177 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Art & Design So you're interested in ARCHITECTURE? Version 2, A guide to becoming an Architect.

destroyer
post Feb 9 2008, 07:54 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

that's the prob. bcoz house in kl will cost a bomb. even if share. anyway. i will go for UTM. normally, how many student per batch?

1.hehe. can you recommend UTM 2 do the diploma architecture in skudai? haha juz kidding

This post has been edited by destroyer: Feb 9 2008, 07:54 PM
TSazarimy
post Feb 9 2008, 08:39 PM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

UTM diploma in KL takes about 30 students per batch, while UTM degree in skudai takes about 50 per batch.

rent rates in KL is comparable to JB to be honest. and the food costs almost the same too.

i. actually, before 2005 the diploma school is conducted in JB. but the recent expansion of the school caused the integrated school to be split into two schools - the diploma goes to KL, and degree stays in skudai. so u're just born a few years too late tongue.gif
destroyer
post Feb 9 2008, 08:54 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

normally, how many people will be called for the interview? before they are selected? if i fail the interview, can i go for another course in ipta?

This post has been edited by destroyer: Feb 9 2008, 08:55 PM
TSazarimy
post Feb 9 2008, 09:38 PM

10,672 posts

normally, how many people will be called for the interview? before they are selected? if i fail the interview, can i go for another course in ipta?

this has been discussed in point 1.6 in the architecture FAQs. refer to first page. however to further elaborate:

usually a school will call between 100 to 200 students for the interview, and they will sort out the top students that complies to the schools' criteria. meaning about 1 out of 4 of those interviewed will get in.

the interview process is part of the UPU selection process. meaning u may be called for an interview by 3 different schools if u applied for them in the UPU application form. if u've applied for other courses in the UPU list, u still have a fair chance to go to other course. but remember, only one course will be offered to u by UPU, according to ur order of preference in the list.

for example, u applied 5 courses:

i. architecture in UTM
ii. architecture in UM
iii. architecture in UiTM
iv. civil engineering in UPM
v. town planning in USM

architecture and town planning may conduct interviews, while civil does not. so u might be called to 3 or 4 interviews. after the interviews were done, each school will submit their decision to UPU. UPU will look into the results they have.

i. if UTM offers u a place, u will not get offers from others despite they called u for an interview and passed.
ii. if UTM rejects, they'll check 2nd choice = UM. if UM offers u a place, u will not get offers from others.
iii. this process goes on until all choices have been exhausted.
iv. if all choices have been exhausted, and u still not offered a place, UPU will check ur overall results. if u have above average results, UPU will opt to offer u a place to any courses that has an opening or availability.
v. this is usually outside ur choice, most of the time these are the unpopular choices. the reason for doing this is that UPU does not wanna waste potential students and just give any course available. u can take it if u want, and if u reject it doesnt matter much.

destroyer
post Feb 9 2008, 10:01 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

tanx. haha. very high competition. i choose utm architecture as 1st choice, followed by mechanical, aeronautic, and mechatronic. will try my best. tanx a lot azarimy. does it exceed rm10k for studying until part2 degree? hehe. since u work in utm i might be bugging u for sum teaching when i do my degree there. i want 2 ask ur own opinion. does u draw plan or etc everyday when u're working?
seeker archi
post Feb 9 2008, 10:27 PM

thanx alot dr azari.
I want to contact you if thats possible by email or any other mean .

and thank u again
destroyer
post Feb 9 2008, 10:47 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

guess what. i just search architect job using jobseeker. architect are in demand. haha. bright future. there's a job offering in mauritius 2.

Does it exceed rm10k for studying until part2 degree? hehe. since u work in utm i might be bugging u for sum teaching when i do my degree there. i want 2 ask ur own opinion. does u draw plan or etc everyday when u're working?

do UiTM provide accomodation till the end of my study?

This post has been edited by destroyer: Feb 9 2008, 10:49 PM
TSazarimy
post Feb 9 2008, 11:46 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(seeker archi @ Feb 9 2008, 02:27 PM)
thanx alot dr azari.
I want to contact you if thats possible by email or any other mean .

and thank u again
no problem. u can contact me via MSN messenger at azarimy@hotmail.com, which i'm occasionally online. or u could email me straight to azarimy@gmail.com

Added on February 9, 2008, 11:55 pm
QUOTE(destroyer @ Feb 9 2008, 02:47 PM)
guess what. i just search architect job using jobseeker. architect are in demand. haha. bright future. there's a job offering in mauritius 2.

Does it exceed rm10k for studying until part2 degree? hehe. since u work in utm i might be bugging u for sum teaching when i do my degree there. i want 2 ask ur own opinion. does u draw plan or etc everyday when u're working?

do UiTM provide accomodation till the end of my study?
the fees will exceed RM10k for a 5 year study. include expenses, accommodation and study-related expenditures, studying in IPTA will easily reach RM20k. remember that architecture is one of the courses that requires a lot of money throughout studies, for computing, printing, photocopying, model-making, plotting, reproduction etc.

u're welcome to bug me in UTM, regardless if u study in UTM or not, as long as u're studying architecture.

i'm not sure if UiTM provides full accommodation, but according to some of my friends, most of them prefers to stay outside around shah alam. more flexibility, independent living and ability to cook their own food (which seriously is cheaper than the cheapest hawkers). but this does not mean they were forced to stay outside. i believe each IPTA in malaysia can provide full accommodations to atleast 60% of its student population. priority is definitely given to those who're active in co-curricular activities. but i can say for sure that UTM skudai are currently housing 100% of its students in campus, including postgraduate families. and they even provide housing for staff bujang. yes, UTM skudai has one of the largest campus in malaysia, second only to UPM.

This post has been edited by azarimy: Feb 9 2008, 11:55 PM
destroyer
post Feb 10 2008, 12:03 AM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

haha. wow. normally, job seeker will search for worker with experience. only few offer for fresh grads. how can u work for experience when they only want experience worker.
TSazarimy
post Feb 10 2008, 02:50 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(destroyer @ Feb 9 2008, 04:03 PM)
haha. wow. normally, job seeker will search for worker with experience. only few offer for fresh grads. how can u work for experience when they only want experience worker.
there are also firms that look for fresh graduates. but most of the time most graduates use the practical training/year out period to present themselves to a firm for about 6 months. students look at practical training as a way to gain professional experience before working in the real world, but the employers see it as a 6 months long interview wink.gif. the best way is to show ur best in that 6 months, and before u finish, try and convince the boss to offer u a job by the time u graduate. alot of my friends did this and so did i. my boss in AKB was pretty disappointed when i chose the academic line coz at that time AKB was about to open a branch in bosnia herzegovina, and i was one of the staff he planned to spearhead the firm there. so practical training is not just some work u need to do, it has its benefits that most students never realized.

however, some students dont realize that firms \"talk\". for example, if u do shitty job in firm A during ur 6 months practical, the boss might one way or another talk to boss in firm B and C. so when u wanna apply for a job at firm B or C, they wont take u in bcoz of what u did in firm A.

bottom line is, there are lots of jobs out there. firms are just not that willing to spend time for 6 months to a year just to realize that u are incapable of doing certain jobs.
clayclws
post Feb 10 2008, 10:13 AM

2,659 posts

QUOTE(destroyer @ Feb 10 2008, 12:03 AM)
In this line of work? You kidding? Go to any of the schools, and you'll see lots of architectural firm putting up advertisement to get fresh grads to join them. Seriously. Come to UM alone and there are already about 10. Plus, there are architects who do part time here, or give crits or interim, etc. They constantly look for people o join them. Mouth to mouth advertisement through lecturers and seniors are also aplenty.
albirri
post Feb 10 2008, 02:46 PM

shinobi
2,250 posts

Yeah...at my school also (IIUM) there are some architecture firms that looking for fresh graduate...even, during portfolio day, there are several prominent architects comes and observing our works, they offer some of the best students to work with them...For example, some of my senior joined Hijas as Ar. Hijas himself offer them work...(after graduate, don't forget to send ur resume to my office...he said)
destroyer
post Feb 10 2008, 06:57 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

what do you all think about architecture in the next 6-10 years? still worth 2 study architect?
albirri
post Feb 10 2008, 07:49 PM

shinobi
2,250 posts

In my opinion...still worth...i received BA (Berita Akitek, from PAM, u got it for free if u're a member)...they said that the government need 4700 architects in 2015 where we have to produce 383 architects per year. Currently, we only produce 148 archtects per year. The ratio is 1:8000 (architect:population)...

That's only the figure for architect, while the other technical staffs like draughtman, technical assistant and others which are related to the architectural field also have the ratio 1:5 (architect:technical support staffs).

TSazarimy
post Feb 10 2008, 07:49 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(destroyer @ Feb 10 2008, 10:57 AM)
what do you all think about architecture in the next 6-10 years? still worth 2 study architect?
as an academic, i'll say: malaysia will continuously need architects until it becomes a fully developed nation. and even after that, private sector will thrive and will continuously demand architects. this is thanks to the architecture legislation that requires construction projects to be endorsed by architects. even if it is just a simple house renovation.

as an architect, i'll say: no, malaysia is dying. u should go find job in some other sector. (the lesser architects out there, the more jobs for me laugh.gif)

destroyer
post Feb 10 2008, 08:00 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

wow azarimy. you're so "nice". is it true that architect is dying in malaysia or you were just kidding?
clayclws
post Feb 10 2008, 09:51 PM

2,659 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Feb 10 2008, 07:49 PM)
as an academic, i'll say: malaysia will continuously need architects until it becomes a fully developed nation. and even after that, private sector will thrive and will continuously demand architects. this is thanks to the architecture legislation that requires construction projects to be endorsed by architects. even if it is just a simple house renovation.

as an architect, i'll say: no, malaysia is dying. u should go find job in some other sector. (the lesser architects out there, the more jobs for me laugh.gif)
I much prefer the unethical architects to be gone rather than fresh ones.
destroyer
post Feb 11 2008, 07:09 AM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

well. i was thinking about taking asasi alam bina at UM.

1.how long is the duration? 6 or 7 year. already read ur guide. asasi take 2 year or 1 year?

2.what is the difference with diploma?

3.accomodation in UM. can i stay there till i finish degree?

This post has been edited by destroyer: Feb 11 2008, 07:38 AM
TSazarimy
post Feb 11 2008, 08:03 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(destroyer @ Feb 10 2008, 11:09 PM)
well. i was thinking about taking asasi alam bina at UM.

1.how long is the duration? 6 or 7 year. already read ur guide. asasi take 2 year or 1 year?

2.what is the difference with diploma?

3.accomodation in UM. can i stay there till i finish degree?
1. asasi alam bina is 1 year if i recall correctly. after that it's another 5 years (3+2) for part 1 and part 2 degrees.

2. asasi alam bina is a foundation programme. it sets out to bridge students' knowledge and understanding between O-levels/SPM and a degree course, practically what any pre-u courses do technically. pre-U does not instill any appliable or practical knowledge of the profession. it just introduces what's what, who's who, which's which etc.

diploma on the other is a professional qualification that allows u to work in the industry. bottom line is, u DONT stop at asasi alam bina. it's like taking lesen L but didnt get a full license.

3. i have no idea. ask clayclws.
destroyer
post Feb 11 2008, 08:05 AM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

as an architect, i'll say: no, malaysia is dying. u should go find job in some other sector. (the lesser architects out there, the more jobs for me

azarimy. from ur statement above, do u mean it that malaysia is dying or you juz being evil ?

177 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0282sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 05:49 AM