125 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Sugar Glider V5, Mini Suggie gathering. View post #7

jitshiong
post Mar 2 2008, 01:54 PM

Trust me, I'm an Engineer
1,868 posts

QUOTE(NewbieBetta @ Mar 2 2008, 11:41 AM)
if by using breeder celect as bedding & we clean the cage daily..this may reduce the smelly?but will they recognise their home?
they will.
u won't be able to detect it woth ur nose but they can.

abesabraham
post Mar 2 2008, 02:13 PM

OH. ok.
717 posts

Hello,

I've got two more green labels supplements available if any sugar glider owners are interested.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/638801
malowie
post Mar 2 2008, 05:04 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(souzaco @ Mar 2 2008, 01:49 PM)
Hello all.

I am just wondering on what are your thoughts on the bifurcated sugar glider penis...now don't get me wrong but I 'might' get one (it is not known if it will be a female or a male one) and I just need a guideline on  the anatomy of the male sg. notice the word 'might'. lol. depending on the number of joeys that is being born and whether the breeders sister wants a sg or not.

Oh, and about the bald male scent glands... how bad do they stink. I know - different people, different opinions but once again I just needed a brief insight of it. Lol.

ciao~
hello to you.

theres a lot of info on the first page.

males have testicles hanging whereas females do not.

they stink really badly if they are not bonded well to you but if you are bonded well with it, it should not mark or musk really badly. the best is neutering it but its costly.
phoonwa
post Mar 2 2008, 06:06 PM

57 posts

Last few days meet up my taiwanese supplier and he also a sg lover. After he viewed my cage and he ask me "ur sg very less jumping izzit?". I also got the same feel with him. He said his like to jump because of the "sg platform". Due to the wooden that we use to hang inside the cage very limited space for sg to prepare for jumping. He teached me DIY some "sg platform" to increase the chances for sg to jump. After i made some platform and put inside the cage i found that what he said is true and now my sg like to jump insite the cage compare to last time only climbing most of the time. Since today i m so free then i wont like to share with how to DIY the "SG Platform".
Please dun laugh for my poor workmanship

Tools : Hammer, nail, pliers, piece of playwood, wire (chainlink fencing wire, select those with plastic cover one)

I selected the staircase noosing timber piece due to durable usage. U can get it from hardware shop. About the sizes depend on ur own taste.

Make 2 small hole by using hammer and nail at both edge of the timber piece.

Pull the wire into it and left the overlength about 2cm.

Bend the wire in to L shape.

At the otherside measure the wire about 10cm and bend it. ( I poor and dun have ruler so i use hand to measure... )

Make a bend point and left about 2cm then cut it.

The side elevation is arounf like this. If there is sharp at the thumb area as the photo shown then must smoothen it with sand papar.

Do the same thing at the other side. Then the final product is ready.

Hand at outside of the cage and test it.

Added on March 2, 2008, 6:23 pmTO BE CONTINUE DUE TO THE FORUM LIMITATION IMAGE DISPLAY SETTING

This post has been edited by phoonwa: Mar 2 2008, 06:29 PM
souzaco
post Mar 2 2008, 06:34 PM

thanks malowie.

yeah, I might go check on neutering them but I don't know if the vets from where I am can neuter them.

hehehe..yeah...I know that (obviously) the male ones have testicles hanging.lol. but I'm talking about their penis. Does it 'hang' there? or is it somewhere hidden. What I'm trying to say/ask is how 'weird?' does it look. They say it looks like worms and I'm not sure if I would be shocked by it. lol. I guess I'm not making any sense here. hehehe.

oh, has anyone here tried the HPW diet?
phoonwa
post Mar 2 2008, 06:42 PM

57 posts

If u r too free then can test the stablablity and weigth support. drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif

Must wash it and let dry before use. This platform belong to my baby sg.

This is my adult sg.

Here is the place they looking for landing area before jump. I cant get those photo when there r jumping due to very fast in moment.

If u r to free then make more platform for ur sg and let them play inside and u will feel the differents...

Thanks for viewing! thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
NewbieBetta
post Mar 2 2008, 08:29 PM

The Sexy Man
3,706 posts

no picture sweat.gif
phoonwa
post Mar 2 2008, 08:43 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(NewbieBetta @ Mar 2 2008, 08:29 PM)
no picture sweat.gif
Got la....
blink.gif blink.gif blink.gif
malowie
post Mar 2 2008, 08:44 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(souzaco @ Mar 2 2008, 06:34 PM)
thanks malowie.

yeah, I might go check on neutering them but I don't know if the vets from where I am can neuter them.

hehehe..yeah...I know that (obviously) the male ones have testicles hanging.lol. but I'm talking about their penis. Does it 'hang' there? or is it somewhere hidden. What I'm trying to say/ask is how 'weird?' does it look. They say it looks like worms and I'm not sure if I would be shocked by it. lol. I guess I'm not making any sense here. hehehe.

HAHAH omg. yeah. why did i say that?

lol. okay. the penis does not hang out, it stays refracted, in the body most of the time. it only hangs out when it wants to mate, excited, scared, or approaching puberty. in other words, its sort of like an endo-penis. itll look a little weird. its bifurcated, meaning that it has two pointed ends or two shafts, something like a snake's tongue, and its red in colour. so yeah, dont get scared when you see it lol. its normal especially during maturity.

This post has been edited by malowie: Mar 2 2008, 08:49 PM
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Mar 2 2008, 09:24 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

QUOTE(NewbieBetta @ Mar 2 2008, 11:27 AM)
how strong are their poo & pee smell?
Is not that strong.... the smell is something like the smell of hamster's pee.... well.... there is a difference but that is just to give you a little idea on the smell.

The poo, when it is wet, it is smelly but when it dries up, there is no smell.

QUOTE(NewbieBetta @ Mar 2 2008, 11:41 AM)
if by using breeder celect as bedding & we clean the cage daily..this may reduce the smelly?but will they recognise their home?
Well, cleaning daily is up to you. If you want to reduce smell, then change the bedding daily. If you use breeder Celect for this, very costly lah. Might as well you just use old newspaper so everyday clean and throw.

One product which I find very effective with smell is Litter Star. It is a silicon cat litter, and it can last for a week without much smell.... 1 bag is like Rm13 to Rm14.... and 1 bag can fill the normal RM100 cage tray about 2 to 3 times, depending on how much you put in.

QUOTE(phoonwa @ Mar 2 2008, 06:06 PM)
Last few days meet up my taiwanese supplier and he also a sg lover. After he viewed my cage and he ask me "ur sg very less jumping izzit?". I also got the same feel with him. He said his like to jump because of the "sg platform". Due to the wooden that we use to hang inside the cage very limited space for sg to prepare for jumping. He teached me DIY some "sg platform" to increase the chances for sg to jump. After i made some platform and put inside the cage i found that what he said is true and now my sg like to jump insite the cage compare to last time only climbing most of the time. Since today i m so free then i wont like to share with how to DIY the "SG Platform".

Tools : Hammer, nail, pliers, piece of playwood, wire (chainlink fencing wire, select those with plastic cover one)
I selected the staircase noosing timber piece due to durable usage. U can get it from hardware shop. About the sizes depend on ur own taste.
Make 2 small hole by using hammer and nail at both edge of the timber piece.
Pull the wire into it and left the overlength about 2cm.
Bend the wire in to L shape.
At the otherside measure the wire about 10cm and bend it. ( I poor and dun have ruler so i use hand to measure... )
Make a bend point and left about 2cm then cut it.
The side elevation is arounf like this. If there is sharp at the thumb area as the photo shown then must smoothen it with sand papar.
Do the same thing at the other side. Then the final product is ready.
Hand at outside of the cage and test it.

Added on March 2, 2008, 6:23 pmTO BE CONTINUE DUE TO THE FORUM LIMITATION IMAGE DISPLAY SETTING
Good stuff. Yes, gliders will only jump when they got a platform to get ready. Your cage is big, so it is ok. Some people got small cages, so we use alternatives. Mine likes to jump off their hammock and right now, I use bird ladders which I bought from Singapore as their platform and climbing tool. Heheheh... soon, my gliders will move on to their new cage, so I think I can make a platform like yours.

Simple job. Good that you provide step by step pictures.

thanks malowie.

Where are you from?

HPW.... High Protein Wombaroo diet? We do not have this here lah.....

Neuter, so far only 1 vet has been successful, Dr Yeoh.... another vet may soon be able to do neutering later but not now.

Anyway, it is not weird to have their testicles hanging, it is also not weird for their penis to sometimes stick out. It is nature, so nothing is weird and of course they are animals....

silverwineus
post Mar 2 2008, 09:30 PM

514 posts

QUOTE(phoonwa @ Mar 2 2008, 06:06 PM)

Phoonwa..

It's incredible idea to make playthings for the gliders, such as ladder, stairs, tunnels...
Very stimulating to our creativity and i would love to make some of these jumping toys for them in future as well.. haha laugh.gif

This post has been edited by silverwineus: Mar 2 2008, 09:32 PM
malowie
post Mar 2 2008, 09:41 PM

418 posts

thanks malowie.

oh yeah i forgot. not many people here use the HPW diet. its not adapted to our weather.

get GliderSlurp from crazymouse_yyh

its good. its a diet similar to that of HPW, BML etc.

but, its good and suited for gliders in our weather.
souzaco
post Mar 2 2008, 10:19 PM

sorry but I don't know how to use those quote features.

I thought those formulas that are being posted suit the all country. hehehe. guess I was wrong...

-crazymouse, I'm from sabah. I'm not sure if the vet here can neuter a male sg...I doubt it though. hehehe

I am figuring out a way on making my own cage but I am having problems with the door part. I was never nor will I ever be good at DIY stuffs. lol. but I'll try. I thought of just buying a cage but so far I have only found dog/cats cages.

jitshiong
post Mar 2 2008, 10:23 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(souzaco @ Mar 2 2008, 01:49 PM)
Hello all.

I am just wondering on what are your thoughts on the bifurcated sugar glider penis...now don't get me wrong but I 'might' get one (it is not known if it will be a female or a male one) and I just need a guideline on  the anatomy of the male sg. notice the word 'might'. lol. depending on the number of joeys that is being born and whether the breeders sister wants a sg or not.

Oh, and about the bald male scent glands... how bad do they stink. I know - different people, different opinions but once again I just needed a brief insight of it. Lol.

ciao~
This link should provide u with a better idea.
http://bmxglider.tripod.com/tmalesexorgan3.jpg
It doesn't really show the 'snake tongue' clearly though
I really looks like the cacing...tiny ones

This post has been edited by jitshiong: Mar 2 2008, 10:23 PM
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Mar 2 2008, 10:29 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

QUOTE(souzaco @ Mar 2 2008, 10:19 PM)
sorry but I don't know how to use those quote features.

I thought those formulas that are being posted suit the all country. hehehe. guess I was wrong...

-crazymouse, I'm from sabah. I'm not sure if the vet here can neuter a male sg...I doubt it though. hehehe

I am figuring out a way on making my own cage but I am having problems with the door part. I was never nor will I ever be good at DIY stuffs. lol. but I'll try. I thought of just buying a cage but so far I have only found dog/cats cages.
Just click reply to the person you wanna reply or click quote and add reply.

Ohhh... Sabah.... I think it is hard to get gliders in Sabah as well rite?

Actually, I wouldn't say suit the weather... more like suit our country. Coz many of the items or ingredients are not found locally, so like my GliderSLURP, it is adapted to suit our needs. Whatever is on the internet, not all is correct or suitable. Like say Honey.... too much honey is bad. Imagine those BML or Leadbeater's diet, they use 150ml to 200ml for honey.... to the same amount of water! I think that is just too sweet.... also, its sugar, which is not really healthy. So you gotta think about the diet. Anyway, you can PM me for more info.

You should go and get bird cages, not dog cages. If no choice, then get a tall cat cage and you use wire mesh to cover it.

Actually, if you keep males only without any females around, then there won't be much musking or other territorial behaviour.... but if you are still not sure, then go get a female tongue.gif
silverwineus
post Mar 2 2008, 10:39 PM

514 posts

It's been some time i have not visited Ikano Pet Safari.
Today i have the privilege to do so.

Then i stopped over the sugar glider display glass vivarium, about 1 x 1.5 x 2 feet, roughly estimated.
Currently there is just a single underaged joey on display.
The forehead of the joey is injured.

I have the privilege to talk to the shop assistant and i think it's a good conversation to create awareness on the care of joeys.
The shop assistant is quite polite to me even though i may be quite straightforward about the lamps and the vivarium, which is designed for reptiles, and not sugar glider.

If more people excercise their boldness and rights to speak the truth in love and politely, then more awareness will be created and they may start to see the severity of the condition and complaints made by others and make a change.

It's good that currently the shop assistants there have more awareness now, because subsequently they have received many similar complaints peviously. Thanks to these people that cared, which have sowed seeds to them.

But in the case of selling underaged joeys, the breeders are the main concern as they are the ones who supply.
There should be a ruling enforced, that selling underaged joeys are prohibited.

If this circumstance should persist, then a firm action should be taken by reporting this cruelty to the animal welfare department for investigation. Lets observe how it goes from now. smile.gif

jitshiong
post Mar 2 2008, 10:52 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(silverwineus @ Mar 2 2008, 10:39 PM)
It's been some time i have not visited Ikano Pet Safari.
Today i have the privilege to do so.

Then i stopped over the sugar glider display glass vivarium, about 1 x 1.5 x 2 feet, roughly estimated.
Currently there is just a single underaged joey on display.
The forehead of the joey is injured.

I have the privilege to talk to the shop assistant and i think it's a good conversation to create awareness on the care of joeys.
The shop assistant is quite polite to me even though i may be quite straightforward about the lamps and the vivarium, which is designed for reptiles, and not sugar glider.

If more people excercise their boldness and rights to speak the truth in love and politely, then more awareness will be created and they may start to see the severity of the condition and complaints made by others and make a change.

It's good that currently the shop assistants there have more awareness now, because subsequently they have received many similar complaints peviously. Thanks to these people that cared, which have sowed seeds to them.

But in the case of selling underaged joeys, the breeders are the main concern as they are the ones who supply.
There should be a ruling enforced, that selling underaged joeys are prohibited.

If this circumstance should persist, then a firm action should be taken by reporting this cruelty to the animal welfare department for investigation. Lets observe how it goes from now.  smile.gif
I went to a petshop in Seremban to sell my hamsters yesterday...
I took one of my gliders along with me,Twinkle.
Very tame female...
So,the shop owner saw my glider and ask if it's tame,what did i feed her,how come she dun crab and tons of other question.
After telling him bout how i care for my gliders n how to train them,he revealed to me that his boss (he has a bigger boss, ths shop in Seremban is just a branch) is actually keeping 3000-5000 pairs of imported gliders to be bred.
Wild untamed gliders imported illegally.
He even told me that they r gonna ship the gliders into Singapore n that there's a certain time where they'll be able to do it.
It's just sick to hear that they have 5000 gilders in captive.
Imagine the space required...I think they just keep them in small cages...
Sigh...can't do anything.
I can only listen...
phoonwa
post Mar 2 2008, 11:29 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(jitshiong @ Mar 2 2008, 10:52 PM)
I went to a petshop in Seremban to sell my hamsters yesterday...
I took one of my gliders along with me,Twinkle.
Very tame female...
So,the shop owner saw my glider and ask if it's tame,what did i feed her,how come she dun crab and tons of other question.
After telling him bout how i care for my gliders n how to train them,he revealed to me that his boss (he has a bigger boss, ths shop in Seremban is just a branch) is actually keeping 3000-5000 pairs of imported gliders to be bred.
Wild untamed gliders imported illegally.
He even told me that they r gonna ship the gliders into Singapore n that there's a certain time where they'll be able to do it.
It's just sick to hear that they have 5000 gilders in captive.
Imagine the space required...I think they just keep them in small cages...
Sigh...can't do anything.
I can only listen...
3000 to 5000 sg...
maybe he lied u one... if there is easy to get such many sg then the price wont be so expensive...
hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif
Jamien
post Mar 3 2008, 02:01 AM

2,647 posts

I thought sugar gliders weren't allowed in Singapore? It sounds so cruel...
jitshiong
post Mar 3 2008, 08:02 AM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(phoonwa @ Mar 2 2008, 11:29 PM)
3000 to 5000 sg...
maybe he lied u one... if there is easy to get such many sg then the price wont be so expensive...
hmm.gif  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
Maybe he did,i dunno.
Gliders aren't hard to get...there's plenty in Indonesia
Only the joeys are expensive.
Those who caught wild gliders are selling them cheap...
Wild gliders are being sold at RM60 each.

125 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0331sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 07:50 PM