208 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Bottom

Maxis Maxis Wireless Broadband Thread #2, 3G/3.5G Broadband

scripted
post Jul 1 2008, 02:43 AM

608 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Jun 30 2008, 07:45 PM)
Wretched speed eh. You bet. Well it does reconnect but the problem is maxis requires you to open up your web browser before they activate your connection. every time you connect to maxis broadband , you'll have to fire up your browser whereby it redirects you to their home page (which is annoying). This defeats the purpose for leaving it downloading over night. In order to overcome this , you must regularly run a script whereby setting to launch Internet explorer every now and then to stimulate some web activity !
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/115

can i just reload their page non stop ?
prasys
post Jul 1 2008, 05:21 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(nujikabane @ Jun 30 2008, 11:32 PM)
The thing is that I don't surf much, & I don't really need mobility as I
don't surf while on the move. I am more into downloading movies and music albums (though I don't have time to watch the movies, too but just download it before the links was removed or afraid that there are no more seeders) .

Just wondering, is Maxis Broadband independent from TMnet ( I mean does maxis borrow / uses TMnet infrastructures or do they have their own ? )
Yes , it is. They do have their own international link and cables. Its independent from TM. If you're into downloading then maxis is a no go for you. You have two options. Use VPN Services or Torrentflux to get your stuff and download it via HTTP. Web surfing download speeds are amazing (assuming your signal strength is good. It peaks up to 200-300 kilobytes/sec)

QUOTE(scripted @ Jul 1 2008, 02:43 AM)
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/115

can i just reload their page non stop ?
You can reload their page non-stop. Its not an issue at all. Every 30 seconds just refresh their page . This is their 'Connection script' - http://58.71.141.15/maxis-storefront/connect.do . Keep on refreshing that junk so that your connection actually gets activated once you're connected

nujikabane
post Jul 1 2008, 06:44 PM

United We Stand
3,212 posts

Then I believe Maxis Broadband is not suited for me, as I like to download files for value for money reason. I hate paying monthly subscription if I'm not using my line efficiently.

Anyway, what is the upload speed?
I might consider Maxis if it offers higher upload speed than
Streamyx which is 384kbps (if I'm not mistaken)
prasys
post Jul 1 2008, 07:37 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

384Kbps maximum. But usually it hovers around 128Kbps , sometimes even less. For me , the maximum that i could get is 296Kbps for upload (best) and the worst one is 13 Kbps. They didn't state their upload speed but then after some research , I managed to find out that they cap their upload at 128Kbps but when there aren't many users in the cell tower , the speed may go up to 384kbps !. Streamyx offers up to 512Kbps with their 2Mbps package !
nujikabane
post Jul 1 2008, 08:22 PM

United We Stand
3,212 posts

First of all, I beg to differ with your statement that Streamyx offers 512kbps for 2mbps package is wrong.
Streamyx package for 2mb is still 384kbps, both for their normal package or their combo.
Only 4mb line gives 512kbps speed.

Anyway, going through your statement, it is very sad about the upload speed, which is far slower than Streamyx. Wonder why they didn't inform about their upload speed, maybe perhaps they don't want to be committed to the speed they said. I mean, if they say upload is 384kbps then they have to deliver the speed they've mentioned.

Have you tried uploading anything and see about the upload speed?
Try once in the day and once at night, and see the differences.
Heheh just a suggestion. Might have tried myself if I have Maxis smile.gif

This post has been edited by nujikabane: Jul 1 2008, 08:23 PM
prasys
post Jul 1 2008, 08:30 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(nujikabane @ Jul 1 2008, 08:22 PM)
First of all, I beg to differ with your statement that Streamyx offers 512kbps for 2mbps package is wrong.
Streamyx package for 2mb is still 384kbps, both for their normal package or their combo.
Only 4mb line gives 512kbps speed.

Anyway, going through your statement, it is very sad about the upload speed, which is far slower than Streamyx. Wonder why they didn't inform about their upload speed, maybe perhaps they don't want to be committed to the speed they said. I mean, if they say upload is 384kbps then they have to deliver the speed they've mentioned.

Have you tried uploading anything and see about the upload speed?
Try once in the day and once at night, and see the differences.
Heheh just a suggestion. Might have tried myself if I have Maxis smile.gif
My Bad. I am not aware of it. Anyhow thanks for correcting me (Multi-tasking and answering peoples question in the forums at the same time are like water and oil - They just don't go together).

I dont know what is their reason not to publish the upload speed. Maybe they have their own reasons or they have made an assumption that more people are into downloading rather then uploading.

As for the upload speed , I can't comment much as you know how UMTS works. Suppose if the tower is congested , uploading just fails or uploads very slow as all the 'slots' are being used by other UMTS user (i.e Video call , WAP surfing , MMS downloading). But if the tower isn't congested , it can go up to 12-15 Kilobytes/sec which I think is good !
nujikabane
post Jul 1 2008, 10:14 PM

United We Stand
3,212 posts

Lol, even though they don't go together, you have done a pretty job smile.gif
Anyway, does Maxis provide ISDN lines as well? Lol ask so many question, sorry la oh
prasys
post Jul 1 2008, 10:20 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(nujikabane @ Jul 1 2008, 10:14 PM)
Lol, even though they don't go together, you have done a pretty job smile.gif
Anyway, does Maxis provide ISDN lines as well? Lol ask so many question, sorry la oh
No idea. But as far as I know , they only provide lease line and broadband services (both wired and wireless). They used to offer Free Dial-Up service way back ago (aka MaxisNet !)
nujikabane
post Jul 2 2008, 12:04 AM

United We Stand
3,212 posts

Alright, thanks you so much for the information and for entertaining my questions. I've come to the conclusion that Maxis Broadband is not suited for me, so I'll be sticking with Streamyx, until either Maxis buck up or other ISPs come up with better services. smile.gif
tapr00t123
post Jul 5 2008, 01:28 AM

46 posts

I've tried it all!!! Celcom, Maxis, U Mobile.... Pretty bunch of crap loads!!!!

Celcom says they got better coverage than others? Drop the freaking bulls idiots!!! :angry: faster konon... Same like your gang streamyx...

Maxis... thank god got 7 days cooling period... 60 days to get refund... nasib baik RM100 only... Improve la woi! At PC Fair you guys make alot of noise, but we need the kind of 'noise' we need... SPEED!!!

U Mobile... the worst among the bunch... oi, go bungkus like mitv laaa!!! :clap:

I dont mind the fluctuation of the speed but open email also a snail cannot tahan! (p/s: in USJ ni oi...)

We are wayyyyy behind from other countries like Thailand and even Philippines... We dont mind paying more but PLEASEEEEE :shakehead: improve!!!! (Use M1 broadband in Singapore and hell... the lowest I get is 1.5Mbps)

I THINK I'LL WAIT ANOTHER 3 YEARS BEFORE CONSIDERING SUBSCRIBING A NEW WIRELESS BROADBAND SERVICE...
AiRseaL
post Jul 5 2008, 02:30 PM

236 posts

prasys,, how exactly to make a script that make the browser keep on refreshing itself? I tried leaving laptop on from 1-6 to dl some stuff but after awhile it gets disconnected.. Even with my msn mesenger on. So irritaating.
digswell
post Jul 5 2008, 09:04 PM

2,484 posts

QUOTE(AiRseaL @ Jul 5 2008, 02:30 PM)
prasys,, how exactly to make a script that make the browser keep on refreshing itself? I tried leaving laptop on from 1-6 to dl some stuff but after awhile it gets disconnected.. Even with my msn mesenger on. So irritaating.
Use CMD Command Prompt Dos to ping the server or website

Example : Ping -t www.google.com

or u can ping streamyx DNS server : Ping -t 202.188.0.133 / ping -t 202.188.1.5

This all work for b4 i get a router . i using ZTE MF600 moderm
if u using ZTE MF600 then bundle with a router
Coz router will auto ping the moderm and some net server

This post has been edited by digswell: Jul 5 2008, 09:08 PM
prasys
post Jul 5 2008, 09:24 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

Pinging doesn't work. You'll have to use a firefox add-on called AutoRefresh or something like that. Just hook it up to maxis 58.x.x.x (the default startup page) for every 5 minutes and it does the trick for you. Pinging will not work as maxis wants you to 'surf' before they allow you to use other applications (smart eh ?)
wanpent
post Jul 6 2008, 01:47 AM

13 posts

just to get some info...

1.it is any package to use usb modem but take the advance packages(rm 78)instead to use ZTE modem?

2. i already returned maxis phone and not use home voice standard after 6 month rebates but maxis still charge me rm 15 at my latest bill. that i need officially to inform maxis to terminated this service or automatic to slash the amount?

3. how to know our bandwidth usage?

prasys
post Jul 6 2008, 10:33 AM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

QUOTE(wanpent @ Jul 6 2008, 01:47 AM)
just to get some info...

1.it is any package to use usb modem but take the advance packages(rm 78)instead to use ZTE modem?

2. i already returned maxis phone and not use home voice standard after 6 month rebates but maxis still charge me rm 15 at my latest bill. that i need officially to inform maxis to terminated this service or automatic to slash the amount?

3. how to know our bandwidth usage?
1) There aren't. They only offer 1 package which is the RM 138 package for USB Modem only

2) Call them up and fire em. If they still fail to respond. Its time to send a letter to NCCC

3) Get a bandwidth monitoring tool - http://www.metal-machine.de/readerror/ (Netmeter) , it keeps track of your bandwidth usage and other things. Pretty neat
Luftwacko
post Jul 6 2008, 11:12 PM

682 posts

Haiz... my ping sucks. I ping to 202.71.97.81 and I'm getting mixed ping between 80+ms to 1k+ms. cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
cracksys
post Jul 7 2008, 09:08 AM

I'm a Vault Dweller!!
3,668 posts

QUOTE(Luftwacko @ Jul 6 2008, 11:12 PM)
Haiz... my ping sucks. I ping to 202.71.97.81 and I'm getting mixed ping between 80+ms to 1k+ms.  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif

so, did you able to play CoD4 on this connection?

@prasys - hotspot shield doesn't seem to work anymore. is it maxis or my config ?
Luftwacko
post Jul 7 2008, 09:12 AM

682 posts

QUOTE(cracksys @ Jul 7 2008, 09:08 AM)
so, did you able to play CoD4 on this connection?
Nope. My computer can't support CoD4. I used cmd to ping to bvpn server.

I even lag on W3. Which explains alot. cry.gif
korbin
post Jul 7 2008, 10:06 AM

441 posts

i m getting ping average 350-400ms .
hokuan
post Jul 7 2008, 12:41 PM

1,336 posts

Does Maxis BB has coverage at UTM Skudai?

208 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top

0.0347sec    0.74    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 04:41 AM