Maxis Maxis Wireless Broadband Thread #2, 3G/3.5G Broadband

omniknight86
post Sep 21 2008, 04:52 PM

LYN 6 Star Forum Member
1,647 posts

QUOTE(tancth @ Sep 21 2008, 04:19 AM)
anyone using maxis wireless power broadband package near old klang road, kl? it claim the connection can go up to 3.6 Mbps. wats the average bandwidth? i am thinking of switching to maxis from streamyx (a real pain in the @ss).

between wired and wireless broadband, which is better?
[attachmentid=600499]

this is the so call broadband service provided by streamyx. vmad.gif
i think wireless would be better...i am using it by the way...in setapak jaya somewhere near sri rampai...the speed is suck actually...but i just boycott TM so i would just stay with maxis....well, i may choose to switch to U-Mobile later...anyone using it somewhere near my area? please give me your comment about U-Mobile icon_rolleyes.gif
Luftwacko
post Sep 21 2008, 05:24 PM

682 posts

QUOTE(omniknight86 @ Sep 21 2008, 04:52 PM)
i think wireless would be better...
I beg to differ. Wired is better.

teck_dq
post Sep 24 2008, 02:56 AM

~`HorriBLe Ador@bLe'~
1,148 posts

wired is better lor..wireless also better if ur place got a nice signals
ibnuasad
post Sep 24 2008, 03:00 AM

A screw is not a screw until you screw it!
558 posts

At my place, Wireless is better than wired thumbup.gif

Why? Because TM still has not activated their port (or something) at my housing area vmad.gif
cracksys
post Sep 24 2008, 04:37 AM

I'm a Vault Dweller!!
3,668 posts

QUOTE(tancth @ Sep 21 2008, 04:19 AM)
anyone using maxis wireless power broadband package near old klang road, kl? it claim the connection can go up to 3.6 Mbps. wats the average bandwidth? i am thinking of switching to maxis from streamyx (a real pain in the @ss).

between wired and wireless broadband, which is better?
[attachmentid=600499]

this is the so call broadband service provided by streamyx. vmad.gif

nah, better stick with streamy-x .. or else you'll need to call their support every night and they come out with "oh, it is normal sir, your area coverage is crowded. better try again after 12"

pft.

This post has been edited by cracksys: Sep 24 2008, 04:42 AM
tancth
post Sep 24 2008, 08:21 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(cracksys @ Sep 24 2008, 04:37 AM)
nah, better stick with streamy-x .. or else you'll need to call their support every night and they come out with "oh, it is normal sir, your area coverage is crowded. better try again after 12"

pft.
hahaha....streamyx is no better too. i called their customer service about the 'really' slow connection and they told me they are doing upgrading work and will complete in one month time.
2 months later still the same. whats with streamyx?

Does the world economy slowdown affect the broadband slowdown too??
ibnuasad
post Sep 24 2008, 08:24 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(tancth @ Sep 24 2008, 08:21 AM)
Does the world economy slowdown affect the broadband slowdown too??
This may be plausible hmm.gif
happysunshinez
post Sep 25 2008, 12:16 AM

QUOTE(cracksys @ Sep 24 2008, 04:37 AM)

pft.
I just used maxis bb for 4 days.

DL = 369kbps
UL = 69kbps

Is this good or bad? icon_question.gif
ibnuasad
post Sep 25 2008, 12:50 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(happysunshinez @ Sep 25 2008, 12:16 AM)

DL = 369kbps
UL =  69kbps

If you're paying RM 68/month, that's the normal & average speed that you're supposed to get smile.gif

This post has been edited by ibnuasad: Sep 25 2008, 12:50 AM
cracksys
post Sep 25 2008, 07:27 AM

I'm a Vault Dweller!!
3,668 posts

QUOTE(happysunshinez @ Sep 25 2008, 12:16 AM)

DL = 369kbps
UL =  69kbps

my first week with maxis .. ahh, it's like a honeymoon. the only difference is, i go nowhere.

sometime i even had 800kbps kind of connection. but now, well, most of people's marriages doesn't really work anyway.
iRonTech
post Sep 25 2008, 08:29 AM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

biggrin.gif maxi$ 3.6Mbps test here..although its full bar signaling..(KL server only manage hit up 12xxkbps)

but maxi$ given valid IP rclxms.gif

compare with my umobile, just 3 bar signaling

This post has been edited by iRonTech: Sep 25 2008, 08:32 AM
Charles
post Sep 25 2008, 07:13 PM

2.4V VVT-i DOHC
2,914 posts

hi all, just want to know now the package for the usb wireless connection at 138 per month (118 for postpaid user), but i heard my friend said he only pay 60 per month, and he also using the usb modem type. is that the promotion already over
iRonTech
post Sep 26 2008, 09:07 AM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(Charles @ Sep 25 2008, 07:13 PM)
hi all, just want to know now the package for the usb wireless connection at 138 per month (118 for postpaid user), but i heard my friend said he only pay 60 per month, and he also using the usb modem type. is that the promotion already over
maxisbb here http://www.maxis.com.my/personal/hsdpa/wireless_packages.asp

maxis3g here http://www.maxis.com.my/3G/about3G_privileges.asp
vios2002
post Sep 27 2008, 11:26 AM

167 posts

guy i have mod my maxis modem 2 ways to mod 1 is to mod the internal things the other ways is remove the eom antena and replace to a external TV antena the roof 1 .... it improve the DB.... cheap and easy....

iRonTech
post Sep 27 2008, 12:10 PM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

shocking.gif how many % the DB improvement?? brows.gif
prasys
post Sep 27 2008, 01:44 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(vios2002 @ Sep 27 2008, 11:26 AM)
guy i have mod my maxis modem 2 ways to mod 1 is to mod the internal things the other ways is remove the eom antena and replace to a external TV antena the roof 1 .... it improve the DB.... cheap and easy....
screenshot and how its done please. I am sure most of us would like to know how it is done
lucky8
post Sep 27 2008, 01:53 PM

284 posts

QUOTE(vios2002 @ Sep 27 2008, 11:26 AM)
can work? and signal compatible? hmm.gif
iRonTech
post Sep 27 2008, 04:49 PM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

like this way?? hmm.gif http://en.wikinerds.org/index.php/Hacking_the_Huawei_E220

This post has been edited by iRonTech: Sep 27 2008, 04:53 PM
vios2002
post Sep 28 2008, 05:28 PM

167 posts

guys sorry i cant tell u how much DB it gain as the modem i use is 2nd Gen from Maxi....

as every ppl know our house TV use external antena the bigger the antena it able to improve more DB signal ....

TV antena is call Yagi antena and it also use coaxial cable to connect to TV same way u can connect to your modem or Wifi Router as it can expend the signal as it can cover a lot of dead sport.....

lucky8
post Sep 28 2008, 08:03 PM

284 posts

QUOTE(vios2002 @ Sep 28 2008, 05:28 PM)
guys sorry i cant tell u how much DB it gain as the modem i use is 2nd Gen from Maxi....

as every ppl know our house TV use external antena the bigger the antena it able to improve more DB signal ....

TV antena is call Yagi antena and it also use coaxial cable to connect to TV same way u can connect to your modem or Wifi Router as it can expend the signal as it can cover a lot of dead sport.....
Yagi antenna is directional, we will need to adjust n point to the right angle/direction only can get good signal... I wish i can return my current modem for a newer gen modem...

208 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Top

0.0199sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 06:40 PM