klang and bkt jalil not really my hunting ground. anyone to help out here?
☆Fellowship of the Strings☆Violin,Viola,Cello etc., ~String Instruments Lovers are welcome!~
Oct 20 2010, 11:43 AM
247 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
klang and bkt jalil not really my hunting ground. anyone to help out here?
Oct 20 2010, 01:35 PM
623 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
i know a tutor who can travel to bukit jalil to give lesson, pm me if u wan to know more about him
Oct 21 2010, 06:43 PM
205 posts Joined: May 2009 |
from klang can come setia alam, number of violin teacher here, u can try out. u know whr is setia alam>? near kalng bus station, the new one. should be convenience to u:)
Oct 21 2010, 08:58 PM
287 posts Joined: Dec 2009 From: 서울 |
Anyone here knows where can I find a violin shop that offers installment/loan payment of purchasing a higher range violin model?
Oct 22 2010, 08:55 AM
814 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
QUOTE(chienx @ Oct 21 2010, 06:43 PM) from klang can come setia alam, number of violin teacher here, u can try out. u know whr is setia alam>? near kalng bus station, the new one. should be convenience to u:) QUOTE(ilovestitch @ Oct 20 2010, 01:35 PM) Thanks, i'll see about it. There's currently a newly opened music centre in my town...with a violin teacher! |
Oct 22 2010, 10:31 AM
welcome welcome. hope u have success wid your lessons
Oct 23 2010, 11:47 AM
205 posts Joined: May 2009 |
my vibrato is just can't do well. How ah? I feel my finger very stiff. Cannot vibrate fast. Pls recommend me way to improve..
Oct 24 2010, 11:45 PM
why no sifu reply, lolz, free bump for this topic.
Oct 24 2010, 11:57 PM
2,283 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
QUOTE(chienx @ Oct 23 2010, 11:47 AM) my vibrato is just can't do well. How ah? I feel my finger very stiff. Cannot vibrate fast. Pls recommend me way to improve.. I don't know about stringed instruments, but for guitar, what I would do is use the wrist to aid in vibrato rather than fingers. Like opening a door knob motion. |
Oct 25 2010, 09:27 AM
jz follow watever your teacher says and practice more lo. the action of vibrato is pretty different from what muscles are used to - unless u are michael jackson
it takes a couple of months to get used to it. so no point rushing. and freakfingers, i dun tink u are supposed to even use you fingers in initiating vibrato |
Oct 25 2010, 11:53 AM
i have a problem here when counting rhythm by heart (without foot tapping). When i put more concentration in listening to the sound, a little bit lost when counting the rhythm by heart. when i concentrate more on the counting, then i cannot pay attention to the tone i play. when i "foot tap", then everything is fine, but my instructor told me not to nurture such habit. Is this common issue for beginner?
Oct 25 2010, 02:21 PM
200 posts Joined: Oct 2010 From: in your heart ♥ |
hi guys, i want to learn how to play violin. I am 26 yrs old, feel a bit embarassed to start at such old age. I went to Yamaha center and saw all small kids thr, kinda discourage me to learn. Anyone teaching violin here? or any center that teaches adult violin lesson? Me in Cyberjaya/Shah Alam/Subang area. Thanks !
Oct 25 2010, 02:43 PM
QUOTE(Raitama @ Oct 25 2010, 02:21 PM) hi guys, i want to learn how to play violin. I am 26 yrs old, feel a bit embarassed to start at such old age. I went to Yamaha center and saw all small kids thr, kinda discourage me to learn. Anyone teaching violin here? or any center that teaches adult violin lesson? Me in Cyberjaya/Shah Alam/Subang area. Thanks ! i know a teacher, pm me if u wish to know more about the info |
Oct 25 2010, 05:53 PM
3,242 posts Joined: Apr 2008 From: From: From: From: From: From: From: From: From: |
vibrato is highly personal. you'll have to figure it out yourself no matter how much the teacher help you.
basically, you need imagination, and imagination of the whole picture, not just focus on small area e.g. your wrist/finger/arm only. watch these to get some tips: Added on October 25, 2010, 7:55 pm QUOTE(Zidane Chan @ Oct 21 2010, 08:58 PM) Anyone here knows where can I find a violin shop that offers installment/loan payment of purchasing a higher range violin model? you can try phone euro music and chamber music. i think chamber music offer the EZ payment or something, and they have a few fine violins there for not too much of money.QUOTE(ilovestitch @ Oct 25 2010, 11:53 AM) i have a problem here when counting rhythm by heart (without foot tapping). When i put more concentration in listening to the sound, a little bit lost when counting the rhythm by heart. when i concentrate more on the counting, then i cannot pay attention to the tone i play. when i "foot tap", then everything is fine, but my instructor told me not to nurture such habit. Is this common issue for beginner? yes it's a common issue, more like for any instruments/beginner.basically, you'll have to listen to the sound, and react to the sound you hear. you don't concentrate to what you do, just concentrate on what you hear. it's like, you play L4D, counter strike, or any other action games. you stare at the screen, and your fingers will react to what you see, subconciously, as if the keyboard is part of your hand. in short, listen to what you play, not what you do. don't worry, your teacher will point out the error on posture or other problems. This post has been edited by little ice: Oct 25 2010, 07:55 PM |
Oct 25 2010, 08:12 PM
QUOTE(Karenalvin @ Oct 25 2010, 09:27 AM) jz follow watever your teacher says and practice more lo. the action of vibrato is pretty different from what muscles are used to - unless u are michael jackson Yep, that's kinda what I meant, stiff fingers, more on wrist motion than anything else.it takes a couple of months to get used to it. so no point rushing. and freakfingers, i dun tink u are supposed to even use you fingers in initiating vibrato |
Oct 25 2010, 08:18 PM
3,242 posts Joined: Apr 2008 From: From: From: From: From: From: From: From: From: |
stiff finger is considered wrong by majority of violinists. it's simple, your finger's knuckle need to be moving to achieve a big and beautiful vibrato swing.
there might be violinists with stiff finger vibrato but it's a very rare case. |
Oct 25 2010, 08:55 PM
QUOTE(little ice @ Oct 25 2010, 05:53 PM) vibrato is highly personal. you'll have to figure it out yourself no matter how much the teacher help you. I tot i need to count rhythm by heart and then how long to bow is based on my counting? I found a bit lost on my counting. When i concentrate on the sound. How to solve tis?basically, you need imagination, and imagination of the whole picture, not just focus on small area e.g. your wrist/finger/arm only. watch these to get some tips: Added on October 25, 2010, 7:55 pm you can try phone euro music and chamber music. i think chamber music offer the EZ payment or something, and they have a few fine violins there for not too much of money. yes it's a common issue, more like for any instruments/beginner. basically, you'll have to listen to the sound, and react to the sound you hear. you don't concentrate to what you do, just concentrate on what you hear. it's like, you play L4D, counter strike, or any other action games. you stare at the screen, and your fingers will react to what you see, subconciously, as if the keyboard is part of your hand. in short, listen to what you play, not what you do. don't worry, your teacher will point out the error on posture or other problems. |
Oct 25 2010, 11:07 PM
haha. finally the master spoken
Oct 26 2010, 05:15 PM
15 posts Joined: May 2009 |
QUOTE(Raitama @ Oct 25 2010, 02:21 PM) hi guys, i want to learn how to play violin. I am 26 yrs old, feel a bit embarassed to start at such old age. I went to Yamaha center and saw all small kids thr, kinda discourage me to learn. Anyone teaching violin here? or any center that teaches adult violin lesson? Me in Cyberjaya/Shah Alam/Subang area. Thanks ! Raitma,If you are passionate about learning how to play violin, you should not worry about your age or be put off seeing small kids. Take it from me, I started learning violin at 46 years of age. I did get plenty of stares at first at the violin school but people there got used to it. Later, some even thought I was a violin teacher which is some small consolation. Three years had passed since and I am still taking violin classes and gunning for at least a Grade 4. Regards |
Oct 26 2010, 05:32 PM
QUOTE(little ice @ Oct 25 2010, 08:18 PM) stiff finger is considered wrong by majority of violinists. it's simple, your finger's knuckle need to be moving to achieve a big and beautiful vibrato swing. Really? Woah, I'm gonna have a hard time when I start learning violin...there might be violinists with stiff finger vibrato but it's a very rare case. |
| Change to: | 0.0308sec
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 06:46 AM |