My own Home Theatre room setup, Finally, CHT-12R is here

callmevil
post Aug 10 2008, 07:46 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Aug 10 2008, 07:20 PM)
All speakers and brands have its tonal or music characteristic. So as to have the same characteristic, it is always recommended to go for the same make. This way any sound moving from any speakers to the other will not sound differently.
learn something everyday..
callmevil
post Aug 11 2008, 11:01 AM

80 Druid
798 posts

for me dtshd ma sounds better than ddthd.. also if u look at the bandwidth, its higher for dtshd.. my usual volume for bluray is -0.0db.. (omg pearl harbor perfect smile.gif)

callmevil
post Aug 11 2008, 01:26 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(swimfish @ Aug 11 2008, 11:22 AM)
wooot?? -0.0db??? i think that will shake my whole apartment down...
the loudest i can go before i go deaf is -10db lol.. and i dont have a
dedicated AV room... just blast it in the hall
lol i like it LOUD and i have a dedicated AV room.. u wont go deaf la dont worry... just make sure the source is CLEAN and ure speakers can handle it.. if not, sure sakit ure ear.. my friend said good speakers wont hurt ure ears even at very loud volume cuz its the noise that hurts the ear.. no idea true o not..

my volume:
astro: -14-20
music: -5-15
gaming: 0-10
bluray movie: 0
mute: -30

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 11 2008, 12:47 PM)
Yep I prefer DTS too. Sound effect is much better than DD. I'm making a list now of BD titles that come with DTS-MA. When I got the BD player, I can straight order from Amazon rclxms.gif
dont forget rambo and matikeras 4! .. for pcm im in love with pearl harbor...

as for cloverfield.. wont watch it again till i got my SUBS!! sighhh where or where is the reply email sad.gif
callmevil
post Aug 12 2008, 10:29 AM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Aug 12 2008, 09:27 AM)
My friend's SPL1200R encountered some problem with hissing sound coming from the woofer. Sent back for checking. Now he is using his B&W ASW650. So, I didnt got the chance to bring this B&w sub home for a test.

callmevil, you crank ur AVR to 0dB?! Siao! My ears cldnt take it at that deafening level. Even if I cld, my HM will issue stern warning for 'Domestic Noise Violation Act'
lol htleg! i lol'd irl.. ure HM so much power meh?? haha makes me scare of marriage more shakehead.gif haha but u must try pearl harbor at 0db.. it is SOooo awesome and its not deafening laa its good.. haha and DADDY LIKES BASS !! lol

about the spl, damnn!! should go to me imo..
callmevil
post Aug 12 2008, 02:52 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Aug 12 2008, 12:17 PM)
My max tried was -5db, forget what show laio...but it's awesome thumbup.gif

the latest one i tried while I'm on MC at home tongue.gif was Eyes Wide Shut at -12db....tell you, I never knew a dialog heavy film can be so involving with the ambient sound...many many things can be heard.....
0db with cast away... try! the closest neighbours are like 50m away from my place so.. its all good..

ok sifus, need to know what would happen to my AQ experience if i cusion my walls? (eggtrays / or normal cusion)

This post has been edited by callmevil: Aug 12 2008, 02:53 PM
callmevil
post Aug 14 2008, 06:50 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Aug 14 2008, 11:35 AM)
Yes, I ve read abt this esp in US users. Hope it wont since my air cond can blow directly at it.
dont do this... if condensation happens during powertrips or anything, u will cry..
callmevil
post Oct 6 2008, 11:47 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Oct 6 2008, 11:31 PM)
He got another one subbie, ASW675 (If not mistaken). But, both seldom use. He still prefers SPL-1200R that really gives the oomph for movie.
hahhh SPL-1200r.. Almost!!! haha awesome sub...
callmevil
post Oct 15 2008, 10:46 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Oct 15 2008, 10:37 PM)
laugh.gif  Tks, bro.

The sub has good bass extension. I would say it is more punchy than the B&W. However, it doesn't have the power of B&W. B&W goes mellow since it leans toward music. This CHT-12R is designed for movies  thumbup.gif Been running it for more than 4 hours now  tongue.gif
Woohoo~~ Nice!! big boy sub owner in da house~~ calibrating it to wat db?
callmevil
post Oct 16 2008, 08:26 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Oct 16 2008, 12:19 PM)
Set it 100Hz. Play music at soft volume for continuously. Today, I forgot to switch it on before I left  doh.gif 

I would not recommend to blast the sub at high volume as it would court trouble. Just like a car, 1st 1,000km is to drive gently  smile.gif
first thing i did when my svs was hooked up was played cloverfield at 0db (calibrated to 80db).. LOL

0.0272sec    0.81    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:40 AM