Samsung SGH i780 Discussion Thread

gu~wak_zhai
post Sep 24 2009, 07:03 PM

Lecturer
1,186 posts

QUOTE(cd-x @ Sep 23 2009, 02:48 PM)
i have not put any software yet. bizi with raya, so many fon book to copy from my nokia. tongue.gif

later tonight i upload some screenshot. but i think its not much different than the last firmware (before i update it).
hey bro can upload the screenshot of the version page? i wanna see all the driver's version especially wifi... flex.gif
thx a bunch!
cd-x
post Sep 24 2009, 07:50 PM

62 posts

hey, sorry guys, i stil dont put any software yet.

so i take screenshot with my N80 la, hahahaaa...

if u can read it, it say :

pda version : I780PDXHI1
phone version : I780XHE1

i hope u guys satisfied.

Added on September 24, 2009, 8:21 pm
QUOTE(gu~wak_zhai @ Sep 24 2009, 07:03 PM)
hey bro can upload the screenshot of the version page? i wanna see all the driver's version especially wifi...  flex.gif
thx a bunch!
the wifi driver version is : 1.0.6.6

sorry, this one a little bit blurry. zoom out can make it more clearer.

This post has been edited by cd-x: Sep 24 2009, 08:21 PM
dgtel2
post Sep 24 2009, 09:53 PM

966 posts

then ur HI1 version is older than IB1.
cd-x
post Sep 24 2009, 09:55 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(dgtel2 @ Sep 24 2009, 09:53 PM)
really? how is that?

what is the latest version now? anybody have the list, update/version list?
Baronic
post Sep 24 2009, 10:28 PM

Problem?
7,533 posts

QUOTE(cd-x @ Sep 24 2009, 09:55 PM)
really? how is that?

faints, dude next time just use a screenshot program

http://www.spbclub.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=12483

and its free
cd-x
post Sep 24 2009, 10:40 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(Baronic @ Sep 24 2009, 10:28 PM)
faints, dude next time just use a screenshot program

http://www.spbclub.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=12483

and its free
tanx a lot. i had the installer before but cant found the software backup disc i created. (previously using asus P525).

thumbup.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif thumbup.gif
dgtel2
post Sep 25 2009, 11:13 AM

966 posts

QUOTE(cd-x @ Sep 24 2009, 09:55 PM)
really? how is that?

Here's the link to download and install latest firmware IB1
http://www.samsungmobile.com/support/i780/index.jsp

gu~wak_zhai
post Sep 26 2009, 12:06 AM

Lecturer
1,186 posts

QUOTE(cd-x @ Sep 14 2009, 05:30 PM)
i just came back from lowyat, send it to samsung FMG to upgrade my i780 firmware, to latest version i789PDXHI1. FOC (my fon finish warranty already).

dunno what is special, gonna test it now.

and then i asked if change the keypad to new one, the girl told it is RM87.++ including installation. ori woo... less 100 tongue.gif.
want to install mapking now. . . .
QUOTE(dgtel2 @ Sep 24 2009, 09:53 PM)
hmmm so samsung center upgrade an outdated firmware for cd-x? LOL how can it be? I780PDXHI1 is winmo 6.1 am i rite? i can see that ur wifi version is 1.0.6.6 which is same wif mine...

last time before i flash my i780 to winmo 6.1 i download the WIFI patch and upgrade my wifi version to 1.0.6.8... but then after i flash it to winmo 6.1 i try to patch again.. the version remains 1.0.6.6... wierd.. hmm.gif hmm.gif
any1 of u tried the wifi patch on winmo 6.1?
cd-x
post Sep 27 2009, 11:35 PM

62 posts

hey guys, samsung svc center told me that this is the latest they have. dunno why.

my computer error with usb port make me unable to flash the new version from the net.

dgtel2, how is the resolution of the version IB1? im still trying to use mapking on this i780. but the display are terrible.
dgtel2
post Sep 27 2009, 11:48 PM

966 posts

QUOTE(cd-x @ Sep 27 2009, 11:35 PM)
hey guys, samsung svc center told me that this is the latest they have. dunno why.

my computer error with usb port make me unable to flash the new version from the net.

dgtel2, how is the resolution of the version IB1? im still trying to use mapking on this i780. but the display are terrible.
no changes on resolution for IB1 still 128DPI.
MapKing is not i780-screen-reso-friendly. i ditched MapKing long
time ago. better use Garmin MXT.
shogun_125
post Sep 28 2009, 12:09 AM

557 posts

what a new price now ?
dgtel2
post Sep 28 2009, 12:23 AM

966 posts

a brand new set should be less than RM1K having 2 original batteries as part of the standard package.
cd-x
post Sep 28 2009, 12:28 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(dgtel2 @ Sep 27 2009, 11:48 PM)
no changes on resolution for IB1 still 128DPI.
MapKing is not i780-screen-reso-friendly. i ditched MapKing long
time ago. better use Garmin MXT.
thanks for reply.

i still can put any software yet.
usb port problem really giv me headache rclxub.gif cry.gif

i'll try tomorrow at office. hope it works. hmm.gif
dgtel2
post Sep 28 2009, 12:43 AM

966 posts

just ensure u back-up everything before
upgrade the firmware.
uhlaw
post Sep 28 2009, 01:20 AM

-[L]aw -
2,896 posts

QUOTE(dgtel2 @ Sep 28 2009, 12:23 AM)
a brand new set should be less than RM1K having 2 original batteries as part of the standard package.
Last time I asked, and they told me i780 already discontinued due to Samsung new-released WinMo phones such as Samsung OmniaPro B7320, B7330 hmm.gif

This post has been edited by uhlaw: Sep 28 2009, 01:23 AM
gu~wak_zhai
post Sep 28 2009, 04:49 AM

Lecturer
1,186 posts

QUOTE(uhlaw @ Sep 28 2009, 01:20 AM)
Last time I asked, and they told me i780 already discontinued due to Samsung new-released WinMo phones such as Samsung OmniaPro B7320, B7330  hmm.gif
not sure bout tis.. but i780 is considered quite a rare phone here.. mayb not popular so the shop dun wanna bring in stock..
nevertheless, proud to be its owner.. rclxms.gif

Added on September 28, 2009, 5:08 am
QUOTE(cd-x @ Sep 27 2009, 11:35 PM)

hmmm wats the error?
jz follow the samsung site step by step guide shld be no prob..
or did u forget to set ur usb setting on ur i780? u shld set it to Activesync mode instead of Mass storage..

This post has been edited by gu~wak_zhai: Sep 28 2009, 05:08 AM
dgtel2
post Sep 28 2009, 06:37 AM

966 posts

QUOTE(uhlaw @ Sep 28 2009, 01:20 AM)
Last time I asked, and they told me i780 already discontinued due to Samsung new-released WinMo phones such as Samsung OmniaPro B7320, B7330  hmm.gif
If googled, yes. It's been discontinued.
L7Awesome
post Sep 28 2009, 10:10 AM

418 posts

[quote=gu~wak_zhai,Sep 28 2009, 04:49 AM]
not sure bout tis.. but i780 is considered quite a rare phone here.. mayb not popular so the shop dun wanna bring in stock..
nevertheless, proud to be its owner.. rclxms.gif

I can confirm this phone is really a rare breed in KL at least. I have been hunting for an extra battery in a few shopping malls but to no avail. They do not carry even the generic battery like Momax brand! I ask the shop keeper why is that and they said people looking for i780 accessories is really rare. Nevertheless, i find that this phone functions are perfect for my use. Maybe ppl really go for style instead... i guess.

Added on September 28, 2009, 10:12 am[quote=dgtel2,Sep 28 2009, 06:37 AM]
If googled, yes. It's been discontinued.

[/quote]

It's sad that they discountinued this awesome phone. Oh well, i guess all good things must come to an end. Anyway, can I check if you know where i can get an extra battery and the desktop charger?

Added on September 28, 2009, 10:17 am[quote=cd-x,Sep 28 2009, 12:28 AM]
thanks for reply.

i still can put any software yet.
usb port problem really giv me headache rclxub.gif cry.gif

i'll try tomorrow at office. hope it works. hmm.gif

[/quote]

I think the very basic stuffs that you need to make sure is (from my upgrading experience)...

1. I have a lot of problem with Vista. XP works perfect
2. Under USB to PC, uncheck the "Ena adv network func".

That's my over generalized problem solving that I have :-p.

Also remember to backup! I use PPCPimBackup... it's a freeware, Google for it :-).

This post has been edited by L7Awesome: Sep 28 2009, 10:17 AM
dgtel2
post Sep 28 2009, 10:42 AM

966 posts

QUOTE(L7Awesome @ Sep 28 2009, 10:10 AM)
Anyway, can I check if you know where i can get an extra battery and the desktop charger?
If u're at Klang Valley, you can try Summit USJ or Samsung Service Centre next to Federal Highway (near AVON). I bought the car charger as well as upgrading the firmware over there. Details at http://my.samsungmobile.com/supports/findi...=00000000000003
uhlaw
post Sep 28 2009, 11:33 AM

-[L]aw -
2,896 posts

i780 is indeed a good pda with both touchscreen and Full QWERTY keyboard.
Everything that you want is in it, WIFI, GPS, WinMo, 3.5G biggrin.gif

39 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Top

0.0262sec    0.70    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 09:01 PM