My own Home Theatre room setup, Finally, CHT-12R is here
arremie
Jul 21 2008, 09:47 AM
Cool setup I definitely need to try passing over audio thru coaxial. I've been using HDMI since day one I got my 663. I know coaxial is definitely better than optical but never actually try to compare with HDMI. Maybe bcoz I like the idea of using a single cable to do all the job
arremie
Jul 21 2008, 11:11 AM
I tried both with my NAD n 663 and I don't think I can hear any difference. So I stick with coaxial for simplicity.
arremie
Jul 21 2008, 11:15 AM
hehe that is becoz they want you to buy analog cables but I do agree better analog cable sounded better than the cheap one.
arremie
Jul 21 2008, 11:38 AM
Music I use pure direct most of the time or straight if I want more bass from sub. Music video or live consert I use straight all the time coz music with added effect processing sounded funny with too much ambience. Movie I just press button number 1 and all good to go
arremie
Jul 21 2008, 07:19 PM
QUOTE(htkaki @ Jul 21 2008, 06:28 PM) For CDP, i will analogue anytime. Let's the CDP DAC do the job. This is the reason I bought all those expensive analog cables How could I lost track and use digital coaxial instead Thanks for the head up dude. Will change back to analog Plus I never try analog with my new speakers. Hope I can hear improvement
arremie
Jul 22 2008, 11:58 PM
QUOTE(arremie @ Jul 21 2008, 07:19 PM) This is the reason I bought all those expensive analog cables How could I lost track and use digital coaxial instead Thanks for the head up dude. Will change back to analog Plus I never try analog with my new speakers. Hope I can hear improvement  Ok change back to analog. Sounded much better than coaxial hands down. htkaki, r u the one who use Van Der Hul MKIII analog interconnect, sold it then regret it? I was thinking of getting a pair for my CDP. Currently I use Audioquest Copperhead.
arremie
Jul 23 2008, 10:02 AM
QUOTE(aiman04 @ Jul 23 2008, 07:38 AM) OMG! Only RM21k in 17 years? I must do check and balance now. I've spent RM12k (not including LCD TV), and I only started this HT hobby seriously in November last year.  I started November last year also and already spent about 18k so far. Estimated to shoot up to 21k soon once I get my BD player
arremie
Jul 24 2008, 02:31 PM
Got my sub oredi so go there find CD/DVD only la but u can never tell when lightning strike
arremie
Jul 27 2008, 02:02 AM
Thread owner....latest pics with yammy 1800 in it?
arremie
Jul 27 2008, 12:45 PM
QUOTE(htkaki @ Jul 27 2008, 09:26 AM) Already see that one. I meant your whole setup where I can see 1800, speakers, PJ, skrin, etc Maybe some movie screenshots
arremie
Jul 27 2008, 08:59 PM
Damn. I want that DTS-HD to display on my 663 also but until now 240v S350 is nowhere to be seen Shakira BD good ah? Got on DVD or not. She's hot This post has been edited by arremie: Jul 27 2008, 09:01 PM
arremie
Jul 28 2008, 05:00 PM
Anyone knows if Sony S350 already available in Singapore?
arremie
Jul 30 2008, 01:24 AM
QUOTE(rx330 @ Jul 29 2008, 10:09 AM) arremie, u dem desperate lar  if ada u go and buy now , noneed to wait a while for more feedbacks? Nope. I read enuf good reviews to made up my mind. If got lobang can get one pleaseee let me know QUOTE(htkaki @ Jul 29 2008, 09:48 PM) Oh yes, got lubang for Panasonic BD30. RM1,750 per unit. Only 2 units and promo ends this Sat. OMG...really? That's cheap. New one with warranty? You got lubang for S350?
arremie
Jul 30 2008, 11:08 AM
QUOTE(rx330 @ Jul 30 2008, 09:52 AM) I'm waiting for S350 la dude. What else Anyway, I read in some forum people who own BD30 then bought S350 all like S350 better than BD30. I lost the link  11 pages of discussion on S350 with not a single complain from any S350 owners QUOTE(mys_terious @ Jul 30 2008, 10:55 AM) ps3 a better choice or bd30?? This is subjective but I prefer a standalone BD player. Might buy PS3 later for gaming.
arremie
Aug 3 2008, 10:40 AM
Easy. Get a solid and heavy coffee table with a wide base like the one from Lorenzo. Very nice finishing also. Your HM can trip over it anytime and it won't bulge  Hopefully she doesn't trip directly on your PJ la
arremie
Aug 4 2008, 07:35 PM
QED Silver Anniversary XT is RM500 a pair here but can get about RM380 direct from UK. This cable really good for budget system.
arremie
Aug 10 2008, 07:08 PM
Dude...what exactly is "timbre matching"?
arremie
Aug 10 2008, 07:31 PM
aah...cool. I heard about it before but donno its called timbre matching
arremie
Aug 10 2008, 09:37 PM
ic...ic...no wonder I saw quite a few here using same brand for front and center but different brand for surround.
arremie
Aug 11 2008, 11:34 AM
DTS definitely better than DD lah. Higher bit rate. I tot this is universal knowledge already. If you want to listen the actual difference between those two format, you must use ORIGINAL DVD people and not ahem one.