> Plaster Ceiling Renovation, How much does it cost? Renovations

wrb7878
post Jun 4 2011, 10:35 AM

843 posts

QUOTE(Kelvin5717 @ May 30 2011, 05:07 PM)
Sorry noob here, anyone can show me the different between flat plaster ceiling and L Box plaster ceiling ? i dun get it...  tongue.gif
This is L Box cove lighting

This post has been edited by wrb7878: Jun 4 2011, 10:36 AM

wrb7878
post Jun 5 2011, 09:36 PM

843 posts

QUOTE(Serofax @ Jun 5 2011, 06:54 PM)
quick question :

do we buy the downlights , then only install plaster ceiling?

or can i just do plaster 1st, then only hunt for DL that i like?
Yes, but u need to tell how many DL needed for wiring point. and round or square DL. round DL required lower atleast 6" plaster ceiling
after tat you can search any DL tat u like.
wrb7878
post Aug 12 2011, 10:50 AM

843 posts

QUOTE(magnifizio @ Aug 12 2011, 10:40 AM)
guys,

i bought a 5 year condo in PJ. 1084sf.
ceiling height is 9 feet.
is it not suitable for a L-box shaped plaster ceiling?
if i were to install L-box at a minimum height, what is the minimum height?
can anyone be of assistance?
thanks in advance.
You want have flat board + L Box? Or just L box at corner only.
mine condo is 9.5 feet height. I install the flat board + L box required 10".

3" for flat board, 4" for gap between L-box and flat board for light effect and 3" for L-box height size.

wrb7878
post Aug 12 2011, 10:07 PM

843 posts

QUOTE(magnifizio @ Aug 12 2011, 09:38 PM)
Hi wr7878,

Thanks for your kind advice.

Is 10" the minimum it can go?
Or we can adjust the different measurements?
I am thinking L box at the corner only to save cost and also to save the ceiling height.

Mind sharing how much u spent on your plaster ceiling with your condo build up size?
The reason i have 3" plaster board is i wan to hide the air cond copper pipe, no need conceal into wall.
then i can relocate the wiring light point, and u can put the downlight as well. else u only can put downlight at L box only.

refer to jo_da post abv, he have list out how to calculate the cost.

Added on August 12, 2011, 10:10 pm
QUOTE(ijan80 @ Aug 12 2011, 05:58 PM)
the price is fair bro...L-Box 396xRM10=rm3956, normal 351xrm3=rm1053

3956+1053=rm5009+holes+t5~rm5100  thumbup.gif
fair price? refer to jo_da calculation.

I agree with jo_da...i can do all abv within 2K.

This post has been edited by wrb7878: Aug 12 2011, 10:10 PM
wrb7878
post Aug 12 2011, 10:25 PM

843 posts

QUOTE(StevenL @ Aug 12 2011, 10:20 PM)
U r right, my living room is 396 sqf in total, but the L box only prob run abt 70 feet long (20' (L) x 15' (W))
U wan to do so BIG L Box? 70 feet required 18pcs of 4' T5.

Post up ur floor plan...so other member can give more comment.
wrb7878
post Aug 12 2011, 10:34 PM

843 posts

QUOTE(ijan80 @ Aug 12 2011, 10:26 PM)
i calculated base on the information provided..sorry for wrong calculation  doh.gif  notworthy.gif
don't worry. so next time u can learn. else u will con by contractor fr the info they provided only. thumbup.gif
wrb7878
post Aug 13 2011, 12:01 AM

843 posts

QUOTE(StevenL @ Aug 12 2011, 10:20 PM)
U r right, my living room is 396 sqf in total, but the L box only prob run abt 70 feet long (20' (L) x 15' (W))

L Box is 70F x $10.50 = RM735
Plain plaster is 300 (20'x15') x $2.30 = RM690
Dining Hall with normal plastering 208 sqf = 208 * RM 2.30 = 478
Guest room with normal plastering 143 sqf = 143 * RM2.30 = 329

So the total shall be RM2232.00.......?

What is Plant Plaster Board?
Dining hall is kitchen? Else no plaster ceiling at kitchen? Unless u have wall or beam to separate the dining and kitchen?

But based on living 20' long should cover until dining area as well.
U should do L box 12L*15W on living and other simple design at dining.

Added on August 13, 2011, 12:06 am
QUOTE(papaya2 @ Aug 12 2011, 11:04 PM)
The T5 light need to overlap so the light through will be even?

is it ok to just connect the T5 casing plug (with a bit gap)?

i notice many contractor charge like below if need put T5 light,

Light through = rm12 per ft (not understand this means actually)
L-box = rm8 per ft

end up rm20 per ft.
Normally either do L-box light through to hold the T5 or L-box only.
L-box don't have hole gap means don't have dust inside the l-box.

Sometimes we also call l-box as light through but we just tell plaster ceiling guy we wan to put T5, they will know.

This post has been edited by wrb7878: Aug 13 2011, 12:06 AM
wrb7878
post Aug 13 2011, 12:04 PM

843 posts

QUOTE(StevenL @ Aug 13 2011, 08:24 AM)
The kitchen will extended (13' L x 24' W) and plaster ceiling is incl by the contractor. If you guy looked at the plan, the dining area will be slightly bigger.

Bro wrb7878,

Dining hall is not the kitchen, and yes u r right, i will have a simple design of 'S" shape type (sorry can't seem to find a pic to show it) for the dining area.

So the plaster ceiling cost for the living and dining area quoted by the cons can be consider very HIGH then??
For me 5K can do all plaster ceiling including the 1st floor room and all bathroom.
Try to ask another quotation, then u can see the gap.
wrb7878
post Aug 14 2011, 01:49 AM

843 posts

QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Aug 14 2011, 01:46 AM)
Very nice, Already in place? With T5 or eyeball inside?...keep it
If T5..must use a lot 2 feet T5.
wrb7878
post Aug 16 2011, 11:40 AM

843 posts

I just use the normal T8...put inside the l box no ppl can see...so no bother it is slim o not.

I buy GE 4' T8 + ballast = RM10/set...can sure it can last long than T5.
It just like your normal house T8 u using now, how many times u change in year? i think my house did not change it for past 3 year...every day on at night.

In thise case i have 20 T8 then need 20 ballast as well, so the wiring guy need more job compare to T5 come with cable connector.

for kitchen cabinet then i will use T8.
wrb7878
post Aug 16 2011, 04:26 PM

843 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Aug 16 2011, 01:53 PM)
T5 lifespan is greater or equal to T8.
I have both...but look like T8 with ballast will last long....i always replaces the T5 light..tat's why i change some to T8 now. T8 can last long now. maybe due to too many imitation of philips T5 in market?

This post has been edited by wrb7878: Aug 16 2011, 04:27 PM
wrb7878
post Aug 16 2011, 04:38 PM

843 posts

QUOTE(gunh @ Aug 16 2011, 04:29 PM)
be it T5 or T8, is all depends on the manufacturer product.  If they gave lousy ballast or component, then u will be facing shorter life span... if u got a good component product combination, it will last you long enugh to approx 15000 hours of operation...
i try the cheap ballast RM7 now...they recommend me the BEEBEST ballast cost RM10. any way so far so good.
wrb7878
post Aug 23 2011, 01:44 AM

843 posts

QUOTE(Kelvin5717 @ Aug 23 2011, 01:23 AM)
Hi guys,

my contractor quote me the following;

RM2.50 sqft for flat board

RM3.50 sqft for L-Box

is the price fair ??
2.50 for flat should reasonable. but L-Box should charge by per FEET!
wrb7878
post Aug 28 2011, 11:20 PM

843 posts

My bathroom plaster ceiling without manhole access means that no air flow out to outdoor.
If i install the ventilation fan at plaster ceiling to vent warm air/steam/bad smell out of a bathroom into ceiling...any problem?
i know many ppl install into wall or window...but i dont have wiring point there....
wrb7878
post Aug 29 2011, 12:40 AM

843 posts

Mine is condo bathroom, so there is no way it can suck and flow out to outdoor from ceiling. i just wan to check what will be happen if it blow all the hot air/steam/bad smell inside the plaster ceiling....will the hot air/steam turn back to water and spoil my plaster ceiling like leaking spot later?

I also need to get from the existing light point if i going to install at ceiling.
I saw those design at perfect living b4..cost > rm100 rite?

Added on August 29, 2011, 12:43 amdoes those fan installation like downlight type? open the hole required and connect the wiring then plug in the fan?
cos my bathroom plaster ceiling don't have the manhole access, so i worry it cant install the internal(back) fan part?

This post has been edited by wrb7878: Aug 29 2011, 12:45 AM
wrb7878
post Aug 29 2011, 12:04 PM

843 posts

QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Aug 29 2011, 01:18 AM)
The cheaper unit on my list is RM 179 (AK-150) (without light and timer), RM297 (D100) with Timer, RM 529 (Timer + Light)
You may want to consider another brand, as I saw it on most of the light shop at Puchong (sorry can't remember the brand name), like TopTen, House of lighting,QQ, since I believe you didn't need the light. The wire need to connect into the Fan connector but it not so simple for us to install, because need to open a box at the fan, then connect into it.
ytd i checked at Top Ten they have KDK and Panasonic fan like kitchen type 1...min size is 8". cost < rm100.
wiring part i m not worry cos my wiring guy can install for me...

i m worry the back part of fan cover..example the hole open is 6" then the back part cover is more than 6" then there is no way for me to put inside plaster ceiling, no manhole access there...only my master bathroom have NO manhole access, other 2 bathroom have manhole. My plaster ceiling man say there is no water pipe or cap abv the ceiling, so no need to put manhole... cry.gif

wrb7878
post Aug 30 2011, 10:05 PM

843 posts

QUOTE(kelvyn @ Aug 30 2011, 10:12 AM)
wow, it looks very nice. rclxms.gif
How much did it cost you?
Just saw uasking the plaster ceiling few week ago...now is completed?
U din ask for other quotation? I think the cost more on wiring point.

How much the living light?

This post has been edited by wrb7878: Aug 30 2011, 11:50 PM
wrb7878
post Aug 30 2011, 11:34 PM

843 posts

QUOTE(Kwa23 @ Aug 30 2011, 11:01 PM)
Nicely done Steven. I like it. How do you find with your contractor work? Do you appoint a main con to do your reno? I just got my house key and have been looking around for quotes. Shall I go for a main con to handle all the reno or look for individual specialty contractor. I'm planning to move in mid Nov. Please advise me sifus... many thanks!
if u find ID sure is expensive than individual contractor. When I say expensive means u need to pay services price to ID....they help u to design and provide u 1stop services....but ppl always say individual contractor also can provide free idea and design...so all is depend what u need.

And to choose main contractor or individual contractor is depend on u.But ppl always think that individual contractor much more cheaper than main con. But in my case I got cheaper price from main con and quit save a lot as well.

Example, if u find individual sub contractor that give u rm 2.30/psf for plaster ceiling...not necessary that the main contractor will top up his price from 2.30. They all know nowadays consumer smart like us like to compare...so maybe he able to get 2.00 from sub con and give us 2.20 or 2.30. Even offer at same price I also can save on other cost as well...like man con may able to help me touch up for free....if break too many sub con...any thing go wrong they will point on each other.
wrb7878
post Sep 24 2011, 12:27 PM

843 posts

QUOTE(phoenix69 @ Sep 24 2011, 12:09 PM)
LYN member kelvyn has repilied - go back 1 page to page 15
2]L.Box Long Kang 1set=150.00  is the manhole access (usually for a pipe hidden by the plaster ceiling needs access for possible repairs.)
manhole access cost rm150/set? i think rm50/set also consider expensive le
wrb7878
post Sep 24 2011, 12:29 PM

843 posts

What you all call for this design? any 1 know the price for this?

2 Pages  1 2 >

0.0180sec    1.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 12:03 PM