Home Theatre LCD and Plasma TV Discussion Thread | V2, Which is right for you?

HoneyBadger
post Apr 20 2008, 05:35 PM

264 posts

hi people,

am busy shopping for a 42 incher... currently torn between panny pv80h (1080i) and the new tosh cv500 (1080p?) ... usage would be 50% astro and 50% DivX via HDMI upscaler.... would appreciate any opinion you would have for any of the 2 models.... thanks thumbup.gif
HoneyBadger
post Apr 21 2008, 10:27 AM

264 posts

QUOTE(DigitalTech @ Apr 21 2008, 09:53 AM)
I am surprised to watch Astro on my pv80h. The PQ is excellent. I have seen many LCDs and Plasmas in showrooms and never see such good PQ in my panny. I am really impress.

abahwafi, go get pv80h if you are frequent Astro viewer!
sorry....noob on upscaling....does pv80h perform well with HDMI upscaler ? say if i upscale a .avi file with 624 x 352 resolution...
HoneyBadger
post Apr 30 2008, 09:44 AM

264 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Apr 29 2008, 10:42 PM)
All the best, adrian.  smile.gif  doh.gif

Btw, Toshiba launched its latest LCD TV to replace A3500E series.
HTKaki / Adrian

I'm gonna get a 42" by end of May... would you recommend this new Toshiba 42AV500E or Panny 42PV80H ? 50% Astro and 50% on DivX movies

This post has been edited by HoneyBadger: Apr 30 2008, 09:45 AM
HoneyBadger
post May 2 2008, 02:37 PM

264 posts

The LG/PG60 series can play DivX movies right off your thumb drive thumbup.gif , just tested some files at Homedec just now... they were upscaled quite nicely... except that you would need the remote to control during DivX playback..... as the volume buttons on the TV becomes 'Skip Forward' and 'Skip Backward' shakehead.gif
HoneyBadger
post May 8 2008, 04:34 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(imr4n @ May 4 2008, 12:23 AM)
LG PG60 is RM4899 with divx playable via usb
Panny PV80 is around RM45XX with jpg playable via sdhc

unless forumers here can offer cheaper price for that LG PG60
it's better to get panny and if wanna play divx get a dvd player with that capability costing a couple of hundred ringgit only, still total cheaper
Was quoted LG 42PG60 at RM4100 cash just now at a shop in Kepong. 1 year warranty. No freebies rclxms.gif

HoneyBadger
post May 16 2008, 11:59 AM

264 posts

hi, does anyone know whether LG 42PG60UR can do 1080/24p ? Panny PV80H can do so right?

0.0407sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 03:56 AM