> Plaster Ceiling Renovation, How much does it cost? Renovations

wrb7878
post Aug 16 2011, 04:26 PM

843 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Aug 16 2011, 01:53 PM)
T5 lifespan is greater or equal to T8.
I have both...but look like T8 with ballast will last long....i always replaces the T5 light..tat's why i change some to T8 now. T8 can last long now. maybe due to too many imitation of philips T5 in market?

This post has been edited by wrb7878: Aug 16 2011, 04:27 PM
gunh
post Aug 16 2011, 04:29 PM

459 posts

be it T5 or T8, is all depends on the manufacturer product. If they gave lousy ballast or component, then u will be facing shorter life span... if u got a good component product combination, it will last you long enugh to approx 15000 hours of operation...
wrb7878
post Aug 16 2011, 04:38 PM

843 posts

QUOTE(gunh @ Aug 16 2011, 04:29 PM)
be it T5 or T8, is all depends on the manufacturer product.  If they gave lousy ballast or component, then u will be facing shorter life span... if u got a good component product combination, it will last you long enugh to approx 15000 hours of operation...
i try the cheap ballast RM7 now...they recommend me the BEEBEST ballast cost RM10. any way so far so good.
weikee
post Aug 21 2011, 06:35 PM

12,019 posts

Someone ask me before about the fiber glass / "Chou Kan", this is what my plaster ceiling contract do, mix the string "think is fiber glass" with the white cement and just place on each metal stick. This will give extra strength because screwing on to the metal may not be good enough due to the current board quality.

It won't cost much, my contractor did not charge me anything for this. but look bit messy on the ceiling.

Serofax
post Aug 21 2011, 10:28 PM

318 posts

yeap same... my plaster guy also did the same smile.gif
Kelvin5717
post Aug 23 2011, 01:23 AM

742 posts

Hi guys,

my contractor quote me the following;

RM2.50 sqft for flat board

RM3.50 sqft for L-Box

is the price fair ??
wrb7878
post Aug 23 2011, 01:44 AM

843 posts

QUOTE(Kelvin5717 @ Aug 23 2011, 01:23 AM)
Hi guys,

RM3.50 sqft for L-Box

is the price fair ??
2.50 for flat should reasonable. but L-Box should charge by per FEET!
Jo_da48
post Aug 23 2011, 11:14 AM

1,529 posts

QUOTE(Kelvin5717 @ Aug 23 2011, 01:23 AM)
Hi guys,

RM3.50 sqft for L-Box

is the price fair ??
RM 2.50 sgft = OK as outside around 2.10-2.50
RM 3.50@f = is cheap. normally plaster ceiling folk with charge RM10@feet

Is this inclusive of material?
You may want to ask the price
1) Main Hole (Medim (1.5F) / Small (1F)
2) Open downlight hole (FOC or ?)
3) Dome or L-Box type if want to increase the Fan level to higher.

weikee
post Aug 23 2011, 11:32 AM

12,019 posts

The manhole, advice get the aluminum type. Less problem if the area frequent open and close.
Serofax
post Aug 23 2011, 12:04 PM

318 posts

what do u mean alu type?...care to describe is more detail?
kelvyn
post Aug 23 2011, 12:14 PM

3,173 posts

What he meant was that the frame around the manhole opening and cover are made of aluminum sections. This will prevent chipping of the edges. The edges are straight. Worth every sen.
weikee
post Aug 23 2011, 01:20 PM

12,019 posts

Yes. my office using the conventional opening, dam lousy, and open few time already like gone case.
Jo_da48
post Aug 23 2011, 01:36 PM

1,529 posts

Agreed. and the aluminim mainhole only cost around RM25 for 2 feets type..
(But the contractor will charge sky high)

weikee
post Aug 23 2011, 01:56 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Aug 23 2011, 01:36 PM)
Agreed. and the aluminim mainhole only cost around RM25 for 2 feets type..
(But the contractor will charge sky high)
Yeah, but sometime got to give them make some easy money lah. Just like we do business sometime is take sometime is give.
Kelvin5717
post Aug 25 2011, 05:18 PM

742 posts

QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Aug 23 2011, 11:14 AM)
RM 2.50 sgft = OK as outside around 2.10-2.50
RM 3.50@f = is cheap. normally plaster ceiling folk with charge RM10@feet

Is this inclusive of material?
You may want to ask the price
1) Main Hole (Medim (1.5F) / Small (1F)
2) Open downlight hole (FOC or ?)
3) Dome or L-Box type if want to increase the Fan level to higher.
what do u mean for number 3. Dome or L-box type if want to increase the fan level to higher ???

gonna ask main hole and downlight i think he mention but dunno where i put the copies hgahahah tongue.gif

QUOTE(weikee @ Aug 23 2011, 11:32 AM)
The manhole, advice get the aluminum type. Less problem if the area frequent open and close.
apa tu frequent open and close ? u mean the alu on the downlight ? or a alu frame surrounding the hole ?? which 1 ?? rclxub.gif
Jo_da48
post Aug 25 2011, 06:06 PM

1,529 posts

QUOTE(Kelvin5717 @ Aug 25 2011, 05:18 PM)
what do u mean for number 3. Dome or L-box type if want to increase the fan level to higher ???

gonna ask main hole and downlight i think he mention but dunno where i put the copies hgahahah  tongue.gif
apa tu frequent open and close ? u mean the alu on the downlight ? or a alu frame surrounding the hole ?? which 1 ??  rclxub.gif
After you installed the plaster ceiling, you ceiling will be lower. IF you plan to put Fan, than may noticed it too low (raised you hand on the area and may able to touch it), than you may want to get dome or Box to make like a hole type, which allow the Fan hook up few inch.
Something like this
http://www.uniplaster.com.my/dome2.html
http://www.uniplaster.com.my/ceilingpanel1.html

It actually refer to the ceiling hole that most of the house having it. it should be in one of your room that allow you to go into the roof end.
For me, at least twice a year go up to spray chemical. But just place a aluminim type will make your life ease. Else if K.O in future you will have more trouble.
http://www.uniplaster.com.my/manhole1.html

viantae
post Aug 25 2011, 11:31 PM

QUOTE(halglory @ Sep 4 2008, 04:55 PM)
i just did the renovation and it costed me rm2,600 for my house of 1137sq feet. my ceiling looks exactly like the ceiling in the pic...
Hi there, do u still have the contact? the work nice? are they trusted?
brianccg
post Aug 28 2011, 06:35 PM

3,024 posts

Interesting topic.. learn a lot from here
duckaton
post Aug 28 2011, 07:35 PM

Progress is Imminent
1,216 posts

gave up hope on plaster ceiling when the aircond hose starts leaking.

other alternative will certainly be good.

note that most countries like hongkong, singapore does not use plaster ceiling for their homes reno anymore.
wrb7878
post Aug 28 2011, 11:20 PM

843 posts

My bathroom plaster ceiling without manhole access means that no air flow out to outdoor.
If i install the ventilation fan at plaster ceiling to vent warm air/steam/bad smell out of a bathroom into ceiling...any problem?
i know many ppl install into wall or window...but i dont have wiring point there....

51 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » 

0.0250sec    1.10    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 09:41 PM