Home Theatre LCD and Plasma TV Discussion Thread | V2, Which is right for you?
shumaky
Apr 21 2008, 11:01 AM
QUOTE(JiauBoy @ Apr 21 2008, 09:28 AM) congrat DigitalTech. so far still yet to get any call from hn on the deliver time. no idea will get the free pany hdmi n svideo or not. btw the 5 year im getting is from hn, some 1800 number for the service certer. shumaky : let c who get the call from hn first Dont call the 1800 nbr... call the HN Pyramid n enq on ur plasma delivery. My sales rep told me today or tmrw, coz PV8 sampai later. Fecking panny MY is not replying my mail bout the foc HDMI n S-Video
DigitalKL
Apr 21 2008, 11:12 AM
QUOTE(myaho2 @ Apr 21 2008, 08:47 AM) the reason I am worry about durability especially on the plasma screen as the item will transported overseas when I get transfered soon. Dont want to trsnport something which is too fragile. Going to a place where there is no way in hell to repair the tv if kaput  just keep all the packing material and boxes, you should be fine
myaho2
Apr 21 2008, 11:17 AM
thanks guys for the reply......good chance i will go for the poineer 428...
TSclngu
Apr 21 2008, 11:20 AM
QUOTE(myaho2 @ Apr 21 2008, 11:17 AM) thanks guys for the reply......good chance i will go for the poineer 428...  Pioneer KURO is the best ... none can beat it at the moment ... you have made a wise decision  This post has been edited by clngu: Apr 21 2008, 11:27 AM
DigitalKL
Apr 21 2008, 11:25 AM
QUOTE(myaho2 @ Apr 21 2008, 12:22 AM) Guys, I am in the market for either a LCD or plasma 40-42". Was only thinking at one time the sony W or V series but saw my friend hitachi plasma tv & was amazed by how sharp it was when seeing astro...I dont remember LCD being that nice under astro. Anyhow I am caught between the sony LCD & the pana PV80 or pioneer 428. Looks like I am leaning towards plasma as I watch more astro & movies and sports. However two things worry me about plasma; burn in & durability. I am told that plasma screen are not so durable compare to LCD & some even advise touching plasma screen is not advisable....Any comments?  burn-in is no longer an issue. they say it would take 4 days to burn in when left a non moving image. nowadays plasma TV have pixel shifting feature that will reduce the possibility of burn ins. you can read in this report - http://apcmag.com/plasma_vs_lcd__which_is_best.htmas for touching the screen, i think someone got confuse with LCD TV. I hear that LCD TV you are not suppose to go press press the screen....Plasma glass is hard, no worries to touch, all you get is fingerprints nia. And the latest Panny Plasma very keng as reported. Added on April 21, 2008, 11:29 amQUOTE(myaho2 @ Apr 21 2008, 11:17 AM) thanks guys for the reply...... good chance i will go for the poineer 428 ...  you just made cingu the happiest man in lowyat forum! This post has been edited by DigitalKL: Apr 21 2008, 11:31 AM
DigitalTech
Apr 21 2008, 11:33 AM
QUOTE(abahwafi @ Apr 21 2008, 10:40 AM) Good to hear about PC connection...just wonder about web browsing using PV80 I'm also planning to couple Panny HT with PV80. Is HT-465 the latest model ? HT-465 is the end lowest range models with 2 tower speaker and 2 small speakers and 1 centre speaker. It comes with 1080p HDMi upscale and ipod dock and USB port. The most important to me is Viera Link! Go to Jusco and get the 08 catalogue. I got mine yesterday in 1U jusco.
abahwafi
Apr 21 2008, 11:36 AM

QUOTE(DigitalTech @ Apr 21 2008, 11:33 AM) HT-465 is the end lowest range models with 2 tower speaker and 2 small speakers and 1 centre speaker. It comes with 1080p HDMi upscale and ipod dock and USB port. The most important to me is Viera Link! Go to Jusco and get the 08 catalogue. I got mine yesterday in 1U jusco. Roger that, TQ. Hope to hear more good things about PV80 (need to "racun" wifey some more  )
baxokp
Apr 21 2008, 11:50 AM

Anybody interested with pioneer plasma 508xg / 428 xg? Price is >10% lower than the price in first page...Sorry if this message is no suppose to show here...i will delete it...thanks bro!
adrian0229
Apr 21 2008, 01:15 PM
QUOTE(DigitalTech @ Apr 21 2008, 09:33 AM) I don't understand. My warranty card clearly stated Panny is giving 5 years warranty. Why HN claims that they are giving the 5 years warranty? let me clarify u buddy...i pretty sure u din go sunway or miss out something... when panny ngam ngam launch pv80 or pv8,all juz come wif 1yr warranty...but HN giv 5yrs extended warranty which is given by one of the overseas insurance..dunno which country...i think is australia..4get jor.... after 2weeks from sunway..then they only announced that pv80 n pv8 will hv 5yrs warranty from panny...
ICDeadPeople
Apr 21 2008, 02:00 PM
QUOTE(baxokp @ Apr 21 2008, 11:50 AM) Anybody interested with pioneer plasma 508xg / 428 xg? Price is >10% lower than the price in first page...Sorry if this message is no suppose to show here...i will delete it...thanks bro! Location : Penang Great price mate. How about the warranty? Is that your shop price or from someone else shop?
DigitalTech
Apr 21 2008, 02:19 PM
QUOTE(adrian0229 @ Apr 21 2008, 01:15 PM) let me clarify u buddy...i pretty sure u din go sunway or miss out something... when panny ngam ngam launch pv80 or pv8,all juz come wif 1yr warranty...but HN giv 5yrs extended warranty which is given by one of the overseas insurance..dunno which country...i think is australia..4get jor.... after 2weeks from sunway..then they only announced that pv80 n pv8 will hv 5yrs warranty from panny... My dealer already told me it's 5 years warranty from Panny on the 1st day of Sunway roadshow, dude. This information was the same as I told you 4.3k for pv80h, and you guys said it's impossible because it's below cost price. You got the cost price list and yet some dealer still can get this price lower. I dunno man, I think HN has offended many early buyers during the roadshow if they find out they can get better deal outside.
chizzu
Apr 21 2008, 02:34 PM
Need some enlightenment here... I am in a hunt for 37" - 42" LCD/Plasma TV but i am not sure which brand/model is good for my case. My set up will be on living room and mostly used to watch DVDs and movies from my laptop (no astro yet  ). The dvd player in my house is just normal dvd player with s video support (no HDMI) but plan to get maybe a ps3 in the future. Can anyone recommend which LCD TV/ Plasma is good for me? currently i have ruled out samsung coz the colour is too vivid to my liking. Can anyone recommend me a good LCD/Plasma TV?
adrian0229
Apr 21 2008, 02:41 PM
QUOTE(DigitalTech @ Apr 21 2008, 02:19 PM) My dealer already told me it's 5 years warranty from Panny on the 1st day of Sunway roadshow, dude. This information was the same as I told you 4.3k for pv80h, and you guys said it's impossible because it's below cost price. You got the cost price list and yet some dealer still can get this price lower. I dunno man, I think HN has offended many early buyers during the roadshow if they find out they can get better deal outside. but official news bout 5yrs we get is after 2weeks sunway roadshow...i still rmbr the day is on last week wednesday...that time i went to panny office at ss13...my fren who work there told me ngam ngam announced 5yrs warranty from their dealer...even TBM get the news on that day or thursday... anyway...no point to debate it again..ur case is 'special case'
DigitalTech
Apr 21 2008, 02:50 PM
QUOTE(adrian0229 @ Apr 21 2008, 02:41 PM) but official news bout 5yrs we get is after 2weeks sunway roadshow...i still rmbr the day is on last week wednesday...that time i went to panny office at ss13...my fren who work there told me ngam ngam announced 5yrs warranty from their dealer...even TBM get the news on that day or thursday... anyway...no point to debate it again..ur case is 'special case' adrian, did you manage to find out the price from the dealer contact i pm you?
adrian0229
Apr 21 2008, 02:59 PM
this few days i busy wif exam..u c i oso seldom post here...i finish exam on 30/4..that time i will call..or mayb few days later when i got time...will let u kno...
DigitalTech
Apr 21 2008, 03:03 PM
QUOTE(abahwafi @ Apr 21 2008, 03:01 PM) i've been quoted RM4,300 cash but no free gift whatsoever  See, my case is not special at all. Other dealers are offering this price. HN memang cut throat.
abahwafi
Apr 21 2008, 03:07 PM

QUOTE(DigitalTech @ Apr 21 2008, 03:03 PM) See, my case is not special at all. Other dealers are offering this price. HN memang cut throat. The dealer said it's special for LY.net members ONLY...dunno whether true or not
DigitalTech
Apr 21 2008, 03:10 PM
QUOTE(abahwafi @ Apr 21 2008, 03:07 PM) The dealer said it's special for LY.net members ONLY...dunno whether true or not  Dealer offer 4.3k still makes money. It's just that HN makes more money with higher price.
TSclngu
Apr 21 2008, 03:13 PM
anyone who got the deal RM4300 for Panasonic PV80H ... please give me the shop name, location and contact ... I need to make sure the information is correct ... so the buyers will know where to get it later ... thanks This post has been edited by clngu: Apr 21 2008, 03:14 PM