P1 P1 W1Max Thread unofficial thread., The One and Only WiMax Broadband
raffless
Oct 15 2008, 09:19 AM

QUOTE(p4n6 @ Oct 15 2008, 01:16 AM) Can't really answer that question, can I? As it's subject to where you ping to and whether your destination is congested. Try to ping to their own website page www.p1.com.my, if the ping time is above 100ms well, then you can be sure that's a valid problem there. Screenshot and blast their careline lah ... posting on Lowyatnet also won't help you much  For those new subscribers, it's fine since refund is possible during the trial period. For those early birds, lol ... too bad ... The main reason for slow and unstable connection is because too many subscriber within Setapak area even after I've directly complain to their management and send a technician over for checking. The problem still remain. The only time free of problem is when collage holiday or long public holiday, then the speed is supre. PS: Posting is lowyat.net is jus to share the experience with wimax to others forumer.
Acrisius
Oct 15 2008, 09:25 AM
QUOTE(kimberlysqy @ Oct 15 2008, 03:30 AM) Hey. So I'm considering to subscribe to P1 W1Max and I'm residing in Setapak. I'd like to know whether you know, if it's alright? Slow, fast and all that. Anything bad / good you guys can tell me? If you were very interested on Wimax, Just give a try, no worries you will have 15-days trial period before drop into contract. The 15-days is to give customer to try out the speed and signal. The placing of the modem is really important. Anyway you subcribed and you felt slow during night time or peak hours. Nothing to be suprise. That's the problem having in Setapak area.
leonamanutd
Oct 15 2008, 04:46 PM
QUOTE(shamnh @ Oct 15 2008, 07:31 AM) Some says, p1 wimax is like as astro. when it`s raining, u don`t have the signal. when it`s cloudy day, u also don`t have the signal also.... sigh.. Haha now it's rainy season, always happen to my astro. I certainly hope it's not the same, since it's not satellite...
rajulkabir
Oct 16 2008, 12:09 AM
QUOTE(shamnh @ Oct 15 2008, 07:31 AM) Some says, p1 wimax is like as astro. when it`s raining, u don`t have the signal. when it`s cloudy day, u also don`t have the signal also.... sigh.. Why would clouds affect it? Unless they are very low clouds...
efarhan
Oct 16 2008, 05:38 PM

hi...im staying in PJS 7/15...still wondering any feedbacks from ppl staying there whether SOMEHOW can get coverage or not ? as my newly-rented apt dun hv plug point for telephone also...so kinda desperate to use WiMAX....but still no coverage... i dun want to resort to using izzi..celcom and such as those are EXTREMELY lousy services that is only for use if ur a frequent traveller who only checks email and browses for stock exchange thru the net... i do torrents as well...would love to hear from u fellas feedbacks...
moiham
Oct 16 2008, 10:47 PM
QUOTE(v i n c @ Oct 14 2008, 12:33 AM) lol? wat are u talking about? How can low subscribers lead to higher ping? Should be more subsribers, higher ping la. But still its not the main problem that constribute to higher ping ah crap..... i tot i saw speed haaaaa sorry my wrong my wrong teeheeehehehe QUOTE(efarhan @ Oct 16 2008, 05:38 PM) hi...im staying in PJS 7/15...still wondering any feedbacks from ppl staying there whether SOMEHOW can get coverage or not ? as my newly-rented apt dun hv plug point for telephone also...so kinda desperate to use WiMAX....but still no coverage... i dun want to resort to using izzi..celcom and such as those are EXTREMELY lousy services that is only for use if ur a frequent traveller who only checks email and browses for stock exchange thru the net... i do torrents as well...would love to hear from u fellas feedbacks... yesh PJS area same as my area kepong, no coverage yet darn... i think need to wait till early nex year only we'll get enough feedbacks to see whether this service is good anot ler i do hope it is!!
jungjung123
Oct 16 2008, 11:40 PM
QUOTE(efarhan @ Oct 16 2008, 05:38 PM) i dun want to resort to using izzi..celcom and such as those are EXTREMELY lousy services that is only for use if ur a frequent traveller who only checks email and browses for stock exchange thru the net... Completely agree ... I'm using iZZi now ... it totally sucks ... slower than dial-up modem. I can't wait for my contract to expire and cancel it. Celcom 3G and Maxis 3G are complete lies ... you will never get near to the advertised bandwidth. I'm staying in Cheras ... can't wait for P1 Wimax coverage Room For Rent
razormax
Oct 17 2008, 03:44 AM
QUOTE(kimberlysqy @ Oct 15 2008, 03:30 AM) Hey. So I'm considering to subscribe to P1 W1Max and I'm residing in Setapak. I'd like to know whether you know, if it's alright? Slow, fast and all that. Anything bad / good you guys can tell me? Since there's money back guarantee... i think u should take a try
p4n6
Oct 17 2008, 08:37 AM
QUOTE(rajulkabir @ Oct 16 2008, 12:09 AM) Why would clouds affect it? Unless they are very low clouds... I believe they are still getting the network to stabilize as they are still in early deployment stage so alot of hiccups will come out (like operating a new airport - always crashes on the first few days) and alot of bugs will come out and alot of fixes will need to be applied. I don't think it has anything to do with rain or cloudy sky ... it's definitely not the act of god.
leonamanutd
Oct 17 2008, 01:23 PM
yea the only way to judge is when it's all launched all over malaysia, then there shouldn't be those hiccups..coz the currently location i'd say are considered the guinea pigs that try it out and test it out for them
razormax
Oct 20 2008, 03:17 AM
but by the time it is launch all over malaysia... which will take quite sometime...i think we will opt for other option then
weibin
Oct 20 2008, 04:14 AM

anyone know how to do the portforwarding for wimax ? or how to chg the port in utorrent so that i wont show the not connectable message ??
Koizora
Oct 20 2008, 08:20 AM
Hi everyone, I was wondering how did you guys register for P1? I had signed up via their website, nothing happened and after calling them they said I need to go to their HQ sumwhere in near Jalan Templer. That CS also said that they have no agent and the only way to register is by going to the HQ or their roadshows.Now, is this true??
ubsacc2004
Oct 20 2008, 02:49 PM
yes today they have roadshow at my place. so will ask for more or maybe just try 15 days free trial but need give rm100.00 for upfront. what is upfront ? tks.
Acrisius
Oct 20 2008, 08:52 PM
QUOTE(weibin @ Oct 20 2008, 04:14 AM) anyone know how to do the portforwarding for wimax ? or how to chg the port in utorrent so that i wont show the not connectable message ?? Brother, Try to see the previous post before you asking this question again. P1W1MAX blocked all the ports, and to do portforward only can done by Senior Technician or High level person which they knew the username and password.
ubsacc2004
Oct 20 2008, 08:57 PM
hm today i just subsribe p1 wimax.
p4n6
Oct 21 2008, 12:19 AM
QUOTE(Acrisius @ Oct 20 2008, 08:52 PM) Brother, Try to see the previous post before you asking this question again. P1W1MAX blocked all the ports, and to do portforward only can done by Senior Technician or High level person which they knew the username and password. I was informed by doing so is similar to handing your the resignation letter to the company
Acrisius
Oct 21 2008, 02:54 AM
QUOTE(p4n6 @ Oct 21 2008, 12:19 AM) I was informed by doing so is similar to handing your the resignation letter to the company  True, because it break the company rules. That's why, it's impossible to get portforward if stick with P1, Hope in the future there will be manual portforward for users.
jungjung123
Oct 21 2008, 10:24 AM
QUOTE Brother, Try to see the previous post before you asking this question again. P1W1MAX blocked all the ports, and to do portforward only can done by Senior Technician or High level person which they knew the username and password. There is one thing that confuses me? Does it mean I can't use ftp/telnet/ssh/etc? or just port forwarding stuff is blocked? I use ftp/telnet/ssh quite frequently for my work. Room To Let
Acrisius
Oct 21 2008, 11:09 AM
QUOTE(jungjung123 @ Oct 21 2008, 10:24 AM) There is one thing that confuses me? Does it mean I can't use ftp/telnet/ssh/etc? or just port forwarding stuff is blocked? I use ftp/telnet/ssh quite frequently for my work. Room To LetConnecting to ftp/telnet/ssh all are working fine, But the problem is that you can't accept the incoming connection if you planning to run ftp/telnet/ssh on your computer, because those ports are blocked = no connection allow to entering your computer. ONLY 80 & 513 were open currently.