Professional engineer status
ibmsege
Apr 13 2008, 09:28 AM

for engineering especially in microelectronics industry, getting IEEE recognized is more important.. write more paper and publish in IEEE man! most of the US engineering firm has their own technical recognition mechanism... staff engineer -> principle engineer -> fellow.... that is more important then other stuff...
Sawamura
Apr 13 2008, 09:59 AM
Ir. can kick ur salary from rm4500 to 6500 straighaway.. but that is in construction consultancy.. no idea about manufacturing line.. personally i think, for manufacturing Ir. is not a requirement.. as u dont involve in any endorsement (correct me).. better for u to chase for business master first as it reflect ur management style more.. but if u still insist, like selrahc said, theres no harm chasing for Ir. ... getting an extra recognition is never a problem
SUSSeLrAhC
Apr 13 2008, 10:54 AM
QUOTE(ibmsege @ Apr 13 2008, 09:28 AM) for engineering especially in microelectronics industry, getting IEEE recognized is more important.. write more paper and publish in IEEE man! most of the US engineering firm has their own technical recognition mechanism... staff engineer -> principle engineer -> fellow.... that is more important then other stuff... if u r in msia i would recommend not to join IMechE/IEEE because you will be paying full membership fees and there wont be much activities for you... just join IEM because most of the activities are still runned together with IEM
ibmsege
Apr 13 2008, 12:13 PM

QUOTE(SeLrAhC @ Apr 13 2008, 10:54 AM) if u r in msia i would recommend not to join IMechE/IEEE because you will be paying full membership fees and there wont be much activities for you... just join IEM because most of the activities are still runned together with IEM nope, i'm not in msia but in the states.. for microelectronics, IEM is not much useful compare to IEEE... and IR is useless for microelectronics engineer too.. IEEE more important for us
cyrixMII300
Apr 16 2008, 04:39 PM
idK<<< its obvious this person does not know heads or tails about what he is talking about. what can one expect of a simpleton?
they google it or wiki it and they think they know everything there is to know.
hey buddy, if you really want to understand better that which you dont understand, perhaps i can arrange for a meeting with a couple of friends of mine who are either PE or IRs or maybe i can come over during my holidays and explain it better to you as an EUR IR. what you say huh?
This post has been edited by cyrixMII300: Apr 16 2008, 04:43 PM
nicvoo
Apr 16 2008, 10:09 PM
msia fresh grad or u work as an engineer then wanan apply 1st go bem then iem then 3 year following a mentor who is a PE or IE or ENGR o watever u wanna call himthen u can go for an interview then if u pass u get ur PE IR ENGR or watever u call it in msia. but i ehard msia u need to take a test also not sure but can always find out
sg fresh grad/any eng who wanna apply PE exam basically its wat u have learnt in uni then 3 year xp then an interview b4 u r crowned wif a PE chop
iDk
Apr 16 2008, 10:17 PM
QUOTE(cyrixMII300 @ Apr 16 2008, 04:39 PM) idK<<< its obvious this person does not know heads or tails about what he is talking about. what can one expect of a simpleton? they google it or wiki it and they think they know everything there is to know. hey buddy, if you really want to understand better that which you dont understand, perhaps i can arrange for a meeting with a couple of friends of mine who are either PE or IRs or maybe i can come over during my holidays and explain it better to you as an EUR IR. what you say huh? Oh, ok... So do you have an IR in Malaysia?This post has been edited by iDk: Apr 16 2008, 10:19 PM
nicvoo
Apr 16 2008, 10:27 PM
jus to add u get ir/pe/engr in msia u cant use in sg or any parts of the world req laws codes in diff countries differ each other
iDk
Apr 16 2008, 10:39 PM
QUOTE(nicvoo @ Apr 16 2008, 10:27 PM) jus to add u get ir/pe/engr in msia u cant use in sg or any parts of the world req laws codes in diff countries differ each other ok, atleast someone is talking with sense now. This post has been edited by iDk: Apr 16 2008, 10:53 PM
SUSSeLrAhC
Apr 16 2008, 11:44 PM
QUOTE(ibmsege @ Apr 13 2008, 12:13 PM) nope, i'm not in msia but in the states.. for microelectronics, IEM is not much useful compare to IEEE... and IR is useless for microelectronics engineer too.. IEEE more important for us  i see... yea.. usually PE status are for more of the tradional based stuff rather than the more technological stuff... maybe IEEE is not a bad thing after all
cyrixMII300
Apr 22 2008, 06:23 AM
QUOTE(iDk @ Apr 16 2008, 10:17 PM) Oh, ok... So do you have an IR in Malaysia?yes. would you like to meet and verify? let me know when mate.  we can meet up over at IEM building
ganz
Apr 22 2008, 04:42 PM
hahaha.. don't fight over small thing..
do u know.. word engineer itself is miss used.. if i have time i will try to source back the info i got.. but literally it about this.
engineer, lawyer, account,doctor (medical) and few others are lavel as professional jobs which is not anyone can claim to be one.
however.. currently.. if u look at malaysia.. designation of engineer are widely abuse.even up to sales engineer.. why not call them technical sales executive.. ? that why we mix up with the term engineer.. and why fres grad can easilliy work as engineer..
few company in malaysia are no longer call their bach degree in engineering staf as engineer and merely just call then technical executive or mechanical/electrical executive.. ------------------------------
back to TS question...
it depend.. people ask me what the differences in between becoming / obtain PHD in engineering and becoming PE in engineering?
for me.. it just purely for satifaction.. u learn 4-5 years in engineering program.. and finaly.. a govern body recognize u a Engineer.. is like having a degree in law but unable to attend court ... u know theory.. u can calculate.. u know everything.. but u can tell the world and approved it..
my boss (GM) ain't PE.. but his sub coordinate (manager) is PE.. both in electrical.. PE do not guarentte anything.. experience and ki$$@$$ do.. sorry..
nicvoo
Apr 22 2008, 05:31 PM
being a pe doesn't mean tat u r better then anyone.jus proves that the gov recognizes your xp.there r many other eng out there tat hav the xp but jus don't apply for it.being a pe u'll need to bear the responsibility on your chop.which if u misuse might lead u to jail
Archiou
Apr 22 2008, 06:23 PM
Seems like getting PE is not as good as one might think huh...
This post has been edited by Archiou: Apr 22 2008, 06:24 PM
ganz
Apr 22 2008, 07:56 PM
depend on certain people.. i do have this sort of thinking previously.. either to proceeds with PE or to continue into professional cert? (BTW i lost both =)) ) if u are manufacturing engineer.. working with production line.. do u thing having PE suite u? or do u really thing u can obtain PE by just write into ur log book? obtaining PE itself is not an easy task..
iDk
Apr 22 2008, 10:22 PM
QUOTE(cyrixMII300 @ Apr 22 2008, 06:23 AM) yes. would you like to meet and verify? let me know when mate.  we can meet up over at IEM building So from your response, you are acknowledging you do have the IR status in Malaysia provided with the given IR number and IR stamp. So tell me: 1] Why are we meeting at IEM building? 2] Do you know what is the difference between BEM and IEM? Seriously answer to these questions before you start giving non-sense information or want to date me to s*ck on my big fat juicy c*ck. Added on April 22, 2008, 10:32 pmFor those who are very keen to know about the Route of Professional Engineer or Practicing Engineering in Malaysia. Kindly refer to below link, but it is forbidden for those who pretend like he know a lot and trying so hard to prove it. Professional Engineering path in MalaysiaHope it does help you to clear things out. This post has been edited by iDk: Apr 22 2008, 10:39 PM
kb2005
Apr 22 2008, 10:37 PM
QUOTE(Archiou @ Apr 22 2008, 06:23 PM) Seems like getting PE is not as good as one might think huh... Just the name. Not necessary will get high pay!
nicvoo
Apr 23 2008, 02:54 PM
in the construction industry yes u'll get higher pay.in r n d or fac industry hav o not also no diff.jus tat if u r a pe u need to know wat u r talkin about and dun go charging in blindly ppl will laugh their ass off if u r a pe n talk crap.
Even then go elec a chargeman hv cert in msia can get earn alot tat doesn't need u to hav a degree or for mech a boiler cert.which will get u more job and xp compared to a pe
Archiou
Apr 24 2008, 10:30 PM
QUOTE Just the name. Not necessary will get high pay! biggrin.gif "With great power comes great responsibility." -- Dialogue from "Spider-Man" In tis PE thread, the above statement is true! Plus 1 more: Not necessary will get high pay! So wat's the point to get PE at the 1st place? Personal satisfaction? higher social status? wat else?
SUSSeLrAhC
Apr 25 2008, 12:43 AM
QUOTE(kb2005 @ Apr 22 2008, 10:37 PM) Just the name. Not necessary will get high pay!  in msia... it is sad QUOTE(Archiou @ Apr 24 2008, 10:30 PM) "With great power comes great responsibility." -- Dialogue from "Spider-Man" In tis PE thread, the above statement is true! Plus 1 more: Not necessary will get high pay! So wat's the point to get PE at the 1st place? Personal satisfaction? higher social status? wat else? to extend ur name longer by 3 characters XD