142 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Bottom

Travel Penang, Accomodations, Attractions & Guides

prospeed_ballz
post Apr 22 2010, 10:24 AM

347 posts

is there any nice halal restaurant along juru - sungai dua expressway....going to perlis on a short trip and maybe stop by at night to have dinner...not too far from the expressway coz on a tight schedule.......

any recomendation......?
firestater
post Apr 22 2010, 10:29 AM

470 posts

QUOTE(prospeed_ballz @ Apr 22 2010, 10:24 AM)
is there any nice halal restaurant along juru - sungai dua expressway....going to perlis on a short trip and maybe stop by at night to have dinner...not too far from the expressway coz on a tight schedule.......

any recomendation......?
Mee Udang Sungai Dua, famous place for Mee Udang. On ur right hand side before entering Sungai Dua Toll.
prospeed_ballz
post Apr 22 2010, 11:34 AM

347 posts

thanks firestar,

u mean before the toll i should exit left and at traffic light under fly over turn right?

what time the restaurant operates?

what about seafood.......any reccomendation?

This post has been edited by prospeed_ballz: Apr 22 2010, 11:36 AM
Putraskyline
post Apr 22 2010, 01:51 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(prospeed_ballz @ Apr 22 2010, 11:34 AM)
thanks firestar,

u mean before  the toll i should exit left and at traffic light under fly over turn right?

what time the restaurant operates?

what about seafood.......any reccomendation?
Yes. Restaurant usually operates from lunch till dinner.
~UGPM~
post Apr 22 2010, 07:02 PM

17 posts

Hi, im planning to go for a budget trip to penang this may (backpacking)..this is my first time to penang..
here is my question..
1. what express bus should i take, if i want to go to gorgetown from kl...is all express bus only stop at butterworth?
2. cheapest budget hotel at gorgetown...

thanks..
etigge
post Apr 22 2010, 07:13 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(~UGPM~ @ Apr 22 2010, 07:02 PM)
Hi, im planning to go for a  budget trip to penang this may (backpacking)..this is my first time to penang..
here is my question..
1. what express bus should i take, if i want to go to gorgetown from kl...is all express bus only stop at butterworth?
2. cheapest budget hotel at gorgetown...

thanks..
There are buses that goes direct to the island. You have to check the counters in Duta Bus station. For budget accomodation can try Traverse Inn in Leboh Campbell right in the heart of Georgetown. They have bunks too for RM10 - Rm12 a night. Apparently there are 4 bunks in a room and if you have 4 person you can take all 4 bunks and lock the room like a normal hotel.

But don't expect attached bathroom larr! laugh.gif It's quite clean, that's important.
animegod
post May 10 2010, 11:43 PM

93 posts

Hi all,
I'm looking for Penang beach hotel which provide private BBQ Facilities.
The team wants to grill with their own raw meat.. don't want hotel one... very lousy.. sweat.gif
And they want beach so they can play.. very childish... shakehead.gif

Can anyone recommend them to me, that is if there's any... smile.gif

DarkNite
post May 11 2010, 09:09 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(animegod @ May 10 2010, 11:43 PM)
Hi all,
I'm looking for Penang beach hotel which provide private BBQ Facilities.
The team wants to grill with their own raw meat.. don't want hotel one... very lousy..  sweat.gif
And they want beach so they can play.. very childish...  shakehead.gif

Can anyone recommend them to me, that is if there's any...  smile.gif
All hotel along the Batu Feringgi have BBQ Facilities but due to health & hygiene reason they are unable to let their guest grill their own.
They also organize beach games, provided the necessary apparatus/facilities and the clean-up for you and your team. After all the play play, I doubt your team wants to do the washing & clean up. laugh.gif

There are a few guest house but they are not located along the beach.
cranx
post May 12 2010, 04:15 AM

1,360 posts

for the penang residents, please recommend me a nice and convenient hotel/apartment.

is it possible to get a 2 room apartment for RM200++?

weirdguy
post May 20 2010, 10:24 AM

587 posts

Hello,

My friends and I going to travel down to Kuala Lumpur for 7N6D. We reached KLCC late - 11pm. After booking, we think 6 days in Kuala Lumpur is quite long. Therefore, we plan to travel to other state such as Penang.

Mind to introduce me where to go Penang? We don't have a car in Penang so please suggest places with reasonable walking distance. Please suggest accomodation too.

I had checked out the KTM for route from KL Sental to Butterworth. Is it recommended? There are also three 3 different type of Coach/fare - AEC,AFC,ASC. They are not stated in detail regarding the difference, except the price.
msbroccoli
post May 20 2010, 01:07 PM

You can have a look with B-Suite, Penang. The location is quite strategic. The studio suite is also quite big enough with reasonable price.
DarkNite
post May 20 2010, 01:19 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

Take Bus - Aeroline from 1Utama or Nice from KTM. Faster and cheaper. KL to Pg Island average time by bus should be 4 hours. From the bus depot you can take a cab to your accommodations.
Accommodation? What kind and budget?

Added on May 20, 2010, 1:20 pm
QUOTE(msbroccoli @ May 20 2010, 01:07 PM)
You can have a look with B-Suite, Penang. The location is quite strategic. The studio suite is also quite big enough with reasonable price.
Not if you dun have your own transport.

This post has been edited by DarkNite: May 20 2010, 01:20 PM
weirdguy
post May 20 2010, 02:22 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(msbroccoli @ May 20 2010, 01:07 PM)
Noted.

QUOTE(DarkNite @ May 20 2010, 01:19 PM)
Take Bus - Aeroline from 1Utama or Nice from KTM. Faster and cheaper. KL to Pg Island average time by bus should be 4 hours. From the bus depot you can take a cab to your accommodations.
Accommodation? What kind and budget?

Added on May 20, 2010, 1:20 pm
Not if you dun have your own transport.
My budget for accomodation - about RM100/night or something like Tune Hotels.
Is Tune Hotel location good?

What tourist usually do in Penang? I've check the Wiki Travel. Nothing much.

DarkNite
post May 20 2010, 03:59 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(weirdguy @ May 20 2010, 02:22 PM)
Noted.
My budget for accomodation - about RM100/night or something like Tune Hotels.
Is Tune Hotel location good?

What tourist usually do in Penang? I've check the Wiki Travel. Nothing much.
What does good location means to you?
Convenient to shopping or places of historical interest or near to public transport or near to Penang Hawker food?
Do you need halal food?

Tourist come to Penang to unwind, sleep on the beach, walk the historical heritage trail or hike up the hills near botanical gardens, visit Chinese temples, old Mosque, see snakes, butterfly and insects. Sample the local food and culture.
What is your poison? hmm.gif
weirdguy
post May 20 2010, 04:38 PM

587 posts

I can't make up my mind so I list them down.

Shopping: 30%
Shopping is not a major factor. We can still shop in KL as we will be staying there for a few night.

Penang Hawker Food: 50%
I hear amazing food over there. Definitely want to try.

Historical Interest: 20%
So so. The Botanical Garden does interest me.

No, I am not concern with non-Halal food.
DarkNite
post May 20 2010, 04:57 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

Then, quick book Tune Hotel. laugh.gif
Use the map in Google and check your orientation and plan the visits.

Here are few links for you to checkout, anything you not sure just post here.
http://www.tourismpenang.gov.my/
http://www.tourismpenang.gov.my/attractions.html

Food
http://makanpenang.blogspot.com/
http://rasamalaysia.com/insider-guide-to-p...hawker-food_12/
weirdguy
post May 20 2010, 05:11 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ May 20 2010, 04:57 PM)
Then, quick book Tune Hotel. laugh.gif
Use the map in Google and check your orientation and plan the visits.

Here are few links for you to checkout, anything you not sure just post here.
http://www.tourismpenang.gov.my/
http://www.tourismpenang.gov.my/attractions.html

Food
http://makanpenang.blogspot.com/
http://rasamalaysia.com/insider-guide-to-p...hawker-food_12/
Wow. Thanks for the site.

Just curious,

Is it worth to use Firefly via Subang Airport to Penang? How much is it from Penang Airport to the City Centre?
DarkNite
post May 20 2010, 05:22 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(weirdguy @ May 20 2010, 05:11 PM)
Wow. Thanks for the site.

Just curious,

Is it worth to use Firefly via Subang Airport to Penang? How much is it from Penang Airport to the City Centre?
No idea cos always got people to pick me up.
Many many moons ago it cos about RM25, but now dunno, btw here Penang taxis all very expensive(much more compare to KL) and not using meter!!! sweat.gif sweat.gif
Better take the bus - Nice or Aeroline. Money save can spend more here. laugh.gif
AskarPerang
post May 20 2010, 09:06 PM

~tUPaI...~
23,688 posts

QUOTE(weirdguy @ May 20 2010, 10:24 AM)
Hello,

My friends and I going to travel down to Kuala Lumpur for 7N6D. We reached KLCC late - 11pm. After booking, we think 6 days in Kuala Lumpur is quite long. Therefore, we plan to travel to other state such as Penang.

Mind to introduce me where to go Penang? We don't have a car in Penang so please suggest places with reasonable walking distance. Please suggest accomodation too.

I had checked out the KTM for route from KL Sental to Butterworth. Is it recommended? There are also three 3 different type of Coach/fare - AEC,AFC,ASC. They are not stated in detail regarding the difference, except the price.
AEC = economy class
ASC = second class
AFC = first class

All sitting type. Express rakyat.

Express Langkawi got sleepers coach but maybe the time does not suit you all.
etigge
post May 21 2010, 06:13 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(weirdguy @ May 20 2010, 04:38 PM)
I can't make up my mind so I list them down.

Shopping: 30%
Shopping is not a major factor. We can still shop in KL as we will be staying there for a few night.

Penang Hawker Food: 50%
I hear amazing food over there. Definitely want to try.

Historical Interest: 20%
So so. The Botanical Garden does interest me.

No, I am not concern with non-Halal food.
Actually there are a lot of hotel in Transfer Road that are cheaper than Tune Hotel. In fact Traverse Inn in Campbell St. is even more suitable and cheaper too if you just need a room to sleep and rest or take a bath. The location is quite central where there are lots of food to savour. Line Clear nasi kandar is walking distance. Hameedia nasi Briyani is a few doors away. The dim sum along Campbell St, the pork noodle in Cintra St. is also along the road.

A slightly longer walk(maybe half an hour) to Burmah Road will take you to New World(Swatow Lane) to try the famous ice kacang or maybe Lorong Selamat ice kacang with the famous 'lan si' fried kuey teow. Other local food in this outlet is also good like their lobak, prawn mee and even the kuey teow th'ng.

Armenian St. and Carnarvon St. is also all walking distance away. Esplanade and museum is also walking distance away or if you are lazy, trishaws can take you there.

Penang Road is just 50 meters away and there you can walk to the famous Cendol stall and Chowrasta market for native Penang products. Along the way there's shopping. At night you can walk to Leith St. for drinks or Upper Penang Road. The choice is so many as the location is quite central.

A 10 minute bus ride to P.Tikus can take you to Gurney Drive, sleeping Buddha and Burmese temple.

In half a day you can take a bus to Air Itam to visit Kek Lok Si temple and sample the Assam Laksa near the market. In fact you can even spend a day at the beach, just take a bus to Batu Ferrigghi. It's only an hour away by bus.

We used to travel to this places by bus. Sometimes it is even more relaxing and enjoyable. You have quite a number of days, enjoy Penang on foot. nod.gif

Nowadays people likes to rush even when they are visiting places. doh.gif MAkes holiday more tiring than a normal working day.

This post has been edited by etigge: May 21 2010, 06:16 AM

142 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Top

0.0209sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 08:46 AM