101 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Bottom

3G iPhone officially launched, $199 only with 2 years AT&T contract.

qwen234
post Jun 10 2008, 08:22 PM

365 posts

QUOTE(jakesean @ Jun 10 2008, 08:15 PM)
which is fair.. coz the iphone would probably boost telco's profit..
yes, but it also means that iphone cannot be sold freely
they are trying to control their products, which i think is stupid
what if u dont like that particular telco??

they should allow ppl to buy the iphone without subscribing to the telco (can sell at higher price larr to this ppl)

irwan6179

1,040 posts

QUOTE(limyusiong @ Jun 10 2008, 06:34 PM)
ha?like tat we got no chance to get 3g iphone to malaysia????abang irwan, plz bring it to malaysia!!!
my source of iphone is from US only but there is no news about prepaid plan for iphone yet in the US. as of now, more news confirms about activate-at-the-spot-only.

http://gizmodo.com/5014909/att-memo-to-ret...phone-3g-policy

sigh
cattivo

14 posts

MAYBE DiGi plan to get iPhone into their marketing strategy but they don't have 3g-ready network yet. will get internal info & update here.
CooLeRthings
post Jun 10 2008, 08:25 PM

-=kidult=-
2,012 posts

good news for me~~~
lucky i'll b at the state before they release it XD
tinkerbel
post Jun 10 2008, 08:27 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

Y do U people think the iPhone is going to boost profit for the telcos? If that is the case, shouldn't Nokia, Sony Ericsson or Motorola and the rest of the phones be cutting such deals with the telcos? It's a win-win situation for both and if they can't find the middle ground for it.. ah well, no deal lah!
jakesean
post Jun 10 2008, 08:29 PM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jun 10 2008, 08:27 PM)
Y do U people think the iPhone is going to boost profit for the telcos?  If that is the case, shouldn't Nokia, Sony Ericsson or Motorola and the rest of the phones be cutting such deals with the telcos? It's a win-win situation for both and if they can't find the middle ground for it.. ah well, no deal lah!
probably because they're not as special as apple? haha.. i duno?
qwen234
post Jun 10 2008, 08:30 PM

365 posts

QUOTE(cattivo @ Jun 10 2008, 08:22 PM)
MAYBE DiGi plan to get iPhone into their marketing strategy but they don't have 3g-ready network yet. will get internal info & update here.
i thought they wont be getting any more new 3G licences.. they have applied for it last time but failed
and the ministry is not going to approve new 3G licence anymore

Added on June 10, 2008, 8:31 pm
Y do U people think the iPhone is going to boost profit for the telcos?  If that is the case, shouldn't Nokia, Sony Ericsson or Motorola and the rest of the phones be cutting such deals with the telcos? It's a win-win situation for both and if they can't find the middle ground for it.. ah well, no deal lah!
actually they do have such plans, but not in malaysia
in australia when u subscribe for a line u can buy a phone for a very cheap price, but u will have to subscribe for a more expensive plan

This post has been edited by qwen234: Jun 10 2008, 08:31 PM
allvin
post Jun 10 2008, 08:44 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(qwen234 @ Jun 10 2008, 08:30 PM)
i thought they wont be getting any more new 3G licences.. they have applied for it last time but failed

Added on June 10, 2008, 8:31 pm
actually they do have such plans, but not in malaysia
in australia when u subscribe for a line u can buy a phone for a very cheap price, but u will have to subscribe for a more expensive plan
yea it is very normal for western countries. like in UK, some is free phone while subscribe their 2years plan or so on rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by allvin: Jun 10 2008, 08:45 PM
ajay67
post Jun 10 2008, 08:50 PM

2,960 posts

digi got 3G licence thru' another co
z3171600
post Jun 10 2008, 09:09 PM

534 posts

QUOTE(qwen234 @ Jun 10 2008, 08:30 PM)
TIME has completed the transfer of their 3G license to DIGI. But at first, I read it's going to be launch in May, but it'a already 10 days into June and still no news.
youngkies
post Jun 10 2008, 09:19 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

my expectation was right.

£99 with £30 monthly contract and free on £45 tariff onwards.

but what surprised me, current iphone user with 02 uk, can upgrade to new iphone 3g without having to have to cancel their old tariff.

great deal for UK user.

tomato ketchup: http://uk.news.yahoo.com/vdunet/20080610/t...ly-6315470.html

This post has been edited by youngkies: Jun 10 2008, 09:21 PM
MoNnY
post Jun 10 2008, 09:20 PM

Ooooo... Now I know how to change this
4,423 posts

to cut the deal, telcos must agree on profit sharing or subsidies. Its not as easy..
1st gen iphone was profit sharing with AT&T thats why it was so expensive..

2nd gen iphone is being subsidised by all the telcos around thats why its so cheap
youngkies
post Jun 10 2008, 09:23 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(razgriz6 @ Jun 10 2008, 08:05 PM)
why do they have to go trough telcos without selling it directly at their apple stores?
one of the reason to to maintain quality facilities specifically for iphone. no point making it generic with plenty of features but are not supported by any of the telco in the country.

so to strike a deal, apple give the telco the right to sell their set but in return the telco must reach the conditions e.g. provide the facilities specifically for iphone.
sukhoi37
post Jun 10 2008, 09:28 PM

Into Computer Since 2002
4,810 posts

QUOTE(allvin @ Jun 10 2008, 08:44 PM)
yea it is very normal for western countries. like in UK, some is free phone while subscribe their 2years plan or so on rolleyes.gif
erm...that's very normal for Singapore too. nod.gif

allvin
post Jun 10 2008, 09:47 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(sukhoi37 @ Jun 10 2008, 09:28 PM)
erm...that's very normal for Singapore too. nod.gif
guess only malaysia is abnormal sweat.gif rolleyes.gif
Eisenmeteor
post Jun 10 2008, 09:51 PM

Night Ghost
1,484 posts

If im not wrong, other countries such as SG or UK or US more ppl use postpaid thn prepaid plan right since they got free phones whn sign up..?
youngkies
post Jun 10 2008, 10:00 PM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(Eisenmeteor @ Jun 10 2008, 09:51 PM)
If im not wrong, other countries such as SG or UK or US more ppl use postpaid thn prepaid plan right since they got free phones whn sign up..?
because prepaid is expensive, minutes are usually included in the tariff and free/cheaper phone on contract. e.g. in uk, £35 per month can give you abt 600 minutes, 300 text messages, and for 18 months, a free n95 8gb.

unless you dont use phone quite often, prepaid can be really expensive.
mitodna
post Jun 10 2008, 10:27 PM

14,039 posts

Will we ever see "seledup" 3G iPhone at RM799 in July 11? hehe
MoNnY
post Jun 10 2008, 10:34 PM

Ooooo... Now I know how to change this
4,423 posts

wah bro, the price, RM799...
u get from where wan weh.... haha
please share with us...

cincai convert ?
LaskarCinta
post Jun 10 2008, 10:34 PM

?
1,651 posts

mmm...i just noticed the WWDC Keynote Address is available in iTunes podcast. now downloading...

101 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Top

0.0284sec    0.91    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 08:45 AM