Travel Penang, Accomodations, Attractions & Guides

weirdguy
post May 21 2010, 09:16 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ May 21 2010, 06:13 AM)
Actually there are a lot of hotel in Transfer Road that are cheaper than Tune Hotel. In fact Traverse Inn in Campbell St. is even more suitable and cheaper too if you just need a room to sleep and rest or take a bath. The location is quite central where there are lots of food to savour. Line Clear nasi kandar is walking distance. Hameedia nasi Briyani is a few doors away. The dim sum along Campbell St, the pork noodle in Cintra St. is also along the road.

A slightly longer walk(maybe half an hour) to Burmah Road will take you to New World(Swatow Lane) to try the famous ice kacang or maybe Lorong Selamat ice kacang with the famous 'lan si' fried kuey teow. Other local food in this outlet is also good like their lobak, prawn mee and even the kuey teow th'ng.

Armenian St. and Carnarvon St. is also all walking distance away. Esplanade and museum is also walking distance away or if you are lazy, trishaws can take you there.

Penang Road is just 50 meters away and there you can walk to the famous Cendol stall and Chowrasta market for native Penang products. Along the way there's shopping. At night you can walk to Leith St. for drinks or Upper Penang Road. The choice is so many as the location is quite central.

A 10 minute bus ride to P.Tikus can take you to Gurney Drive, sleeping Buddha and Burmese temple.

In half a day you can take a bus to Air Itam to visit Kek Lok Si temple and sample the Assam Laksa near the market. In fact you can even spend a day at the beach, just take a bus to Batu Ferrigghi. It's only an hour away by bus.

We used to travel to this places by bus. Sometimes it is even more relaxing and enjoyable. You have quite a number of days, enjoy Penang on foot. nod.gif

Nowadays people likes to rush even when they are visiting places. doh.gif  MAkes holiday more tiring than a normal working day.
Thanks for the extensive suggestion.

I can't seems to find the website or any online review for Traverse Inn. If you don't mind share your experience with the Inn, how much would you rate the hotel in terms of cleanliness?
DarkNite
post May 21 2010, 09:47 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

BTW Tune Hotel is next door to New World Park(Swatow Lane) Food center on Burmah Road.
TommyTan
post May 21 2010, 10:08 AM

You can call me Mr. Tan or Tommy
1,777 posts

I always go swatow lane for food. airy, fairly decent food.
etigge
post May 21 2010, 11:39 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(weirdguy @ May 21 2010, 09:16 AM)
Thanks for the extensive suggestion.

I can't seems to find the website or any online review for Traverse Inn. If you don't mind share your experience with the Inn, how much would you rate the hotel in terms of cleanliness?
Traverse Inn is actually a budget hotel in Campbell St. I have stayed there before and I find it clean but you have to use common bath and toilets. I think the rates is about RM50 - RM60 for a double and bunk bed is about RM12 per person. I don't think there's a webpage for it. They always advertise in the Star classifieds. Traverse Inn is just an idea. You can go Transfer Road where there are many hotels, walk in, check their rooms and if it satisfies your need then check in. Even Chulia St. nearby has lots of hotels. You can even chat with the backpackers at night over a beer.

If you want a better one, maybe the row of hotels in Penang Road might be suitable. They sometimes sell their rooms for RM80 - RM130 per night. Hotels like Oriental, Merchant, Lighthouse, Townhouse, Waldorf, Continental, Cathay is all house in the same area and also very near the places I mentioned. icon_idea.gif

As Darknite suggested, you can book into Tune Hotel. All the buses run along Burmah Road except the one to Air Itam (Kek Lok Si temple).

This post has been edited by etigge: May 21 2010, 11:43 AM
DarkNite
post May 21 2010, 01:07 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

There are many genuine backpackers hotel and lodging but do be careful & check if it is 'ayam' place or not, before you commit.
etigge
post May 22 2010, 01:25 PM

295 posts

hmm.gif I am just wondering if there are people interested in taking a laid back travelling like I do in the past. I m planning to go Penang and hangout there for 5 days. I want to rely totally on public transport from KL to Penang and also public transports on the island.

T icon_idea.gif entatively, I might book a first class sleepers in KTM (2 to a room) and reach there in the morning and take the old ferry across. Book into a 2 to 3 star hotel in town. Walk around the city, savour the food, takes lots of photos. Take buses to the respective places of interest like Kek Lok Si temple, Botanical Garden, Sleeping Buddha, Burmese Temple, trying hawker food at night. Spend one night in Batu Feringghi. There will be no fixed itineries and will plan only on the go.

biggrin.gif I mean this is how backpackers tours the country. They see more than we do. What we are doing is just the opposite! We cram everything into 2 to 3 days, running all over and missing everything! Get stucked in jams and overlooking everything. I was thinking of a group of 15 to 20 pax and most importantly is the company of each other as friends. I am quite familiar witht he public transportation routes there as I have spent my schooldays there and was thinking of doing the island retro style.

So, travellers, what do you think, want to join? whistling.gif whistling.gif whistling.gif
DarkNite
post May 22 2010, 01:50 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

Wow you are good la. Till today, I'm NOT familiar with the public transportation routes here even though I had commute by bus during my schooldays and is currently a resident of Pg.

Backpacker tends to go for the local food and cultural stuff at a slow savory pace.

Your itinerary sound just about right. And after spending a night on the Batu Ferringgi beach, you can visit the nearby fruit farms, Butterfly/insect farms or the Taman Rimba or take a hike to Muka head and return by boat whilst watching the sun set.

You can also visit the Traditional Malay Kampong at Sg Rusa or take a bus to Balik Pulau Market for Laksa and fresh Buah Pala Juice.

From there, on the way back drop by the Snake temple.
Aeon_Clock
post May 24 2010, 02:55 AM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

besides Kek Lok Si temple, Botanical Garden, Sleeping Buddha, Burmese Temple...is there anything else to see there? I'm quite interested in the Penang Hill cable car.
DarkNite
post May 24 2010, 06:54 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

Last time I read that the cable car stop operating already, anyone can confirmed?
stimix
post May 24 2010, 09:45 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Unker Ettige, u want this thread to be combined wth the original Penang threas?

Abit duplicating each other dy..
etigge
post May 24 2010, 09:52 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ May 24 2010, 09:45 AM)
Unker Ettige, u want this thread to be combined wth the original Penang threas?

Abit duplicating each other dy..
No problem Stimix, thanks
samantha88
post May 24 2010, 11:51 AM

114 posts

I'll do that in european countries...but not malaysia
coz the buses here were never on time, and the sun is hot tongue.gif

This post has been edited by samantha88: May 24 2010, 11:52 AM
joeylny
post May 24 2010, 12:57 PM

555 posts

Cant wait to go penang! manage to book cheap tune hotel rooms.. only bout RM10+ a room / night!
etigge
post May 24 2010, 02:57 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(samantha88 @ May 24 2010, 11:51 AM)
tongue.gif Quite true also. But then I'll take it as a workout, biggrin.gif
DarkNite
post May 24 2010, 04:17 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(samantha88 @ May 24 2010, 11:51 AM)
That the difference in some of us and back-packing holidays. laugh.gif

To some that hot sun and 'never on time' buses itself is an adventure wink.gif

msbroccoli
post May 24 2010, 04:25 PM

QUOTE(joeylny @ May 24 2010, 12:57 PM)
Cant wait to go penang! manage to book cheap tune hotel rooms.. only bout RM10+ a room / night!
wow~~ so cheap..
where's tune hotel in penang??
DarkNite
post May 24 2010, 05:00 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(msbroccoli @ May 24 2010, 04:25 PM)
wow~~ so cheap..

In case you are unable to see
QUOTE(DarkNite @ May 21 2010, 09:47 AM)
BTW Tune Hotel is next door to New World Park(Swatow Lane) Food center on Burmah Road.
This post has been edited by DarkNite: May 24 2010, 05:02 PM
Aeon_Clock
post May 24 2010, 09:06 PM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

is the Penang cable car still working?
joeylny
post May 25 2010, 11:38 AM

555 posts

QUOTE(msbroccoli @ May 24 2010, 04:25 PM)
wow~~ so cheap..
burmah road i think..
its quite convenient if u have a car ive stayed there before..

amy_n_juss
post May 25 2010, 04:04 PM

69 posts

i'm attending a course for 4 days in penang in July. it will be held in evergreen.
my budget for hotel room is between rm150 to rm180. max is rm200 (have to top up with own money)
i called G hotel, northam, Gurney Hotel n evergreen n found that their rates are above my budget.

is there any nearby hotel within my budget?
walking distance is ok, i don't mind.
during nights and weekend, i would like to do some touristy stuff like shopping for local items and eat popular street food.

i have read all posts in this thread and unfortunately, i'm not sure which hotel to stay.
pls help. thanks notworthy.gif

142 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0182sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 11:14 PM