ICAP, traded price higher than NAV

yhtan
post Nov 26 2013, 03:44 PM

8,653 posts

QUOTE(Martinis @ Nov 26 2013, 03:09 PM)
He got it totally wrong by going into cash and refused to admit it. So many stocks went up so much since 2010 and yet he said overvalued. His top holding - Parkson underperformed and he quietly sold off some to make it into third largest holding so that his mistake not so glaring. sweat.gif
The highlighted part, i guess that is the main point isn't it laugh.gif

Even WB also admitted his wrong decision for investment in Conoco Philip icon_rolleyes.gif
prophetjul
post Dec 3 2013, 02:35 PM

12,279 posts

Article in this week's edge mag

"Not all (shareholders) might be happy to hear that the amount of dividends they collectively received was only 27.5% of the RM36.3 million of icapital.bz's total operating expenses to date, of which RM32.7 million went to Capital Dynamics in the form of fund management and investment advisory fee."

Good Job! TTB! thumbup.gif
Boon3
post Dec 3 2013, 03:10 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ Nov 26 2013, 03:44 PM)
The highlighted part, i guess that is the main point isn't it laugh.gif

Even WB also admitted his wrong decision for investment in Conoco Philip icon_rolleyes.gif
Last time I remember iCapital lost a lot lot money in Axiata. tongue.gif
yhtan
post Dec 3 2013, 03:26 PM

8,653 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Dec 3 2013, 02:35 PM)
Article in this week's edge mag

"Not all (shareholders) might be happy to hear that the amount of dividends they collectively received was only 27.5% of the RM36.3 million of icapital.bz's total operating expenses to date, of which RM32.7 million went to Capital Dynamics in the form of fund management and investment advisory fee."
Good Job! TTB!  thumbup.gif
That RM36.3mil is cumulative since iCap listed?

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Dec 3 2013, 03:10 PM)
Last time I remember iCapital lost a lot lot money in Axiata. tongue.gif
He don't want subscribe Axiata right issue, so he decided to throw at losses yawn.gif
prophetjul
post Dec 3 2013, 03:41 PM

12,279 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ Dec 3 2013, 03:26 PM)
That RM36.3mil is cumulative since iCap listed?
Yes. Since listing.
Boon3
post Dec 3 2013, 05:03 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ Dec 3 2013, 03:26 PM)
He don't want subscribe Axiata right issue, so he decided to throw at losses  yawn.gif
Yeah... that I remember that.

You remember how many millions he lost? tongue.gif

yhtan
post Dec 3 2013, 11:56 PM

8,653 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Dec 3 2013, 05:03 PM)
Yeah... that I remember that.

You remember how many millions he lost?  tongue.gif
Source from uncle google

http://myinvestingnotes.blogspot.com/2009/...readsheets.html

RM12.7mil losses whistling.gif
Boon3
post Dec 4 2013, 08:39 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ Dec 3 2013, 11:56 PM)
Source from uncle google

Hehe.... you used what search parameter? ( I remembered the losses were more. tongue.gif )

this is mine. 'icapital', 'axiata'; 'losses'.

google search link

http://whereiszemoola.blogspot.com/2009/06...-in-axiata.html

KUALA LUMPUR: ICapital.Biz Bhd posted a net loss of RM11.60 million for the fourth quarter ended May 31, 2009 (4Q09) with negative revenue of RM11.83 million due to loss on disposal of investments of RM14.16 million.

The Edge mentioned 14.16 million. tongue.gif

This other posting was lagi best.

http://whereiszemoola.blogspot.com/2009/08...nnual-2009.html

That one screenshot:

3,000,000 shares of Axiata sold at 7.764,374.
That is about a price of 2.58.

Imagine if iCapital went ahead and paid for the rights issue....

The Axiata rights issue was 1.12.
5 for 4 share.
If iCapital sapu the rights issue...
They would have gotten 750,000 rights shares...
And they would have to top up 840,000.

Which means total investment in Axiata = 22,749,930.
Total shares now = 3,750,000.
New cost per share =6.06

Axiata today is 6.72.

So because iCapital did not want to top up rm 840,000, they lost over 14 milllion.
And if they had paid that rm 840,000, they would have recovered all losses and would now be sitting on a gain.

Whatever happened to long term investing?

tongue.gif
prophetjul
post Dec 4 2013, 09:08 AM

12,279 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Dec 4 2013, 08:39 AM)

tongue.gif
It went with TTB's quotes: "Finding attractive stocks is a challenge"

" We don't get paid for activities, just for being RIGHT. thumbup.gif As to how long we will wait, we will wait INDEFINITELY. shocking.gif "

How much FEESS he gonna FLEECE INDEFINITELY? drool.gif

TTB lost BIG on meico Chipboard as well.......

http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&es...L2-px6yktj8PRDQ
yhtan
post Dec 4 2013, 12:26 PM

8,653 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Dec 4 2013, 08:39 AM)
Hehe.... you used what search parameter? ( I remembered the losses were more. tongue.gif )

this is mine. 'icapital', 'axiata'; 'losses'.

google search link

http://whereiszemoola.blogspot.com/2009/06...-in-axiata.html
The Edge mentioned 14.16 million. tongue.gif

This other posting was lagi best.

http://whereiszemoola.blogspot.com/2009/08...nnual-2009.html

That one screenshot:

3,000,000 shares of Axiata sold at 7.764,374.
That is about a price of 2.58.

Imagine if iCapital went ahead and paid for the rights issue....

The Axiata rights issue was 1.12.
5 for 4 share.
If iCapital sapu the rights issue...
They would have gotten 750,000 rights shares...
And they would have to top up 840,000.

Which means total investment in Axiata = 22,749,930.
Total shares now = 3,750,000.
New cost per share =6.06

Axiata today is 6.72.

So because iCapital did not want to top up rm 840,000, they lost over 14 milllion.
And if they had paid that rm 840,000, they would have recovered all losses and would now be sitting on a gain.

tongue.gif
Your calculation wrong liao

3,000,000 shares at 5:4 rights issue at RM1.12, if they subscribe it all, would be total 6,750,000 shares

3,750,000 shares from right issue would cost additional RM4.2mil
previous purchase cost at RM21.9mil
Total cost = RM26.1mil @ RM3.87 per share

If count in dividend received the past few years, within 4 years time he would have rake in 100% gain, roughly 18% CAGR whistling.gif

I remember he invested Digi back in early years, KLK he sold off too early, TM also dispose the same reason as Axiata if i'm not mistaken
Boon3
post Dec 4 2013, 01:02 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ Dec 4 2013, 12:26 PM)
Your calculation wrong liao

3,000,000 shares at 5:4 rights issue at RM1.12, if they subscribe it all, would be total 6,750,000 shares

3,750,000 shares from right issue would cost additional RM4.2mil
previous purchase cost at RM21.9mil
Total cost = RM26.1mil @ RM3.87 per share

If count in dividend received the past few years, within 4 years time he would have rake in 100% gain, roughly 18% CAGR whistling.gif

I remember he invested Digi back in early years, KLK he sold off too early, TM also dispose the same reason as Axiata if i'm not mistaken
This why I no accountant or auditor. tongue.gif
tohff7
post Dec 4 2013, 05:17 PM

FF7 GOAT
1,581 posts

He re-invested the proceed from Axiata into Astro, which then get privatised in less than a year.

Can't remember how much was the gain but i think might have covered for his losses in Axiata
jerry88
post Feb 17 2014, 09:50 PM

133 posts

I find that Tan Teng Boo looks quite like Lee Kim Yew when I see the face. Anyone feels the same?
runningman88
post May 8 2014, 08:40 PM

i read the following from a mandarin blog - investalks:

In the latest quarter, ICAP reported RM20million profit. Must be selling Petdag.

Sep 2012, ICAP got 2.4million Petdag shares. Sep 2013, ICAP got only 900K Petdag shares.

I also checked icapital print newsletter portfolio, started selling Petdag end 2013 and cleared stock in Mar 2014. Looks like ttb must be selling Petdag for ICAP. lol

today, Petdag plunged RM3 !!!! rclxms.gif Lol 10% !!!!

This post has been edited by runningman88: May 8 2014, 09:09 PM
stickmanchong17
post May 31 2014, 07:02 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ Dec 3 2013, 11:56 PM)
Source from uncle google

If he lost so much, how come ICAP increases in price by d year? Wud u recommend buying ICAP? blink.gif
HJebat
post Jun 5 2014, 10:45 PM

1,035 posts

Hopefully TTB can provide some insight into the proposed dual-listed global fund during the 10th AGM.

Would like to know how the plan would narrow the discount gap between ICAP's price & its NAV.

yok70
post Jun 6 2014, 05:03 PM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(HJebat @ Jun 5 2014, 10:45 PM)
Hopefully TTB can provide some insight into the proposed dual-listed global fund during the 10th AGM.

Would like to know how the plan would narrow the discount gap between ICAP's price & its NAV.
dual listed may help, or may not help. Still, it's all depend on market. Market decide share price. A stock can trade at 90% discount to NAV if market look at it that way (either by ignoring it or negative perspective on its future or disappointed on its management or....something). laugh.gif
HJebat
post Jun 6 2014, 08:41 PM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Jun 6 2014, 05:03 PM)
dual listed may help, or may not help. Still, it's all depend on market. Market decide share price. A stock can trade at 90% discount to NAV if market look at it that way (either by ignoring it or negative perspective on its future or disappointed on its management or....something).  laugh.gif
Maybe most of ICAP shareowners are hardcore TTB supporters. They accumulated ICAP at around RM1.20++ & are unwilling to sell since then laugh.gif

Back to the dual-listed global fund topic, we'll never know what is going to happen to the gap until TTB rolls out the fund. I'm expecting TTB to provide more infos regarding the free warrants attached to the fund & how it would benefit the shareowners of ICAP.
wil-i-am
post Aug 10 2014, 11:48 AM

10,001 posts

TTB sold almost all PetDag shares @ RM30.32 -v- 52 weeks HIGH of RM31.48
Credit should b given to TTB as he press button almost @ Peak b4 it crashed to current price RM19.88 rclxms.gif
wil-i-am
post Sep 28 2014, 09:26 PM

10,001 posts

Any1 going for d AGM @ KLCC on 11/10?

44 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0337sec    1.02    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 03:29 PM