72 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Bottom

Perdana V6 Owners, share ur experience!! V-sixers

tuo850
post Jun 28 2011, 03:46 PM

756 posts

last night while driving, my alternator give up on me...change to recon one the next morning (90amp model) cost me rm260 inclusive of labour charge..
JockMatGuy
post Jun 28 2011, 05:30 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(NeuroOne @ Jun 28 2011, 03:26 PM)
that's quite high budget.
u can get 2008 perdana v6.

but first let me ask u if u want NA or turbo? auto or manual?
hi, am newbie enough for dont know what is NA?
I just need a 'decent' car with approximately 50k budget.
I prefer manual car but the trafic condition(traffic jam) is bad so it would be better to have an auto car?
The different is about 3-4k right?

NeuroOne
post Jun 28 2011, 05:45 PM

495 posts

QUOTE(JockMatGuy @ Jun 28 2011, 05:30 PM)
hi, am newbie enough for dont know what is NA?
I just need a 'decent' car with approximately 50k budget.
I prefer manual car but the trafic condition(traffic jam) is bad so it would be better to have an auto car?
The different is about 3-4k right?
NA - normally aspirated (non-turbo).
like the normal v6 engine.

first and foremost, i would say that perdana have problems with the auto gb.
it's a problem inherited from mitsu.
a lucky owner will get a problem-free gb.

so, if u are looking for an auto, get the least mileage and the youngest car u can get.
perdana v6 from 2005 have installed a standalone ATF cooler which enables the ATF to cools more which in turn, hopefully can prolong the lifetime of the gb.

if u want it to be problem free, straight away go for manual.
and much better pick up, response and much much more fun..
JockMatGuy
post Jun 29 2011, 09:13 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(NeuroOne @ Jun 28 2011, 05:45 PM)
NA - normally aspirated (non-turbo).
like the normal v6 engine.

first and foremost, i would say that perdana have problems with the auto gb.
it's a problem inherited from mitsu.
a lucky owner will get a problem-free gb.

so, if u are looking for an auto, get the least mileage and the youngest car u can get.
perdana v6 from 2005 have installed a standalone ATF cooler which enables the ATF to cools more which in turn, hopefully can prolong the lifetime of the gb.

if u want it to be problem free, straight away go for manual.
and much better pick up, response and much much more fun..
Thanks for your advice notworthy.gif
NeuroOne
post Jun 29 2011, 10:08 AM

495 posts

so, have u decided to get a perdana with NA (normal engine) or turbo?
i think for the time being, perdana V6 NA with manual transmission is good already.

so u gonna spend all the rm50K or that's just a rough budget?
u wanna get the youngest car (which u can get 2008 model) or dont mind getting an older model (2005-2007)?
maybe u can get a 2006 model with manual tranny and use the extra funds to maintain the car.
like getting full service, sound system, sportrims, better suspension system, etc..
JockMatGuy
post Jun 29 2011, 11:20 AM

47 posts

I probably will go for perdana with NA, manual.
rm50k is a rough budget,preferable to get a car which is well-maintained, I dont mind getting older model 2005-2007.It would be nice if the 50k included in the full service but again how much roughly the "full service" cost? I dont need the car with excellent sound system/sportrims.... just need to improve the perfomance and less hassle

I browsed some website for used car but hardly seen 2008 year car for sell.. normally 2004-2007, asking price range 40k to 50k

Do you know anyone selling 2008 car ?
NeuroOne
post Jun 30 2011, 05:04 PM

495 posts

QUOTE(JockMatGuy @ Jun 29 2011, 11:20 AM)
I probably will go for perdana with NA, manual.
rm50k is a rough budget,preferable to get a car which is well-maintained, I dont mind getting older model 2005-2007.It would be nice if the 50k included in the full service but again how much roughly the "full service" cost? I dont need the car with excellent sound system/sportrims.... just need to improve the perfomance and less hassle

I browsed some website for used car but hardly seen 2008 year car for sell.. normally 2004-2007, asking price range 40k to 50k

Do you know anyone selling 2008 car ?
hehe. sorry, a bit hard to help u find a v6 manual.
i have 2 frens asking me to help them find v6 manual.
all i can say is, search mudah.my, search at used car dealer or find a good perdana v6 and transplant manual tranny.

a lot of perdanas on sale are either v6 auto or transplanted to turbos.
to find manual v6 is a bit rare coz they are still using/loving it.

if u cant get manual v6 and if u dont mind sportrims or sound system, then get an auto v6 and search for manual gb.

as for used car that has gotten "major service", i doubt it.
4 frens bought v6 from used car, all 4 kena kencing by dealer who said that the car has undergone major service.
all have to do it themselves afterwards.

set aside about rm2k for service if u getting a used car: timing belt set, spark plugs, waterpump, oil filter, fuel filter, air filter, ATF filter (for auto), flush radiator, bleed the brakes, flush gb, and so on....

for manual gb, set aside about rm3.5-4k for complete set siap pasang..

This post has been edited by NeuroOne: Jun 30 2011, 05:04 PM
JockMatGuy
post Jul 1 2011, 10:25 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(NeuroOne @ Jun 30 2011, 05:04 PM)
hehe. sorry, a bit hard to help u find a v6 manual.
i have 2 frens asking me to help them find v6 manual.
all i can say is, search mudah.my, search at used car dealer or find a good perdana v6 and transplant manual tranny.

a lot of perdanas on sale are either v6 auto or transplanted to turbos.
to find manual v6 is a bit rare coz they are still using/loving it.

if u cant get manual v6 and if u dont mind sportrims or sound system, then get an auto v6 and search for manual gb.

as for used car that has gotten "major service", i doubt it.
4 frens bought v6 from used car, all 4 kena kencing by dealer who said that the car has undergone major service.
all have to do it themselves afterwards.

set aside about rm2k for service if u getting a used car: timing belt set, spark plugs, waterpump, oil filter, fuel filter, air filter, ATF filter (for auto), flush radiator, bleed the brakes, flush gb, and so on....

for manual gb, set aside about rm3.5-4k for complete set siap pasang..
Again, thanks for your advice notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
NeuroOne
post Jul 1 2011, 10:57 AM

495 posts

no problem.
keep us updated in your search ya.

if its up to me, i'd get a 2006-2007 auto model (max rm40k).
service and maintain it first.
with the extra funds, i go get a manual gb (if necessary la, if not maintain auto).

fyi, a my fren is selling a manual gb (code 312 from v6 mivec engine)
peris
post Jul 1 2011, 02:44 PM

227 posts

my auto gearbox kaput already ..
any suggestion bro for workshop around shah alam,subang or PJ ?

JockMatGuy
post Jul 1 2011, 04:53 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(NeuroOne @ Jul 1 2011, 10:57 AM)
no problem.
keep us updated in your search ya.

if its up to me, i'd get a 2006-2007 auto model (max rm40k).
service and maintain it first.
with the extra funds, i go get a manual gb (if necessary la, if not maintain auto).

fyi, a my fren is selling a manual gb (code 312 from v6 mivec engine)
May be still need your help in the future, currently im still out-station

cfcho88
post Jul 3 2011, 11:42 AM

42 posts

My perdana V6 '05 alfa version recently experiencing slow pick-up i.e. feels heavy especially during stop and go traffic jam and at traffic lights. This is more of an on and off situation but has become more often lately.

Wondering if it is because of dirty air filter? or spark plug problem? still a long way from next scheduled servicing so wana do some DIY troubleshooting first. Anyone can explain this situation?
tuo850
post Jul 3 2011, 04:22 PM

756 posts

QUOTE(tuo850 @ Jun 28 2011, 03:46 PM)
last night while driving, my alternator give up on me...change to recon one the next morning (90amp model) cost me rm260 inclusive of labour charge..
i notice my headlight is brighter and my pickup is smoother after this change. however my radio and amp wiring need to be check cause if i connect the wire to battery, immediate battery drain can be felt, especially when starting the engine.

any good wiring workshop in pj ss7/6/24 area?
shdin271
post Jul 10 2011, 03:22 PM

365 posts

hello guys.
im new here.
just dropping by to say hi to all pv6 bro's here.

btw here got some questions.
i just got my pv6 from my dad, coz im studying and need car to travel here at cyber.
wanna ask to u guys, i heard that pv6 got prob with GBox right,, so how i can prevent this prob?
i mean any tips? like can i just lenjan the acceleration or use d2?

i really want to use this car as long as i can. my dad used this car for almost 10 years, mine is 2nd generation.
got near 200k d
so far no major prob until last year when i got my licence and go lenjan that car T.T *dont blame me, u know jiwa remaja whistling.gif * and dunno what happen, i think something wrong with the engine, cramshaft pecah *not so sure, my dad didnt tell me* cost near +/- 1.3k. cry.gif *gone all my after spm working money*

just asking for tips how to drive the car, like how much acceleration i can give etc etc..

and and and any pv6 owner near cyber/puchong/sk/putrajaya, feel free to hit me up..
pleasure to make friends with u guys smile.gif
NeuroOne
post Jul 10 2011, 06:04 PM

495 posts

QUOTE(peris @ Jul 1 2011, 02:44 PM)
my auto gearbox kaput already ..
any suggestion bro for workshop around shah alam,subang or PJ ?
got a reliable workshop in pjs3.
what u wanna do with ur auto gb? overhaul? buy recon? or change to manual?

QUOTE(JockMatGuy @ Jul 1 2011, 04:53 PM)
May be still need your help in the future, currently im still out-station
i'll be glad to help where i can..

QUOTE(cfcho88 @ Jul 3 2011, 11:42 AM)
My perdana V6 '05 alfa version recently experiencing slow pick-up i.e. feels heavy especially during stop and go traffic jam and at traffic lights. This is more of an on and off situation but has become more often lately.

Wondering if it is because of dirty air filter? or spark plug problem? still a long way from next scheduled servicing so wana do some DIY troubleshooting first. Anyone can explain this situation?
how long ago u did servicing?

what other symptoms u hv experience? timing not stable?
might also be the fuel pump, not pumping enuff fuel..

QUOTE(tuo850 @ Jul 3 2011, 04:22 PM)
i notice my headlight is brighter and my pickup is smoother after this change. however my radio and amp wiring need to be check cause if i connect the wire  to battery, immediate battery drain can be felt, especially when starting the engine.

any good wiring workshop in pj ss7/6/24 area?
u change to recon alternator?
sure the lights and horn and other electric related stuff will perform better.
as the brushes are new. optimum copndition la kan..

QUOTE(shdin271 @ Jul 10 2011, 03:22 PM)
hello guys.
im new here.
just dropping by to say hi to all pv6 bro's here.

btw here got some questions.
i just got my pv6 from my dad, coz im studying and need car to travel here at cyber.
wanna ask to u guys, i heard that pv6 got prob with GBox right,, so how i can prevent this prob?
i mean any tips? like can i just lenjan the acceleration or use d2?

i really want to use this car as long as i can. my dad used this car for almost 10 years, mine is 2nd generation.
got near 200k d
so far no major prob until last year when i got my licence and go lenjan that car T.T *dont blame me, u know jiwa remaja  whistling.gif * and dunno what happen, i think something wrong with the engine, cramshaft pecah *not so sure, my dad didnt tell me* cost near +/- 1.3k.  cry.gif *gone all my after spm working money*

just asking for tips how to drive the car, like how much acceleration i can give etc etc..

and and and any pv6 owner near cyber/puchong/sk/putrajaya, feel free to hit me up..
pleasure to make friends with u guys smile.gif
the gb is most rosak item in pv6.
some ppl might get lucky and the gb tahan lama.

cams bengkok maybe if the timing belt putus, the pistons may travel too high/fast and hit the cams/valve.

to prolong the life of the gb: install atf cooler (if u dont have it already) and dont play pikap too often.
the gb is more to long distance and top speed, not pikap2.

btw, i'm in putrajaya. come lets tt..

This post has been edited by NeuroOne: Jul 10 2011, 06:06 PM
nagasie
post Jul 10 2011, 06:41 PM

343 posts

im planning to upgrade my spring and absorber but not prefer adjustable.
is there any suspension setup which is still comfort but at least 2 fingers gap.

btw, mine is standard pv6 tire size.
shdin271
post Jul 10 2011, 06:48 PM

365 posts

QUOTE(NeuroOne @ Jul 10 2011, 06:04 PM)

the gb is most rosak item in pv6.
some ppl might get lucky and the gb tahan lama.

cams bengkok maybe if the timing belt putus, the pistons may travel too high/fast and hit the cams/valve.

to prolong the life of the gb: install atf cooler (if u dont have it already) and dont play pikap too often.
the gb is more to long distance and top speed, not pikap2.

btw, i'm in putrajaya. come lets tt..
ooo yea i still remember i go drive until rpm reach 8 or 9 maybe ~_~ well that when i just got licence and 0 knowledge on these mekanical stuffs *demn how noob i am doh.gif *

so far i think my dad havent change the gbox yet. thats why i need to be more cautious on this. sweat.gif

urmm im not so sure if my dad installed that thing, any idea how to check it ? maybe pic so i can try see whether i got installed or not.

btw got somemore question, if i want to change gbox to m/t, how much estimated price?
just the gbox, not planning to go on other stuffs yet XD

sure bro, im studying at mmu oni,, got time we can go tt thumbup.gif
hehe anyway thanks, its really fast reply biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by shdin271: Jul 10 2011, 06:49 PM
NeuroOne
post Jul 10 2011, 07:01 PM

495 posts

QUOTE(shdin271 @ Jul 10 2011, 06:48 PM)
ooo yea i still remember i go drive until rpm reach 8 or 9 maybe ~_~ well that when i just got licence and 0 knowledge on these mekanical stuffs *demn how noob i am  doh.gif *

so far i think my dad havent change the gbox yet. thats why i need to be more cautious on this.  sweat.gif

urmm im not so sure if my dad installed that thing, any idea how to check it ? maybe pic so i can try see whether i got installed or not.
btw got somemore question, if i want to change gbox to m/t, how much estimated price?
just the gbox, not planning to go on other stuffs yet XD
sure bro, im studying at mmu oni,, got time we can go tt  thumbup.gif
hehe anyway thanks, its really fast reply  biggrin.gif
ori proton atf cooler is placed behind the front bumper, infront of the aircond condenser, a little bit to the left side (co-driver side).
some install it aftermarket and put it wherever they like. i put mine on the right side, shorter hose to the gb and the heat can be pulled by the radiator fan constantly.

u pull till 8k rpm ok la. dont go till 9k rpm if u want the engine to last long.
and also, the max hp is at 6750 rpm. so after that, not much useable power.
max power 147hp @ 6750 rpm and max torque 179Nm @ 4000 rpm.

if wanna change to manual, the cheapest is around rm3.5k siap pasang with 222 code gearbox (2wd gb).
a more powerful gb is 312 (japan 6a12 manual) and 332 (6a12 mivec manual). these 2 gb is 2wd and more expensive at around rm5k siap pasang..

Added on July 10, 2011, 8:21 pm
QUOTE(nagasie @ Jul 10 2011, 06:41 PM)
im planning to upgrade my spring and absorber but not prefer adjustable.
is there any suspension setup which is still comfort but at least 2 fingers gap.

btw, mine is standard pv6 tire size.
the best would be adjustable and look for softer spring rating.
like me, i use 8kg front and 4kg rear. ori is 4kg and 2.5kg. (i'd prefer if can get 6-7kg front)
and it is harder than ori but still comfortable.
good in corners and quite comfy on hiways..

but since u want just springs and absorbers, u can try :
eibach sport springs + koni asorbers or sapura proride sport springs + proride absorbers.
look for sports absorber (shorter stroke) becoz the sport springs are shorter.

This post has been edited by NeuroOne: Jul 10 2011, 08:23 PM
cfcho88
post Jul 10 2011, 08:29 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(cfcho88 @ Jul 3 2011, 11:42 AM)

QUOTE(NeuroOne @ Jul 10 2011, 06:04 PM)

how long ago u did servicing?

what other symptoms u hv experience? timing not stable?
might also be the fuel pump, not pumping enuff fuel..

Just did 110k service 2 months back.. 100k already did major service and changed timing belt. Could be fuel pump problem? Cz it feels heavy during pick-up but its ok as it gains speed..
shdin271
post Jul 10 2011, 08:48 PM

365 posts

QUOTE(NeuroOne @ Jul 10 2011, 07:01 PM)
ori proton atf cooler is placed behind the front bumper, infront of the aircond condenser, a little bit to the left side (co-driver side).
some install it aftermarket and put it wherever they like. i put mine on the right side, shorter hose to the gb and the heat can be pulled by the radiator fan constantly.

u pull till 8k rpm ok la. dont go till 9k rpm if u want the engine to last long.
and also, the max hp is at 6750 rpm. so after that, not much useable power.
max power 147hp @ 6750 rpm and max torque 179Nm @ 4000 rpm.

if wanna change to manual, the cheapest is around rm3.5k siap pasang with 222 code gearbox (2wd gb).
a more powerful gb is 312 (japan 6a12 manual) and 332 (6a12 mivec manual). these 2 gb is 2wd and more expensive at around rm5k siap pasang..
urmm not so sure about that aft cooler, will check it later morning

3.5k wahh need summore money biggrin.gif but sure puas hati what,, rather than stuck with this a/t gbox ~~''
urmm i think maybe go for normal one first, after work then try others lool sweat.gif

72 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Top

0.0331sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 04:20 AM