Sugar Glider V6, Pocket Marsupials

kelvin_faye
post Apr 28 2008, 11:52 PM

Suggies-N-Me
1,256 posts

thanks for the advices given!!! wub.gif
yeah.. research on forum n topics of SG are different from getting a live one itself!!! hehe... of coz i will settle all the needed thing be the arrival of the joey... hehe blush.gif

neway, my avatar is the real me... funny headgear rite?? haha.. am a ukm dancer ma... just came bk from unimas sarawak.. an inter local U dance competition held by kekkwa n makum... that's the traditional malay headgear... influence from the pahlawan tanjak... haha rclxub.gif

chinese into extreme malay traditional dance : zapin, joget, inang, asli, kuda kepang, makyung, terinai etc... classic indian too... chinese one so so only nia... hehe rclxm9.gif

wanna learn from me not? KP KP, jom joget betol2... xnak la joget lambak... kt wat koget masuk pertandingan!!! hehe joking ja... jgn marah... whistling.gif

thanks again k... u guys really r SIFU!!! notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

cheers.. rclxms.gif
EvanSoon
post Apr 29 2008, 12:09 AM

Young and Sexy!
865 posts

HAhaha.... now you talk like a glider daddy rclxms.gif

Gliders of course like the dark coz they are nocturnal. So if you wanna have lights on, I suggest changing your bulb to an orange light that is not too bright. I use that and my gliders are ok. Actually, my whole house all also orange light LOL.

haha.. i got a lamp with yellow light for that purpose but i think the light is too bright liao cos when i on it they go back into the pouch or tunnel..
anyways.. when i brought Micah out the started marking me n biting my neck(gatal + pain = dun know how to discribe)
is it normal? cos when i play with kapi he never do that.. bite once only on my ear..
is it that they still dun really know my scent? should i let them continue doing that to me?
once i put Micah back in his cage he started to mark the cage also..

This post has been edited by EvanSoon: Apr 29 2008, 12:15 AM
sharil_routh
post Apr 29 2008, 01:51 AM

(~Penentangan adalah sia-sia~)
1,356 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Apr 28 2008, 09:30 PM)
The wheel stable or not?
Aiyoh, sure gone case like that if feed only apple. Pity....
yup,the wheel stable, i tight up both bar with wire and the stand to the cage.
spirit of demon
post Apr 29 2008, 05:49 AM

406 posts

ya... here is a question.. may i know y my glider can move around my body after i get her out of the cage... but.. y everytime.. when i wan to catch her out... i means i put my hand near her inside the cage.. she will start crabbing n like try to punch my hand away.. Is it consider bond or not? or still nid some time..
silverwineus
post Apr 29 2008, 09:58 AM

514 posts

QUOTE(spirit of demon @ Apr 29 2008, 05:49 AM)
ya... here is a question.. may i know y my glider can move around my body after i get her out of the cage... but.. y everytime.. when i wan to catch her out... i means i put my hand near her inside the cage.. she will start crabbing n like try to punch my hand away.. Is it consider bond or not? or still nid some time..
Very familiar case to my female glider when she first introduced to my home.

It could be that she's still new to the surrounding and you..

By being more gentle and patient with her, slowly you will gain her trust.. smile.gif
ggMing
post Apr 29 2008, 11:51 AM

535 posts

QUOTE(spirit of demon @ Apr 29 2008, 05:49 AM)
try not to catch her or chase her around when she is in her cage....
gliders are like that... at 1st, mine can run around me too... no biting and such...
but when i put my hand inside they cage, she wil crab...
when you try to grab her or when your hand is near, when the glider crabs, stay calm and do not proceed to catch her
or to take away your hand... just stay calm.. when she stops crabbing, slowly approach her more with your hand...

also try to use yogurt or food to bribe her.. let her get used to your hand being near her and soon, the crabbing will stop..
the punching act is just a small threat... rclxms.gif

Added on April 29, 2008, 11:53 am rclxms.gif
QUOTE(EvanSoon @ Apr 29 2008, 12:09 AM)
haha.. i got a lamp with yellow light for that purpose but i think the light is too bright liao cos when i on it they go back into the pouch or tunnel..
anyways.. when i brought Micah out the started marking me n biting my neck(gatal + pain = dun know how to discribe)
is it normal? cos when i play with kapi he never do that.. bite once only on my ear..
is it that they still dun really know my scent? should i let them continue doing that to me?
once i put Micah back in his cage he started to mark the cage also..
i think micah is trying to groom you...
well, glider has their personality...
i played with hun's kapi too.. and kena bitten twice on the ear... and hun says she like that one..
its more like kapi trying to taste you... rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by ggMing: Apr 29 2008, 11:53 AM
silverwineus
post Apr 29 2008, 12:23 PM

514 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Apr 28 2008, 11:32 PM)
Gliders of course like the dark coz they are nocturnal. So if you wanna have lights on, I suggest changing your bulb to an orange light that is not too bright. I use that and my gliders are ok. Actually, my whole house all also orange light LOL.

Whole house shines with orange light!! that's very special house..

indeed a soothing colour..

In fact, the glider likes that and definitely it's my choice too. smile.gif

But currently my room is lit with 2 candescent white fluorescent, will that have any immense effect on them?

If they tend to seek hiding, is it a sign of "lights too glaring"?

This post has been edited by silverwineus: Apr 29 2008, 12:32 PM
siokjinlim
post Apr 29 2008, 12:36 PM

430 posts

spirit of demon.. when she is outside.. always try to handfeed her.. then she will start to like your hand.. like mine, everytime i put my hand near the cage, she will be interested.. hahaha.. terus jump on my hand.. it takes time smile.gif

i also hate it when my glider crab.. i prefer her to bite than to crab actually.. crabbing sound scares me.. tongue.gif
aizad02
post Apr 29 2008, 01:10 PM

Look Further, Work Harder
784 posts

hi..im new to sg and just bought it,the wild one,few days ago..then i wanna seek help in how to get friendly with it...in a stupid question,how to get it tamed?pliss somebody help me... icon_question.gif sweat.gif
clutchkick
post Apr 29 2008, 01:26 PM

51 posts

i suggest u read front page of the forum smile.gif
EvanSoon
post Apr 29 2008, 01:30 PM

Young and Sexy!
865 posts

QUOTE(aizad02 @ Apr 29 2008, 01:10 PM)
hi..im new to sg and just bought it,the wild one,few days ago..then i wanna seek help in how to get friendly with it...in a stupid question,how to get it tamed?pliss somebody help me... icon_question.gif sweat.gif
time.. love.. commitment.. money spending.. pain enduring.. = tamed
there r lots of ways but u need to earn their trust..
they will bite but u cant back off.. so u need to let them bite u..
feed them by hand to let them know ur hand.. cut cotton shirts u wore/sweat in n put them in their pouches..
lots lots more that u can learn from reading the pages..
the other sifus will give u more tips on it..
thisiskj
post Apr 29 2008, 02:43 PM

279 posts

QUOTE(aizad02 @ Apr 29 2008, 01:10 PM)
omg a wild one.. did u buy the one like rm 200 ringgit one? with the size of 30 cm something like that? zZz.. another victim of wild glider..
it's hard to tame a wild glider.. and need lotsa dedication.. do u mind taking picture of ur glider? and state where u bought it from?
kelvin_faye
post Apr 29 2008, 04:01 PM

Suggies-N-Me
1,256 posts

Did u guys know dat the last time i went bk to penang for CNY, went to this place to eat out... blush.gif U know la during CNY, not all restaurants open ma... it's near butterworth, jalan raja uda to be exact... there this road full with hawker stalls k... penangite sure loved hawker food!!! haha wub.gif
along the road, there's dis one shop that sells fish k... n aquariums la... dunno what name d.. hmm.gif n to my shocking, i found 2 small bird cage [those with a rooftop design n has a round plastic thing hanging in the middle of the cage]... u konw what i saw?? Two adults pair in each cage... n by dat time am really wanna buy SG d... been hunting them... hehe wub.gif
but when i saw those SGs, din have much of a space to do anything... full grown d. males bald spot, females as big as males d... not grey coloured like it used to be.. more to brownish colour.. i thought they were wild.. so i dare not to touch them.. my dad eventually, poke his finger, n they come play with him... shakehead.gif my god!!
the owner askd my dad if he wants to buy.. i ask for the price la... rm250 for a pair... so cheap wo.. but i din buy.. i still din trust them.. must be wild caught. bad condition..only fed with mealworms... huhu vmad.gif they say wont sell single SG coz afraid the other SG would go beserk... haha.. the SG that play wif my dad's finger, i think is like begging to be free actuallly.... gosh.. dont support those ppl!! if u buy once, they will go catching them in the wild much more!!! coz they think the demand is high!!! doh.gif

Added on April 29, 2008, 4:12 pmn theres dis one petshop in Jalan Tikus, in penang island... long time ago la... bot sure now got or not... they sells lots of exotic pets.. ferrets[like around 5 to 6 albino] n sugar gliders [10-15] in a white bird cage with 2 doors [100cmx42cmx42cm]...
pity to the ferrets being caged in a small cage ya... n sumore in an outdoor... coz in the middle of the shop is like an open space dat sunshine can some in... they just setup a roof there, n place these ferrets n Sgs below the rooftop... panas panas!!! mad.gif vmad.gif
the Sgs have babies k... i mean a lot of babies!!! small baby finger sized... n some got the stripe d... u must wonder how can i see the babies in the pouch? coz not in the pouch d... below the cage... i mean in the tray under the cage of 10-15 adult Sgs. i ask the owner, y the babies like dat wan?? coz dat time me still like stupid stupid ma.. duno much bout pets la i mean... cry.gif
he says the babies are meant for other reason.. he askd if i wana know? i meant he is like asking if i WANNA SEE! he they takes all the babies in his hand... n askd me to folo hi... i folo la... to the back of the petshop... think what i'm thinking now? reptiles section!!!!!! vmad.gif cry.gif he feed those babies to the snakes, tarantula, n scorpions!!! arrrggghhhhh!!!!! shocking.gif
wana pengsan... i mean the babies are quite a large num k!!!! n he simpan the babies in the freezer!!! alive k!!! he syas he sell for reptile owner... god god god... please forgive me dat i am unable to do nothing dat time... huhuhuhu cry.gif

This post has been edited by kelvin_faye: Apr 29 2008, 04:12 PM
spel'it
post Apr 29 2008, 04:59 PM

319 posts

vmad.gif mad.gif cry.gif
bad bad jahat jahat petshop.... cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
spirit of demon
post Apr 29 2008, 05:59 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(kelvin_faye @ Apr 29 2008, 04:01 PM)
Did u guys know dat the last time i went bk to penang for CNY, went to this place to eat out...  blush.gif  U know la during CNY, not all restaurants open ma... it's near butterworth, jalan raja uda to be exact... there this road full with hawker stalls k... penangite sure loved hawker food!!! haha  wub.gif
along the road, there's dis one shop that sells fish k... n aquariums la... dunno what name d..  hmm.gif  n to my shocking, i found 2 small bird cage [those with a rooftop design n has a round plastic thing hanging in the middle of the cage]... u konw what i saw?? Two adults pair in each cage... n by dat time am really wanna buy SG d... been hunting them... hehe  wub.gif
but when i saw those SGs, din have much of a space to do anything... full grown d. males bald spot, females as big as males d... not grey coloured like it used to be.. more to brownish colour.. i thought they were wild.. so i dare not to touch them.. my dad eventually, poke his finger, n they come play with him...  shakehead.gif my god!!
the owner askd my dad if he wants to buy.. i ask for the price la... rm250 for a pair... so cheap wo.. but i din buy.. i still din trust them.. must be wild caught. bad condition..only fed with mealworms... huhu  vmad.gif they say wont sell single SG coz afraid the other SG would go beserk... haha.. the SG that play wif my dad's finger, i think is like begging to be free actuallly.... gosh.. dont support those ppl!! if u buy once, they will go catching them in the wild much more!!! coz they think the demand is high!!!  doh.gif

Added on April 29, 2008, 4:12 pmn theres dis one petshop in Jalan Tikus, in penang island... long time ago la... bot sure now got or not... they sells lots of exotic pets.. ferrets[like around 5 to 6 albino] n sugar gliders [10-15] in a white bird cage with 2 doors [100cmx42cmx42cm]...
pity to the ferrets being caged in a small cage ya... n sumore in an outdoor... coz in the middle of the shop is like an open space dat sunshine can some in... they just setup a roof there, n place these ferrets n Sgs below the rooftop... panas panas!!!  mad.gif  vmad.gif
the Sgs have babies k... i mean a lot of babies!!! small baby finger sized... n some got the stripe d... u must wonder  how can i see the babies in the pouch? coz not in the pouch d... below the cage... i mean in the tray under the cage of 10-15 adult Sgs. i ask the owner, y the babies like dat wan?? coz dat time me still like stupid stupid ma.. duno much bout pets la i mean... cry.gif
he says the babies are meant for other reason.. he askd if i wana know? i meant he is like asking if i WANNA SEE! he they takes all the babies in his hand... n askd me to folo hi... i folo la... to the back of the petshop... think what i'm thinking now? reptiles section!!!!!! vmad.gif  cry.gif  he feed those babies to the snakes, tarantula, n scorpions!!! arrrggghhhhh!!!!!  shocking.gif
wana pengsan... i mean the babies are quite a large num k!!!! n he simpan the babies in the freezer!!! alive k!!! he syas he sell for reptile owner... god god god... please forgive me dat i am unable to do nothing dat time... huhuhuhu cry.gif
so easy to catch mer.. i tot its origin is australia.. n some might b found in indonesia.. malaysia got mer? i think squirel is easy to caught not sugar glider.. correct me if i m wrong..

aizad02
post Apr 29 2008, 06:05 PM

Look Further, Work Harder
784 posts

QUOTE(thisiskj @ Apr 29 2008, 02:43 PM)
omg a wild one.. did u buy the one like rm 200 ringgit one? with the size of 30 cm something like that? zZz.. another victim of wild glider..
it's hard to tame a wild glider.. and need lotsa dedication.. do u mind taking picture of ur glider? and state where u bought it from?
i bought it last saturday from pepperboy..rm360 for a pair n a small cage...pic not yet ready..but now i'm feeding them wif my hand,a lil afraid..but after reading the whole pages(13 actually) in this forum,i quite understand on what i have to do....a lot of patient...n sacrifiying my finger......haha...so jealous looking at all of your gliders....
thisiskj
post Apr 29 2008, 06:20 PM

279 posts

they might be a lil stress when they were in a small cage.. when they are in a small cage.. they might be easily intimidated.. and now.. have u bought a new BIG cage for them yet?

try reading version 5 of our forum.. there u can read much more..

Added on April 29, 2008, 6:21 pmWild gliders is easily available as well.. those are mostly and all from indonesia.. it's easily to bring in than australia..

This post has been edited by thisiskj: Apr 29 2008, 06:21 PM
silverwineus
post Apr 29 2008, 09:52 PM

514 posts

QUOTE(kelvin_faye @ Apr 29 2008, 04:01 PM)
the Sgs have babies k... i mean a lot of babies!!! small baby finger sized... n some got the stripe d... u must wonder  how can i see the babies in the pouch? coz not in the pouch d... below the cage... i mean in the tray under the cage of 10-15 adult Sgs. i ask the owner, y the babies like dat wan?? coz dat time me still like stupid stupid ma.. duno much bout pets la i mean... cry.gif
he says the babies are meant for other reason.. he askd if i wana know? i meant he is like asking if i WANNA SEE! he they takes all the babies in his hand... n askd me to folo hi... i folo la... to the back of the petshop... think what i'm thinking now? reptiles section!!!!!! vmad.gif  cry.gif  he feed those babies to the snakes, tarantula, n scorpions!!! arrrggghhhhh!!!!!  shocking.gif
Freezing & Feeding SG babies to reptiles is reprehensible. Sheer disgust. Who wouldn't be fired up at such instances?

Just solemnly hope that there will be repentance for those who disregard the sanctity of these lives of poor glidee.. sad.gif

This post has been edited by silverwineus: Apr 29 2008, 09:56 PM
desireeang
post Apr 29 2008, 11:14 PM

92 posts

do u guys bring ur SG to the vet?coz i really worry bout my SG...the vet near my place dunno how to treat her...the 1st thing they told me when they c my glider is they dunno how to treat gliders....
i wanna find a way to sure my glider's ear problem~~~T.T

silverwineus
post Apr 29 2008, 11:28 PM

514 posts

QUOTE(desireeang @ Apr 29 2008, 11:14 PM)
do u guys bring ur SG to the vet?coz i really worry bout my SG...the vet near my place dunno how to treat her...the 1st thing they told me when they c my glider is they dunno how to treat gliders....
i wanna find a way to sure my glider's ear problem~~~T.T
I can't claim i know vets that treat gliders very well. But if you have been to this thread long enough, you shall definitely know the renowned Dr Jenny from Hands and Paws, Aman Suria and Dr Yeoh from Yeoh Clinic, Tmn Megah.

Hope you have no trouble bringing your love pet for consultations.

Btw, what's up with the ears?

This post has been edited by silverwineus: Apr 29 2008, 11:30 PM

123 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0313sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 05:24 PM