177 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Art & Design So you're interested in ARCHITECTURE? Version 2, A guide to becoming an Architect.

xtracooljustin
post Feb 4 2008, 02:39 AM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

Yay we have moved to a new home! rclxm9.gif

Green architecture such as sustainable, energy saving buildings? well, our country and govt nvr really emphasized on this issue so not many ppl are going the green way. Besides that the technology involved cost a lot more.
clayclws
post Feb 4 2008, 02:52 AM

2,659 posts

QUOTE(Benjamin911 @ Feb 4 2008, 02:36 AM)
BTW, does Malaysia already have Green Buildings?  shocking.gif
It seems to me that nowadays, the lecturers had a hand in telling the juniors of getting those books as well, particular Form, Space and Order.

Aah... smile.gif Well, it's hard to define what a green building actually is eh? Hmmm, told you that Ken Yeang is our local icon right? Why not look him up? And then, there's Hijjas Kasturi. Oh, don't forget GDP. Well, there are a few others, why not take sometime to research around?
Benjamin911
post Feb 4 2008, 03:11 AM

~`~artisan`~
777 posts

QUOTE(clayclws @ Feb 4 2008, 02:52 AM)
It seems to me that nowadays,  the lecturers had a hand in telling the juniors of getting those books as well, particular Form, Space and Order.

Aah... smile.gif Well, it's hard to define what a green building actually is eh? Hmmm, told you that Ken Yeang is our local icon right? Why not look him up? And then, there's Hijjas Kasturi. Oh, don't forget GDP. Well, there are a few others, why not take sometime to research around?
OK, I wrote down those 3 books into my buying list! biggrin.gif Thanks for informing me about them.

Yes, it is time to be a researcher and research more about the R&D of Green Buildings and Green Architecture.

BTW, in my imagination, the new Taylor's Lakeside Campus really looks like a Futuristic State of the Art Greenhouse. [Heck, it should be one, I can imagine how nice it would be to study Architecture in a Flagship State of the Art Greenhouse!]

http://www.taylors.edu.my/about/about_landing.php?id=91

Anyway, I would be studying in that massive Greenhouse in 2010! (Migrating from a smaller Greenhouse to an even larger Greenhouse!)

In the future, I shall make my house a Greenhouse too!

Regards.

---

This post has been edited by Benjamin911: Feb 4 2008, 03:34 AM
TSazarimy
post Feb 4 2008, 04:41 AM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

malaysia has a lot of green buildings than most people think. it's just that it never been made popular. owh who am i kidding? there's nothing popular about architecture in malaysia. ask people to name one famous architect in malaysia, i bet not many can do it biggrin.gif.

to put it simply, alot of resorts and hotels between 3 to 5 star hotels in malaysia are a variation of green architecture. as mentioned earlier, ken yeang's architectures are some of the best green architecture (or bio-climatic architecture as he calls it) in the world. mesiniaga (subang jaya) utilizes a passive system that minimizes energy usage to cool the building. menara UMNO (penang) uses the bernoulli principles to ventilate its interiors, making less use of airconditioning.

there are all sorts of green architecture. some goes for full sustainability, as what most called it as the penultimate pinnacle of green architecture; some goes for good climatic response (like most resorts in malaysia are); some go for low energy usage (which most hirise buildings post 1990 are equipped with) and so on.

malaysian just dont know it bcoz everytime they see a new building, they see politics. to them, the more glorious the building, the more money government spent on it, even if most of it actually are privately funded. ah, who am i kidding? tongue.gif
albirri
post Feb 5 2008, 03:32 AM

shinobi
2,250 posts

My 3 months practical training at TR Hamzah and Yeang made me realize that Malaysian architect is capable to design such hi tech and sustainable building...For sure that Dr. Ken Yeang is an icon in Malaysian architecture field...

Added on February 5, 2008, 3:36 amOne more thing...UIAM is going to take accredetation evaluation this coming May and my batch (current 5th year/final year) will be the benchmark of this coming accredetation. in the other words, our thesis is everything...we're praying really hard that we will success...

This post has been edited by albirri: Feb 5 2008, 03:36 AM
xtracooljustin
post Feb 6 2008, 12:40 AM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

QUOTE(albirri @ Feb 5 2008, 03:32 AM)
My 3 months practical training at TR Hamzah and Yeang made me realize that Malaysian architect is capable to design such hi tech and sustainable building...For sure that Dr. Ken Yeang is an icon in Malaysian architecture field...

Added on February 5, 2008, 3:36 amOne more thing...UIAM is going to take accredetation evaluation this coming May and my batch (current 5th year/final year) will be the benchmark of this coming accredetation. in the other words, our thesis is everything...we're praying really hard that we will success...
All da best mate. Really hope UIAM really gets the accreditation. KAEDians r always a fun bunch. It also gives would-be architecture students more choice wink.gif

This post has been edited by xtracooljustin: Feb 6 2008, 12:41 AM
BridgestoneRE711
post Feb 6 2008, 01:55 AM

♦ ♣ ♥ ♠
3,429 posts

am i late to join the fun of 2nd new home ?
anyway , it has been a very good experience over here , i was guided by mr.azarimy and Ultracooljustintimberlake from mid-upper six to STPM to taking STPM result to entering LUCT and at last i entered UTM after some tough time facing the interview problem .
gheheheh thanks .
mwkh_hope
post Feb 7 2008, 11:07 AM

406 posts

You are always to join us...

I think that Malaysia has the potiential to develop/design interesting building if they put alot of effort on it....
misyie
post Feb 7 2008, 04:16 PM

QUOTE(albirri @ Feb 5 2008, 03:32 AM)

wow
that must have been a remarkable experience notworthy.gif
destroyer
post Feb 7 2008, 10:19 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

nice topic azarimy. lot of quality information. i have already applied for SENIBINA as my first choice for ipta. Is senibina is what we called architecture in english? i apply for UTM. quite scared bout the first stage interview since i've not well in my drawing. can't even sketch. so, any tips from u guys on how 2 imagine?
TSazarimy
post Feb 7 2008, 10:32 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(destroyer @ Feb 7 2008, 02:19 PM)
nice topic azarimy. lot of quality information. i have already applied for SENIBINA as my first choice for ipta. Is senibina is what we called architecture in english? i apply for UTM. quite scared bout the first stage interview since i've not well in my drawing. can't even sketch. so, any tips from u guys on how 2 imagine?
yes, senibina = architecture.

u can find a guide for the interviews here. the guide is based on UTM's interview format, so it's the best guide u can ever find for UTM architecture interview.
destroyer
post Feb 7 2008, 10:38 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

yup. i've already read the info you write before. juz that my hand are like tangan kayu. i have no art talent. dunno how i score in my engineering drawing. i can imagine, but i can't draw. i've practice a lot. stil no improve. any method u guys?
OceanRed
post Feb 8 2008, 12:35 AM

142 posts

QUOTE(Benjamin911 @ Feb 4 2008, 03:11 AM)

BTW, in my imagination, the new Taylor's Lakeside Campus really looks like a Futuristic State of the Art Greenhouse. [Heck, it should be one, I can imagine how nice it would be to study Architecture in a Flagship State of the Art Greenhouse!][/color]

http://www.taylors.edu.my/about/about_landing.php?id=91

Anyway, I would be studying in that massive Greenhouse in 2010! (Migrating from a smaller Greenhouse to an even larger Greenhouse!)

---
Lol. Is TCPJ a small greenhouse? There are air-con exhausts in the corridors also, know. Every morning we get a fresh blast of hot air as we walk to class. But they integrated these things into the face of the buildings also, seems quite a good idea la. Only weird thing is they are also in the corridors.

TSazarimy
post Feb 8 2008, 04:07 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(destroyer @ Feb 7 2008, 02:38 PM)
yup. i've already read the info you write before. juz that my hand are like tangan kayu. i have no art talent. dunno how i score in my engineering drawing. i can imagine, but i can't draw. i've practice a lot. stil no improve. any method u guys?
there are lots of subsets of arts that an architect can benefit from, and drawings are just one of them. a person who can draw can visualize their designs faster. one who is articulate could write or even talk their way to sell their designs. those who can act can convince others that their designs are good. those who can sculpt/model can provide convincing and realistic models of their designs.

if u're good in engineering drawings, no doubt u'll pawn others in technical drawings. it's hard to imagine one who can do technical drawings who cant design. remember, architecture does not rely so much in ur ability to draw as much as ur ability to design. if u cant draw, bring a bunch of lego sets and show off what u can do.
destroyer
post Feb 8 2008, 08:48 AM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

one more thing. which is better. from what i've read, it is better to take the sarjana muda than diploma.

1.takin diploma in architecture, UTM

or

2.taking sarjana muda sains(architecture), UiTM

Edited: during the interview, can i bring sculpture or a house model made from paper to replace the drawing thingy?

This post has been edited by destroyer: Feb 8 2008, 09:14 AM
xtracooljustin
post Feb 8 2008, 12:11 PM

Joining the 1K Club
1,602 posts

QUOTE(destroyer @ Feb 8 2008, 08:48 AM)
one more thing. which is better. from what i've read, it is better to take the sarjana muda than diploma.

1.takin diploma in architecture, UTM

or

2.taking sarjana muda sains(architecture), UiTM
Edited: during the interview, can i bring sculpture or a house model made from paper to replace the drawing thingy?
there's no so called better or not better path. Obviously its better to take degree than diploma, but u may only do so if you hav STPM, apply and manage to get a place at any of da accredited local IPTA. For the rest who dun hav good results and not willing to do STPM, they may go the diploma route. Diploma is 3 yrs after SPM n u'll usually be equipped wif sufficient skills to work after that but may require excellent portfolio and results to enter any IPTA to continue ur degree.
destroyer
post Feb 8 2008, 02:48 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

yup but i'm applying for category A which is for spm leavers. there are 2 course open for architecture. one is diploma. while the other is degree. which is better? which institution provide better facilities , UTM or UiTM?
TSazarimy
post Feb 8 2008, 06:54 PM

10,672 posts

in the UTM diploma vs UiTM degree, it practically boils down to where u wanna study. the duration of the course is almost exactly the same.

a. UTM diploma is 3 years after SPM. if u've managed to be in the top 10 of ur batch, u have a good chance of continuing straight to UTM part 2 degree for another 3 years, which means 6 years total. u also have a chance to apply to other schools, but most will require u to take 2 years of part 1 and 2 years of part 2, totalling to 7 years total.

b. UiTM part 1 degree is 4 years after SPM. UiTM degree does not require a pre-u course, bcoz it's already integrated in its 1st year. after finishing part 1 degree, u can continue ur part 2 degree anywhere in UiTM, UTM, UM or USM for another 2 years, totalling to 6 years.

so it's basically almost the same thing, although UiTM does have a significant advantage in available choices. now lets go into the schools itself.

UTM and UiTM are rival schools with almost equal facilities and expertise. probably the only difference is UTM has no race quotas, and the distribution is about 50-50 bumi-non bumi.

location wise, UTM degree school is in skudai. most may see this as a disadvantage, but they're just about an hours drive from singapore. UiTM on the other hand has 2 schools, one in shah alam and the other in sri iskandar (perak). shah alam is considerably close to KL, and the fun parts tend to rub off them fairly easily compared to sri iskandar.

there are other aspects we could compare as well, but the differences are quite subtle. like i said, it boils down to where u wanna be.
destroyer
post Feb 8 2008, 07:54 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

i live in jb. only few minutes ride 2 UTM. which qualification promise better job oppoturnity when graduated? normally architectural company will choose UTM graduate or UiTM? Or is it just the same?

One more thing i curious 2 know. How do we apply for job oversea after we finish study? Coz a father of my friend got paid almost USD25K by working in Dubai. We have 2 look for them or they will look for us?
TSazarimy
post Feb 8 2008, 10:03 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(destroyer @ Feb 8 2008, 11:54 AM)
i live in jb. only few minutes ride 2 UTM. which qualification promise better job oppoturnity when graduated? normally architectural company will choose UTM graduate or UiTM? Or is it just the same?

One more thing i curious 2 know. How do we apply for job oversea after we finish study? Coz a father of my friend got paid almost USD25K by working in Dubai. We have 2 look for them or they will look for us?
there's no apparent preference by potential employers between the graduates of UTM, USM, UM and UiTM. these four schools have been certified with part 2, which is the most important thing most employers care about. other than that, some might prefer alumni from their alma mater. meaning if the office is predominantly USM graduates, they will usually prefer USM graduates as well. this is fairly evident in firms with predominantly UiTM students, but not so much in other firms. so to put it simply, the job opportunity is fairly the same.

but u should know that each school has their own specialty and niche area. USM are into management+business practice and housing, UTM is more technical, experimental and environmental and so on. so u should try and find out what u interests u when u start part 1 studies, and focus during part 2.

applying for overseas jobs is fairly simple. u can either:

i. find an agent in malaysia. they'll find the job for u.
ii. contact the firm directly or apply for the job through the internet.
iii. get somebody who have connection with the overseas firm to consider u.

never go to another country using a visitors visa to look and apply for a job, bcoz that's a misuse of visa. when the immigration finds out, u'll never get the work permit.

177 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0526sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 12:40 AM