125 Pages « < 99 100 101 102 103 > » Bottom

Sugar Glider V5, Mini Suggie gathering. View post #7

mamata
post Apr 15 2008, 12:16 AM

better get laid early then regret later on
699 posts

kinda normal right if they just sit n sleep in the pouch?
i just try to take her out n she run back into the pouch n continue sleep

thisiskj
post Apr 15 2008, 12:34 AM

279 posts

okie.. vitagen.. normal favours only?
thejamz
post Apr 15 2008, 12:40 AM

104 posts

hurray rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
today is 1st time Nyra eat mealworm n Ecah eat cricket..

they are easy to teach 1 laa..
at 1st i just sapu the mealworm juice on honeydew then Nyra lick, lick than oredi want mealworm..
2nd time no need to sapu or cut the mealworm head, Nyra oso grab it.. icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif

then I put cricket n Ecah on the floor the she hunt it til under my bed..
i think she having fun hunting it la, not really know it is a yummy food.. tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif
EvanSoon
post Apr 15 2008, 12:43 AM

Young and Sexy!
865 posts

some ppl say feeding crickets no good unless ur 100% it is clean..
they say got fungus grow on it's back or something like that..
is those cricket bought from fish shop ok for them to consume?
thejamz
post Apr 15 2008, 12:45 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(EvanSoon @ Apr 15 2008, 12:43 AM)
some ppl say feeding crickets no good unless ur 100% it is clean..
they say got fungus grow on it's back or something like that..
is those cricket bought from fish shop ok for them to consume?
i bought from fish shop la..
tak kan nak catch kat padang..
EvanSoon
post Apr 15 2008, 12:47 AM

Young and Sexy!
865 posts

QUOTE(thejamz @ Apr 15 2008, 12:45 AM)
i bought from fish shop la..
tak kan nak catch kat padang..
no la.. they say the way it is breed make it not clean..
n some say cricket high in something so not good for suggies to eat.. phosphorus i think..

thejamz
post Apr 15 2008, 12:50 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(EvanSoon @ Apr 15 2008, 12:47 AM)
n some say cricket high in something so not good for suggies to eat.. phosphorus i think..
than need to wait what sifu will say...
bonai
post Apr 15 2008, 03:17 AM

1,254 posts

crickets are good for glider.

it's just that people are afraid if they contain some kinda toxin, maybe aflatoxin, which is dangerous to gliders. the toxin comes from their bedding where they were raised, usually corn-based. The toxin effects the glider's liver or something and will cause death..

if you're too detailed in this, i noticed people saying this also happens to mealworms and other insects too.

So again, google up!
Reanne
post Apr 15 2008, 03:40 AM

Elite is only a tag. So don't PM me to delete ur post.
2,903 posts

Let's feed 'em Roaches! Not those gelli long kang roaches la.
rafiqos
post Apr 15 2008, 08:55 AM

464 posts

QUOTE(Reanne @ Apr 15 2008, 03:40 AM)
Let's feed 'em Roaches! Not those gelli long kang roaches la.
LOL! I see where you're going..
nezumitaro
post Apr 15 2008, 09:51 AM

Taro: I am the KING, all GERBILS are MINE!!
4,711 posts

can suggie eat pine nut? i mean as a treats. thanks
krynzpeaches
post Apr 15 2008, 10:28 AM

* k * a * P * i * s * h * ? *
2,047 posts

Aiyaaa, another long winded reply...

Please bear with me and read if I have relied to you tongue.gif

QUOTE(ggMing @ Apr 11 2008, 04:46 PM)
my friends male glider just pass away, reason unknown... he was alright in the noon and dead at night...

the problem is he left his pregnant wife...
and yesterday night, the wife keep barking....

my friend wanted to get a companion for her...
but the joey still belum OOP... how ah? need to wait till the joey is out and fully weaned????

If there is a bump at her pouch means she's carrying joeys.

Sighhh... This is sad case and is very hard and stressful for the female.

She needs a companion, but introducing one is risky and needs to be done properly.

A male glider plays an important role in raising the joeys when they are OOP, but without proper intro, the male might reject or harm the joey.

It is good if your friend is willing to try because if it is successful, it will greatly benefit the female and her joeys...

Another thing also it would be good if the female can be introduced to a male retired male or a male who has raised joeys before...

The introduction is the same with introducing 2 new glider but with more and attentive observation.

QUOTE(mamata @ Apr 11 2008, 10:01 PM)
why she always ketap 2 gigi
dunno waht to called it

QUOTE(mamata @ Apr 11 2008, 10:17 PM)
grind teeth
ktak ktak sound..
like that one

If like that it's not grinding teeth, it's called chattering.

There's 2 ways/meaning of it, 1 is a way of calling one another or simple saying "hello"

Another one is a defense sound.

But in my case, the chattering is more of way to calling each other. I too will chat back to them when I hear that sound smile.gif

QUOTE(jtl @ Apr 12 2008, 12:53 AM)
Errr...she chews my neck and errrrr.....near my stomach there loh

Grooming with love!

QUOTE(silverwineus @ Apr 12 2008, 01:32 AM)
Not mistaken, you gonna bring goodies like flexarium, DV collection, cage products, dry cleaner.

Just remind me of my childhood cartoon Doraemon. Could just simply grasp some needed stuff from you.

But i don't think it's good for me to join, i'm bit reserved type.

Hope you peeps have a great social happening and sharing.

Yes, I have a magic pocket and will be bringing all the stuff in it! tongue.gif

Hey, the more reserve you are, the more you MUST come!

COME lar!

QUOTE(mamata @ Apr 12 2008, 06:27 PM)
how often u all wash the pouch?
bounding and sleep?

Bonding pouch, when smelly.

Sleeping pouch, every week.

QUOTE(phoonwa @ Apr 12 2008, 07:40 PM)
My gliders destroyed the sleeping bag
Rm20 gone...
Their nails always trap at the damage area zzzz
cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif

Please be careful, if your gliders nail are too long it can be caught at any type of material and can hurt them. That is why regular nail trimming is necessary.

Are your gliders chewers?

QUOTE(Furmom77 @ Apr 13 2008, 06:46 PM)
Heres some pix of them in their bed when they play in my room and their sleeping pouch that I sewn myself.

Regarding the feeding and all, I guess the rest has replied to you smile.gif

Their bed is sooo cute!

QUOTE(mamata @ Apr 14 2008, 01:45 AM)
can they be sick if i put it in the pouch?
lets say its bonding time ,when they pee on the pouch ,can they fell sick for that?

so scared if she fall sick

sad.gif

No, they won't be sick in the pouch, they love the pouch! Even their mommy has pouch what tongue.gif

Most gliders won't pee or poo in their pouch as they don't dirty their sleeping place.

But do be on the look out if they wanna come out of the pouch, cuz that would mean they have to go do biz. smile.gif

QUOTE(mamata @ Apr 15 2008, 12:16 AM)
kinda normal right if they just sit n sleep in the pouch?
i just try to take her out n she run back into the pouch n continue sleep

Yes, it's very normal wink.gif

QUOTE(EvanSoon @ Apr 15 2008, 12:47 AM)

Bonai has explain about why people think crickets are not good.

It's nothing to do with phosphorus, but more of lack of calcium due the way it is raised. That is why gutloading is recommend for any insect you are feeding your suggies.

QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Apr 15 2008, 09:51 AM)
can suggie eat pine nut? i mean as a treats. thanks

Nope. No nuts for suggies.

For treats, you try dried fruits. It's better smile.gif

KP

TScrazymouse_yyh
post Apr 15 2008, 11:29 AM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

Hehehe... the long awaited longish replies from KP.

About nuts.... it can cause intestinal blockage.... coz gliders sometimes just swallow big pieces of nuts. So best not to give.
krynzpeaches
post Apr 15 2008, 11:50 AM

* k * a * P * i * s * h * ? *
2,047 posts

Aiya, sorry lor... Been away 2-3 days, sure got long reply...

Got broadband at home also cannot harap, bloody slow make me give up to log on everytime sad.gif

Complain-complain all the time, still no improvement...

Yeah, thanks for the explanation why no nuts... I know it's a no-no, but can't remember exactly why except for it being oily and fatty tongue.gif

KP
Pennywise
post Apr 15 2008, 11:53 AM

5,796 posts

I am still waiting for my gliders... How many more weeks to go, Hun? I'm counting everyday.
Akihiko
post Apr 15 2008, 11:55 AM

can i feed them durian as treats?
suiteng
post Apr 15 2008, 12:13 PM

Hopeless President
3,589 posts

QUOTE(Akihiko @ Apr 15 2008, 11:55 AM)
can i feed them durian as treats?
Actually I did feed them durian blush.gif
siokjinlim
post Apr 15 2008, 12:39 PM

430 posts

apart from commercial 'gut loaders' ... what kind of stuff can be used to gut load mealies???

thanks smile.gif
thisiskj
post Apr 15 2008, 12:40 PM

279 posts

QUOTE(krynzpeaches @ Apr 15 2008, 11:50 AM)
Aiya, sorry lor... Been away 2-3 days, sure got long reply...

Got broadband at home also cannot harap, bloody slow make me give up to log on everytime sad.gif

Complain-complain all the time, still no improvement...

Yeah, thanks for the explanation why no nuts... I know it's a no-no, but can't remember exactly why except for it being oily and fatty tongue.gif

KP
go get umobile so far it has been consistant
Akihiko
post Apr 15 2008, 12:42 PM

Hi Everyone,

Well let me do a brief intro for myself as I'm very new here!

My name is Aki, a mixed jap + Chinese and im 21 years old. Btw im male.

I have got 2 suggies for almost 2 years now. I still remembered when I first started off having these babies it was so hard for me to find information on what diet they have to go for etc. I'm glad there is so many suggie owners now!

My male suggie is named Casper and the female one is called Baby!
I got Casper from my friend who breeds reptiles. Casper was so adorable. Let me recall, I think he was just about 2 months old then. After buying Casper back, I started to fall in love with him. On the 1st month of having Casper, I knew I had to find him a partner so I brought him to ikano power centre's pet shop (kinda forgot the petshops name). There is where I found Baby, Baby was about 2 months old then. When I put them together, its like Casper found its true love. So i went ahead and brought Baby.

When Casper was about 4 to 5 months old, something real bad happen to him. His eyes was infected but he's very very lucky that he's not blind today! I brought him to a few vets but some were actually useless not to say. I went to the vet in the curve a couple of times and no help was provided. All the vet did was take a look at it and gave me some cream to apply for casper's eyes. I still can recall how Casper reacted when I brought him to the vet. Once I put Casper on the table for the vet to see, I can see him trembling. Its so cute!!! He keeps running back to me again and again. Once the vet holds him he starts running back to me again. As about a week passed, I noticed that his eyes was not getting any better. He was scratching them as I guess it was really very itchy for him. I went online and asked for help in a lot of suggie forums then and finally found someone really helpful at that time. She suggested me to make him an e-collar so that it will prevent him from scratching. So then I went back to the vet and suggested that I need an e-collar for him but he eventually turned me down saying that they do not have such e-collars for suggargliders. It took me sometime to make the e-collar. The e-collar I made luckily fitted on casper. During this time, I had to hand feed him everyday because the e-collar blocks him from eating. I guess its because of this, our bond is very close today. I had to hand feed him everyday for 2 months and slowly saw him gradually healing. I felt so painful at that time of period but luckily its all over now!

Casper is very tamed compared to Baby. The difference is that casper is very clingy on me compared to Baby. Baby loves to run around everywhere and shes really very fast. Sometimes its really hard to catch her back to the cage. Anyway, I can tell that she really enjoys the running session. So I guess its okay.

Well, its been almost 2 yrs now that I have both of them. They both really gave me so much pleasure! I'll post up some pics once I reach home today!

125 Pages « < 99 100 101 102 103 > » Top

0.0319sec    1.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 07:09 PM