127 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Home Theatre LCD and Plasma TV Discussion Thread | V2, Which is right for you?

DigitalTech
post Apr 20 2008, 11:43 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(DigitalKL @ Apr 20 2008, 10:27 PM)
no wonder i didnt get any updates - got v2 also i dunno!

congrats digitaltech!!! this really shuts them up now. 5 years panny malaysia warranty....whoa!

good job!

btw remember i mentioned that Jusco Members Day Sale can get pretty good deals as well? well 5199 after 5% and 10% cash vouchers is like 4445. and dun forget, you still get cash rebates and points after that. And one more thing - interest free payments. So in the end, the deal might even be better than what you got for RM4300 or close.
congrats again and enjoy~ rclxms.gif
Oh yes. This proves what my dealer promises has honoured it. My dealer informed me this package on the 1st day of the Panny Sunway Pyramid roadshow. Never be so sure about anything and do your homework right, especially when you are in this business.

I think I am one of the 1st ppl who get the stock. The dealer manage to get 2 units only and delivered both to me, 1 for me and 1 for my parents.

My dealer is still making money by selling RM4.3k. Imagine HN selling @ RM5199-RM250 without 5 years warranty? You do the math.

HN promises 5 years warranty and later pulled back is bull shit. And the sales people and telling us that HN is giving the warranty. Bull shit again.

Enjoying every second of my pv80h. So satisfied.

This post has been edited by DigitalTech: Apr 20 2008, 11:45 PM
shumaky
post Apr 21 2008, 12:04 AM

PS what.?
2,706 posts

Well my 5yrs warranty by HN still stands..
As long as we are happy with our displays, thats the only thing that matters.
Cheers.
myaho2
post Apr 21 2008, 12:22 AM

504 posts

Guys,

I am in the market for either a LCD or plasma 40-42". Was only thinking at one time the sony W or V series but saw my friend hitachi plasma tv & was amazed by how sharp it was when seeing astro...I dont remember LCD being that nice under astro. Anyhow I am caught between the sony LCD & the pana PV80 or pioneer 428. Looks like I am leaning towards plasma as I watch more astro & movies and sports. However two things worry me about plasma; burn in & durability. I am told that plasma screen are not so durable compare to LCD & some even advise touching plasma screen is not advisable....Any comments? unsure.gif

This post has been edited by myaho2: Apr 21 2008, 12:23 AM
youliang
post Apr 21 2008, 12:50 AM

Aficionado
1,178 posts

QUOTE(myaho2 @ Apr 21 2008, 12:22 AM)
Guys,

I am in the market for either a LCD or plasma 40-42". Was only thinking at one time the sony W or V series but saw my friend hitachi plasma tv & was amazed by how sharp it was when seeing astro...I dont remember LCD being that nice under astro. Anyhow I am caught between the sony LCD & the pana PV80 or pioneer 428. Looks like I am leaning towards plasma as I watch more astro & movies and sports. However two things worry me about plasma; burn in & durability. I am told that plasma screen are not so durable compare to LCD & some even advise touching plasma screen is not advisable....Any comments?  unsure.gif
why would you wanna touch your plasma?? brows.gif
anyway some ppl here said panny slammed their plasma with metal balls and nothing happened to it..

azbro
post Apr 21 2008, 06:05 AM

4,403 posts

True, part of panasonic demo was punching and slapping the PV80!
But that creates another problem...the salesman now become 'all brawn and no brain' . He didn't even know the res. for the PV80...he said it was 1366 instead of 1024 as mention.

Actually, touching a plasma screen will create fingerprint spots...well, you just have to clean it up with a damp cloth.
myaho2
post Apr 21 2008, 08:47 AM

504 posts

the reason I am worry about durability especially on the plasma screen as the item will transported overseas when I get transfered soon. Dont want to trsnport something which is too fragile. Going to a place where there is no way in hell to repair the tv if kaput cry.gif
TSclngu
post Apr 21 2008, 09:11 AM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

QUOTE(DigitalKL @ Apr 20 2008, 11:10 PM)
cingu i think the "Plasma TV vs. LCD" info needs to be updated as well. Things like LCD is better in terms of power consumption is wrong and burn-ins etc is not even an issue as proven by many.
Please provide me the source. I will update it. Thanks. smile.gif

QUOTE(DigitalTech @ Apr 20 2008, 11:43 PM)
Oh yes. This proves what my dealer promises has honoured it. My dealer informed me this package on the 1st day of the Panny Sunway Pyramid roadshow. Never be so sure about anything and do your homework right, especially when you are in this business.

I think I am one of the 1st ppl who get the stock. The dealer manage to get 2 units only and delivered both to me, 1 for me and 1 for my parents.

My dealer is still making money by selling RM4.3k. Imagine HN selling @ RM5199-RM250 without 5 years warranty? You do the math.

HN promises 5 years warranty and later pulled back is bull shit. And the sales people and telling us that HN is giving the warranty. Bull shit again.

Enjoying every second of my pv80h. So satisfied.
Sometimes sales talk confusing us. Would be better to deal with the right person. Yesterday I checked with Best Denki, stock available in KL. 3 days delivery. So Panasonic buyers should be happy. Discount voucher, Warranty period and Free gifts still valid.

QUOTE(youliang @ Apr 21 2008, 12:50 AM)
why would you wanna touch your plasma?? brows.gif
anyway some ppl here said panny slammed their plasma with metal balls and nothing happened to it..
Panasonic received feedbacks about Plasma panel damage when falling down, hit by flying object, etc ... therefore they build-in a front glass panel to provide high resistance to impacts. However the mark will leave on glass panel depending on level of impact.

QUOTE(azbro @ Apr 21 2008, 06:05 AM)
True, part of panasonic demo was punching and slapping the PV80!
But that creates another problem...the salesman now become 'all brawn and no brain' . He didn't even know the res. for the PV80...he said it was 1366 instead of 1024 as mention.

Actually, touching a plasma screen will create fingerprint spots...well, you just have to clean it up with a damp cloth.
But I believe not any types of cloth. Panasonic said using soft cloth. Should be using 3M brand better. Otherwise the front glass panel still scratch after wiping many times.

JiauBoy
post Apr 21 2008, 09:28 AM

727 posts

congrat DigitalTech. so far still yet to get any call from hn on the deliver time. no idea will get the free pany hdmi n svideo or not. btw the 5 year im getting is from hn, some 1800 number for the service certer.

shumaky : let c who get the call from hn first
DigitalTech
post Apr 21 2008, 09:33 AM

974 posts

QUOTE(JiauBoy @ Apr 21 2008, 09:28 AM)
congrat DigitalTech. so far still yet to get any call from hn on the deliver time. no idea will get the free pany hdmi n svideo or not. btw the 5 year im getting is from hn, some 1800 number for the service certer.

shumaky : let c who get the call from hn first
I don't understand. My warranty card clearly stated Panny is giving 5 years warranty.
Why HN claims that they are giving the 5 years warranty?

This post has been edited by DigitalTech: Apr 21 2008, 09:40 AM

abahwafi
post Apr 21 2008, 09:45 AM

168 posts

DigitalTech,

Please share with us about ASTRO's PQ with PV80. This is very-very critical info before I decide which one should I buy since I will be watching ASTRO (75%) with the TV. hmm.gif

azbro
post Apr 21 2008, 09:46 AM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(clngu @ Apr 21 2008, 09:11 AM)

But I believe not any types of cloth. Panasonic said using soft cloth. Should be using 3M brand better. Otherwise the front glass panel still scratch after wiping many times.
Yup, agree, mine got scratch abit, now I use those microfibre cloth only.

myaho2
post Apr 21 2008, 09:50 AM

504 posts

Heard about the feedback pana plasma screen...how about Pioneer 428 users? ...is the screen durable? unsure.gif
DigitalTech
post Apr 21 2008, 09:53 AM

974 posts

QUOTE(abahwafi @ Apr 21 2008, 09:45 AM)
DigitalTech,

Please share with us about ASTRO's PQ with PV80. This is very-very critical info before I decide which one should I buy since I will be watching ASTRO (75%) with the TV.  hmm.gif
I am surprised to watch Astro on my pv80h. The PQ is excellent. I have seen many LCDs and Plasmas in showrooms and never see such good PQ in my panny. I am really impress.

abahwafi, go get pv80h if you are frequent Astro viewer!

Added on April 21, 2008, 9:54 am
QUOTE(azbro @ Apr 21 2008, 09:46 AM)
Yup, agree, mine got scratch abit, now I use those microfibre cloth only.
My pv80h comes with a special cloth to clean the bezel and the stand (the shinny part).
There's a special instructions to clean my panny.

This post has been edited by DigitalTech: Apr 21 2008, 09:54 AM
JiauBoy
post Apr 21 2008, 09:58 AM

727 posts

hmmmm double insurance
abahwafi
post Apr 21 2008, 10:14 AM

168 posts

QUOTE(DigitalTech @ Apr 21 2008, 09:53 AM)
I am surprised to watch Astro on my pv80h. The PQ is excellent. I have seen many LCDs and Plasmas in showrooms and never see such good PQ in my panny. I am really impress.

Thank you very much...I'm still searching and waiting for the best offer now whistling.gif I also heard the LG has also launched their 2008 line-up for LCD and Plasma.

BTW, have u test the PC connection ? I have a laptop with HDMI port which I might use with the TV. icon_question.gif

HoneyBadger
post Apr 21 2008, 10:27 AM

264 posts

QUOTE(DigitalTech @ Apr 21 2008, 09:53 AM)

sorry....noob on upscaling....does pv80h perform well with HDMI upscaler ? say if i upscale a .avi file with 624 x 352 resolution...
TSclngu
post Apr 21 2008, 10:27 AM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

Panasonic PV80H is better than any LCD/Plasma in showrooms ... I doubt about it ... hmm.gif
DigitalTech
post Apr 21 2008, 10:32 AM

974 posts

QUOTE(clngu @ Apr 21 2008, 10:27 AM)
Panasonic PV80H is better than any LCD/Plasma in showrooms ... I doubt about it ...  hmm.gif
I meant on Astro Connection, PV80h PQ is better. Maybe the showroom uses splitter connections which reduce the PQ.
I am using S video connection. But overall Astro PQ on pv80h surprises me.

Added on April 21, 2008, 10:34 am
QUOTE(abahwafi @ Apr 21 2008, 10:14 AM)
Thank you very much...I'm still searching and waiting for the best offer now  whistling.gif  I also heard the LG has also launched their 2008 line-up for LCD and Plasma.

BTW, have u test the PC connection ? I have a laptop with HDMI port which I might use with the TV. icon_question.gif
I've tried using Dell XPS with HDMI connection to PV80h in Sunway Pyramid during the roadshow. The picture is good.
But on action fast moving movies, the picture not so smooth. I suspect it's the notebook problem, because it's running on vista and many times hang.
The resolution is correct for sure on pv80h.

Added on April 21, 2008, 10:35 am
QUOTE(HoneyBadger @ Apr 21 2008, 10:27 AM)
sorry....noob on upscaling....does pv80h perform well with HDMI upscaler ? say if i upscale a .avi file with 624 x 352 resolution...
Sorry, havent's try that yet, because the Panny HT-465 home theatre not here yet.
Should be receiving it this week.

This post has been edited by DigitalTech: Apr 21 2008, 10:35 AM
azbro
post Apr 21 2008, 10:36 AM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(myaho2 @ Apr 21 2008, 08:47 AM)
the reason I am worry about durability especially on the plasma screen as the item will transported overseas when I get transfered soon. Dont want to trsnport something which is too fragile. Going to a place where there is no way in hell to repair the tv if kaput cry.gif
Friend, Its not easy to ship the LCD/Plasma to where you are going, unless you are willing to pay premium to DHL etc...

Anyway, since its so difficult, why not get a projector? At least it comes in a small box and offers bigger view.

This post has been edited by azbro: Apr 21 2008, 10:39 AM
abahwafi
post Apr 21 2008, 10:40 AM

168 posts

QUOTE(DigitalTech @ Apr 21 2008, 10:32 AM)
I've tried using Dell XPS with HDMI connection to PV80h in Sunway Pyramid during the roadshow. The picture is good.
But on action fast moving movies, the picture not so smooth. I suspect it's the notebook problem, because it's running on vista and many times hang.
The resolution is correct for sure on pv80h.

Added on April 21, 2008, 10:35 am

Sorry, havent's try that yet, because the Panny HT-465 home theatre not here yet.
Should be receiving it this week.
Good to hear about PC connection...just wonder about web browsing using PV80 hmm.gif

I'm also planning to couple Panny HT with PV80. Is HT-465 the latest model ?

127 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0391sec    1.08    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 06:22 PM