My own Home Theatre room setup, Finally, CHT-12R is here

rx330
post Aug 11 2008, 10:02 AM

11,809 posts

i tot DTS louder?

samethin applies to women, matching bra and panties produce better results brows.gif
SUSHornyAngMoh
post Aug 11 2008, 10:32 AM

801 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Aug 11 2008, 10:02 AM)
i tot DTS louder?

samethin applies to women, matching bra and panties produce better results brows.gif
To me I always prefer DTS sound field is wider. He! He! On matching spk set same as lady I agree with u! Product 'better result'!!! rclxms.gif

I have try out blu-ray copies ( burned with blue DVD9 disc Rm13.00 ) & blu-ray/Hd Dvd ( China copies Rm10.00 )on my Panny. I perfer the China copies, much better PQ. biggrin.gif
swimfish
post Aug 11 2008, 10:58 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(HornyAngMoh @ Aug 11 2008, 10:32 AM)
To me I always prefer DTS sound field is wider. He! He! On matching spk set same as lady I agree with u! Product 'better result'!!! rclxms.gif

I have try out blu-ray copies ( burned with blue DVD9 disc Rm13.00 ) & blu-ray/Hd Dvd ( China copies Rm10.00 )on my Panny. I perfer the China copies, much better PQ.  biggrin.gif
dolby seems 'louder' for me and when i switch to dts the volume seems to decrease lol.

btw, where did u get the china blu ray copies? u copy them yourself? haha not sure which disc they used
for mine.. i think its just the normal dvd9 dual layer. for additional rm6 for this copy i am satisfied with it.
probly just get the blu ray copies for favorite movies lol. watched transformers on this blu ray copy and
im impressed!
callmevil
post Aug 11 2008, 11:01 AM

80 Druid
798 posts

for me dtshd ma sounds better than ddthd.. also if u look at the bandwidth, its higher for dtshd.. my usual volume for bluray is -0.0db.. (omg pearl harbor perfect smile.gif)

aiman04
post Aug 11 2008, 11:06 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(callmevil @ Aug 11 2008, 11:01 AM)
for me dtshd ma sounds better than ddthd.. also if u look at the bandwidth, its higher for dtshd.. my usual volume for bluray is -0.0db.. (omg pearl harbor perfect smile.gif)
0dB ? The loudest I can go is -17dB now. Even that only when I ahve crazy mood. tongue.gif
swimfish
post Aug 11 2008, 11:22 AM

42 posts

wooot?? -0.0db??? i think that will shake my whole apartment down...
the loudest i can go before i go deaf is -10db lol.. and i dont have a
dedicated AV room... just blast it in the hall
arremie
post Aug 11 2008, 11:34 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

DTS definitely better than DD lah. Higher bit rate. I tot this is universal knowledge already. If you want to listen the actual difference between those two format, you must use ORIGINAL DVD people and not ahem one.
rx330
post Aug 11 2008, 11:40 AM

11,809 posts

ahem dvds direct copy over ori dvd, shud be exact print, no difference
aiman04
post Aug 11 2008, 11:47 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Not necessarily lah. Sometimes PCM and TrueHD can be quite good. Have you listened to Clovefiled's TrueHD? brows.gif
arremie
post Aug 11 2008, 11:54 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Aug 11 2008, 11:40 AM)
ahem dvds direct copy over ori dvd, shud be exact print, no difference
Based on experience...not true smile.gif

Added on August 11, 2008, 11:55 am
QUOTE(aiman04 @ Aug 11 2008, 11:47 AM)
Not necessarily lah. Sometimes PCM and TrueHD can be quite good. Have you listened to Clovefiled's TrueHD? brows.gif
That's true aiman but we are comparing DTS and DD. So....DTS higher bitrate than DD is a fact biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by arremie: Aug 11 2008, 11:56 AM
aiman04
post Aug 11 2008, 12:03 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 11 2008, 11:54 AM)
Based on experience...not true smile.gif

That's because sometimes the re-encode from a double-layer DVD to fit a single layer one. I've done this myself. whistling.gif

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 11 2008, 11:54 AM)

Added on August 11, 2008, 11:55 am
That true aiman but we are comparing DTS and DD. So....DTS higher bitrate than DD is a fact biggrin.gif
DTS can reach higher bitrate than other codecs, no argument there. But if that's always the case?

One example, my Short Circuit BD, the DTS-HD MA track's bitrate just around 2Mbps. But my Celine Dion BD, the Dolby TrueHD maintains at 7Mbps, and sometimes reach 10Mbps.

My Live Free or Die Hard's DTS-HD MA track's bitrate is around 6Mbps. That's why I said not always. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by aiman04: Aug 11 2008, 12:03 PM
arremie
post Aug 11 2008, 12:09 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Aug 11 2008, 12:03 PM)
That's because sometimes the re-encode from a double-layer DVD to fit a single layer one. I've done this myself. whistling.gif
DTS can reach higher bitrate than other codecs, no argument there. But if that's always the case?

One example, my Short Circuit BD, the DTS-HD MA track's bitrate just around 2Mbps. But my Celine Dion BD, the Dolby TrueHD maintains at 7Mbps, and sometimes reach 10Mbps.

My Live Free or Die Hard's DTS-HD MA track's bitrate is around 6Mbps. That's why I said not always. tongue.gif
You Jack Sparrow... laugh.gif

and again you are right but... brows.gif
You should compare DD and DTS on a single disc. You can't compare with different title because they have different mastering smile.gif
aiman04
post Aug 11 2008, 12:23 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 11 2008, 12:09 PM)
You Jack Sparrow... laugh.gif

and again you are right but... brows.gif
You should compare DD and DTS on a single disc. You can't compare with different title because they have different mastering smile.gif
Ok, you're right too. tongue.gif

What I meant was the bitrate doesn't always reach peak. biggrin.gif
mpyw
post Aug 11 2008, 12:43 PM

3,603 posts

i prefer dts...dolby seem softer to me...need to crank up the volume to get the same effect as dts.....

my normal listening volume:-

Astro/TV : -23 to -28db
DVD : -25 to -33db
Blu ray : -15 brows.gif to -44db (midnight show brows.gif)
Music CD : -12 to -24db

using Yamaha RX-V861
arremie
post Aug 11 2008, 12:47 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

Yep I prefer DTS too. Sound effect is much better than DD. I'm making a list now of BD titles that come with DTS-MA. When I got the BD player, I can straight order from Amazon rclxms.gif
callmevil
post Aug 11 2008, 01:26 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(swimfish @ Aug 11 2008, 11:22 AM)
wooot?? -0.0db??? i think that will shake my whole apartment down...
the loudest i can go before i go deaf is -10db lol.. and i dont have a
dedicated AV room... just blast it in the hall
lol i like it LOUD and i have a dedicated AV room.. u wont go deaf la dont worry... just make sure the source is CLEAN and ure speakers can handle it.. if not, sure sakit ure ear.. my friend said good speakers wont hurt ure ears even at very loud volume cuz its the noise that hurts the ear.. no idea true o not..

my volume:
astro: -14-20
music: -5-15
gaming: 0-10
bluray movie: 0
mute: -30

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 11 2008, 12:47 PM)
Yep I prefer DTS too. Sound effect is much better than DD. I'm making a list now of BD titles that come with DTS-MA. When I got the BD player, I can straight order from Amazon rclxms.gif
dont forget rambo and matikeras 4! .. for pcm im in love with pearl harbor...

as for cloverfield.. wont watch it again till i got my SUBS!! sighhh where or where is the reply email sad.gif
swimfish
post Aug 11 2008, 01:37 PM

42 posts

===> matikeras LOL LOL LOL smile.gif
rx330
post Aug 11 2008, 09:12 PM

11,809 posts

aremmie, if the unker ho disc is direct copied from the ori disc, it would remain the same, no difference
ori D9 copy as jack's D9 = same/identical
arremie
post Aug 11 2008, 10:03 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(callmevil @ Aug 11 2008, 01:26 PM)
dont forget rambo and matikeras 4!
Matikeras?? You got me thinking there for a moment laugh.gif laugh.gif
Rambo 4 got too much blood. I won't buy that one for sure. I might vomit rclxub.gif

QUOTE(rx330 @ Aug 11 2008, 09:12 PM)
aremmie, if the unker ho disc is direct copied from the ori disc, it would remain the same, no difference
ori D9 copy as jack's D9 = same/identical
I believed so but the ahem Hero I got, the sound is so inferior from my original R1 Hero. So are a few other titles that I have.
rx330
post Aug 11 2008, 10:04 PM

11,809 posts

bro, i think tat ahem hero source not direct from R1 dvd

40 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Top

0.0238sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 09:10 AM