37 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Bottom

Xigmatek HDT-s1283 Red-Scorpion Review, Come Join The Community..

culain99
post Mar 24 2008, 09:53 PM

-----
765 posts

Need help on the red scorpion,
I installed it on my rig and am still getting very high temps ...details as below.
Rig details....
Processor E6750 @ 2.66Ghz at 1.35 Vcore
Mobo Gigabyte P35 DS3 (Bios F12) at stock voltages
Ram 2GB Patriot DDR2-800 (4-4-4-12 at 2.2V)
PSU Gigabyte Odin Pro 550W

I installed the Red Scorpion and have run the E6750 at 100% utilization both cores for
30 minutes a couple of times & the results are the same the CPU core temps is at 69 deg C
(temps using Everest Ultimate Edition).
The core temps during normal use (i.e. surfing, watching movies, etc) is between 45 to 50 deg C.

The red scorpion was installed using the spring & screw kit, the protective sticker was removed
and the enclosed thermal paste was used (thermal paste was applied on all 3 heat pipes).
All traces of old thermal paste was removed from the processor.

Based on the temps which are higher than I had using the stock intel cooler.......I definately have done
something wrong on the installation.

One thing I have noticed is that on my rig I have installed the fan perpendicular to the rams as opposed
to the pics posted by vincentlaw of his rig on the first page. Will this make a huge difference..??

Any ideas or suggestions are appreciated.

Thanks,
Culain
ir1z
post Mar 24 2008, 10:00 PM

The God of Death
1,629 posts

u mean rite now ur HSF+fan are facing downwards is it? and not towards the rear? and another thing, u would be better off with current market thermal paste not the one they give in the box. Just my opinion though...
culain99
post Mar 24 2008, 10:04 PM

-----
765 posts

yes.............currently my fan is facing downwards.
is this the wrong set up.....???

I was going to put aftermarket thermal paste but yesterday
all the computer shops near my area was closed.

tkh_1001
post Mar 24 2008, 10:04 PM

2,547 posts

try to do exactly like the same way vincentlaw fixed his fan n then remount ur scorpion... btw... pls check for ur clearance between proc n heatsink... make sure the contact is good... cos the most likely problem will be ur contact as i have seen ppl using this heatsink without fan on a OCed setup n yet the temp is only around 65c

This post has been edited by tkh_1001: Mar 24 2008, 10:08 PM
culain99
post Mar 24 2008, 10:09 PM

-----
765 posts

hmm........there is no clearance between the heatsink & proc
basically I tightened the screws until it bottomed out on the motherboard
fesick
post Mar 24 2008, 10:22 PM

Serious mode
2,009 posts

take picture let us see inside ur case..

ir1z
post Mar 24 2008, 10:27 PM

The God of Death
1,629 posts

it would be a better idea to put them facing the rear fan like what vincent and most of us others here do....
ham_revilo
post Mar 24 2008, 10:38 PM

I
6,583 posts

QUOTE(culain99 @ Mar 24 2008, 09:53 PM)

bro, i have tried using the scorpion without fan and the temp is around 65-67...

in my opinion u didnt screw it properly... did u screw it equally?? i mean the 4 screw all going down at the same pace... u know what i mean??

or maybe u can try taking out the whole hsf and install it back... maybe in the process u did something wrong... so this time if u reinstalling the scorpion, try referring to vincent's guide...

This post has been edited by ham_revilo: Mar 24 2008, 10:43 PM
kmarc
post Mar 24 2008, 10:40 PM

The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
14,576 posts

QUOTE(culain99 @ Mar 24 2008, 09:53 PM)
Need help on the red scorpion,
I installed it on my rig and am still getting very high temps ...details as below.
Rig details....
Processor E6750 @ 2.66Ghz at 1.35 Vcore
Mobo Gigabyte P35 DS3 (Bios F12) at stock voltages
Ram 2GB Patriot DDR2-800 (4-4-4-12 at 2.2V)
PSU Gigabyte Odin Pro 550W

I installed the Red Scorpion and have run the E6750 at 100% utilization both cores for
30 minutes a couple of times & the results are the same the CPU core temps is at 69 deg C
(temps using Everest Ultimate Edition).
The core temps during normal use (i.e. surfing, watching movies, etc) is between 45 to 50 deg C.

The red scorpion was installed using the spring & screw kit, the protective sticker was removed
and the enclosed thermal paste was used (thermal paste was applied on all 3 heat pipes).
All traces of old thermal paste was removed from the processor.

Based on the temps which are higher than I had using the stock intel cooler.......I definately have done
something wrong on the installation.

One thing I have noticed is that on my rig I have installed the fan perpendicular to the rams as opposed
to the pics posted by vincentlaw of his rig on the first page. Will this make a huge difference..??

Any ideas or suggestions are appreciated.

Thanks,
Culain
Definitely something wrong.

My previous overclocked E6750 @ 3.5Ghz @ 1.400v (bios set) was only about 55'c max on full load (orthos), IIRC.....
culain99
post Mar 24 2008, 10:48 PM

-----
765 posts

bro ham_revilo,

you might have a point. I cannot say I tightened all 4 screws at the same pace.
I did tighten them diagonally though.

ham_revilo
post Mar 24 2008, 10:51 PM

I
6,583 posts

QUOTE(culain99 @ Mar 24 2008, 10:48 PM)
bro ham_revilo,

you might have a point. I cannot say I tightened all 4 screws at the same pace.
I did tighten them diagonally though.
okay... so i guess problem solve.. laugh.gif

glad to hear from another scorpion user... and pls post some result though...
tkh_1001
post Mar 24 2008, 11:12 PM

2,547 posts

hey guys.... new poison here... s1284 shocking.gif shocking.gif flex.gif
TSvincentlaw
post Mar 24 2008, 11:25 PM

1,507 posts

QUOTE(culain99 @ Mar 24 2008, 10:09 PM)
hmm........there is no clearance between the heatsink & proc
basically I tightened the screws until it bottomed out on the motherboard
bro u got apply thermal compound anot???? the small packet liquid thggie.. maybe u forgot that....
tkh_1001
post Mar 24 2008, 11:27 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(vincentlaw @ Mar 24 2008, 11:25 PM)
bro u got apply thermal compound anot???? the small packet liquid thggie.. maybe u forgot that....
he did if u read it all thru from top tongue.gif tongue.gif

This post has been edited by tkh_1001: Mar 24 2008, 11:28 PM
sukhoi37
post Mar 24 2008, 11:29 PM

Into Computer Since 2002
4,810 posts

QUOTE(tkh_1001 @ Mar 24 2008, 11:12 PM)
hey guys.... new  poison here... s1284  shocking.gif  shocking.gif  flex.gif
they squeez 4 8mm heatpipes on the heatsink base. thumbup.gif
cant wait to see it's performance.
TSvincentlaw
post Mar 24 2008, 11:29 PM

1,507 posts

QUOTE(tkh_1001 @ Mar 24 2008, 11:12 PM)
hey guys.... new  poison here... s1284  shocking.gif  shocking.gif  flex.gif
i wonder why the 4x8mm heatpipe contact with processor.. if u observe.. the 3x8mm heatpipe now is accurately contacted with the processor.. if 4 heatpipe is squeeze in.. means the 2 side heatpipe will only contact about ½ only with proc...

everyday have new thgs la.. ask ckhoong about it..
ham_revilo
post Mar 25 2008, 12:03 AM

I
6,583 posts

imo the performance will almost the same... according to ckhoong, the performance will be improve for 15-10% which i dont think its alot....

anyways hoping there will be review soon...
ir1z
post Mar 25 2008, 07:22 AM

The God of Death
1,629 posts

waaa tak dan nak habih pueh pakai lagik yg scorpion nie dah ader yg lagik baru erk....
Downcast
post Mar 25 2008, 08:15 AM

358 posts

Always got new thing... doubt this cooler will be more expensive than current red scorpy....
ham_revilo
post Mar 25 2008, 08:34 AM

I
6,583 posts

QUOTE(Downcast @ Mar 25 2008, 08:15 AM)
Always got new thing... doubt this cooler will be more expensive than current red scorpy....
yeah its surely will be more expensive than the current scorpion and everything seem same to me except for the 4 pipe...

37 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0237sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:13 AM