92 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Bottom

☆Fellowship of the Strings☆Violin,Viola,Cello etc., ~String Instruments Lovers are welcome!~

storm04
post Feb 23 2009, 07:57 AM

158 posts

gosh reading in this forum makes me feel guilty... i've been super bz and havent attended classes since b4 xmas....
hopefully my teacher still remember i exists ... ahahha
youjian
post Feb 25 2009, 08:33 PM

54 posts

can some 1 tell me wat is the difference between ABRSM and Trinity??
little ice
post Feb 25 2009, 09:44 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

ABRSM and Trinity is basically share the same qualification although both offering different syllabus.

ABRSM is more famous for Grade 1~8 exams as it covers more stuffs than Trinity especially in the aural/hearing exam where trinity you only need to memorize one song (not sure if it's the same now).

Trinity is more famous for their diplomas, that's where you heard ATCL/LTCL/FTCL all the time when people are talking about diplomas. a diploma exam can take up to half an hours or more due to the required minimum length the songs you prepared, it's like a mini concert.

i took Trinity grade 8 exam anyway, cause i already took ABRSM piano last time so i lazy to redo the aural exam, so i memorized 1 song and i can skip those. i still need to do sight reading, scales etc though.
nzx10
post Feb 25 2009, 09:47 PM

Hello, just wanna ask that is violin has many modern songs to play? Exp final fantasy songs
Or can use piano score sheet? Because I search and found out that piano/keyboard has more modern songs score sheets

>.< so I am still can't make up my mine to learn keyboard/violin 1st
LukesBelial
post Feb 25 2009, 09:54 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(nzx10 @ Feb 25 2009, 09:47 PM)
Hello, just wanna ask that is violin has many modern songs to play? Exp final fantasy songs
Or can use piano score sheet? Because I search and found out that piano/keyboard has more modern songs score sheets

>.< so I am still can't make up my mine to learn keyboard/violin 1st
Ever heard "The Sins of Thy Beloved"? Extensive use of violin in gothic music..
nzx10
post Feb 25 2009, 10:01 PM

QUOTE(LukesBelial @ Feb 25 2009, 09:54 PM)
Ever heard "The Sins of Thy Beloved"? Extensive use of violin in gothic music..
very sorry to say that nope. sweat.gif
maybe you mistaken my modern songs category. blush.gif
i mean like chinese modern songs and anime OSTs. haha sweat.gif
yangxi
post Feb 25 2009, 10:07 PM

Violinist ^.^ 囧 囧
4,189 posts

can buy this book 浪漫金曲 chinese pop songs. now i thing vol 38+?

anime ost? which song ? you can find midi and convert to score.

LukesBelial
post Feb 25 2009, 10:14 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(nzx10 @ Feb 25 2009, 10:01 PM)
very sorry to say that nope.  sweat.gif
maybe you mistaken my modern songs category.  blush.gif
i mean like chinese modern songs and anime OSTs. haha  sweat.gif
oic.. how about anime OST "Melody of Oblivion"?.. got lot of violin part there..
yangxi
post Feb 25 2009, 10:17 PM

Violinist ^.^ 囧 囧
4,189 posts

QUOTE(little ice @ Feb 25 2009, 09:44 PM)
ABRSM and Trinity is basically share the same qualification although both offering different syllabus.

ABRSM is more famous for Grade 1~8 exams as it covers more stuffs than Trinity especially in the aural/hearing exam where trinity you only need to memorize one song (not sure if it's the same now).

Trinity is more famous for their diplomas, that's where you heard ATCL/LTCL/FTCL all the time when people are talking about diplomas. a diploma exam can take up to half an hours or more due to the required minimum length the songs you prepared, it's like a mini concert.

i took Trinity grade 8 exam anyway, cause i already took ABRSM piano last time so i lazy to redo the aural exam, so i memorized 1 song and i can skip those. i still need to do sight reading, scales etc though.
I pass both piano and violin 10yrs ago...

ABRSM exam songs getting harder (2008-2010). Feel like this Grade 8 same as Trinity diplomas.

Added on February 25, 2009, 10:20 pm
QUOTE(LukesBelial @ Feb 25 2009, 10:14 PM)
oic.. how about anime OST "Melody of Oblivion"?.. got lot of violin part there..
hard to find leh.. better play some joe hisashi songs blush.gif

This post has been edited by yangxi: Feb 25 2009, 10:20 PM
nzx10
post Feb 25 2009, 10:52 PM

QUOTE(yangxi @ Feb 25 2009, 10:07 PM)
can buy this book 浪漫金曲  chinese pop songs.  now i thing vol 38+?

anime ost?  which song ?  you can find midi and convert to score.
that book is for violin?
thanks ya.

i dont know wanna take keyboard or violin. but seems like my budget only allows to buy violin >.<
have to decide fast since my semester reopens soon blush.gif
little ice
post Feb 25 2009, 11:11 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

for modern songs, normally people are playing them by ear. they hear them, and play them out without scores. not 100% faithful to the original but you can transcribe them if you want.
niloiv
post Feb 26 2009, 01:01 PM

hi! i am new here. and i'm thinking of taking violin lessons. (btw i dont have any music base AT ALL doh.gif )
so i've read this thread. it has been helpful for a newbie like me. i'm 17 years old. i know it is quite old for me to start playing violin.
anyway, i'm thinking of buying a violin. my budget is around RM400 nia. hopefully i can get an ok violin with only that amount of money. do you think i should take lessons first b4 buying a violin or buy first then go for lessons? pls help me! icon_question.gif
little ice
post Feb 26 2009, 01:09 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

i started to learn violin when i was 18. smile.gif

for RM400 to get a good one it's a bit hit and miss, and violin is not like piano, each violin can vary quite a lot even they're sharing the same price tag.

and of course, go for lesson first before buying 1, consult your teacher about everything before commiting. see what your teacher will say and report here and see what we can help.
niloiv
post Feb 26 2009, 02:22 PM

thank you very much little ice! laugh.gif

i'm gonna get myself a teacher yay~

hopefully i can find a teacher soon lor... brows.gif

empire
post Feb 26 2009, 05:59 PM

2,549 posts

Niloiv..you can ask little ice to be your teacher. he memang gifted in teaching cos unlike me...he's more patient. LOL!
niloiv
post Feb 26 2009, 09:12 PM

QUOTE(empire @ Feb 26 2009, 05:59 PM)
Niloiv..you can ask little ice to be your teacher. he memang gifted in teaching cos unlike me...he's more patient. LOL!
aduh... if i can sure i ask little ice la.

i see him giving a lot of advice and answer a lot of question in this forum lei.

haiz... but then i live in a town where everything is hard to find... even finding a musical instrument dealer also hard. sweat.gif

surely little ice wont be living anywhere near my hometown.

This post has been edited by niloiv: Feb 26 2009, 09:13 PM
empire
post Feb 26 2009, 09:53 PM

2,549 posts

niloiv..where you located?
niloiv
post Feb 26 2009, 10:06 PM

kuching, sarawak. i only found a few music schools in kuching from the yellow page. aduh...
Amanda85
post Feb 27 2009, 11:51 AM

Scuderia Ferrari
2,232 posts

i've just bought a synwin violin from Amadues at Seksyen 14 yesterday.

they show me the Rm380 and Rm800++ to me... honestly i can't tell the difference.. but the 800 looks much nicer ofcoz

I ended up buying the RM380, with RM40 discount. so is RM340.

I was told that is exchangable within 1 week only. now i'm still in dilemma whether should i buy the 800 instead...
little ice
post Feb 27 2009, 01:13 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

amanda, don't worry, RM300+ and RM800 usually won't have much of a difference, unless you're looking at RM1500~2000. moreover, if you can't tell the difference, so there's no point, unless you're with your teacher or seniors to choose for you.

i'd say, you should look into bow instead. many, many of the student violin outfit, the bow are very weak and not stable, you can learn very basic things with it but very soon you'll find a better bow is much more enjoyable along your learning journey.

however, show your violin to your instructor before you make any further decisions. smile.gif

92 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Top

0.0298sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 02:15 AM