Travel Penang, Accomodations, Attractions & Guides

navilink
post Jan 25 2010, 09:55 PM

【ツ】
10,783 posts

going to penang this saturday! well well i've been to penang quite a few years ago, but that time i visit those famous places only, like the kek lok si, bukit bendera, batu feringhi, snake temple.. alll commercial places. so this time wanna go more secret, secluded places

i like nature a lot, so any nature places to recommend?
and west side of penang looks secluded, must be some gem places there?

EDIT: Penang Botanical Gardens Waterfall.. this waterfall seems like one must get permit from perbadanan air penang, anyone gone there? how to apply permit?

This post has been edited by navilink: Jan 25 2010, 10:12 PM
Ami Tsun
post Jan 26 2010, 12:13 AM

QUOTE(navilink @ Jan 25 2010, 09:55 PM)
going to penang this saturday! well well i've been to penang quite a few years ago, but that time i visit those famous places only, like the kek lok si, bukit bendera, batu feringhi, snake temple.. alll commercial places. so this time wanna go more secret, secluded places

i like nature a lot, so any nature places to recommend?
and west side of penang looks secluded, must be some gem places there?

EDIT: Penang Botanical Gardens Waterfall.. this waterfall seems like one must get permit from perbadanan air penang, anyone gone there? how to apply permit?
You like nature a lot? You should visit the Penang National Park, at Teluk Bahang. There are walking trails to Pantai Kerachut, Muka Head etc. The latest addition there is the Canopy Walk.
DarkNite
post Jan 26 2010, 08:21 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(Ami Tsun @ Jan 26 2010, 12:13 AM)
You like nature a lot?  You should visit the Penang National Park, at Teluk Bahang.  There are walking trails to Pantai Kerachut, Muka Head etc.  The latest addition there is the Canopy Walk.

+1 thumbup.gif

You can also arrange for a boat to take you to muka head where the light house is. Don't forget to make arrangement for the return trip, if you are not planning to hike back.
If you are really the adventurous type, you can hike from Moon gate to Balik Pulau! Please get a map and GPS. Travel early morning, stock up correctly and ensure everyone hike together!

This post has been edited by DarkNite: Jan 26 2010, 08:21 AM
navilink
post Jan 27 2010, 09:31 PM

【ツ】
10,783 posts

thanks guys.. nature is my game haha!
anyway found a very good website to explore the park..
http://www.penang-vacations.com/penang-nat...ark-trails.html

so basically i will go
1) teluk bahang to muka head (2.5km)
2) muka head back to teluk bahang (2.5km)
3) teluk bahang to pantai kerachut (3km)
4) pantai kerachut back to teluk bahang (3km)
total damage 11km.. hehe.. i think need 1 whole day.. maybe extend to teluk ketapang if time permits..

This post has been edited by navilink: Jan 27 2010, 09:39 PM
Ami Tsun
post Jan 28 2010, 07:51 PM

QUOTE(navilink @ Jan 27 2010, 09:31 PM)
thanks guys.. nature is my game haha!
anyway found a very good website to explore the park..
http://www.penang-vacations.com/penang-nat...ark-trails.html

so basically i will go
1) teluk bahang to muka head (2.5km)
2) muka head back to teluk bahang (2.5km)
3) teluk bahang to pantai kerachut (3km)
4) pantai kerachut back to teluk bahang (3km)
total damage 11km.. hehe.. i think need 1 whole day.. maybe extend to teluk ketapang if time permits..
Basically, the whole area is called Teluk Bahang. You'll need to register at the National Park Office first, then report to the office when you are back. You can collect the brochure (with trails' Map) and ask the staff for info at the office. Entrance to the National Park is FREE, but need to pay 5ringgit for the canopy walk.

While you are at the Teluk Bahang fishing vililage, you may want to speak to the locals and get some fishermen's contact number, in case you need to take a boat ride back later (very tiring after Muka Head Light House)...

Also, bring lots of drinking water and food! There's no food/drink stall inside the park.

Check out this site:
http://www.my-island-penang.com/Penang-National-Park.html

Enjoy your trip! If you still got energy, can try hiking in Penang. Lots of hiking trails... Botanical garden to Penang Hill, Moon Gate to Balik Pulau etc...
alien86
post Jan 28 2010, 09:40 PM

24 posts

i will go to penang for pre-valentine day with my gf next week..
can u guys suggest me a nice and affordable dining restaurant? wish to hav the bill within RM100 for 2 person. lol

if possible, suggest some nice place to have a walk after dinner. thx thx
samlee860407
post Jan 28 2010, 10:26 PM

4,631 posts

pre-valentine huh? lang sae lee thai food might suits u tongue.gif

try google it, and see what some blogers have a say on them.

i will go visit them this saturday liao

PS: choose it because of its environment
navilink
post Jan 28 2010, 11:13 PM

【ツ】
10,783 posts

QUOTE(Ami Tsun @ Jan 28 2010, 07:51 PM)
Basically, the whole area is called Teluk Bahang.  You'll need to register at the National Park Office first, then report to the office when you are back.  You can collect the brochure (with trails' Map) and ask the staff for info at the office.  Entrance to the National Park is FREE, but need to pay 5ringgit for the canopy walk.

While you are at the Teluk Bahang fishing vililage, you may want to speak to the locals and get some fishermen's contact number, in case you need to take a boat ride back later (very tiring after Muka Head Light House)...

Also, bring lots of drinking water and food!  There's no food/drink stall inside the park.

Check out this site:
http://www.my-island-penang.com/Penang-National-Park.html

Enjoy your trip!  If you still got energy, can try hiking in Penang.  Lots of hiking trails...  Botanical garden to Penang Hill, Moon Gate to Balik Pulau etc...

ok.. but i'm very certain i will never take a boat ride even if rain.. i'm on very tight budget laugh.gif that should cover 1 whole day of the trip..

planned for the waterfall in botanical garden, but getting permit was too troublesome sweat.gif
etigge
post Jan 29 2010, 03:28 PM

295 posts

Have anyone tried a Thai Restaurant named 'Yellow Dot'. It is in Jalan Fettes on the way to Tg.Bungah via the reservoir road. Many years ago, this was just a semi D house where the wife of this man cooks very authentic Thai dishes for the locals. You have to pre book and order to dine. I chanced upon it when I heard from the locals but I was served what other guest was having. Nice ! thumbup.gif
A few years back I pass by again and it has turn into a full fledged restaurant with signboard. I wonder if the restaurant is still around, anyone from Penang?
DarkNite
post Jan 30 2010, 05:56 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Jan 29 2010, 03:28 PM)
Have anyone tried a Thai Restaurant named 'Yellow Dot'. It is in Jalan Fettes on the way to Tg.Bungah via the reservoir road. Many years ago, this was just a semi D house where the wife of this man cooks very authentic Thai dishes for the locals. You have to pre book and order  to dine. I chanced upon it when I heard from the locals but I was served what other guest was having. Nice ! thumbup.gif
A few years back I pass by again and it has turn into a full fledged restaurant with signboard. I wonder if the restaurant is still around, anyone from Penang?
Yup still there but never eat there for many moons now, btw it is Yellow Light.

samlee860407
post Jan 31 2010, 07:09 PM

4,631 posts

went to lang sae lee 2 times in 2 days lol

i can say that the food there is nice, especially the siam laksa, oh mai oh mai yummy biggrin.gif

the environment is greeatto, eating at kampung floating on the sea, wooto.

but very hot la...haizz.....old house ma, wat to expect leh tongue.gif
hihihehe
post Feb 4 2010, 02:55 PM

13,775 posts

hehe..already booked hotel on 16th-18th this month at sunway hotel georgetown..
hope it going "smooth" at thr tongue.gif
samlee860407
post Feb 4 2010, 03:22 PM

4,631 posts

ooo 16th to 18th, shud be ok la lol
DarkNite
post Feb 4 2010, 03:33 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

I think it will be smooth only after the 9th day of CNY or after the Penang Hokkien big big prayers to the sky god, correct me if I'm wrong. laugh.gif
hihihehe
post Feb 4 2010, 05:58 PM

13,775 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Feb 4 2010, 03:22 PM)
ooo 16th to 18th, shud be ok la lol
hope so...finger cross cool.gif

Added on February 5, 2010, 11:25 amthis is sad..sudd get a call tht cant book bcoz not available or fork out another RM100 per night..

i tried to book sunway hotel myself at 18th n it cost RM165 but when put 2 adults for 1 room, the price become RM0..=.="
any1 booked sunway hotel in georgetown b4?

This post has been edited by hihihehe: Feb 5 2010, 11:25 AM
Amedion
post Feb 5 2010, 04:43 PM

It's a bird! No, it's a plane! No, it's star
3,377 posts

I booked BayView Hotel for RM 472.80 on 16th and 17th ...
hihihehe
post Feb 5 2010, 05:00 PM

13,775 posts

any1 stay B-Suite hotel b4?how was it?
can twin single bed fit 4 people?(i saw the single bed like bigger a bit)

Putraskyline
post Feb 5 2010, 05:51 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Feb 5 2010, 05:00 PM)
any1 stay B-Suite hotel b4?how was it?
can twin single bed fit 4 people?(i saw the single bed like bigger a bit)
Usually can because they use super single bed.
samlee860407
post Feb 5 2010, 05:55 PM

4,631 posts

kasi bring down the bed to the floor, 1 sleep at hard hard punya thing, 1 sleep at soft soft punya thing
hihihehe
post Feb 5 2010, 10:13 PM

13,775 posts

lol
the hard thing is pain..
but i guess 1 single bed can fit 2 person except fat guy

142 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 > » Top

0.0200sec    1.12    6 queries    GZIP Disabled