Home Theatre LCD and Plasma TV Discussion Thread | V2, Which is right for you?

azbro
post Apr 18 2008, 12:57 PM

4,403 posts

Bravia colors look artificial to me...or probably its just me...but pioneer plasma follow by panny looks best.
azbro
post Apr 19 2008, 08:05 PM

4,403 posts

First time I saw a demo on a plasma which requires the salesman to punch and slap the screen to show off the screen were powderful wan...panasonic PV8serieslah...he said its made from fiberglass..dunno how true it is..

I wonder if I can do that to my PV70? ...seems like the same screen other than the higher contrast and new engine...and of course nice price.
azbro
post Apr 20 2008, 02:46 AM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(grandspy @ Apr 20 2008, 01:26 AM)
OK. So what plasma TV can I get for RM4.5K? I'm a casual viewer..
No need to ask...panny lor PV80H...get the 80V wan instead of the 8V one....the higher spec version price difference is worth it. It looks better as well drool.gif
azbro
post Apr 20 2008, 10:57 AM

4,403 posts

No need to go full HD with a 32incher..unless you got a blueray player also
azbro
post Apr 20 2008, 07:39 PM

4,403 posts

Cooling fanz are most probably due to improve air circulation to eliminate buzzing sound found on most PV7 series when mounted to the wall.

Added on April 20, 2008, 8:00 pm
QUOTE(HoneyBadger @ Apr 20 2008, 05:35 PM)
hi people,

am busy shopping for a 42 incher... currently torn between panny pv80h (1080i) and the new tosh cv500 (1080p?) ... usage would be 50% astro and 50% DivX via HDMI upscaler....  would appreciate any opinion you would have for any of the 2 models....  thanks  thumbup.gif
I also to play .avi files most of the time....pv80h is your choice...but its not 1080i please...you got it all wrong, it can scan for 1080p, but the display is still 1024x768. The best part about it gives better res displays a run for its money. For movies..you best bet is Plasma..

I'm not sure of the CV500 specs but full hd is best is blueray players..if you are still using normal upscaled dvd players, will not give that much improvement over the panny. But then again, I might be wrong brows.gif

This post has been edited by azbro: Apr 20 2008, 08:00 PM
azbro
post Apr 21 2008, 06:05 AM

4,403 posts

True, part of panasonic demo was punching and slapping the PV80!
But that creates another problem...the salesman now become 'all brawn and no brain' . He didn't even know the res. for the PV80...he said it was 1366 instead of 1024 as mention.

Actually, touching a plasma screen will create fingerprint spots...well, you just have to clean it up with a damp cloth.
azbro
post Apr 21 2008, 09:46 AM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(clngu @ Apr 21 2008, 09:11 AM)

But I believe not any types of cloth. Panasonic said using soft cloth. Should be using 3M brand better. Otherwise the front glass panel still scratch after wiping many times.
Yup, agree, mine got scratch abit, now I use those microfibre cloth only.

azbro
post Apr 21 2008, 10:36 AM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(myaho2 @ Apr 21 2008, 08:47 AM)
the reason I am worry about durability especially on the plasma screen as the item will transported overseas when I get transfered soon. Dont want to trsnport something which is too fragile. Going to a place where there is no way in hell to repair the tv if kaput cry.gif
Friend, Its not easy to ship the LCD/Plasma to where you are going, unless you are willing to pay premium to DHL etc...

Anyway, since its so difficult, why not get a projector? At least it comes in a small box and offers bigger view.

This post has been edited by azbro: Apr 21 2008, 10:39 AM
azbro
post Apr 21 2008, 05:31 PM

4,403 posts

April 18 to April 21...oledi 10pages strong, and we haven't finish the day yet...

My calculation, based on the 119pages for the original thread, V3 sure coming abt 47days time...that 1 1/2 months time...

Yippy smile.gif
azbro
post Apr 21 2008, 10:33 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(abahwafi @ Apr 21 2008, 09:17 PM)
When Panny launched PV70, the price is around 6.5k but now PV80 RSP is RM5.1k  brows.gif
hehe..what you thinking?...next year the price of PV80 3.5K?... thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
azbro
post Apr 22 2008, 05:08 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(chizzu @ Apr 22 2008, 04:27 PM)
what is the difference between Pana PV70 and PV80?
PV80 looks visually better, new engine, better contrast and most importantly cost cheaper.
PV80 also has a SD card slot and 3 HDMI and better grey to black steps...

I'm not sure abt the PV80 plasma screen impact resistant feature whether PV70 has it or not.
Or whether it has fans behind to counter the buzzing sound that plagues the PV70 mounted on a wall.

On paper, its a no brainer...PV80 is way above the PV70...maybe its a direct ccomparison to PV700 which cost RM8K then..
azbro
post Apr 22 2008, 11:13 PM

4,403 posts

AWESOME but Screen looks abit small from the picture...with that kinda setup, better go projector
azbro
post May 4 2008, 04:11 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(DigitalKL @ May 4 2008, 06:55 AM)
my friend just bought his pv80. these are the cables given by panasonic -

whats missing in pv80 is a USB port
During I bought my Panny 70, the HDMI went out of stock, so they gave me a Pioneer 'with compliments' set...i can tell you, except for the box, they look exactly the same smile.gif
azbro
post May 13 2008, 05:12 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(adrian0229 @ May 13 2008, 01:08 PM)
haha..of coz u say it is better lo..astro quality quite same i can say...but in ps3..pv70 win pv80 le...
Wah...somebody said my PV70 better than PV80...you guys wanna pull my leg huh?
azbro
post May 18 2008, 07:04 PM

4,403 posts

Logo OK...no need too critical...but one thing should avoid are those 4:3 ratio for too long.

If previously your CRT tv set no burn in, then, you dun have to worry much.
azbro
post May 19 2008, 08:40 AM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(sayming @ May 19 2008, 01:23 AM)
Carrefour Wangsa Maju having some promotion on LCD Tvs.
Tempted to get the Sony KLV-32S310. Is it any good compared to Samsung, LG and Sharp which is also on offer from Carrefour.
I dunno why but I hate Sony and Samsung colors...colors look artificial. Human flesh color looks like red.
azbro
post Jun 1 2008, 05:34 AM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(termites_teoh @ Jun 1 2008, 01:12 AM)

Any ideas how improve the quality when watching local TV stations? Is there a device to make it better?Like a good cable or something??? Need serious help you.

Please help/advice
><  thanks!

Added on June 1, 2008, 1:39 amMy gf is killing me....She wants to watch shows on local TV stations but it is sucks on LCD ><

I dont have an Astro. What to do????
I know it sucks without astro...you'll get use to it. Btw..1 method to solve it is by using experts with Terrestrial Antenna/Aerial to fixup or adjust a good one for you..there are some pretty good and branded aerials out there like the maspro brand.. Usually, experts will fit a few other poles on the roof to get the best gain, so your house will end up looking abit of a mess on top. And dun forget the important lighning arrestor...yes, I know, more money again. My dads house the TV reception is super clear (after many times adjustments and additional aerials)

azbro
post Jun 3 2008, 07:36 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(kancheong @ Jun 3 2008, 06:26 PM)
got the pv80 last weekend. good price too. just a question to anyone who owns 1, whenever i play dvd via hdmi there are 2 black strips top and bottom. How/Can I get rid of it ? Some tv programs are full screen but some also hv the 2 black strips on top and bottom(ntv7).
TIA.
hey...that normal ler...but not all DVD or TV programs have black strips at the bottom. Some are true 16:9. Thats why I said...42inch not enough big.
azbro
post Jun 4 2008, 08:23 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(kancheong @ Jun 4 2008, 10:23 AM)
thanks manchild tried that but the picture quality suffers a bit.
azbro why do you say 42" not big enuf ? its the aspect ratio/how the film was mastered so even if i have a 50" the 2 black strips will still appear, no?
Yahlor...even 50" will have the black strips...so better have a 50inch than 42inch with blackstrips smile.gif

But 50" still expensive.
azbro
post Jul 5 2008, 11:36 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(Archaven @ Jul 5 2008, 10:51 PM)
Hi all sifu.. If to buy new LCD TV or Plasma TV, what are the standard procedures to check if the unit purchase is good/not faulty and no problems? Do we have dead pixels in Plasma TV? Backlight problem? Banding? How to check ya? Thx notworthy.gif
Just buy....things like dead pixels, faulty units are rare...

One thing is extended warranty before your purchase it. Please read the fine prints what gets warranted, the minimum amount, lightning strikes, theft, etc.

Next thing when you get the unit, don't throw away the box first...keep it for at least two months so that in your unit is faulty, can pack it easier. Most service centers are chin chai one, and most units get scratched during transportation or repairing.

If you still insist of checking it at the electrical store...ask the sales assistant. Best way to check for dead / stuck pixel is by using color. Black, white, RGB colors can easily spot dead/stuck pixels. How to do it? Use an video editor tool for the PC to make some colors on a DVD. Bring the DVD along to test the plasma/LCD. Ask them to test it with any DVD player they got.

0.0457sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 07:15 AM