> Plaster Ceiling Renovation, How much does it cost? Renovations

kelvyn
post Nov 4 2011, 05:51 PM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(cvshi515 @ Nov 4 2011, 06:47 PM)
Okay, if thats the case, should i just add a line of downlight wiring in the middle?
Sorry, I am not sure about you layout, dimensions, etc. Are you planning for a ceiling fan?
So, cannot comment.

cvshi515
post Nov 4 2011, 11:38 PM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(kelvyn @ Nov 4 2011, 05:51 PM)
Sorry, I am not sure about you layout, dimensions, etc. Are you planning for a ceiling fan?
So, cannot comment.
Okok, I will try to upload the floor plan when im back home smile.gif

Updated. Please see the floor plan for my living room as below:

The yellow color box representing lightbox and the middle one is the downlight. Please comments.

This post has been edited by cvshi515: Nov 5 2011, 11:57 AM
kelvyn
post Nov 5 2011, 09:50 PM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(cvshi515 @ Nov 5 2011, 12:38 AM)
Okok, I will try to upload the floor plan when im back home smile.gif

Updated. Please see the floor plan for my living room as below:

The yellow color box representing lightbox and the middle one is the downlight. Please comments.
Don't think one ceiling fan would be sufficient. Unless you are planning of using AC.
BTW, is this a condo/ apartment?
The nos of downlights and its position are definitely not sufficient for reading.
The lengths of your lightbox looks odd. Why not both the same length?
leeyung
post Nov 5 2011, 10:00 PM

1st LYN Pioneer Genuine Marimo Seller
885 posts

Recently have a discussion with another plaster ceiling contractor, he mentioned that for the plaster ceiling steel/alu rod which is used to hold the plaster board, standard distance in between each rod is about 18", he also told me that if the distance is too far, the plaster ceiling will have the curve wave and hard to install. Some contractor will reduce the cost of material by increasing the distance.

Do you guys think this distance is standard? because I didnt see any discussion about this biggrin.gif
weikee
post Nov 5 2011, 10:03 PM

12,019 posts

Last time is 16" or less, now is 18" or further because using thin board and also the metal are thin too.
leeyung
post Nov 5 2011, 10:06 PM

885 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Nov 5 2011, 10:03 PM)
Last time is 16" or less, now is 18" or further because using thin board and also the metal are thin too.
icic, the 18" he told me is for 9mm board biggrin.gif, wow 16" really a lot of difference if compared to 18"
weikee
post Nov 5 2011, 10:08 PM

12,019 posts

Even 9mm, material is difference. The board is lighter now.
leeyung
post Nov 5 2011, 10:23 PM

885 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Nov 5 2011, 10:08 PM)
Even 9mm, material is difference. The board is lighter now.
icic, bro weikee, u r one of the sifus here smile.gif Because u know everything brows.gif

This post has been edited by leeyung: Nov 5 2011, 10:23 PM
weikee
post Nov 5 2011, 10:41 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(leeyung @ Nov 5 2011, 10:23 PM)
icic, bro weikee, u r one of the sifus here smile.gif Because u know everything brows.gif
This one plaster ceiling guy told me mah smile.gif

Me is just a "Jack of all trades master of none".

This post has been edited by weikee: Nov 5 2011, 10:45 PM
cvshi515
post Nov 5 2011, 11:15 PM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(kelvyn @ Nov 5 2011, 09:50 PM)
Don't think one ceiling fan would be sufficient. Unless you are planning of using AC.
BTW, is this a condo/ apartment?
The nos of downlights and its position are definitely not sufficient for reading.
The lengths of your lightbox looks odd. Why not both the same length?
Yeap, planning to put an AC at the entrance. This is a single storey house biggrin.gif . The length was diff due to the available wall, the shorter length side has the walk way to the common area and other room smile.gif.

So what do you recon? I need more down light at the center?

My initial plan was to have 8x down lights to cover the entire living room. But my concerns is that the 8x of down lights may not be bright enough. Which is why i go for the light box that tend to be brighter than down light.
Jeffery WL
post Nov 5 2011, 11:32 PM

18 posts

Hai
anyone have any contact that doing plaster ceiling and wiring as well.

Currently what is the market price for:
-Plaster Ceiling psf?
-L.Box Light Trough psf?
-Down Light Wire Looping each?
-New Point each?
kelvyn
post Nov 6 2011, 09:40 AM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(cvshi515 @ Nov 6 2011, 12:15 AM)
Yeap, planning to put an AC at the entrance. This is a single storey house  biggrin.gif . The length was diff due to the available wall, the shorter length side has the walk way to the common area and other room smile.gif.

So what do you recon? I need more down light at the center?

My initial plan was to have 8x down lights to cover the entire living room. But my concerns is that the 8x of down lights may not be bright enough. Which is why i go for the light box that tend to be brighter than down light.
I would reckon that it is the reversal. The down lights which are direct lighting would be brighter.
Was the layout for the living & dining area? 1st, you should establish the ceiling fans locations.
I believe there should be a ceiling fan at each locations. Living & Dining.
BTW, since yours is a single storey, it would be warmer, thus the fans are important.
After you have establish the positions of the ceiling fans, then have the down lights around it.
Taking into consideration the shadow created due to the moving fan blades.
scouser7
post Nov 6 2011, 02:02 PM

233 posts

Guys what you think of this quote I got from Plaster ceiling guy called Ah keong from cheras? Note that most of the plaster ceiling steel/alu rod which is used to hold the plaster board is beyond 2 feet coz my ceiling is very high. Thanks in advance blush.gif

MASTER ROOM
Ft Price/ft Total Amount (RM)

a) Ceiling 165 2.50 412.50
b) L-Box Light Holder 70 13.00 910.00
c) Curtain L-Box Light Holder 11 13.00 143.00

SMALL ROOM (BEHIND)

a) Ceiling 90 2.50 225.00
b) L-Box 38 13.00 494.00

LIVING HALL

a) Ceiling 266 2.50 665.00
b) Staircase step 78 15.00 1,170.00
c) Curtain L-Box Light Holder 14 13.00 182.00

2nd LIVING HALL

a) Ceiling 121 2.50 302.50
b) L-Box Light Holder 22 13.00 286.00
c) L-Box 4 13.00 52.00

CARPARK

a) Ceiling 319 2.50 797.50
b) Fan L-Box 24 13.00 312.00

Others ceiling 555 2.50 1,387.50
Fan hanger 9 15.00 135.00

TOTAL 7,000.00 (discount fro RM7474.00)

This post has been edited by scouser7: Nov 6 2011, 03:29 PM
cvshi515
post Nov 6 2011, 05:13 PM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(kelvyn @ Nov 6 2011, 09:40 AM)
I would reckon that it is the reversal. The down lights which are direct lighting would be brighter.
Was the layout for the living & dining area? 1st, you should establish the ceiling fans locations.
I believe there should be a ceiling fan at each locations. Living & Dining.
BTW, since yours is a single storey, it would be warmer, thus the fans are important.
After you have establish the positions of the ceiling fans, then have the down lights around it.
Taking into consideration the shadow created due to the moving fan blades.
I see, so which mean the down lights would be a better option in term of brightness ya. The layout that I posted was for living room only. Dining area will have its dedicated ceiling fan smile.gif.

Great advice! I will take note of the flicker effect by the fan blades.
kelvyn
post Nov 7 2011, 10:18 AM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(cvshi515 @ Nov 6 2011, 06:13 PM)
I see, so which mean the down lights would be a better option in term of brightness ya. The layout that I posted was for living room only. Dining area will have its dedicated ceiling fan smile.gif.

Great advice! I will take note of the flicker effect by the fan blades.
The living room looks long. Don't think one ceiling fan located in the middle of 6.8m (22') will be sufficient to cover the whole length. You may want to take a look at this first before you plan out your down lights.

Good luck
cvshi515
post Nov 8 2011, 09:47 AM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(kelvyn @ Nov 7 2011, 10:18 AM)
The living room looks long. Don't think one ceiling fan located in the middle of 6.8m (22') will be sufficient to cover the whole length. You may want to take a look at this first before you plan out your down lights.

Good luck
Yeah, the living is kinda long. Ok, I will re-evaluation the number of fan required. Besides, I am firmed on putting in downlight in my living room. Instead of putting 8 of them, I will put 10 down lights: P. I am sure it should be bright enough this time.

Just curious, is there any calculation of positioning the ceiling fan distance away from the down light to avoid flickering?

phoenix69
post Nov 8 2011, 10:05 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(cvshi515 @ Nov 8 2011, 09:47 AM)
Yeah, the living is kinda long. Ok, I will re-evaluation the number of fan required. Besides, I am firmed on putting in downlight in my living room. Instead of putting 8 of them, I will put 10 down lights: P. I am sure it should be bright enough this time.

Just curious, is there any calculation of positioning the ceiling fan distance away from the down light to avoid flickering?
The general answer seems to be
"at least more than 2 feet away from the blade edge,",
This is the answer I got so far either from shop assistant, my contractor or forum members. blush.gif
Nobody has given any more specific answer at the moment.

kelvyn
post Nov 8 2011, 11:24 AM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(cvshi515 @ Nov 8 2011, 10:47 AM)

QUOTE(phoenix69 @ Nov 8 2011, 11:05 AM)
The general answer seems to be
"at least more than 2 feet away from the blade edge,",
This is the answer I got so far either from shop assistant, my contractor or forum members. blush.gif
Nobody has given any more specific answer at the moment.
2 feet should be the general guide. However, it will depends on the length of the metal rod used to suspend the fan from the ceiling hook.
peter82
post Nov 10 2011, 02:58 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(Jeffery WL @ Nov 5 2011, 11:32 PM)
Hai
anyone have any contact that doing plaster ceiling and wiring as well.

Currently what is the market price for:
-Plaster Ceiling psf?
-L.Box Light Trough psf?
-Down Light Wire Looping each?
-New Point each?
I just renovate my house. If you are interested, I can pass mine contractor number to u
Skydrop
post Nov 10 2011, 09:49 PM

361 posts

Bro weikee, interested to see your ceilinglah. Have you posted photos before? If not, can post?

tongue.gif

QUOTE(weikee @ Aug 16 2011, 11:10 AM)
Oh, thank you.  If 4ft = 28watt, 32ft give me about 224 watt of light. Cool I light it bright biggrin.gif

Added on August 16, 2011, 11:14 amHmm, maybe i can use T5-HO. Can double the brightness biggrin.gif

51 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » 

0.0283sec    0.95    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 06:03 PM