.gif

APBT
post May 2 2008, 09:07 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(teikwing @ May 2 2008, 08:31 PM)
oh i see. well, you're on Intel GMA950. an integrated graphic card. so can't expect much from it. even you total up the RAM to 4GB you will still not able to play high requirements games as its not a dedicated graphic card like ATi X1400 etc.  smile.gif
so i guess if i wanna upgrade, i hv to chg the motherboard huh? sad.gif

QUOTE(madstone @ May 2 2008, 08:58 PM)
Welcome to the thread bro
Anything in this world can be upgrade bro
it's depends on how u can find lubang to get good & reasonable price for the upgrade items that u want
me also can't find good price for DVD-RW  shakehead.gif  shakehead.gif
thx for the warm welcome...

my solution 4 u is dat, get an external DVD-RW tongue.gif
dats wat i'm doing now...
currently using the Samsung Writemaster...smthg like dat lah...
n oso using casing tongue.gif

edit: hey madstone, add me into the user list oso lah... blush.gif

This post has been edited by APBT: May 2 2008, 09:08 PM
TSmadstone
post May 2 2008, 09:16 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(APBT @ May 2 2008, 09:07 PM)
so i guess if i wanna upgrade, i hv to chg the motherboard huh? sad.gif
thx for the warm welcome...
my solution 4 u is dat, get an external DVD-RW tongue.gif
dats wat i'm doing now...
currently using the Samsung Writemaster...smthg like dat lah...
n oso using casing tongue.gif
edit: hey madstone, add me into the user list oso lah... blush.gif
I think that's my biggest mistake i've done to my humble i6400
bought a DVD writer BUT i can't write DVD disc BUT still can write CD or watching DVD
should i change/return back my DVD writer to the seller?
the thing is, it's hassle to go to LowYat plaza again sweat.gif sweat.gif shakehead.gif

Planning of buying external DVD writer for the future OR may be external 2.5 HDD

Updated your name in the owner list
It's not too late to say Welcome bro thumbup.gif notworthy.gif flex.gif wink.gif

APBT
post May 2 2008, 09:36 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(madstone @ May 2 2008, 09:16 PM)
I think that's my biggest mistake i've done to my humble i6400
bought a DVD writer BUT i can't write DVD disc BUT still can write CD or watching DVD
should i change/return back my DVD writer to the seller?
the thing is, it's hassle to go to LowYat plaza again  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  shakehead.gif

Planning of buying external DVD writer for the future OR may be external 2.5 HDD

Updated your name in the owner list
It's not too late to say Welcome bro  thumbup.gif  notworthy.gif  flex.gif  wink.gif
thx bro notworthy.gif

well,i think if u have a vr high disposable income, u can either still use the DVD writer or juz get another new 1... tongue.gif
but if u wanna practice ur consumer rights, den get goin to LowYat Plaza nod.gif tongue.gif
TSmadstone
post May 2 2008, 10:16 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

Since the warranty valid for 3 months, i think i have to go there again
sooner or later sweat.gif
APBT
post May 2 2008, 10:28 PM

70 posts

wise choice rclxms.gif
be prepared to c clown faces... laugh.gif
cuz 4 sure the seller will like "huh? got meh?" or "hah??!!! really ah??"
or they'll juz look at u 1 kind laugh.gif
TSmadstone
post May 2 2008, 10:50 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

Like that meh?
I surely show my bonzer face to them brows.gif
KeV
post May 2 2008, 10:52 PM

www.kampar.net
6,758 posts

QUOTE(teikwing @ May 2 2008, 08:15 PM)

haha typo, lol

ur right about the gma to x1400 or x1300, only x1300 can be swapped to x1400, since it has a pci-e slot, whereas the gma doesnt comes with it
APBT
post May 2 2008, 10:56 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(madstone @ May 2 2008, 10:50 PM)
Like that meh?
I surely show my bonzer face to them brows.gif
no need ur bonzer lah...show ur f**ked-up face can liao lo... tongue.gif
TSmadstone
post May 2 2008, 11:00 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

Hahahahahaha

Show him la what happen when trying to burn DVD

APBT
post May 2 2008, 11:08 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(madstone @ May 2 2008, 11:00 PM)
Hahahahahaha

Show him la what happen when trying to burn DVD
ya,dat shud b the way thumbup.gif

but i still cant forget my bad experience at LYP...
i bought Sonic Gear BlueThunder 3 from 1 shop thr...
after about 2-3 months,the output part at the woofer(cucuk the cable to the speakers), abit sot-sot liao...
den i send to dat shop 4 warranty...
after few weeks,i go collect, bring back, still sot-sot vmad.gif
den i bring thr back, they say they send to warranty liao n its fixed liao...
i FORCED them to call the warranty n i talk to the warranty ppl...
i screw dat guy properly until i think he nearly pee in his pants tongue.gif
at dat moment, NOBODY was in the shop...the lady supervisor(or maybe some high pangkat type) quickly went into the office n all the sellers go out of the shop laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
the whole shop empty...ony me n my gf brows.gif

finally, i forced the warranty to take back n i want it back in the most 1 week time...
at first he said cannot...cuz got othr warranties to look at...
when i start to raise my voice,dat warranty guy straight agree tongue.gif

This post has been edited by APBT: May 2 2008, 11:11 PM
KeV
post May 2 2008, 11:32 PM

www.kampar.net
6,758 posts

haha u must have gangster boss face biggrin.gif
APBT
post May 3 2008, 12:57 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(KeV @ May 2 2008, 11:32 PM)
haha u must have gangster boss face biggrin.gif
sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
they warranty guy didnt see my face oso...
cuz we talk thru the phone ma...i ask the lady supervisor to call the warranty ma...
TSmadstone
post May 3 2008, 09:06 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

i'm afraid that shop will not be open on weekdays
so might go there during weekends sweat.gif
which is, lotsa people to go through

This post has been edited by madstone: May 3 2008, 09:07 AM
APBT
post May 3 2008, 11:24 AM

70 posts

nvm lah...
go thr den sun pin cuci mata lo... brows.gif
steventan85
post May 3 2008, 12:10 PM

6,447 posts

@ madstone
well , very sorry for closing my thread 6 ... there are someone complaining me to s3ven that i m trying to confused the public about my roles in the thread and they assumed me that i m the official liaison to dell management . S3ven has received the order frm dell to informed me to removed all the logo and infomation , and i m forced to do so .

i m going to look for job in dell and therefore i afraid it will affect my career prospective. S3ven might have sent my email to dell for them to contact me , and the email S3ven will be sending is my own customer email which dell has a copy of mine when i do my purchases .i afraid it might affect me so i m gonna discontinue my effort here until i get a job there .

although it might be a bit frus to do so , but i think there is no point helping ppl here where they din appreciate my effort at all and wat they know is keep on complaining me .... cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

I found out that Dell is dishonest to their customer and not telling us that they are actually having Dell's 30-day worry-free return policy for longtime ago already .

pls keep on remind the forumers about the policy . U can return the whole system in 30days without getting any charges .

This post has been edited by steventan85: May 3 2008, 03:27 PM
TSmadstone
post May 3 2008, 03:07 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

steventan85,
No worries bro, it's ok with as long as we can still keep posting

About the problem you've faced, cheer up man, it's the way of life
it's hard to get people appreciation but instead get their hate somemore
it's a cruel world bro

I will update the new about the 30 days policy ASAP
thanks bro
djlah
post May 3 2008, 04:17 PM

7,723 posts

QUOTE(steventan85 @ May 3 2008, 12:10 PM)
@ madstone
well , very sorry for closing my thread 6 ... there are someone complaining me to s3ven that i m trying to confused the public about my roles in the thread and they assumed me that i m the official liaison to dell management . S3ven has received the order frm dell to informed me to removed all the logo and infomation , and i m forced to do so .

i m going to look for job in dell and therefore i afraid it will affect my career prospective. S3ven might have sent my email to dell for them to contact me , and the email S3ven will be sending is my own customer email which dell has a copy of mine when i do my purchases .i afraid it might affect me so i m gonna discontinue my effort here until i get a job there .

although it might be a bit frus to do so , but i think there is no point helping ppl here where they din appreciate my effort at all and wat they know is keep on complaining me .... cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif

I found out that Dell is dishonest to their customer and not telling us that they are actually having Dell's 30-day worry-free return policy for longtime ago already .

pls keep on remind the forumers about the policy . U can return the whole system in 30days without getting any charges .

that's why they instruct to remove that. because you might give a wrong information to others that create confuse here.
for example:

30days are not applied in Malaysia. at malaysia only 14days. you don't satisfied? maybe you go to singapore order by sindollar then....
KeV
post May 3 2008, 05:14 PM

www.kampar.net
6,758 posts

@ madstone

although it might be a bit frus to do so , but i think there is no point helping ppl here where they din appreciate my effort at all and wat they know is keep on complaining me .... cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif

i totally feel u steven, i just think that some stupid users here are too dumb to figure that out. besides if dell doesn't want you, go to intel, work with the supplier, not the buyer, lol
teikwing
post May 3 2008, 05:52 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

@ madstone

since when did Steven confused us with his role? he knew he's not working for Dell or whatsoever. just a very big fan for Dell. so am i. whoever who's complaining to se7en got no idea what this thread is all about & Steven's position here. just ignore that fella, Steven. we always love you here. smile.gif
djlah
post May 3 2008, 06:04 PM

7,723 posts

QUOTE(teikwing @ May 3 2008, 05:52 PM)
since when did Steven confused us with his role? he knew he's not working for Dell or whatsoever. just a very big fan for Dell. so am i. whoever who's complaining to se7en got no idea what this thread is all about & Steven's position here. just ignore that fella, Steven. we always love you here. smile.gif
steventan85 did helping us a lots that many ppl can see. but when some of newbie or dell management ppl come here, they might get confuse. only us knew he is not officially. from his avatar info, "from: Dell" and the "DELL" logo avatar might are the root cause they claim/complaint to. I guess s7ven or admin have no choice, "DELL" logo are copy right, we cannot simple re-use. I guess MOD/Admin here sure always aware about this; maybe need to hightlight it again about he is non-officially to avoid any escalation.
TSmadstone
post May 3 2008, 08:47 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

That's the problem when we used copyright logo
better not use them in the future coz it might create problems

to steventan85,
i appreciated the things you've done in the previous thread(s)
dun worry bro, there's still lotsa job out there
cheer up mate
TSmadstone
post May 15 2008, 07:35 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

Almost everytime i restarted OR switch on my i6400
this will be happened
my i6400 cannot detect the wireless adapter & i have to repair it again
i went to START > CONTROL PANEL > ADD/REMOVE PROGRAMs > and double click at Intel PROset wireless to repair it

I dunno what is the farking problem but i have already uninstalled the PROset wireless once, installed it back & yet this problem still occured vmad.gif
Happened to me twice when tried to surfing at Starbucks & it ended up cannot do anything because of this stupid adapter
now, kinda ok la since i know how to fix it

Click the image for more detail
mofonyx
post May 20 2008, 04:22 AM

Squatting is the solution to life's problems
2,394 posts

Ok guys, I have been using my Inspiron 6400 for close to two years now.

It's starting to die on me. It's 2.0 GHz Core Duo 2MB L2 cache with 1GB DDR2 RAM.

However, the performance is seriously sub-par. It doesn't run as robustly as I first bought it. Even formatting the drive and reinstalling the OS doesn't work for me.

If I push the system, it would heat up, and when it does the CPU load hovers around 100% regardless of whether I stop my applications or not.

This sucks. I'm not alone on this. Even my friend has the same issue. He formatted, cleaned out the fan and still the performance issue persists.

If you're curious, no it's not spyware, no it's not viruses. I have Spybot S&D and NOD32 running.

You know what, the computer runs faster when NHC sets it to 1.00GHz because it's cooler.

Dell sucks.
TSmadstone
post May 20 2008, 10:39 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

Yeahhh,

Ever thought about that too! DELL sucks!
this gonna made me even closer to buy iMac sweat.gif

This post has been edited by madstone: May 20 2008, 10:39 AM
death_nite
post May 20 2008, 12:20 PM

Lossless Land...
2,366 posts

@ madstone

what! i didnt know that u edy close previous thread.

damn noob. who pandai2 report to se7en say steven from dell? very noob! noob! better go die. we demand public apology from noob! steven not yet working pandai2 say he work at dell. noob reported wrong person la. go other thread. i know some1 admit he work at dell.

i say this cos i personally know steven.

QUOTE(djlah @ May 3 2008, 04:17 PM)
that's why they instruct to remove that. because you might give a wrong information to others that create confuse here.
for example:

30days are not applied in Malaysia. at malaysia only 14days. you don't satisfied? maybe you go to singapore order by sindollar then....
on the other way around, sometime steven did give false information; cos he's not working at dell ma. sure smtime got wrong information. laugh.gif

QUOTE(KeV @ May 3 2008, 05:14 PM)
i totally feel u steven, i just think that some stupid users here are too dumb to figure that out. besides if dell doesn't want you, go to intel, work with the supplier, not the buyer, lol
QUOTE(teikwing @ May 3 2008, 05:52 PM)
i seriusly wanna know who that noob and pandai2 report to se7en and everything. damn.

btw, i got 4 more dead pixel! yey! damn it. total now 5dp. havent call dell. now only left with normal warranty. maybe during holiday will ask them to fix my notebook. just that no more on site warranty. they will take it for 3 days minimum.

erh, at least 5dp can claim new screen right? or 7? if 7 i die la. sweat.gif
TSmadstone
post May 20 2008, 01:12 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

How much we have to pay to change to new monitor?
I mean the glossy one?
utopian86
post May 23 2008, 11:53 PM

1,239 posts

Meh...
my 6400 died.. after 1.5 years..
suddenly today press on button, nothing come out.
the on light is still green, burner light also blink abit.

My warranty already pass.
Can i still buy the warranty and then send it for repair?
djlah
post May 24 2008, 12:03 AM

7,723 posts

QUOTE(utopian86 @ May 23 2008, 11:53 PM)
Meh...
my 6400 died.. after 1.5 years..
suddenly today press on button, nothing come out.
the on light is still green, burner light also blink abit.

My warranty already pass.
Can i still buy the warranty and then send it for repair?
yes, extend the warranty then service will arranged for you.
utopian86
post May 27 2008, 11:15 AM

1,239 posts

but they will come to check my pc first before the extant the warranty right?
teikwing
post May 27 2008, 01:45 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(utopian86 @ May 27 2008, 11:15 AM)
but they will come to check my pc first before the extant the warranty right?
yeah. they will come & check plus there's a fee to be paid for checking. forgot the actual amount. think RM100-200. anyway, do call Dell up & ask about it. smile.gif
utopian86
post May 27 2008, 04:18 PM

1,239 posts

still waiting for dell to reply me smile.gif
i'm back to hometown now
dont have any dell office around.

can i buy the warranty now and then claim warranty?

This post has been edited by utopian86: May 27 2008, 04:36 PM
djlah
post May 27 2008, 08:09 PM

7,723 posts

QUOTE(utopian86 @ May 27 2008, 04:18 PM)
still waiting for dell to reply me smile.gif
i'm back to hometown now
dont have any dell office around.

can i buy the warranty now and then claim warranty?
if u din tell them the issue, they might randomly send the technician to recerf and check the system before approve.
just to be honest, tell them the problem. they will still give you quotation for warranty extended.

This post has been edited by djlah: May 27 2008, 08:35 PM
mofonyx
post May 28 2008, 09:37 AM

Squatting is the solution to life's problems
2,394 posts

Update on my laptop:

Dell has agreed to replace my LCD hinges, optical drive, heatsink and fan in response to slow loading and heat related issues.

This is amazing. I guess I will be a Dell customer for a long time if the issue resolves with replacement.

I will update this thread accordingly once they arrive on Friday.
Suicidal Guy
post May 28 2008, 11:08 AM

567 posts

anyone has got an upgrade from their intel wireless to broadcom wireless?? i heard from someone we can get it upgraded foc if still under warranty..
djlah
post May 28 2008, 11:45 AM

7,723 posts

QUOTE(Suicidal Guy @ May 28 2008, 11:08 AM)
anyone has got an upgrade from their intel wireless to broadcom wireless?? i heard from someone we can get it upgraded foc if still under warranty..
wat's the point or reason changed to broadcom wireless card? in term of performance, broadcom are more high end? dun think so...
Suicidal Guy
post May 29 2008, 11:01 AM

567 posts

cos the broadcom card can act as an access point..need it to play psp games online with a tunneling software...
djlah
post May 29 2008, 12:08 PM

7,723 posts

QUOTE(Suicidal Guy @ May 29 2008, 11:01 AM)
cos the broadcom card can act as an access point..need it to play psp games online with a tunneling software...
I guess dell will not offer upgrade from their intel wireless to broadcom wireless for foc. as the broadcom card might cost higher than intel card.
Suicidal Guy
post May 29 2008, 12:30 PM

567 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ May 29 2008, 12:08 PM)
I guess dell will not offer upgrade from their intel wireless to broadcom wireless for foc. as the broadcom card might cost higher than intel card.
i see...i'm just asking here cos in the psp thread someone said we can get it upgraded foc...thanks for da reply..
aiman04
post May 30 2008, 05:31 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Hi guys,

Sorry for the very late reporting in. I'm an owner of Inspiron 6400 since June 2006. thumbup.gif

So guys, there is no way to repair your Dell laptop other than to call them right? You must have guessed I never asked this before because there was no problem at all until now. Actually, there's still nothing wrong with my laptop, only from my own carelessness. So my respect to Dell for making very good and reliable laptops. rclxms.gif

Few days ago, my little kid put some coins into my DVD drive, and now it's dead. And few weeks earlier, I don't know how he did it, most of the keys on my keyboard fell off, and it just simply not working anymore (using temporary USB keyboard for now). sweat.gif

Before I call them, I wonder how much would it cost? Is buying a new warranty the only way? Thank you so much in advance! notworthy.gif

PS: I've upgraded my laptop RAM to 4GB myself. biggrin.gif
TSmadstone
post May 30 2008, 09:07 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ May 30 2008, 05:31 PM)
Hi guys,
Sorry for the very late reporting in. I'm an owner of Inspiron 6400 since June 2006. thumbup.gif
So guys, there is no way to repair your Dell laptop other than to call them right? You must have guessed I never asked this before because there was no problem at all until now. Actually, there's still nothing wrong with my laptop, only from my own carelessness. So my respect to Dell for making very good and reliable laptops. rclxms.gif
Few days ago, my little kid put some coins into my DVD drive, and now it's dead. And few weeks earlier, I don't know how he did it, most of the keys on my keyboard fell off, and it just simply not working anymore (using temporary USB keyboard for now). sweat.gif
Before I call them, I wonder how much would it cost? Is buying a new warranty the only way? Thank you so much in advance! notworthy.gif
PS: I've upgraded my laptop RAM to 4GB myself. biggrin.gif
Does it work 4GB full for your memory?

This post has been edited by madstone: May 30 2008, 09:08 PM
aiman04
post May 30 2008, 09:17 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(madstone @ May 30 2008, 09:07 PM)
Does it work 4GB full for your memory?
Nope, only 3GB effective memory. It's the limitation for the 32-bit architecture. But I got 2 pieces of 2GB for a good price, so I just use them anyway. biggrin.gif
Suicidal Guy
post Jun 1 2008, 09:58 PM

567 posts

hi...wanna ask something...i just discovered that my ram shows only 1gb when i think it should be 2gb...im not really sure if its 2gb...if i open up the ram compartment plate, will my warranty be void?
aiman04
post Jun 2 2008, 06:55 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(Suicidal Guy @ Jun 1 2008, 09:58 PM)
hi...wanna ask something...i just discovered that my ram shows only 1gb when i think it should be 2gb...im not really sure if its 2gb...if i open up the ram compartment plate, will my warranty be void?
It will not be void, just open it. There's no safety stickers there.

You just shouldn't remove anything with the safety sticker, that will void the warranty.
TSmadstone
post Jun 4 2008, 11:49 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(Suicidal Guy @ Jun 1 2008, 09:58 PM)
If this kind of situation happen, what is really the problem aaa?
Is it the RAM problem or what?

death_nite
post Jun 5 2008, 09:30 AM

Lossless Land...
2,366 posts

QUOTE(madstone @ Jun 4 2008, 11:49 PM)
If this kind of situation happen, what is really the problem aaa?
Is it the RAM problem or what?
might be

1. ram rosak
2. wrongly slot. try re-slot the ram.
3. ram slot rosak. this is worst. need to change whole mobo.
4. try check in bios. got detect both ram or not. if got then in windows check again. detect less? than somthg wrong with windows. maybe. hehe.
TSmadstone
post Jun 5 2008, 11:30 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

The 1st two reason kinda acceptable but the 3rd one is totally not ok with that

Will check the slot & the ram
bought the lappie & upgrade the RAM immediately, the seller checked ok
after few years, the RAM kinda minus form the RAM bought
darthbaboon
post Jun 5 2008, 10:28 PM

Dark Lord of the Sith
2,063 posts

The back cover near the hinges popped up the other day and would need to be changed for RM 1xx

Would prolly just wait till the entire thing fails before I change it. sweat.gif
teikwing
post Jun 6 2008, 03:08 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

just wanna some my little nightmare with you guys. biggrin.gif

i accidentally poured half cup of water into my laptop few days back. the water sipped thru the keyboard area & went down till the optical drive & battery compartment. thought my lappie would be dead after that as it just wouldn't power on anymore. everytime i switches it on, it'll on for 2 seconds then power off itself again. guess it sense some water-causing short circuit & turn off itself as a safety measure. but good sign is the mobo is still alive as if the mobo is dead, power on wouldn't even be possible anymore.

i resort to dismantle all the parts out & let 'em dry. took out the HDD, DVD writer, keyboard, battery & let it dry under the fan for a night. wiped everything dry & even tighten the hinge myself. follow all the dismantling steps thru our given user manual. sweat.gif

was really afraid to dismantle it as afraid that might not be able to fix 'em back later on but guess i'm really desperate till it gave me the courage to do it. my hinge was replaced once when it's still under CompleteCover & watched how the Dell technician dismantle everything last time so i guess it helps to know which parts should be taken off first etc.

i took everything out @ around 11PM & went straight to bed after that & wokd up @ around 9AM to install the whole thing back. was praying really hard that it will still on itself & back to its original state. miraculously, my lappie is ALIVE! or i gotta fork out some cash to get a new 1520 or M1330.

glad that it worked after that. was kinda lucky didn't poured the whole cup of water or the water was actually milk or something sticky. or my 6400 wouldn't be still alive today. smile.gif

it's 2 years & 2 months old now & still going strong. rclxm9.gif laugh.gif

minghao
post Jun 6 2008, 03:40 PM

Taeyeon Saranghae <3
2,221 posts

I remembered why last time stevetan closed the thread?Now stevetan run away le? mad.gif Darn him closed thread then run away,now luckily got people open back.

Here some pic for my lappie.

This post has been edited by minghao: Jun 6 2008, 03:46 PM

teikwing
post Jun 6 2008, 05:23 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(minghao @ Jun 6 2008, 03:40 PM)
I remembered why last time stevetan closed the thread?Now stevetan run away le? mad.gif Darn him closed thread then run away,now luckily got people open back.

Here some pic for my lappie.
why you seems to be so mad at him? blink.gif
minghao
post Jun 6 2008, 07:26 PM

Taeyeon Saranghae <3
2,221 posts

QUOTE(teikwing @ Jun 6 2008, 05:23 PM)
why you seems to be so mad at him?  blink.gif

Becuz b4 he left the thread,he keep scolding people.Like whole world owe him. cool2.gif

teikwing
post Jun 6 2008, 08:36 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

i think he's just complaining about those people who reported him to LYN's moderators & Dell, mistakenly thought he's working with Dell. smile.gif
TSmadstone
post Jun 8 2008, 11:04 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

No need to blame steventan
he's done lot of effort for i6400 previous thread
we really owed him a lot per say wink.gif
darthbaboon
post Jun 10 2008, 10:14 PM

Dark Lord of the Sith
2,063 posts

My Inspiron 6400 Harddisk just died. Was working halfway and blue screen came out.... then windows said that some file was corrupted. Tried reinstalling windows... failed.

Ran diagnostics... error and failures.

Ran detailed diagnostics... said hard disk was write protected or error or some crap.

Then the notebook failed to detect harddisk altogether.

Notebook is not 2 years 4 months old.

Under the above circumstances, is it possible to resurrect my hard disk and retrieve the data within or is it a gone case?

Geez... 2 Dell Laptops dying in my arms in the span of 2 weeks. WTF!!!
mych
post Jun 11 2008, 12:26 AM

2,068 posts

well you can try to take out the HDD and use a external case to access and repair from another computer.. perhaps can recover some bad sectors and allow you to do a backup.. looks like your HDD is going RIP soon..
TSmadstone
post Jun 11 2008, 12:04 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

Whoaaaa not even 2 years you i6400 already died on you?
aaaaa, better get external HDD to keep my data safe
TSmadstone
post Jun 27 2008, 09:59 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

Guys,
What should i do when;
My i6400 HDD getting slower & slower to reboot
when switching on, took merely 5 minutes to totally ready
doh.gif doh.gif
Eisenmeteor
post Jul 11 2008, 03:18 PM

Night Ghost
1,484 posts

i'm getting worried of my 6400..The temp's been crazy these few months..Can reach 70++ C..Iz it dat it's the end for it? only been using for 13 months la..
utopian86
post Jul 13 2008, 12:17 AM

1,239 posts

i thought its normal, mine even reach 80 last time

My laptop is just 1.5year old and my mobo already dead sad.gif
Had to ask dell to repair, cost me 1k
TSmadstone
post Jul 14 2008, 04:26 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(Eisenmeteor @ Jul 11 2008, 03:18 PM)
i'm getting worried of my 6400..The temp's been crazy these few months..Can reach 70++ C..Iz it dat it's the end for it? only been using for  13 months la..
Err...where can we check the temp?

teikwing
post Jul 14 2008, 05:51 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(Eisenmeteor @ Jul 11 2008, 03:18 PM)
i'm getting worried of my 6400..The temp's been crazy these few months..Can reach 70++ C..Iz it dat it's the end for it? only been using for  13 months la..
QUOTE(utopian86 @ Jul 13 2008, 12:17 AM)
i thought its normal, mine even reach 80 last time

My laptop is just 1.5year old and my mobo already dead sad.gif
Had to ask dell to repair, cost me 1k
QUOTE(madstone @ Jul 14 2008, 04:26 PM)
Err...where can we check the temp?
mine max out at 60 the most. why you guys seem so high?

@madstone : get I8kfanGUI. google for it. smile.gif
TSmadstone
post Jul 14 2008, 10:08 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(teikwing @ Jul 14 2008, 05:51 PM)
Thanks for the info bro, downloading it now notworthy.gif thumbup.gif

So far below 50, within 43, 46

This post has been edited by madstone: Jul 14 2008, 10:24 PM
calvin_gsc
post Jul 15 2008, 05:37 PM

10,261 posts

haven't posted here for a long time.

So, just wondering, with the current BIOS.

The mobo supports 2 x 2GB ram but onlt 3 effective on a 32bit o/s?
Eisenmeteor
post Jul 16 2008, 03:32 PM

Night Ghost
1,484 posts

Mine is getting scary these days..80 max le..Normally 70 and above now..Should i get a notebook cooler?
death_nite
post Jul 16 2008, 05:20 PM

Lossless Land...
2,366 posts

QUOTE(Eisenmeteor @ Jul 16 2008, 03:32 PM)
Mine is getting scary these days..80 max le..Normally 70 and above now..Should i get a notebook cooler?
i think u should start cleaning ur heatsink n change thermal paste.
TSmadstone
post Jul 16 2008, 08:09 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(Eisenmeteor @ Jul 16 2008, 03:32 PM)
The best thing to do now is clean your laptop fan
minor clean also can bring big change to your laptop
i cleaned mine few months ago & it looked fine now

sotong168
post Jul 16 2008, 08:46 PM

in retiring mode
5,291 posts

yo 6400 comrades, anyone has upgraded to sp3?
Eisenmeteor
post Jul 16 2008, 11:40 PM

Night Ghost
1,484 posts

How to clean the fan? Using vacuumn cleaner?
~Rogue~
post Jul 17 2008, 12:11 AM

megane fettish
1,333 posts

http://www.notebookreview.com/default.asp?...l+Inspiron+6400

is this true ar? 5mb cache?
TSmadstone
post Jul 17 2008, 03:56 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(Eisenmeteor @ Jul 16 2008, 11:40 PM)
How to clean the fan? Using vacuumn cleaner?
Use blower for laptop

kct-86
post Jul 17 2008, 10:45 AM

140 posts

Speaking of temps, mine maxed out at 57 degrees, and averaged about 40 degrees. This is with normal online surfing on wireless.

Have YET to try with gaming though.
rattan
post Jul 17 2008, 08:32 PM

Droid
Trade Dispute
3,379 posts

Im using Inspiron 6400, overlooked when i purchased 2 years ago, bought it with on board graphic, currently upgrade ram to 2.5GB Ram, PROC 1.66ghz T2300.

Now my question is how to increase the on board graphic memory, currently i checked out in BIOS is only 8MB and guess that is making my junkie really slow.

Anyone can suggest on increasing the Onboard graphic cache as I tried from BIOS, i just cant find any solution....

icon_question.gif
TSmadstone
post Jul 17 2008, 09:35 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(rattan @ Jul 17 2008, 08:32 PM)
Im using Inspiron 6400, overlooked when i purchased 2 years ago, bought it with on board graphic, currently upgrade ram to 2.5GB Ram, PROC 1.66ghz T2300.
Now my question is how to increase the on board graphic memory, currently i checked out in BIOS is only 8MB and guess that is making my junkie really slow.
Anyone can suggest on increasing the Onboard graphic cache as I tried from BIOS, i just cant find any solution....
icon_question.gif
Why not u just google it OR look another DELL forum?

calvin_gsc
post Jul 21 2008, 09:27 AM

10,261 posts

I have installed 2 x 2GB Kingston PC5300 667Mhz ram recently.

I only get 3.25GB shown with Windows XP. I have seen people mention 3.5GB and 3.75GB. I wonder what makes those differences?

My processor is the T2500 Core Duo 2.0GHz 667Mhz Bus speed

Graphics card is 256MB Mobility Radeon X1400.

Hope to hear from you guys.

Thank you.
TSmadstone
post Jul 21 2008, 11:49 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

Calvin,
How much for 1 piece of 2 GB RAM?
calvin_gsc
post Jul 22 2008, 09:14 AM

10,261 posts

QUOTE(madstone @ Jul 21 2008, 11:49 PM)
Calvin,
How much for 1 piece of 2 GB RAM?
I bought for RM110. Last time I bought 1GB it was like RM300. Damn sakit wei...
TSmadstone
post Jul 22 2008, 10:08 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(calvin_gsc @ Jul 22 2008, 09:14 AM)
I bought for RM110. Last time I bought 1GB it was like RM300. Damn sakit wei...
DDR2 right?
So, nowadays 2GB Kingston DDR2 RAM is only RM110?

utopian86
post Jul 27 2008, 12:07 AM

1,239 posts

QUOTE(teikwing @ Jul 14 2008, 06:51 PM)
mine max out at 60 the most. why you guys seem so high?

I also dont know. It will reach 70+ even tho i'm using coolermaster coolingpad.
Is it because i'm using the old version of I8kfanGUI?
But sometimes, its ok around 50+

I'm waiting for the 2gb ram to drop to rm80+ then buy.
Got broke after buying the warranty. 1k T_T

This post has been edited by utopian86: Jul 27 2008, 12:08 AM
calvin_gsc
post Jul 27 2008, 08:18 PM

10,261 posts

QUOTE(madstone @ Jul 22 2008, 10:08 AM)
DDR2 right?
So, nowadays 2GB Kingston DDR2 RAM is only RM110?
I bought from here http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/688292

I just updated my Vista Ultimate to Service Pack 1 today and noticed my RAM has been detected at 4.00GB in System Properties.

it's part of the update as stated here http://support.microsoft.com/kb/946003/

This post has been edited by calvin_gsc: Jul 27 2008, 08:22 PM
TSmadstone
post Jul 31 2008, 09:53 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

Thanks for the info calvin

May be i just settle for 1 piece of 2GB RAM

My i6400 temp going high lately, reaching more than 60 sometimes
average is between 45 to 55
calvin_gsc
post Jul 31 2008, 10:31 AM

10,261 posts

Are you using XP or Vista?

When I used Vista, my laptop is generally hotter as opposed to XP.
popiah04
post Jul 31 2008, 11:08 AM

245 posts

was wandering if we could "tighten" the hinge own self? called up dell, said its "under wear and tear" so not covered under the warranty.
'cause its very loose now, its like "swaying" under the fan

and ah, what's the cheapest 2gb ram in lowyat shops eh? saw viewnet, kingston 2gb @ rm130. good price, you think?
TSmadstone
post Aug 6 2008, 03:50 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(calvin_gsc @ Jul 31 2008, 10:31 AM)
Are you using XP or Vista?
When I used Vista, my laptop is generally hotter as opposed to XP.

I'm using Windows XP
nowadays the heat is getting hot a bit
QUOTE(popiah04 @ Jul 31 2008, 11:08 AM)
was wandering if we could "tighten" the hinge own self? called up dell, said its "under wear and tear" so not covered under the warranty.
'cause its very loose now, its like "swaying" under the fan
and ah, what's the cheapest 2gb ram in lowyat shops eh? saw viewnet, kingston 2gb @ rm130. good price, you think?
I thought the link Calvin_gsc gave me is the cheapest, RM110 per piece

This post has been edited by madstone: Aug 6 2008, 03:50 PM
aindejeje
post Aug 6 2008, 04:10 PM

EDA MASTER
820 posts

wah
my fren got this one
the lcd ****** already doh.gif

calvin_gsc
post Aug 6 2008, 10:14 PM

10,261 posts

QUOTE(aindejeje @ Aug 6 2008, 04:10 PM)
wah
my fren got this one
the lcd ****** already doh.gif
The lcd what? Say properly lar... doh.gif
TSmadstone
post Aug 14 2008, 11:20 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

May be he tried to tell us that his LCD kong d
williamlee_1985
post Aug 17 2008, 04:15 PM

The Red Devils wear Nike
2,006 posts

hi i'm thinking of formatting of the last 2 partitions and dellutility that came in default to make up some extra space.

since i never use media direct also.. so do u guys think its wise?

will there be any.. negative impact?

This post has been edited by williamlee_1985: Aug 17 2008, 04:16 PM

android
post Aug 18 2008, 11:33 AM

42 posts

Heh my media direct partition gone long time already.

Anyone use vista on a core duo? Does it run well? Are there drivers for it and the x1300 graphics card?
TSmadstone
post Aug 19 2008, 03:35 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(williamlee_1985 @ Aug 17 2008, 04:15 PM)
hi i'm thinking of formatting of the last 2 partitions and dellutility that came in default to make up some extra space.
since i never use media direct also.. so do u guys think its wise?
will there be any.. negative impact?
You won't get negative impact but just remember, you cannot push the media direct button la
if you push, just pray you don't push it lah

kwh1989
post Aug 19 2008, 07:42 PM

412 posts

QUOTE(android @ Aug 18 2008, 11:33 AM)
Heh my media direct partition gone long time already.

Anyone use vista on a core duo? Does it run well? Are there drivers for it and the x1300 graphics card?
using vista on 6400 core2duo, satisfied wif it. the driver u can find it in the 1st page of the thread, but u also can install from the cd gave by dell when u purchase the laptop.

the only thing im upset wif my 6400 is the dying graphics card sad.gif
TSmadstone
post Aug 20 2008, 11:11 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

I thought i6400 is for light user coz DELL already got models that have better graphics card right?
carpathia
post Aug 20 2008, 01:17 PM

2,619 posts

Hello all Dell owners and (Dell employees lurking in this forum)
I just updated my blog on a story on Dell customer service. Feel free to come in and comment or share your experience

http://xcarpathia.wordpress.com/
doinkz_gaara
post Aug 23 2008, 07:04 PM

Too fast to live, too young to die
2,381 posts

My adapter rosak adee, can use but cannot charge my battery. sad.gif
djlah
post Aug 24 2008, 01:03 AM

7,723 posts

QUOTE(doinkz_gaara @ Aug 23 2008, 07:04 PM)
My adapter rosak adee, can use but cannot charge my battery. sad.gif
is system still under warranty?
TSmadstone
post Aug 25 2008, 11:10 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

Try call DELL to replace it
if under warranty, can change it for free
if not, have to pay laaaa
TSmadstone
post Sep 4 2008, 08:59 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

Guys,
What is the main reason my i6400 responding so slow?

calvin
post Sep 7 2008, 11:01 PM

Tech Enthusiast
1,865 posts

what interface does our wifi card works on? PCI-e or mini PCI ?unsure.gif
djlah
post Sep 8 2008, 08:16 AM

7,723 posts

QUOTE(calvin @ Sep 7 2008, 11:01 PM)
what interface does our wifi card works on? PCI-e or mini PCI ?unsure.gif
is mini PCI-e card slot.
TSmadstone
post Sep 8 2008, 09:34 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

My i6400 is getting Kernel Instack Page Error
but managed to login into windows

I read somewhere, this is because of the HDD?
DO i need to buy new HDD now?
djlah
post Sep 8 2008, 10:12 AM

7,723 posts

QUOTE(madstone @ Sep 8 2008, 09:34 AM)

better run test on HDD before buy new hdd.
TSmadstone
post Sep 8 2008, 12:32 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Sep 8 2008, 10:12 AM)
better run test on HDD before buy new hdd.
I managed to logon into windows using last best setting something like that

How am i going to run test on HDD, any link bro?
FYI, i've already ran the test last night & it says something wrong with my HDD
i'm using Dell CD to run the diagnostics
when checked the HDD, got some issue with it but can't remember what it is

linkolynn
post Sep 12 2008, 03:11 PM

123 posts

maybe you can try call the dell service man to come over and check for you?

well.. i'm new to this thread...
also inspiron 6400 user^^
bought for almost 2 years already...
basically still functioning well...
just a bit... "cepek"?
hehe... maybe i not gentle enough...
TSmadstone
post Sep 12 2008, 06:43 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(linkolynn @ Sep 12 2008, 03:11 PM)
maybe you can try call the dell service man to come over and check for you?

well.. i'm new to this thread...
also inspiron 6400 user^^
bought for almost 2 years already...
basically still functioning well...
just a bit... "cepek"?
hehe... maybe i not gentle enough...
Welcome to the thread sis (or bro)

Actually my problem solved d
i changed the virtual memory in My Computer properties, changed 3048 to 2500
then took out my HDD and put near the fan to cool it down
noticed the HDD totally hot when i took it out

so far, my lappie go back to normal
problem solved! rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by madstone: Sep 12 2008, 06:44 PM
linkolynn
post Sep 12 2008, 11:24 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(madstone @ Sep 12 2008, 06:43 PM)
Welcome to the thread sis (or bro)

Actually my problem solved d
i changed the virtual memory in My Computer properties, changed 3048 to 2500
then took out my HDD and put near the fan to cool it down
noticed the HDD totally hot when i took it out

so far, my lappie go back to normal
problem solved! rclxms.gif
haha.. good then...
but your HDD so hot?? shocking.gif
which means if you bring to work or study (i mean go out) you have to bring along you mini fan as well?? laugh.gif
btw... just modified my lappie desktop... plus side bar... objectdock...
scared my RAM cannot support... sweat.gif sweat.gif
TSmadstone
post Sep 13 2008, 12:18 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

I don't bring my lappie to work but i did use it heavily, totally heavy user
sometimes on for more than 36 hours sweat.gif

I really need a mini fan faster

This post has been edited by madstone: Sep 13 2008, 12:19 AM
kwh1989
post Sep 13 2008, 12:31 AM

412 posts

QUOTE(madstone @ Sep 13 2008, 12:18 AM)
I don't bring my lappie to work but i did use it heavily, totally heavy user
sometimes on for more than 36 hours sweat.gif

I really need a mini fan faster
being running my 6400 for almost a week icon_idea.gif and its still working, didnt put into sleep mode, juz switched off its display.

tuRtL3
post Sep 14 2008, 03:22 PM

674 posts

Hey guys I'm new to this thread. I've had my 6400 for more 2 years already. I'm having the 3 years complete cover, but recently I'm thinking of upgrading (adding 1 or 2 sticks of RAM). I searched on dell's website, a stick of 1GB DDR2 costs 364RM inc delivery.
Have anyone tried upgrading through dell? Or shall I buy the ram outside (which I suppose would be much cheaper) and install myself? Is there a seal on the laptop's cover which would void the warranty if it's broken?

TSmadstone
post Sep 15 2008, 12:01 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(tuRtL3 @ Sep 14 2008, 03:22 PM)
Hey guys I'm new to this thread. I've had my 6400 for more 2 years already. I'm having the 3 years complete cover, but recently I'm thinking of upgrading (adding 1 or 2 sticks of RAM). I searched on dell's website, a stick of 1GB DDR2 costs 364RM inc delivery.
Have anyone tried upgrading through dell? Or shall I buy the ram outside (which I suppose would be much cheaper) and install myself? Is there a seal on the laptop's cover which would void the warranty if it's broken?
Just call DELL Helpline and ask them about it

qedx
post Sep 18 2008, 09:39 AM

712 posts

I'm thinking of bumping up my RAM too, currently 1GB. Having 3+ GB would help but I'm unsure if systems bought around mid '06 are able to support more than 2GB. Or are they all the same? Anyone else who bought their 6400 around that time have 2 sticks of 2GB RAM in their system?
android
post Sep 18 2008, 11:36 AM

42 posts

Dont upgrade ram through dell. 1gb costs less than RM100.

Can the dell diagnostic be used on other pcs? Anyone tried?
TSmadstone
post Sep 19 2008, 03:50 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(qedx @ Sep 18 2008, 09:39 AM)
I'm thinking of bumping up my RAM too, currently 1GB.  Having 3+ GB would help but I'm unsure if systems bought around mid '06 are able to support more than 2GB. Or are they all the same? Anyone else who bought their 6400 around that time have 2 sticks of 2GB RAM in their system?
Recents upgraded from others i read is around 3GB plus plus

tuRtL3
post Sep 19 2008, 07:34 PM

674 posts

Isn't it a little waste to have 2x 2GB dual channel when windows xp can only detect it as 3.5GB? (correct me if i'm wrong, I heard of this from a friend).
I'm going to hantam 2 x 2Gb also. Sick of lagging in games.
Btw, my current ones are of 533mhz, can anyone confirm if 6400 can support 667mhz ddr2?
TSmadstone
post Sep 20 2008, 04:05 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(tuRtL3 @ Sep 19 2008, 07:34 PM)
Isn't it a little waste to have 2x 2GB dual channel when windows xp can only detect it as 3.5GB? (correct me if i'm wrong, I heard of this from a friend).
Btw, my current ones are of 533mhz, can anyone confirm if 6400 can support 667mhz ddr2?
Nothing wrong with it, you can proceed but the XP will read only around that
try la, may be you can report back after that to us what happen

Sphenix
post Sep 24 2008, 10:22 PM

Hired........
3,705 posts

I'm having graphic card issue, certain games is not compatible with my x1400 and dell website seems like not updating the driver anymore, is there others driver can resolve this? like omega driver?

Added on September 24, 2008, 11:01 pmhrmm.....omega driver working...........

This post has been edited by Sphenix: Sep 24 2008, 11:01 PM
tuRtL3
post Sep 26 2008, 10:04 AM

674 posts

QUOTE(madstone @ Sep 20 2008, 04:05 PM)
Nothing wrong with it, you can proceed but the XP will read only around that
try la, may be you can report back after that to us what happen
Changed one stick to 2Gb, so now I'm having 2.5Gb of ram, will see how, maybe I'll add another 2Gb later.

cloudstrife07
post Oct 4 2008, 12:44 AM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(tuRtL3 @ Sep 19 2008, 07:34 PM)
i'm also interested in this. thinking of upgrading my gf laptop's RAM from single 512mb DDR2 533mhz to 1GB x2 DDR2 667Mhz. hmm.gif

Added on October 4, 2008, 12:48 am
QUOTE(madstone @ Sep 8 2008, 09:34 AM)

aha, one of my fren that is using i6400 also experienced this. upon diagnostic, it seems that the HDD has prob.

bought a new 250GB hdd and ta-daa! problem solved laugh.gif

This post has been edited by cloudstrife07: Oct 4 2008, 12:48 AM
TSmadstone
post Oct 7 2008, 02:08 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(cloudstrife07 @ Oct 4 2008, 12:44 AM)
aha, one of my fren that is using i6400 also experienced this. upon diagnostic, it seems that the HDD has prob.
bought a new 250GB hdd and ta-daa! problem solved laugh.gif
My problem solved d
i took out the HDD & loosen 1 of the screw & back to normal
1 more thing i did is, change the virtual memory in My Computer properties rclxms.gif

jacky6699
post Oct 16 2008, 12:54 PM

55 posts

Dell Inspiron 9300 user here, planning to let got this 17" lappy and get a smaller one.
ShadoW_ChaseR
post Oct 19 2008, 02:07 PM

107 posts

hi guys

i just want to know what are the dell bluetooth card module is compatible with dell 6400?? because there's my fren using dell 640m but i dont know whether the bluetooth card in 640m can be fixed into 6400!

any idea guys?? icon_question.gif icon_question.gif

jacky6699
post Oct 19 2008, 02:10 PM

55 posts

I think is the same, just plug and play, try it DIY smile.gif
ShadoW_ChaseR
post Oct 19 2008, 02:56 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(jacky6699 @ Oct 19 2008, 02:10 PM)
I think is the same, just plug and play, try it DIY smile.gif
bro are u sure?

because the bluetooth module for 640m is 350 and the one for 6400 is 355!

i'm not sure what's the difference on both of this module..jus dont want to simply try because dont want to spoil my fren's bluetooth card! laugh.gif laugh.gif
iq_myst
post Oct 19 2008, 11:56 PM

225 posts

anyone know where can get the spare part of this 6400? i think need to replace new motherboard. called dell, they said the price is about rm850. huhuhu
djlah
post Oct 20 2008, 09:59 AM

7,723 posts

QUOTE(ShadoW_ChaseR @ Oct 19 2008, 02:56 PM)
bro are u sure?

because the bluetooth module for 640m is 350 and the one for 6400 is 355!

i'm not sure what's the difference on both of this module..jus dont want to simply try because dont want to spoil my fren's bluetooth card! laugh.gif  laugh.gif
Bro, I confirmed Bluetooth 350 & 355 are fully compatible for both 640M & 6400. just make sure remove/reinstall correct driver, worked~

QUOTE(iq_myst @ Oct 19 2008, 11:56 PM)
anyone know where can get the spare part of this 6400? i think need to replace new motherboard. called dell, they said the price is about rm850. huhuhu
other common spare part like processor, ram and hard disk, I guess you can get it easily but such as unique part like motherboard not so easy... unless there is 2nd had used unit want to sell out... no retailer for mb except direct from dell. I suggest the best is request quotation from dell to extend the warranty 1yr to replace mb, which is more worth on that. else think of new system la... call 1800881306
ShadoW_ChaseR
post Oct 20 2008, 02:36 PM

107 posts

okie bro but one more thing abt the both BT module..

where does the BT card located for 640m? is it next to the battery like 6400?

Do you know what are the difference between the both? what i know is that BT 350 is the older version and the BT 355 is the never one!!

The BT for 350 is 7 metre and BT range for 355 is approximately 10 metre...do correct me if i'm wrong! smile.gif

thanks biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by ShadoW_ChaseR: Oct 20 2008, 08:27 PM
jacky6699
post Oct 22 2008, 05:02 PM

55 posts

I just got myself a bluetooth installed at Low Yat Plaza, it is working fine now.
calvin
post Oct 22 2008, 08:54 PM

Tech Enthusiast
1,865 posts

QUOTE(jacky6699 @ Oct 22 2008, 05:02 PM)
I just got myself a bluetooth installed at Low Yat Plaza, it is working fine now.
did u buy the usb bluetooth or the integrated module for the 6400 ?
Sphenix
post Nov 22 2008, 02:31 PM

Hired........
3,705 posts

aiks....wat is the software to check the temp?
i just formatted 6400 though, forgot the software ard... doh.gif
utopian86
post Nov 23 2008, 10:51 PM

1,239 posts

http://www.diefer.de/software/i8kfangui31.exe
airwind
post Nov 25 2008, 12:41 AM

32 posts

hi hi... am owner of dell i6400 for 1 1/2 year already ^^ glad this thread is still alive...

just last week i fail to boot.. press power button and light came on.. dvd drive kicks in and then everything offs... lcd screen would remain black the whole time... not even backlight.. was freaking out and it was like that for around 5 hours... tried google up solutions with my desktop but all no use sad.gif

then.. tongue.gif i press the keyboard area down hard hard.. around JKL... video card area.. and the next press of power button sent it to life~! weeeee... must have been something loose when i transfered my notebook back to seremban sleep.gif"

was reading through all the post in this thread cos too free... and for those reporting high temperatures.. i think it is normal IF you are running on x1400 icon_rolleyes.gif haha... my is like mini heater when playing 3d games... tongue.gif

anyone using any updated/alternative sound card drivers? my driver is still SigmaTel High Definition Audio CODEC 6.10.0.5609 dated 07/sep/2007

for those who wants extra juice from their notebook graphic card (x1400) u may want to try the Mobility Modder which modifies the latest ATI drivers for use on notebooks. Note that this is totally at your own risk. i have been using it on my x1400 since purchase and can totally play games like Bioshock, Stalker etc with acceptably good performance.

Bioshock was the game which prompted me to do this.. tongue.gif was having choopy unplayable framerate and dell wasn't updating the drivers... and to make it worst.. it was discontinued 3 months after my purchase sleep.gif" so WTF.. doh.gif and after moding the latest driver from ATI website it was all good.. no more choppy frames.. ^^

rclxm9.gif DELL INSPIRON 6400 RULEZZZ~!! thumbup.gif
Sphenix
post Nov 26 2008, 09:26 AM

Hired........
3,705 posts

I just formatted OS and already installed latest chipset driver but the USB still fail to run/detect, any idea?
TSmadstone
post Dec 3 2008, 12:45 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(Sphenix @ Nov 26 2008, 09:26 AM)
I just formatted OS and already installed latest chipset driver but the USB still fail to run/detect, any idea?
No idea bro... biggrin.gif
how's your USB nowadays? OK or not?

Sphenix
post Dec 3 2008, 01:02 PM

Hired........
3,705 posts

problem fixed, uninstall the USB driver and install balik......thanks to the quick respond of DELL..........
TSmadstone
post Dec 3 2008, 11:32 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

That normally we do when something gone bad smile.gif
utopian86
post Dec 5 2008, 07:08 PM

1,239 posts

Cheap rams now. aroun rm 40 for 1gb happy.gif
TSmadstone
post Dec 13 2008, 10:19 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(utopian86 @ Dec 5 2008, 07:08 PM)
Cheap rams now. aroun rm 40 for 1gb happy.gif
Waaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
that cheap aaaaaa
but mine is great with 1GB RAM only tongue.gif

jenN
post Dec 13 2008, 12:09 PM

127 posts

Mine is dying.. Used for 2.5 years and no more warranty already..

Few button is not working, keypad make sound when on laptop and bluetooth need to install everytime when i wanna use it.. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
TSmadstone
post Dec 13 2008, 03:23 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(jenN @ Dec 13 2008, 12:09 PM)
Mine is dying.. Used for 2.5 years and no more warranty already..

Few button is not working, keypad make sound when on laptop and bluetooth need to install everytime when i wanna use it..  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
I think your i6400 need some 'overhaul'
seems like it gonna dead very soon now

jenN
post Dec 13 2008, 05:53 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(madstone @ Dec 13 2008, 03:23 PM)
I think your i6400 need some 'overhaul'
seems like it gonna dead very soon now
No more warranty already sad.gif

Battery is dying as well.. It's able to last for less than 30minutes i think.

TSmadstone
post Dec 15 2008, 09:31 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(jenN @ Dec 13 2008, 05:53 PM)
No more warranty already  sad.gif
Battery is dying as well.. It's able to last for less than 30minutes i think.
Buy new battery la sis

Just wonder, why use battery if u can use power adapter?
Even outside also can use power supply
certain cafe charge us when using power supply
some cafe didn't charge us any

Onyx_black
post Dec 22 2008, 08:28 PM

449 posts

Hi guys, this thread's been too quiet for too long. So I figure, why not post something?
My laptop is around 2 years old already, still going strong. I'm a heavy user, everyday the laptop operates around 5 - 11hours, twice a week I play some games on it.
This laptop brought me through some of the oldest games up to the latest ones for the past 2 years:

Medal Of Honor Allied Assault;
Call Of Duty 1,2,4: Modern Warfare, 5: World at War;
Half Life 2, Half Life 2 Episode 1 & 2;
Counter Strike: Source;
Far Cry, Far Cry 2;
Doom 2 Demo, Doom 3, Doom 3: Resurrection of Evil;
FEAR, FEAR Extraction Point, FEAR Perseus Mandate;
Gears of War;
Midnight Club 2;
TOCA Rae Driver 3;
Race Driver: GRID Demo;
Need For Speed Hot Pursuit 2, Underground, Underground 2, Most Wanted, Carbon, ProStreet Demo, Undercover;
Max Payne 2;
Pariah;
Prey Demo;
BioShock;
Homeworld 2;
Unreal Tournament 2003 Demo, UT 2004 Demo, UT 3 Demo;
Quake 3 Arena;
Serious Sam 1 & 2;
Track Mania Sunrise Demo, TM Nations Demo;
Timeshift Demo;
STALKER Shadow of Chernobyl;
BMW M3 Challenge;
Crysis;
Colin McRae Rally 3, Colin McRae 04;
HALO Combat Evolved Demo;
Juiced Demo;
Lost Planet: Extreme Condition.

I didn't finish all the games though - some of them either can't run smoothly or the game simply sucks.
Games aside, this laptop can crunch through serious work such as photo editing, sound mixing, word assignments without fail.
It fares well with other entertainment stuff such as HD movie viewing (mostly 720p) and music listening, though I have to get myself SRS Audio Sandbox to compensate for Sigmatel's lack of clarity and bass reproduction.
I do have a few mishaps: Spyware attack! Have to try out some many (4 to 5 of them) before I could weed out that pest; a hardware failure forces me to call a Dell technician to have the mobo replaced.
All in all, this is a great notebook, looking forward for more rock solid computing years. thumbup.gif Less and less of gaming. cry.gif
akupunye
post Dec 23 2008, 12:19 AM

471 posts

hye guys..
how can i differentiate btw fake n original adapter?
going to buy tomorrow.
afraid if cheated.
so need help from u all.
and if any of u is selling one pls offer me.
prefer new one.

my adapter seems not working.
when i plugged in the led didnt light up.
and weird beep sound come from the adapter.
anybody knows whats the reason?
any shop that can repair it?

This post has been edited by akupunye: Dec 23 2008, 07:30 AM
Onyx_black
post Dec 23 2008, 12:04 PM

449 posts

QUOTE(akupunye @ Dec 23 2008, 12:19 AM)
hye guys..
how can i differentiate btw fake n original adapter?
going to buy tomorrow.
afraid if cheated.
so need help from u all.
and if any of u is selling one pls offer me.
prefer new one.

my adapter seems not working.
when i plugged in the led didnt light up.
and weird beep sound come from the adapter.
anybody knows whats the reason?
any shop that can repair it?
I don't know what's wrong with your AC adapter, it is probably faulty; what most of us will do is to call Dell Technical Support Toll Free number @ 1800-881-306 and if your system is still under warranty Dell will replace the parts for you.
This thread is inactive for quite a while, unlike its heydays. You can PM some of the gurus here, for example: madstone, teikwing, death_nite, calvin_gsc, sotong168 just to name a few. Not sure whether they're still using the Inspiron 6400 though, you want assurance then contact/PM them, I might have gotten my facts wrong sometimes. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Onyx_black: Dec 23 2008, 12:06 PM
akupunye
post Dec 23 2008, 12:12 PM

471 posts

no more warranty..my mom been using this for about 5 years : )
hv change the ac adapter twice already.

will try to pm the gurus.hope they can help me.
btw...is there any trustable shop in lowyat that repair ac adapter and battery alsoo..with reasonable charge of course.?
Onyx_black
post Dec 23 2008, 12:40 PM

449 posts

QUOTE(akupunye @ Dec 23 2008, 12:12 PM)
no more warranty..my mom been using this for about 5 years : )
hv change the ac adapter twice already.

will try to pm the gurus.hope they can help me.
btw...is there any trustable shop in lowyat that repair ac adapter and battery alsoo..with reasonable charge of course.?
I see, well you can't 'repair' a notebook battery, maybe the AC adapter; you can replace the battery with a new one though.
TSmadstone
post Dec 23 2008, 11:56 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

For best result, buy from DELL
i know it's expensive what so ever, BUT it's worth it
plus, the after sales service is the best in the world
no need to go anywhere, call them, discuss & they will come to your doorstep
TSmadstone
post Jan 20 2009, 04:33 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

My HDD kept sound like hard, slow & hard again
the sound seemed like it working so hard
kct-86
post Jan 24 2009, 12:04 AM

140 posts

QUOTE(Onyx_black @ Dec 22 2008, 08:28 PM)
Hi guys, this thread's been too quiet for too long. So I figure, why not post something?
My laptop is around 2 years old already, still going strong. I'm a heavy user, everyday the laptop operates around 5 - 11hours, twice a week I play some games on it.

Same here. I used the laptop to game quite a lot (mostly CoD, RA3 and some other games), though a dead bug IN the LCD kind of killed the mood for me. I don't think it is worth it to get a replacement LCD, it is already 2 1/2 years down the road.

This post has been edited by kct-86: Jan 24 2009, 12:05 AM
TSmadstone
post Jan 28 2009, 03:56 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

Yeah,
Might as well get new model with better QC
chika138
post Feb 8 2009, 09:14 PM

Happy-No-Lucky
853 posts

have anyone tried upgrading hard disk and ram on their own?
is it hard?
pul_pul9
post Feb 9 2009, 11:58 AM

HI, new bie here..... i'm also using I6400 with x1400....
but recently the battery life is only 1 hours with maximum brightness do u all encounter the same problem ???
fr33dom
post Feb 9 2009, 02:08 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(chika138 @ Feb 8 2009, 09:14 PM)
have anyone tried upgrading hard disk and ram on their own?
is it hard?
Yes you can.
I have upgraded the RAMs and HDDs before on Dell laptops and its not hard at all.
Just make sure your parts are compatible to the system.

QUOTE(pul_pul9 @ Feb 9 2009, 11:58 AM)
HI, new bie here..... i'm also using I6400 with x1400....
but recently the battery life is only 1 hours with maximum brightness do u all encounter the same problem ???
Its normal thing. The brighter the screen the more power it consumes.
If previously it can last longer, means that your battery lifespan is wearing off.
TSmadstone
post Feb 11 2009, 09:49 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

Yeah, try reducing the brightness of your lappie & use it under extra lightin your room or even outside
pul_pul9
post Feb 11 2009, 12:35 PM

hay any1 here able to play left 4 dead .....
i installed and cannot run i dunno whether is my laptop or the game it self..

i using x1400 the min requirement for is : 128 MB, Shader model 2.0, ATI 9600, NVidia 6600 or better

i oso dunno mine is higher or lower.....

is i install the mobility modder (airwind said) then my grahpich will become much better = play more games ????

Added on February 11, 2009, 12:37 pmi just found out i can control the performance of the graphic card then can save power. but i think my battery also kind dying liao.

thanks for ur help

This post has been edited by pul_pul9: Feb 11 2009, 12:37 PM
TSmadstone
post Feb 11 2009, 02:54 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

Welcome bro thumbup.gif
joellim
post Feb 18 2009, 09:49 PM

188 posts

any member here can tell me where to find the T7200/T7400 processor?

i've disassembled my whole i6400 before so it should be a piece of cake replacing the processor....just don't know where to find this ancient processor...
TSmadstone
post Feb 19 2009, 08:52 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

Tried to repair the hinge BUT ended up broke my lower frame of the screen vmad.gif
vkashin
post Feb 23 2009, 05:51 PM

332 posts

Hi
is this thread still active?
i have a problem!!
i tried installing a 2GB Kingston DDR2 RAM today, replacing the 512MB stick on DIMM A, but during the boot after installing there appears a list of errors, then the system reduces the amount of RAM that is available from 3GB to 1GB. Afterwards, it wouldn't even show the POST screen. Everything goes blank, and the numlock LED stays lit, while CAPS LOCK and SCROLL LOCK LED blinks, about 40+ times then it automatically shuts down. Now my laptop only works with 1 RAM inserted into DIMM B, if i insert any RAM into DIMM A it will not boot at all..
Please help!
TSmadstone
post Feb 26 2009, 11:00 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

Bro,
Try call DELL Helpdesk 1800-88-1306 for Technical Problems
It's faster & easier for you the communicate
death_nite
post Feb 27 2009, 01:12 AM

Lossless Land...
2,366 posts

QUOTE(pul_pul9 @ Feb 11 2009, 12:35 PM)
hay any1 here able to play left 4 dead .....
i installed and cannot run i dunno whether is my laptop or the game it self..

i using x1400 the min requirement for is : 128 MB, Shader model 2.0, ATI 9600, NVidia 6600 or better

i oso dunno mine is higher or lower.....

is i install the mobility modder (airwind said) then my grahpich will become much better = play more games ????

Added on February 11, 2009, 12:37 pmi just found out i can control the performance of the graphic card then can save power. but i think my battery also kind dying liao.

thanks for ur help
hello!
long time no lepak in this thread. laugh.gif my 6400 still going strong with several months limited warranty left.

got several dead pixels. battery got 46% wear level. speaker no sound but if use earphone no probs. but confirm speaker is ok. enter key smtime ok smtime not ok.

almost 3 years edy. going to call dell soon.

btw pul_pul9, x1400 is lower than ati 9600. smile.gif
kct-86
post Feb 27 2009, 09:42 AM

140 posts

Mine would have it's place in gaming taken over by...a Studio 1555...soon. Though I'll still use this for stuff like assignments.
qedx
post Feb 27 2009, 06:13 PM

712 posts

So my inspiron 6400 screen is dead-ish. It boots up and shows the Dell logo and then goes dark. It works just fine otherwise: I'm on it right now hooked up to an external monitor. Any idea if it's fixable?

This post has been edited by qedx: Feb 27 2009, 06:33 PM
TSmadstone
post Mar 6 2009, 03:01 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

It's in a matter of time for me to replace my laptop
gonna go for desktop this time around
cheaper & tougher smile.gif
Onyx_black
post Mar 6 2009, 03:02 PM

449 posts

QUOTE(madstone @ Mar 6 2009, 03:01 PM)
It's in a matter of time for me to replace my laptop
gonna go for desktop this time around
cheaper & tougher smile.gif
Long live the Inspiron 6400, went through thick and thin with it...
Mine is entering it's 3rd year.
TSmadstone
post Mar 6 2009, 03:10 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(Onyx_black @ Mar 6 2009, 03:02 PM)
Long live the Inspiron 6400, went through thick and thin with it...
Mine is entering it's 3rd year.
Me too, 3rd years already this year

Last things i want to do are, upgrade the HDD & RAM to 2GB, 4GB if can go max with it

Terrasmark
post Mar 7 2009, 10:41 PM

81 posts

Hello, fellow forumers & 6400 users. It's been a while since I visited this thread. The last time was probably when it was still V5. tongue.gif

Bought my 6400 in Dec. 2006. Intel C2D T7200 (2GHz, 667MHz FSB, 4MB L2), 1GB (2 x 512MB) RAM, ATI Mobility Radeon X1400, WinXP.

I have some questions.
1) What's the difference between models 6400 & i6400? huh.gif
2) When was the 6400 released? Curious to know who's 6400 lasts the longest & to have an idea how long a 6400 can last.
3) What are the non-physical tell-tale signs that the 6400 is getting old?
4) What's the max. RAM memory that WinXP (32-bit) utilize?
5) Is there a limit to the RAM memory that can be upgraded? Plan to upgrade mine to 4GB for additional performance since I can't upgrade the processor. Hope my 6400 can last til' Win7. notworthy.gif
6) Will there be any performance benefit if I get RAM memory of 800MHz (clk. speed) or more?
7) What's the difference between SO-DIMM & normal DIMM RAMs? Can I insert SO-DIMM RAMs in the 6400?

Thx. happy.gif

This post has been edited by Terrasmark: Mar 8 2009, 09:52 PM
cheehock
post Mar 9 2009, 12:01 PM

My dell inspiron 6400 notebook cant boot. it has no power either AC or battery powered. The warranty is expired already, it will cost expensive onot if i call the techinical support from DELL.Anyone try before, how fast was the respond from DELL , is it straight come to my house after i call for the support ? i have to submit assignment at this week and i have no others pc here. Urgent needed !!! Anyone know the problems and experience before ? sad.gif
djlah
post Mar 9 2009, 02:33 PM

7,723 posts

QUOTE(cheehock @ Mar 9 2009, 12:01 PM)
My dell inspiron 6400 notebook cant boot. it has no power either AC or battery powered. The warranty is expired already, it will cost expensive onot if i call the techinical support from DELL.Anyone try before, how fast was the respond from DELL , is it straight come to my house after i call for the support ? i have to submit assignment at this week and i have no others pc here. Urgent needed !!! Anyone know the problems and experience before ? sad.gif
Yes!!!
as long as you have no limitation of budget, during weekday. give Dell a call, if parts available, Dell technician can visit you in the same day to repair your computer after your payment confirm.
TSmadstone
post Mar 10 2009, 12:09 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

There's a lot of Q to ask bro
Better call DELL hotline to get the answers smile.gif

valent
post Mar 14 2009, 05:47 AM

199 posts

Does inspiron 6400 support 500gb hard disk?

planning to upgrade my old 160gb to western digital scorpio 500gb.

anyone tried?

if not, how big can hdd can inspiron 6400 support?
DS3
post Mar 14 2009, 04:19 PM

104 posts

I have a WD 320 and it's just fine.
valent
post Mar 14 2009, 09:40 PM

199 posts

500gb leh? later buy cannot use sad.gif
djlah
post Mar 16 2009, 01:48 PM

7,723 posts

QUOTE(valent @ Mar 14 2009, 09:40 PM)
500gb leh? later buy cannot use sad.gif
I guess not supported as dell did not offer not more than 320GB hdd for inspiron 6400.
You can try then share with us biggrin.gif
if really cannot use then u convert to external hard disk, no waste wat.... brows.gif
Mr.LKM
post Mar 16 2009, 05:01 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

Is Inspiron 640m user welcomed here? Hehe

What's the best processor supported by 640m motherboard?
Eisenmeteor
post Mar 31 2009, 03:34 PM

Night Ghost
1,484 posts

X1400 can play wat latest games? I can still play Left 4 dead..But thinking of playing Empire Total war..
TSmadstone
post Mar 31 2009, 04:32 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

I just play simple & normal game
left Warcraft 3 long time ago sweat.gif
Eisenmeteor
post Mar 31 2009, 06:14 PM

Night Ghost
1,484 posts

Anyone tried mobility modder? Installed the 9.3 catalyst..But it cant load so i thought I shud uninstall..manatau BSOD..So took me 30 mins to think b4 finally decided to go safe mode,uninstall the driver thru device manager then load again.. If not, I wont be posting here..

So shud I try risk BSOD appear again?

Update:It worked like a charm after risking BSOD again...Performs better than ever..

This post has been edited by Eisenmeteor: Apr 2 2009, 12:48 PM
fillet
post Apr 7 2009, 03:59 PM

1,925 posts

i emailed Dell,

according to them
we can upgrade the X1400 to GeforceGo7900/7950 .

but they don't have stock, have to order from their US HQ.
If order through Dell-Malaysia, it'll cost a BOMB!!!

haha right now i'm thinking of a way to source for the graphic card!
Mr.LKM
post Apr 7 2009, 04:48 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

QUOTE(fillet @ Apr 7 2009, 03:59 PM)
i emailed Dell,

according to them
we can upgrade the X1400 to GeforceGo7900/7950  .

but they don't have stock, have to order from their US HQ.
If order through Dell-Malaysia, it'll cost a BOMB!!!

haha right now i'm thinking of a way to source for the graphic card!
Try MXM-Upgrade.com

This post has been edited by Mr.LKM: Apr 7 2009, 04:48 PM
Terrasmark
post Apr 18 2009, 11:08 AM

81 posts

Hi. How do we disable the 6400 "turn off monitor after <time>" function, i.e. keep the monitor always on? Tried setting it to "Never" in the Power Properties but didn't work. Monitor still goes off after about 5 min.s.

Thx.
TSmadstone
post Apr 24 2009, 10:37 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(Terrasmark @ Apr 18 2009, 11:08 AM)
Hi. How do we disable the 6400 "turn off monitor after <time>" function, i.e. keep the monitor always on? Tried setting it to "Never" in the Power Properties but didn't work. Monitor still goes off after about 5 min.s.
Thx.
Is this gotta with Desktop Properties? hmm.gif hmm.gif unsure.gif
tuRtL3
post May 4 2009, 05:13 AM

674 posts

I'm just curious... what are the normal temperatures for you guys' 6400s.

My CPU is about 58-60, memory is normally at 62, graphic card (x1400) is about 60 as well.. is that too hot? I'm having this freezing problem whenever I multi-task. Ie. I cannot open mozilla if I'm using talking over the skype (even when the webcam is not on). It'll cause my whole system to freeze, the mouse pointer could barely move, I'll have to power off to restart my computer. I was suspecting the temperature.. feel really irritated, do you guys think Dell would provide any help? I'm into the final 3 months of my complete cover..

Anyone here has the same problem?
Any advice would be very much appreciated.
TSmadstone
post May 19 2009, 03:38 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

Mine is below that BUT my i6400's fan blowing so heavily and sound so strange, like it want to blow up

When i turned to faster fan, it will silence for a while but then go back again sweat.gif
hahahehe
post May 23 2009, 05:13 AM

Currently i want to upgraded my 6400's GPU and CPU.

But dunno wat model can it supported.

anyone help me? please list down the supported GPU and CPU.

TQ
TSmadstone
post May 23 2009, 07:55 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

Bro,
Call DELL Helpdesk
they are can help you, a lot
Mr.LKM
post May 23 2009, 12:25 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

QUOTE(madstone @ May 23 2009, 07:55 AM)
Bro,
Call DELL Helpdesk
they are can help you, a lot
I called them last time and they said there is no upgrade for my 640m... sad.gif
hahahehe
post May 24 2009, 03:39 AM

Anybody can tell me wat prices of those repair parts below?

-Intel code duo T7200 2GHz
-ATI mobility radeon X1400

And where can i buy it, i want to buy it and equip my self.
izzit possible....-.-?

help me TQ...
TSmadstone
post May 24 2009, 10:55 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ May 23 2009, 12:25 PM)
I called them last time and they said there is no upgrade for my 640m...  sad.gif
Time to move on bro
We need new laptop
me already eyeing new Dell laptop for next year project
OR worst come to worst, Apple whistling.gif
QUOTE(hahahehe @ May 24 2009, 03:39 AM)
Anybody can tell me wat prices of those repair parts  below?

-Intel code duo T7200 2GHz
-ATI mobility radeon X1400

And where can i buy it, i want to buy it and equip my self.
izzit possible....-.-?

help me TQ...
Call Dell Helpdesk
they surely can help you

This post has been edited by madstone: May 24 2009, 10:55 AM
jloon
post May 24 2009, 11:07 AM

60 posts

Hi, i am the inspiron user here..
So long didn't come here already,
Just wanna request for help..
Can my inspiron 6400's ram upgrade till 4gb?

Added on May 24, 2009, 11:12 am
QUOTE(madstone @ May 19 2009, 03:38 PM)
Mine is below that BUT my i6400's fan blowing so heavily and sound so strange, like it want to blow up

When i turned to faster fan, it will silence for a while but then go back again sweat.gif
sometimes mine also like this..
I guess it's processor silicon is dry up..

This post has been edited by jloon: May 24 2009, 11:12 AM
TSmadstone
post May 24 2009, 11:13 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(jloon @ May 24 2009, 11:07 AM)
Hi, i am the inspiron user here..
So long didn't come here already,
Just wanna request for help..
Can my inspiron 6400's ram upgrade till 4gb?
Yes u can upgrade it to 4GB
but certain users did mentioned it only read up to 3GB ++ only
try it, who knows yours can read until 4GB

jloon
post May 24 2009, 12:04 PM

60 posts

ya... i ll try it soon and post back to here..
but before this i have to make an order 1st..
haha..
TSmadstone
post May 25 2009, 07:59 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

If you want to use 2 RAM, better get it in same brand biggrin.gif
fillet
post May 27 2009, 03:54 PM

1,925 posts

Battery Battery Battery!!!

anyone know where can i buy a NEW 9-cell battery for my Inspiron 6400?

the battery died few months ago. it would not charge.

ah.. nvm..
i just ordered from DELL today 28/05/09.

6-cell and 9-cell price both Above RM300

This post has been edited by fillet: May 28 2009, 11:35 AM
Mr.LKM
post May 29 2009, 10:20 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

QUOTE(madstone @ May 24 2009, 11:13 AM)
Yes u can upgrade it to 4GB
but certain users did mentioned it only read up to 3GB ++ only
try it, who knows yours can read until 4GB
Even though it can show 4GB ram, it only utilises up to 3GB.

Any of the 6400 club members changed their notebooks since then? I wonder if most of you still stick to 15.4" book.
TSmadstone
post May 30 2009, 02:17 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

I'm thinking of changing my laptop to Apple
aiming for MacBook Pro but the price shocking.gif

Dell XPS series also nice rolleyes.gif
at least cheaper than those Mac

This post has been edited by madstone: May 30 2009, 02:25 PM
lestert
post Jun 1 2009, 04:40 PM

Where can i find the inpriron 6400 part?
Is any one would like to sell the LCD casing to me?
My LCD casing broke.
TSmadstone
post Jun 2 2009, 04:38 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

me too
broken nearly a year
& i dont bother to change it
android
post Jun 13 2009, 11:41 AM

42 posts

The cover for my lcd near the hinge, it's cracking open whenever i close the lid. Is there a way to fix it?
Eisenmeteor
post Jun 13 2009, 12:12 PM

Night Ghost
1,484 posts

My battery's not charging..Saying there's something wrong with the power adapter..Now my notebook's battery is at 1 percent..Is the adapter faulty or the batter's faulty? No more warranty liao..aih
TSmadstone
post Jun 15 2009, 09:05 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(android @ Jun 13 2009, 11:41 AM)
The cover for my lcd near the hinge, it's cracking open whenever i close the lid. Is there a way to fix it?
Don't try to fix it, just let it be
I tried to fix the hinge but it getting worst & the LCD frame broke
If you can contact DELL, try ask them to fix it for you
or may be can ask any shop to fix it for you
QUOTE(Eisenmeteor @ Jun 13 2009, 12:12 PM)
My battery's not charging..Saying there's something wrong with the power adapter..Now my notebook's battery is at 1 percent..Is the adapter faulty or the batter's faulty? No more warranty liao..aih
I think your adapter got problem
try use other DELL adapter for other DELL laptop & see what's happening

onemanshows
post Jun 25 2009, 03:48 PM

13 posts

wah i also very long never visit here.. 2 yrs + and my lappy is still in good condition.

opened up and cleaned the keyboard too. still in really good performance, no regret getting it at all =)
XiuKeong
post Jul 11 2009, 03:42 PM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,436 posts

667Mhz or 800Mhz ram can run in 6400 laptop?
swanchew
post Aug 12 2009, 06:07 PM

463 posts

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ Jul 11 2009, 03:42 PM)
667Mhz or 800Mhz ram can run in 6400 laptop?
Is 667Mhz
kuokyeow
post Oct 27 2009, 09:21 AM

221 posts

hello, did anyone change the g.card before? which model and price did you change?

anyone know ati mobility radeon x700 or nvidia geforce go660 can fit in?
thanks a lot.
minghao
post Oct 27 2009, 03:30 PM

Taeyeon Saranghae <3
2,221 posts

OMG this thread has came back again,last time closed by steventan.
swanchew
post Nov 10 2009, 10:06 AM

463 posts

QUOTE(kuokyeow @ Oct 27 2009, 09:21 AM)
hello, did anyone change the g.card before? which model and price did you change?

anyone know ati mobility radeon x700 or nvidia geforce go660 can fit in?
thanks a lot.
FYI.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/863032
utopian86
post Nov 10 2009, 07:29 PM

1,239 posts

Mine came out with the adapter error yesterday. Battery wont charge. sad.gif
Going to borrow adapter from my friend to test soon
TSmadstone
post Nov 14 2009, 01:59 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

My 6400 HDD became more & more unreliable

when i download something & tried to copy it to another extermal HDD, i can't copy it, Cyclic Redundency Check
Try to fix the file(s) but still got error

1 of my colleague asked me to change the HDD itself for better use sweat.gif

This post has been edited by madstone: Nov 14 2009, 02:02 PM
dk999
post Nov 18 2009, 10:59 AM

474 posts

my 6400 Dell battery.. after 1 year using it(using it as in not plugged in when using wall socket 95% of the time) suddenly just died, cannot charge smile.gif guess its a common problem

btw, what are the best drivers for the 6400's mobility x1400? currently using an old version of omegadrivers

This post has been edited by dk999: Nov 18 2009, 11:00 AM
vkashin
post Nov 19 2009, 11:10 PM

332 posts

Hey guys.. I'm just wondering, are you guys able to read SDHC using your Inspiron 6400's card reader? SDHC as in SD cards of 4GB and above..

My system is the first generation core duo Inspiron, running T2300 Intel Core Duo processor.. Apparently the reader will not read cards of 4GB and above.. even when i'm using Windows 7.. any suggestions on how to fix this? or this cannot be fixed? =S
TSmadstone
post Nov 20 2009, 08:23 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(dk999 @ Nov 18 2009, 10:59 AM)
my 6400 Dell battery.. after 1 year using it(using it as in not plugged in when using wall socket 95% of the time) suddenly just died, cannot charge smile.gif guess its a common problem
btw, what are the best drivers for the 6400's mobility x1400? currently using an old version of omegadrivers
DELL did call for returning all batteries of previous model BUT i don't know for which model
IF i'm not mistaken, the model after 6400.
I never change the drivers, used the original 1 from the beginning
You might try other international forum OR if you got lot of times, try digging old thread of 6400
QUOTE(vkashin @ Nov 19 2009, 11:10 PM)
Hey guys.. I'm just wondering, are you guys able to read SDHC using your Inspiron 6400's card reader? SDHC as in SD cards of 4GB and above..
My system is the first generation core duo Inspiron, running T2300 Intel Core Duo processor.. Apparently the reader will not read cards of 4GB and above.. even when i'm using Windows 7.. any suggestions on how to fix this? or this cannot be fixed? =S
I used 4GB SD cards from my Samsung camera
just slot it in the slot below the speaker's hole& VOILA!

vkashin
post Nov 20 2009, 03:48 PM

332 posts

QUOTE(madstone @ Nov 20 2009, 08:23 AM)
DELL did call for returning all batteries of previous model BUT i don't know for which model
IF i'm not mistaken, the model after 6400.
I never change the drivers, used the original 1 from the beginning
You might try other international forum OR if you got lot of times, try digging old thread of 6400I used 4GB  SD cards from my Samsung camera
just slot it in the slot below the speaker's hole& VOILA!
speaker hole? are you referring to Inspiron 6400 aka E1505?
utopian86
post Nov 24 2009, 09:18 AM

1,239 posts

Anyone know how much does the power adapter cost?

My power adapter is dying.. cant charge the battery but my battery is still ok.
I have tested with my friend's adapter. Using his, can charge battery.
TSmadstone
post Nov 24 2009, 11:11 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(vkashin @ Nov 20 2009, 03:48 PM)
speaker hole? are you referring to Inspiron 6400 aka E1505?
Speaker slot maaa, lubang cucuk headphone tu laaa kan ada slot utk SD Card
QUOTE(utopian86 @ Nov 24 2009, 09:18 AM)
Go to DELL website & ask them doh.gif

utopian86
post Nov 24 2009, 03:34 PM

1,239 posts

QUOTE(madstone @ Nov 24 2009, 12:11 PM)
Speaker slot maaa, lubang cucuk headphone tu laaa kan ada slot utk SD CardGo to DELL website & ask them  doh.gif
I got ask.
I email my previous SA last week. It seems she got promoted. She say she dont work for sales now, ask me to email the sales.
I also already email them. No reply till now
TSmadstone
post Nov 24 2009, 03:50 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(utopian86 @ Nov 24 2009, 03:34 PM)
I got ask.
I email my previous SA last week. It seems she got promoted. She say she dont work for sales now, ask me to email the sales.
I also already email them. No reply till now
Why don't you call DELL Technical Support?
1800-88-1306 doh.gif doh.gif
do you know how to use your browser bro? biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
just go to Dell.com.my, click on Contact Us on the top right of the web
scar_face008
post Nov 24 2009, 04:44 PM

opis boi
590 posts

QUOTE(dk999 @ Nov 18 2009, 10:59 AM)
not sure about that but i use the latest driver that support mobility x1400 catalyst 9.3 (the last one before they drop the support for non HD series). it works great.
wailord
post Nov 29 2009, 02:01 AM

178 posts

-edited-

This post has been edited by wailord: Dec 1 2009, 07:23 PM
TSmadstone
post Dec 3 2009, 10:36 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

Guys,
If i want to change the HDD, what is the precaution, pro & cons i should taken care of?
TSmadstone
post Dec 5 2009, 11:13 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

Succeed on changing the new HDD
took almost 1 hour to settle everything

thanks God rclxms.gif
Terrasmark
post Dec 7 2009, 08:09 PM

81 posts

I wonder if my sys. (C2D T7200, 667MHz FSB) can support 800MHz RAMs & gaming RAMs, knowing that the RAM would definitely run on 667MHz clock speed. Since the price of 800MHz RAMs are about the same, if not cheaper than 667MHz RAMs, I hope I would not regret getting the 800MHz ones.

Any 6400 users tried this before?

Also considering dual-channelling 2 x 1GB.

This post has been edited by Terrasmark: Dec 7 2009, 09:24 PM
leyley
post Dec 7 2009, 10:46 PM

2,096 posts

My sis have an old inspiron lying in the storeroom. sad.gif
TSmadstone
post Dec 8 2009, 12:12 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(leyley @ Dec 7 2009, 10:46 PM)
My sis have an old inspiron lying in the storeroom. sad.gif
Why??! What happened?

TSmadstone
post Feb 8 2010, 03:40 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

I think we need to move on to newer laptop

bye bye Inspiron 6400
still using you but rarely since got new laptop Latitude E6400 bye.gif
avrilfreak87
post Feb 11 2010, 02:15 AM

2,630 posts

QUOTE(Terrasmark @ Dec 7 2009, 08:09 PM)
I wonder if my sys. (C2D T7200, 667MHz FSB) can support 800MHz RAMs & gaming RAMs, knowing that the RAM would definitely run on 667MHz clock speed. Since the price of 800MHz RAMs are about the same, if not cheaper than 667MHz RAMs, I hope I would not regret getting the 800MHz ones.

Yes it is compatible. It will run at 667 MHz. smile.gif

TSmadstone
post Mar 2 2010, 09:12 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

I've changed my i6400 HDD with new 1
so far so good
Eisenmeteor
post Jul 12 2010, 11:03 AM

Night Ghost
1,484 posts

my 6400 the screen hinge is going to come out soon..... iz it signs of old age maybe or its just me ..

This post has been edited by Eisenmeteor: Jul 12 2010, 11:19 AM
dk999
post Jul 31 2010, 10:46 PM

474 posts

QUOTE(Eisenmeteor @ Jul 12 2010, 11:03 AM)
my 6400 the screen hinge is going to come out soon..... iz it signs of old age maybe or its just me ..
Mine the right side hinge shell(casing) broke after 1 year, notebook still 100% working, no problem with screen just see the plastic not fitted properly.

This laptop still kicking after so many years, 5+ i think. Means cannot get approval to upgrade...
dos
post Sep 22 2010, 04:30 PM

188 posts

anyone upgrade to win7? Any driver i need before hand?
tutiger
post Oct 6 2010, 03:22 AM

415 posts

Most of Vista drivers can be used on Win7. Mine is working so far after upgrading to Win7 from Vista...... but not too sure about the X1400, read in some forum got driver problem...... Hopefully it is solved by now.....

Glad to see this forum still alive and kicking biggrin.gif

Hey guys, I am planning to upgrade my Processor soon so that I can install the 64bit Win7. My current Proc is the T2300E..... any recommendations???

This post has been edited by tutiger: Oct 6 2010, 09:52 AM
minghao
post Feb 2 2011, 11:46 AM

Taeyeon Saranghae <3
2,221 posts

Anyone has idea on how to tigten the loosen lid holder?Mine is abit loose now

Added on February 2, 2011, 11:47 am
QUOTE(tutiger @ Oct 6 2010, 03:22 AM)
Most of Vista drivers can be used on Win7. Mine is working so far after upgrading to Win7 from Vista...... but not too sure about the X1400, read in some forum got driver problem...... Hopefully it is solved by now.....
Glad to see this forum still alive and kicking biggrin.gif

Hey guys, I am planning to upgrade my Processor soon so that I can install the 64bit Win7. My current Proc is the T2300E..... any recommendations???

For the age of 6400,it's not ideal to upgrade for a new CPU,you could just go with the 32bit copy

Added on February 2, 2011, 11:48 am
QUOTE(dos @ Sep 22 2010, 04:30 PM)
anyone upgrade to win7? Any driver i need before hand?

No,turn on windows update,everything will be settled smile.gif

Added on February 2, 2011, 11:49 am
QUOTE(utopian86 @ Nov 24 2009, 09:18 AM)

Go search for 3rd party adapter,maybe around RM100 smile.gif

Added on February 2, 2011, 11:50 am
QUOTE(Terrasmark @ Dec 7 2009, 08:09 PM)

I think yes,but they will just run underclocked.

This post has been edited by minghao: Feb 2 2011, 11:50 AM
kirakosmos
post Feb 16 2011, 06:31 PM

506 posts

u guys know where to buy laptop's hdd holder (cover+jack)?
LYS85
post Apr 7 2011, 11:57 AM

129 posts

anyone can share their temperature stats for 6400? I think mine's over heating, cpu running at around mid 80c, mother board oso around mid 80s, just running normal applications.. not gaming..

any advice?
lee_what2004
post Apr 7 2011, 11:59 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

time to clean the inside ?
LYS85
post Apr 7 2011, 12:03 PM

129 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Apr 7 2011, 11:59 AM)
time to clean the inside ?
i think so too.. thinking of doing it myself.. but bit worried i mess things up since for this model it involves taking apart most of the things to reach the fan

are there any cheap laptop cleaning service out there?
lee_what2004
post Apr 7 2011, 12:10 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Hoe cheap is cheap? laugh.gif
Can use vacuum cleaner to suck the dust..
LYS85
post Apr 7 2011, 12:44 PM

129 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Apr 7 2011, 12:10 PM)
Hoe cheap is cheap? laugh.gif
Can use vacuum cleaner to suck the dust..
lol use vacuum cleaner also need open up the laptop rite tongue.gif
doubt can suck out those stubborn dust

cheap is no more than rm50 rolleyes.gif
sarahjoneslee
post May 11 2011, 02:48 PM

Anyone has a used Dell Inspiron 6400 adapter for sale? I'm going to use it for 2 weeks then will sell if off with my laptop as my current adapter is exposed. Got bitten by my rabbits.
If you have, please pm me together with price.
Eisenmeteor
post Sep 5 2011, 08:35 AM

Night Ghost
1,484 posts

Anyone had problem where the monitor doesnt show anything even after u turn it on?
joanneway
post Sep 5 2011, 09:17 AM

310 posts

either ur GPU or display screen spoil. if still under warranty just call dell.
lee_what2004
post Sep 5 2011, 10:30 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

QUOTE(Eisenmeteor @ Sep 5 2011, 08:35 AM)
Anyone had problem where the monitor doesnt show anything even after u turn it on?
Can you try connect it to external monitor?
joanneway
post Sep 5 2011, 10:37 AM

310 posts

lee: my latency ram r lower than tranceva leh. y ah??
lee_what2004
post Sep 5 2011, 10:38 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Because different RAM.

joanneway
post Sep 5 2011, 10:40 AM

310 posts

yameh? 1333mhz wor. but his newer lah. u using??
lee_what2004
post Sep 5 2011, 10:47 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Yours the exact same model ?
joanneway
post Sep 5 2011, 10:51 AM

310 posts

model not same but spec same.
lee_what2004
post Sep 5 2011, 10:52 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

What spec you mean ? 1333MHz ?

This post has been edited by lee_what2004: Sep 5 2011, 10:52 AM
joanneway
post Sep 5 2011, 10:55 AM

310 posts

hyundai pc-3 10700 (667MHz) 2048mb frequency hit only 685MHz unlike trance hit 761MHz
lee_what2004
post Sep 5 2011, 03:00 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

And so ?
Lower Latency is better..
joanneway
post Sep 5 2011, 03:05 PM

310 posts

really? latency same concept with internet? low latency the better hmm.gif
but frequency higher better right? i saw acid ram 8GB latency lagi higher 9.0 clock
cloudstrife07
post Sep 5 2011, 03:08 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

btw guys, any way to repair the monitor hinge? my gf one loosen already and i dont think it's the screw problem..right?
lee_what2004
post Sep 5 2011, 03:24 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

QUOTE(joanneway @ Sep 5 2011, 03:05 PM)
really? latency same concept with internet? low latency the better hmm.gif
but frequency higher better right? i saw acid ram 8GB latency lagi higher 9.0 clock
Because he's one is Core i7, his ram need to run at 1333MHz (higher latency) while your RAM only run at 1066MHz (lower latency)

This post has been edited by lee_what2004: Sep 5 2011, 03:24 PM
joanneway
post Sep 5 2011, 03:28 PM

310 posts

but my ram is 1333mhz but also my i5 can't run 1333 so downgrade to 1066mhz! a pc guy said 1333mhz support i3 & i5 on desktop. true???
lee_what2004
post Sep 5 2011, 03:31 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

What's the problem with 1333MHz RAM support Core i3 & i5 ?
joanneway
post Sep 5 2011, 03:35 PM

310 posts

u c 1333mhz doesn't support i3 & i5 is it on lappy or based on mobo itself?

the guy said 1333mhz won't be downgrade on desktop de.
lee_what2004
post Sep 5 2011, 03:38 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Based on the CPU, chipset..

Because desktop Core i3/i5 is different from the mobile, they support 1333MHz, so no downclock.

QUOTE(cloudstrife07 @ Sep 5 2011, 03:08 PM)
btw guys, any way to repair the monitor hinge? my gf one loosen already and i dont think it's the screw problem..right?
I guess would need to replace the hinge ?

This post has been edited by lee_what2004: Sep 5 2011, 03:41 PM
joanneway
post Sep 5 2011, 03:41 PM

310 posts

ooh.. so is true lah! i confuse already. thanks sifu lee. bro.. the frequency how to explain? mine not higher de.
lee_what2004
post Sep 5 2011, 03:42 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Because its different RAM, they have different spec.
joanneway
post Sep 5 2011, 05:33 PM

310 posts

acid & cow same v mine only trance de ram so special. cos i planning buy ram leh.
lee_what2004
post Sep 5 2011, 05:36 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

You buy also only run at 533MHzx2 = 1066MHz..
Eisenmeteor
post Sep 5 2011, 07:54 PM

Night Ghost
1,484 posts

Hey i tried plug external monitor thn press thn fn +f8 but ntg happened. So its the gcard prob? Sigh
lee_what2004
post Sep 5 2011, 11:22 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

But it got login to windows ? Any login sound ?
Eisenmeteor
post Sep 6 2011, 09:45 AM

Night Ghost
1,484 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Sep 5 2011, 11:22 PM)
But it got login to windows ? Any login sound ?
Not sure man..Mine have to key in password before can log in..But din hear any sound I think..
joanneway
post Sep 6 2011, 09:50 AM

310 posts

Eisenmeteor: gpu or mobo spoil jor. might due to circuit board leaking. u can naked & check it.

lee: i wan buy upgrade till 8gb ram. i just wanna double confirm the frequency speed got increase a not nia.
Eisenmeteor
post Sep 6 2011, 09:52 PM

Night Ghost
1,484 posts

QUOTE(joanneway @ Sep 6 2011, 09:50 AM)
Eisenmeteor: gpu or mobo spoil jor. might due to circuit board leaking. u can naked & check it.

lee: i wan buy upgrade till 8gb ram. i just wanna double confirm the frequency speed got increase a not nia.
Ill try it tomorrow then. So i shud unscrew evrything and then?
joanneway
post Sep 7 2011, 01:52 PM

310 posts

if still under warranty don't!
if no warranty then just naked it.
Eisenmeteor
post Sep 7 2011, 07:09 PM

Night Ghost
1,484 posts

QUOTE(joanneway @ Sep 7 2011, 01:52 PM)
if still under warranty don't!
if no warranty then just naked it.
Hey Jo, Nah..its been out of warranty since 4 years ago, this thing replace a lot of stuff such as HDD and hinge..So naked it as in unscrew everything?
joanneway
post Sep 8 2011, 08:31 AM

310 posts

yes. check the mobo c got any leaked from the capacitor or any shit!
Eisenmeteor
post Sep 13 2011, 07:57 AM

Night Ghost
1,484 posts

I sent the laptop to the shop for repair..turns out that its the mobo prob..if fix will cost around rm 250..Do u guys think its worth it, or should I just get a new one?
joanneway
post Sep 13 2011, 09:18 AM

310 posts

mobo cost around 160-190 (depend) labour charge around 100 so this is market price. i think ok. u using what lappy already? if u willing pay 2-3k then just go for new lappy. but this lappy can be save also as backup.
Eisenmeteor
post Sep 13 2011, 09:47 AM

Night Ghost
1,484 posts

QUOTE(joanneway @ Sep 13 2011, 09:18 AM)
mobo cost around 160-190 (depend) labour charge around 100 so this is market price. i think ok. u using what lappy already? if u willing pay 2-3k then just go for new lappy. but this lappy can be save also as backup.
I have budget of 2.5k..I'm okay with fixing it but its tempting to get a new one with better processors and graphics....still thinking lo..
joanneway
post Sep 13 2011, 09:49 AM

310 posts

just go for new lappy. u can use the old laptop part like dvd-rom, hdd, ram & etc!
Eisenmeteor
post Sep 13 2011, 10:08 AM

Night Ghost
1,484 posts

QUOTE(joanneway @ Sep 13 2011, 09:49 AM)
just go for new lappy. u can use the old laptop part like dvd-rom, hdd, ram & etc!
Was wondering if can use the parts like the dvd rom and put it into desktop ?
joanneway
post Sep 13 2011, 10:13 AM

310 posts

i think can gua.
Eisenmeteor
post Sep 13 2011, 10:20 AM

Night Ghost
1,484 posts

QUOTE(joanneway @ Sep 13 2011, 10:13 AM)
i think can gua.
Thanks a lot for the advice..is ur 6400 still working?
joanneway
post Sep 13 2011, 10:27 AM

310 posts

i'm not using 6400. i'm N5010 user!
Retrons
post May 17 2012, 09:32 PM

42 posts

hi everyone..does anyone has the latest driver for dell inspiron 6400 ati radeon x1400 graphic card driver?

need it to play diablo 3!

anyone pls?
turbovtec
post May 28 2012, 07:08 PM

35 posts

anybody had this problem before. At start up the light from the middle and right keep blinking and the screen show nothing. after 20-30 sec the laptop off by it self. is it the lcd / inverter?

i had try removing the ram clean it and put it back. still no good.

anybody please answer. cry.gif

thank you very much.
tigerporc
post Jan 28 2013, 09:25 AM

391 posts

Just dropping by coz my Dell Inspiron 6400 (DOB 2006) has died (DOD Jan 2013) due to hard disk failure; and the notebook front lid at bottom right hinge has split since some years ago (seems like many users here experienced it as well); LCD is still fine though. Battery died within 2 years and was not replaced... I think I had a lemon battery.

This post has been edited by tigerporc: Jan 28 2013, 03:50 PM

0.1562sec    0.67    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:22 PM