My own Home Theatre room setup, Finally, CHT-12R is here

aiman04
post Jul 20 2008, 10:05 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Congratulations bro! rclxms.gif

This is great! Finally you'll get to hear lossless audio! Have fun setting up and calibrating bro, it took me few days myself. tongue.gif

Is that QED Qunex Silver Reference? I'm using that too. thumbup.gif

Added on July 20, 2008, 10:11 amThe crossover thing doesn't bother me much, it only makes me want to upgrade my surrounds to to better match the fronts, that's all. But don't have the money yet. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by aiman04: Jul 20 2008, 10:11 AM
aiman04
post Jul 20 2008, 12:37 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jul 20 2008, 12:07 PM)
Tks, bro.

Yes, it is QED Qunex Silver Reference connected to my Pioneer DV400S.

Now, going to do the initial calibration first. As I havent got my surr rear spkrs, just simply use YPAO. When I got my spkrs for 7.1 setup, then I will also use SPL meter to do a proper one.

I am going to sell off the AVR2802 for the funding of my surr speakers. I am thinking of buying KEF / Klipsch. Rick pushing me to buy psb Alpha B1  biggrin.gif
Oh, you're using the coaxial version, SR75? I'm using the SR-SW model for subwoofer. The CHT-10R got 2 LFE input, should I use a Y-connector? Will it be an improvement? hmm.gif

Why are you connecting the DV-400S using coaxial? I'm also using the same exact model, but I only use one HDMI cable for both audio and video.

I'm also looking to upgrade my surrounds (for lower frequency response, maybe 80Hz or lower). But I want smaller ones so I can wall-mount. Do you have any suggestions?
aiman04
post Jul 20 2008, 07:19 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jul 20 2008, 04:35 PM)
Mine is old gen sub with no LFE input. So, it is better that you give a try (no harm).

Thought of not wasting this expensive cable  tongue.gif . Tried just now. The coaxial carries better weight and details than HDMI. Strange  hmm.gif  I thought it is suppose to be digital signal (101010).

All right, maybe I can try it. biggrin.gif

Hmmm, that's not the first time I've read about coaxial/optical bringing better sounds than HDMI. Strange indeed. hmm.gif

All of my current speakers can go 45Hz and below. So, I will be getting similiar speakers. Then, I will calibrate it all over again using SPL meter.

How about B&W DM600 S3 as surr. It comes with bracket for wall mount. PSB Alpha B1 doesnt comes with a bracket for wall mount. Else, it could fit the bill. Other option is MS bipolar spkr but I am not so impressed with its build and SQ though. Anyway, what's your budget? I will be in KLIAV to check out surr speakers too.

Thanks for the suggestion bro, Don't have budget yet bro, don't even think will be getting them by this KLIAV. Also looking around for power console/conditioner. My bonus is getting dried up already. sweat.gif

Tks, bro.

Tested it briefly just now.

I must say that it is very impressive even in DTS / DD as compared to my AVR2802.

While it is unfair to do a comparison in this way, Yammy's bass is solid but not too hard hitting (that's even before running in). It sheer power (130W compared to 90W in 2802) is able to push my Klipsch to 'wake up'. I set the LFE to 'BOTH'. Now, I can feel more grunt out of it.

When it comes to PCM, I must say that there are noticable improvements in SQ. I am hearing more details and the bass is like on steriod (megatron007 was right abt it).

Tested Black Hawk Down, Die Hard 4.0, and Fifth Element BD. Now, I knew what am I missing  whistling.gif  There bags of details in this lossless codecs. Oh yes, now I clearly understand why megatron007 told me that his speakers couldnt take it. I crank it up to 32dB on the dial, the Klipsch is churning out great low bass with sheer power. Luckily, it aint hard  sweat.gif .

Will calibrate the center spkr to work at its best since this is the most important unit of all.

Then, I tested Shakira BD. Mamamia..... the SQ is fantastic! The beat of the drum is energetic and the overwhelming sounds of the environment is breathtaking. The vocal is so  wub.gif 

On another footnote, this amp along with lossless codecs, at best have to be partnered with 'capable' speakers (no pun intended and not trying to praise or LCLY abt my setup) to appreciate its 'beauty'. Else, the speakers will run 'coarse' or losing its control. Hence, noise being created.  rclxub.gif

The YPAO is easy to use. Set it up on my tripod and placed it on my sofa. Press a few buttons and after a few minutes and test tones, it is done.
Well said, agreed whole heartedly. And the YPAO is quite accurate actually, especially with the distance. Of course still need some tweaking here and there. biggrin.gif

Now, if you're like me, I never buy DVDs anymore. Which might end up me eating pasir... sweat.gif tongue.gif
aiman04
post Jul 21 2008, 11:12 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

I read somewhere that you should use analogue out if possible. Not sure, correct me if I'm wrong. hmm.gif

Of course, with analogue, cable quality makes big difference. wink.gif
aiman04
post Jul 21 2008, 11:19 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Probably. laugh.gif
aiman04
post Jul 21 2008, 11:48 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

I use STRAIGHT all the time for movies/concerts. The track has been mixed the way the director intended, I don't want to hear differently. biggrin.gif

Pure Direct for CDs. For other stereo sources, depends, mostly STRAIGHT, sometimes I use DTS:Neo Music to get the surround working. thumbup.gif

aiman04
post Jul 23 2008, 07:38 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

OMG! ohmy.gif

Only RM21k in 17 years? I must do check and balance now. I've spent RM12k (not including LCD TV), and I only started this HT hobby seriously in November last year. doh.gif
aiman04
post Jul 23 2008, 09:08 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Bro, not worried stacking the PS3 on top of the Poneer ar? The PS3 is 7kg one. sweat.gif
aiman04
post Jul 23 2008, 09:13 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Jul 23 2008, 08:01 AM)
Let's see mine:-

RX-V861 - RM2,660
PSB Speakers L/R/C - 1,940
Velo 12-R - 2,500
PS3 - 1,650 (60GB)
Surrounds 4 units - 10years old....dunno how much liao
Cables - 180

Total RM8,930....still not yet 10k.....so mine a al cheapo and budget system blush.gif

kin kin siam.....
I'm using 1800 which is almost RM4k. My cables alone around RM1k. My 80GB PS3 I bought at RM2.4k (with extra controller, HDMI cable, and 2 games + BD remote).

So that's why I've spent so much. doh.gif
aiman04
post Jul 23 2008, 09:15 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(iman_210 @ Jul 23 2008, 09:13 AM)
the die hard 4.0 is in BR format?
Only blu-ray (and a few HDDVDs) can put DTS-HD MA track bro. And the correct term is BD, not BR. tongue.gif
aiman04
post Jul 24 2008, 09:29 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Htkaki, do yu have iPod/iPhone? You can get an iPod dock to connect to the 1800, and listen to the songs using in your setup. biggrin.gif
aiman04
post Jul 24 2008, 10:42 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(fentanyl @ Jul 24 2008, 10:11 AM)
Where can I get the iPod dock? How much is it? hmm.gif
Desa HT Lowyat have it. Can't remember how much, I think around RM400-500.
aiman04
post Jul 24 2008, 11:06 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

That's why I didn't buy it. It's still in my to-buy list, but at the bottom one... tongue.gif
aiman04
post Jul 24 2008, 11:29 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

I feel weird, I'm getting more thank yous for the poisoning. hmm.gif

In the old days people put you in jail. tongue.gif
aiman04
post Jul 28 2008, 12:54 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jul 27 2008, 02:15 PM)

Dolby TrueHD

And DTS-HD MSTR

Even though I've owned my RX-V1800 for 7 months, I have never ever seen those DTS-HD MSTR and Dolby TrueHD lights on yet. You really make me wanna go out and grab a Panny DMP-BD30 right now. cry.gif

aiman04
post Jul 28 2008, 03:12 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(fevercrash @ Jul 28 2008, 03:00 PM)
how come? Ps3 cannot display meh?
PS3 decodes internally bro.
aiman04
post Jul 30 2008, 10:15 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jul 30 2008, 09:52 AM)
arremie, this shudbe wihtih ur scope liao
bd30 is tried and tested whereas S350 isnt
below rm 2k, 220v, local warranty, no need purchase overseas, one of the best players now, wat are u waiting for?
I'm waiting for money. cry.gif
aiman04
post Jul 30 2008, 12:00 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jul 30 2008, 11:38 AM)
how long has the s350 been out in the US?
Only 2 weeks. biggrin.gif
aiman04
post Aug 4 2008, 10:07 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

But it's the Dolby TrueHD that's not lighting up. The DTS-HD MA lights up according to his post.

I can't think of a BD title that has 7.1 TrueHD, so I don't think that's the case. I think he set the player to decode TrueHD internally, and DTS-HD MA to bitstream (if the player can really do that hmm.gif ).
aiman04
post Aug 4 2008, 12:14 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Yup, usually for all codecs. Strange case indeed. hmm.gif

0.0298sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:12 AM