126 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Bottom

Turtles, Terrapins and Tortoises V3, Shell reptiles please enter here...

inexsis
post Mar 15 2008, 11:20 AM

646 posts

QUOTE(uzairi @ Mar 15 2008, 03:35 AM)
Some people do give dog/cat biscuit to give the other vitamin trace but like 2 weeks once or monthly. This is because the biscuit contains high level of protein which is not good for ST especially.

To get the best vitamin and minerals we are advised to alternate the food and have more variety of vege to balance the pro and cons of each vege. Apart from that, do sprinkle some multivitamins on to their food to help give minerals and vitamins which cannot be taken from the vege.

One thing to take note, from my exp it is best to alternate the use of the calcium supplement and multivitamins to balance out the minerals and vitamin intake.

My 0.05 cents  biggrin.gif
care to give me ur alternate list of vege u give ur TTT ?
u meant that i need to give the suplement 1 at a time or give both at the same time ?

thanks uzairi for the info wub.gif wub.gif

about pumpkin.....thet are sooooooo hard.......i try cutting them into the smallest pieces......but they seems still keras....
can my star consume them ? keras giler...aihhhhh...sakit tgn aku memotongnye...... doh.gif

This post has been edited by inexsis: Mar 15 2008, 12:23 PM
Chinchillas
post Mar 15 2008, 04:34 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Mar 14 2008, 06:14 AM)

Not really my friend !!!

Depends on what you want out of them for your animals
- one has a higher protein , calcium content when compared to the other ie. Alfafa Hay

- the other has a higher fiber content but lower of the other 2 when compared ie Timothy Hay
Refer to above pic for more details

Added on March 14, 2008, 6:21 am
Timothy can be kept short to be laid as lawn in people's house !!!

While Alfafa will grow very tall and deep rooted and only good to be harvested as fresh fodder for grazing animals or dried to become hay

But both are good source of fiber no doubt !!!!
Yes, it is depend on what you use on the particular hay. If your tortoise like to eat more lefty then stem, then 2nd cut is a best choise to go. blush.gif

On the nutrition value, it also depend on how the store keep them. Some pet shop stock doesnt flow, the hay been sitting still there for long long time, and even is alfalfa hay with high value of protein, will drop to eatting NOTHING...
Choose from the pet shop those stock is flowing, you should see it green and smell good.

blazin_fir3
post Mar 15 2008, 04:58 PM

108 posts

From different make? Does that mean different brands? or contents?
Chinchillas
post Mar 16 2008, 12:04 AM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(blazin_fir3 @ Mar 15 2008, 04:58 PM)
It depend. Most of the brand for example alfalfa hay, protein level will fall between 18-20%. Secondly depend on the soil that begin growth from will also effect the content of the miroc-nutrition in the hay. You can easily notice good alfalfa by the smell and the colour of it. Good alfalfa hay when you smell it, you feel like eating it as well smile.gif, that's a sign of very good quality alfalfa hay beside it is green. Baling of hay will also effect the result/content of the hay.
blazin_fir3
post Mar 16 2008, 12:10 AM

108 posts

haha..thx for ur reply..but i was talking about uzairi's reply about the multivites and calcium supplements..
TSuzairi
post Mar 16 2008, 02:44 AM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

QUOTE(blazin_fir3 @ Mar 15 2008, 04:58 PM)
Yes, they are different. Because for example, some calcium are from calcium citrate or calcium carbonate. Some vitamins are also from diff sources so best if you have at least 2 of each supplement to work best.
Skatila
post Mar 16 2008, 09:05 AM

130 posts

just add a pair of baby star tort,age about 3-5 month, very cute....just a little bigger than 50sen... sombody sold them to me........ what is the best diet for them? also the easiest food they can eat?
livingmonolith
post Mar 16 2008, 12:06 PM

821 posts

QUOTE(Skatila @ Mar 16 2008, 09:05 AM)
just add a pair of baby star tort,age about 3-5 month, very cute....just a little bigger than 50sen... sombody sold them to me........ what is the best diet for them? also the easiest food they can eat?
wow, just a bit bigger than 50 cents, that's quite small. you need to pay extra attention to them as they are very prone to sickness at such a young age, and this may go on for years before you can breathe a sigh of relief.smile.gif

the easiest food you can get is of course green mustard (sawi), and tortoise pellets where you can obtain with ease at aquarium shops. the brands, i think regular members have just posted in the last couple of pages, you may browse through that. there's a list in the first page as well if you want to have the complete list.

have fun and enjoy tortoise rearing as a hobby! wink.gif
blazin_fir3
post Mar 16 2008, 02:08 PM

108 posts

Chop up the mustard greens or any other veggies that you want to give them so that they won't choke on their food. Of course make sure you give them calcium and multivitamin supplements. For babies that small, i think it was mentioned be4 that the calcium supplement should be everyday or more frequent than adults. They should be given a variety of veggie and pumpkin like once an month like uzairi mentioned for de-worming. You should also read all the care sheets at the 1st post. Your baby STs are so small that it needs much more attention till u can make sure that they can survive. I only had a 50-50 chance for torts that small. Oh, and make sure u gif them have natural sun rays for vit D3.

Thx uzairi for answering my doubts. Another question: Can i give my tort hibiscus leaves as staple? Coz it refuses the mustard green until the point he uses the front leg and pushes it all away..=.=
inexsis
post Mar 16 2008, 06:54 PM

646 posts

want to ask u guys bout tis new law...what will happen if we bring our Star Tortoise to a vets ? they can take any action or report us ? unsure.gif
White Palace
post Mar 16 2008, 07:12 PM

Angel - Top Maltese 2006 @ Best Malaysian Bred In Show
2,309 posts

The new law applicable to BOTH owner & seller? How about those who already own one before the law implemented?
snowhite
post Mar 17 2008, 03:51 AM

hi! this is my star turtle!
but i only have one, anyone know where got sell star turtle?
my star turtle very lonely!
pls help!
thx^^

This post has been edited by snowhite: Mar 17 2008, 03:52 AM
Skatila
post Mar 17 2008, 08:52 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(livingmonolith @ Mar 16 2008, 12:06 PM)
wow, just a bit bigger than 50 cents, that's quite small. you need to pay extra attention to them as they are very prone to sickness at such a young age, and this may go on for years before you can breathe a sigh of relief.smile.gif

the easiest food you can get is of course green mustard (sawi), and tortoise pellets where you can obtain with ease at aquarium shops. the brands, i think regular members have just posted in the last couple of pages, you may browse through that. there's a list in the first page as well if you want to have the complete list.

have fun and enjoy tortoise rearing as a hobby! wink.gif
i already know the risk and i dun mind bearing it... i already trying to give the best, and if my babies didnt make it then its ok, but if they succeed, its sure gonna be one of the best exp biggrin.gif

QUOTE(blazin_fir3 @ Mar 16 2008, 02:08 PM)
Chop up the mustard greens or any other veggies that you want to give them so that they won't choke on their food. Of course make sure you give them calcium and multivitamin supplements. For babies that small, i think it was mentioned be4 that the calcium supplement should be everyday or more frequent than adults. They should be given a variety of veggie and pumpkin like once an month like uzairi mentioned for de-worming. You should also read all the care sheets at the 1st post. Your baby STs are so small that it needs much more attention till u can make sure that they can survive. I only had a 50-50 chance for torts that small. Oh, and make sure u gif them have natural sun rays for vit D3.
Thx uzairi for answering my doubts. Another question: Can i give my tort hibiscus leaves as staple? Coz it refuses the mustard green until the point he uses the front leg and pushes it all away..=.=
i try to sun bath them for an hour a day, from 8.30 to 9.30...thanks for the info, rilli appreciate it biggrin.gif
livingmonolith
post Mar 17 2008, 10:07 AM

821 posts

QUOTE(Skatila @ Mar 17 2008, 08:52 AM)
i already know the risk and i dun mind bearing it... i already trying to give the best, and if my babies didnt make it then its ok, but if they succeed, its sure gonna be one of the best exp  biggrin.gif
i try to sun bath them for an hour  a day, from 8.30 to 9.30...thanks for the info, rilli appreciate it  biggrin.gif
for an ST so young, i would personally disagree to sunbath it for more than half an hour. around 20-30 minutes will be sufficient.

i had experienced putting my STs (when they were small) out for an hour, and they were seriously dehydrated. when i bring then back in, they stayed in the plate of water for a very long time.

if you're sunbathing your STs in a place where they can find shades, then i guess it'll be sufficient...smile.gif
Chinchillas
post Mar 17 2008, 02:01 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(snowhite @ Mar 17 2008, 03:51 AM)
pls help!
thx^^
rclxms.gif Exactly look like what my sister have in Singapore. Is look really round, cute and solid like a rock!
TSuzairi
post Mar 17 2008, 02:42 PM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

QUOTE(blazin_fir3 @ Mar 16 2008, 02:08 PM)
How about mixing the mustard greed with the hibiscus leaves ? And do try the starving method.

QUOTE(inexsis @ Mar 16 2008, 06:54 PM)
want to ask u guys bout tis new law...what will happen if we bring our Star  Tortoise to a vets ? they can take any action or report us ? unsure.gif
They should help us. smile.gif

QUOTE(White Palace @ Mar 16 2008, 07:12 PM)
The new law applicable to BOTH owner & seller? How about those who already own one before the law implemented?
what do you think ? brows.gif

pls help!
thx^^
should be star "tortoise". smile.gif

QUOTE(livingmonolith @ Mar 17 2008, 10:07 AM)
for an ST so young, i would personally disagree to sunbath it for more than half an hour. around 20-30 minutes will be sufficient.

i had experienced putting my STs (when they were small) out for an hour, and they were seriously dehydrated. when i bring then back in, they stayed in the plate of water for a very long time.

if you're sunbathing your STs in a place where they can find shades, then i guess it'll be sufficient...smile.gif
When sunbathing, please put some water inside the same container so that it can get the necessary UVB and wont get dehydrated that fast coz they can drink the water if they wish to do so.
shellmaster86
post Mar 17 2008, 04:11 PM

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Mar 14 2008, 10:08 AM)
Best not as Spider are very shy animals and stress easily especially if the Star are bigger than them !! Beside they require a higher humidity to do well ie.70 % and Star may get sick from that level of humidity !!

Food wise they like fruits better but do offer them green to varied the diet ( some insect once in a while will be good as they are forrest dweller after all ) Mushroom are also consumed !!!
My 2 sen anyway !!
And is it normal for spider to stay inactive and sleep most of the time?The only time it moves is when feeding, but when i put it around stars it runs around like crazy- is it stressed ??

blazin_fir3
post Mar 17 2008, 05:23 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(uzairi @ Mar 17 2008, 02:42 PM)
How about mixing the mustard greed with the hibiscus leaves ? And do try the starving method.

I did the starving method already..he rather starves than eat it..even when he does eat, its juz a few munches and thats it..Thats wat i'm doing now.. Chop the hibiscus and mustard green 2gether but doesn't eat as much as when given the hibiscus itself. So i'll keep trying until theres a change i guess..

Skatila : Thats a bit too long sun bathing for such a young ST. Like the others have mentioned, make sure theres shade and better yet water. Another reminder is to be with them during that time for a few reasons: 1) make sure that they are safe from other animals/insects (there was a bad case in v2 where the STs were bitten to death..)
2) u get to observe and get to know their habits
3) u get to play with them tongue.gif
slackerz
post Mar 17 2008, 06:12 PM

107 posts

one of my ST eat the wood bedding.what should i do?i already use da XXL one.but he/she just simply telan that kayu bedding.ade bad effect ke?i dont know kow he will 'buang' later..

Added on March 17, 2008, 6:23 pmhe already telan 4 pieces of that kayu..waa!!!

Added on March 17, 2008, 6:27 pm
pls help!
thx^^
sihat x 2?what size?in da picture it seems 3 inch.

This post has been edited by slackerz: Mar 17 2008, 06:30 PM
liette`
post Mar 17 2008, 06:37 PM

367 posts

Anybody knows of any shop that sells Alligator snapping or common snapping turtles? around PJ/KL preferably.

126 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0183sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:35 PM